Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lahvlahn Thread from 12/01/17 - Now we're talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,569 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Tesco should come on and then schill special offers like other callers to de Liveline..."Half price on de wines in aisle 9 so to speak".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Do you seriously think Tesco would be stupid enough to put a spoksperson on and get stick from both workers and small traders??, cop on bud!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

Is there a strike at the Jervis Centre Tesco?

the natives down there have been on strike for generations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

"Where are you going?" The Fecking cheek.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Dargull

Get off the feckin' road Marian!

The unions should have done whatever was necessary so that they did not disrupt the other businesses.

The arguement here is that people have the right to pass the pickets and continue on with their normal shopping, but if there are elements of the picketers that are cauing hassle to members of the general public then the unions should intervene and remove those picketers....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

Id love if someone went into Tesco and bought the picketers a load of sandwiches, tea/coffee and biscuits. Mixed feelings!

Damo this conversation should have ended 30 minutes ago its going no where!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,308 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Bahahahahaha ..... trade unions having ethics? Pull the other one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I don't believe ya luv.

LET ME FINNISH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

Tesco should do a massive promotion to get customers in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

ethics - trade union

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTuViTn0TXimGLqUNc46xmASATL3YCyrKq49xRU0d18alE2ByjJLA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Good speaker this woman.. When all the phones are put down, she might get a bit of a backlash from the scum picketing the place. so she's brave to voice her opinions.

Well said caller.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Because Missus, Mandate don't give a shoyte about your small business. Nothing to do with them.

Nice final burn there about unions refusing to talk about the WRC recomendations

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

yisser all Black Legs- support the Wurkers, pushers OW OW OW!

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Id love if someone went into Tesco and bought the picketers a load of sandwiches, tea/coffee and biscuits. Mixed feelings!

Damo this conversation should have ended 30 minutes ago its going no where!

Shouldn't have started

Damo, ask Tesco why they have gone back on some of the contractual hours that was orginally agreed through WRC???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,958 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Tesco are, and always have been, a shower of cnuts. I'd not pyss on their store if it was on fire.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

These two women have very similar voices
    Sounds like one crazy lady having an argument with herself.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Tesco are, and always have been, a shower of cnuts. I'd not pyss on their store if it was on fire.

Totally agree...but the workers are really showing themselves up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

I take it Dan that your not taken in by the slogan "Every Little Helps"!! :D

Are there no terribly important ploughing or fencing matters in the country, Damo?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

Truck load of Waffle coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Missus, striking is about causing mayhem...not preserving the status quo

Pass the book why don't ya.
    Trotting the party line ad nauseum

Across the country..... in what 7 stores total?

"I didn't interrupt you"

Well you actually did you f**ker, you're interrupting my business... Jesus, I would be boiling mad if I was her as well. Another self righteous union w*nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Fujitsu10 wrote: »
    I take it Dan that your not taken in by the slogan "Every Little Helps"!! :D

Or "Every Lidl helps".

Ah, feck off.
    Just take a step back and stop interfering with the right of the public to come and go freely. Nobody has the right to tell (or even ask) anyone to wind down their window and demand to know their business. Apart from the Gardai, and you ain't one of them.

I'd nearly go to tesco to shop for the crack.

The important question here is, How much does Damien OReilly earn from RTE ?

Billy Bragg on line 3 with a song for the wurkers!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,569 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

baldbear wrote: »
    Tesco should do a massive promotion to get customers in.

They already are :D...
    litre bottle of some spirits €25
    Crates of Coors/Heineken €25

Interesting point ???!

Deflector shields up!!!!!!

I'd nearly go to tesco to shop for the crack.
    Are they doing a weekly special on crack?

Well said, Tesco decided to rail road it through without taking part in the 8 week consulation process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

How come all union spokespeople sound exactly the same........even their accents?

This is the face of modern unions.

The important question here is, How much does Damien OReilly earn from RTE ?

Can Tesco just hire temporary employees?

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

Totally agree...but the workers are really showing themselves up.

By standing up for themselves and trying to protect their terms and conditions ??

Are they doing a weekly special on crack?

And they'll take dunnes shop and save vouchers.:)

madanall wrote: »
    By standing up for themselves and trying to protect their terms and conditions ??

No..by stopping schoolgirls and asking them where they're going. They'd only do that once to my kids..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

I have never, to my knowledge, crossed a picket line in my life. However, I would be seriously pissed off if a picketer stopped me and asked me where I was going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

2smiggy wrote: »
    this is like moving next to an airport, then ringing up about the noise of planes taking off and landing. that's how airports make money, and pubs tend to make more money when they are busy !!
    That's right. I could never understand why they built Windsor castle under the flight path into Heathrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Duh!

What did he expect living over a pub in a busy city street in Dublin?

Stupid caller, move on Damo!

Id expect the pub to be well sound-proofed...would it make any difference if the neighbour was someone who played loud music from their apartment into the early hours?
    Id suggest that he rent a large set of speakers,point them directly at the floor every night and blast out Barbie Girl at naseum and indeed a reprieve at lunchtimes if he does food.Band and customers would soon get pissed off and owner might begin to see that his business is not the centre of the universe.

I agree but there are a bunch of self important and mainly incompetent gob****es managing this protest who will conspire to drain away a geat deal of the support which I think the public has for the strikers.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    How come all union spokespeople sound exactly the same........even their accents?

All fired by the FAI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

De 2-17 Joe Duffy Wurkday Calculator and dat:

Wurkdays in 2-17 to date so to speak: 37
    Joe Shows: 33
    No Show Joe Shows: 4
    PBH Shows: 0
    D'Omen Shows: 4
    AN Udder Shows: 0

Tanks a thousind Atlantic for keepin de calculator up to date and dat so to speak. Well done! Well done! Won't be back in Eire for a while and haven't hurded de show in about 2 weeks so to speak, did I miss anything of note?