Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lahvlahn Thread from 12/01/17 - Now we're talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

"Random act of kindness" now.

The show where Joe was introduced to that a few years ago was hilarious. Some clueless airhead D4 teenager/stewdent who paid for some howiya's groceries. Joe was fawning over her almost as much as he would if Bbbbbertie would grace him with a call congratulating him on his buke., whilst completely ignoring the fact that the whole point of RAKs were that you didn't go on social meeja or on national focking rayjo telling everyone how focking loike totes amazeballs you are.

Rome wasn't built in a night.

Make America first.

It's not like either of these aren't well known expressions. Get them right or don't use them.

I see we had the American version of an Independent Critical Thinker on the show today. It was during the segment where Joe went to the canteen and had lunch and then went for a dump on his way back to the stew-dio so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

You're a glutton for punishment, BS

sligojoek wrote: »
    You're a glutton for punishment, BS

I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT!

On a bus (public transport - oh the shame!) so said I'd listen back. I'm regretting it now....the Trump talk is so stupid it's like having 4 Joe's on the line at the same time so to speak.

WHOY does Joe giggle to himself like he does? He did it incessantly today yet nothing he giggled at was remotely funny. He truly is a bizarre man.

"Female genetalia lookalike clothing"
    "Professor of Measuring Crowds"

Truly a bizarro show today so to speak.

I thought I'd heard it all but then we end the show with "Pussy hats" so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,949 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I thought I'd heard it all but then we end the show with "Pussy hats" so to speak.

I wouldn't.
    You'd look like a c c.c.c c.c. clown in that.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I wouldn't.
    You'd look like a c c.c.c c.c. clown in that.

Brindin O'Cardle has enough material there for this year's wunderful, fantastic Christmas Show so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I love the way Joe gets his back up when anybody says "the media" were at fault or "the media" reported falsehoods. There was no mention from Joe that the media is the US reported on Trump's FIRST day that he had removed a bust of MLK from the White House. This was put out without the reporter actually working out for himself that somebody was actually standing in front of the bust of MLK.

But it seems that when the media makes a mistake, it doesn't count, because they are presumed to be the wholesome purveyors of the truth. Which is kind of strange when you consider the medias reporting of Lance Armstrong, Hillsborough, Milly Dowler, Amanda Knox and many many other stories.

Joe would be better off getting back down off his high horse and taking a bit of criticism on behalf of the media. Because they, and HIM, are deserving of criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

boardise wrote: »
    Irish Daily Mail published a seriously misleading picture on Sat. It showed crowds at the Obama and Trump inaugurations side by side. I watched it on CNN and saw before and after aerial shots. The Trump photo shown was taken when the ceremony was winding down and people were drifting away. The Obama crowd was bigger but not by the factor implied.
    Trump can be criticised on many fronts but the media are acting in an appallingly biased manner.

anyway Washington DC is 90% Democratic

I love the way Joe gets his back up when anybody says "the media" were at fault or "the media" reported falsehoods. There was no mention from Joe that the media is the US reported on Trump's FIRST day that he had removed a bust of MLK from the White House. This was put out without the reporter actually working out for himself that somebody was actually standing in front of the bust of MLK.

But it seems that when the media makes a mistake, it doesn't count, because they are presumed to be the wholesome purveyors of the truth. Which is kind of strange when you consider the medias reporting of Lance Armstrong, Hillsborough, Milly Dowler, Amanda Knox and many many other stories.

Joe would be better off getting back down off his high horse and taking a bit of criticism on behalf of the media. Because they, and HIM, are deserving of criticism.

There's only 2 things I can say to that.

1) shame on you for giving him a big head and bestowing media status on him. He's a telephone operator, not a serious journalist. Joe will not be winning any Pulitzers
    2) dis horse you mention....wat colour is it?

"DOO-Bonn-ay"

When was Dubonnet last mentioned publicly? Seriously? 1988?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Just listened to Hyacinth Bouquet and de death debt collector segment - talk about a staged segment for Joe to lick his own arse so to speak. It is absolutely disgraceful that he's allowed get away with that kind of behaviour - setting things up so he looks like the hero and the corporate entity buckled under his mighty weight. The rudeness of him talking to that woman too - hurry up, get to the point will ya, answer that phone, I'm drowning here waiting for you to get to the point....and this in a segment designed and staged to make him look better?!!!!

If he's going to do these type of segments at least pretend it's not completely staged FFS

I was berating myself all afternoon for having those very thoughts.....my mind even drifted back to those halcyon days of Drop the dead donkey and those incredible stories.

Like I've said many times before, there is no point in Joe throwing the weight of Liveline into scaring businesses into ripping up the bill for ONE person, unless he is gonna do it for everybody that they rip off. The program is meant to be about people pushing for changes in procedure, not as a Joe'll Fixit with Duffy handing out the badges to himself and the guests.

When was Dubonnet last mentioned publicly? Seriously? 1988?
    I saw it lately in one of those it was alright in the 70s.. 80s type shows

He's a tool. Generalising that all women in their 80s drink only Dubonnet or sherry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Well if he mentions Pernod and crisps in the one sentence...we have what Jeremy Kyle would call a full house ;-)

De LahvLahn, brought to you by:
    hqdefault.jpg

Would probably make the show easier to listen to in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Like I've said many times before, there is no point in Joe throwing the weight of Liveline into scaring businesses into ripping up the bill for ONE person, unless he is gonna do it for everybody that they rip off. The program is meant to be about people pushing for changes in procedure, not as a Joe'll Fixit with Duffy handing out the badges to himself and the guests.

Beautifully put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,549 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Will Joe venture in to the Bernardos charity story today...
    A NUMBER OF financial irregularities have been found by a HSE internal audit into the activities of children’s charity Barnardos.

According to the internal auditors, “unclear information was provided to the board of Barnardos and to the media in relation to the CEO’s salary and CEO’s donations and Dublin City Council honorarium”.

The audit, which looked at records between 2012 and 2015, found that CEO Fergus Finlay was paid a gross salary of €114,651 for the year 2014, which TheJournal.ie identified as the 9th largest in a survey of charities in Ireland last year.

Under the terms of the Haddington Road agreement, the maximum pay scale in the HSE had been set at €110,183.

While Finlay had taken a voluntary pay cut of 5% in 2012, this was reinstated to €117,591 in the middle of 2014.

http://www.thejournal.ie/hse-audits-3201858-Jan2017/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I'm surprised that Joe did not cover this topic, which made the BBC. Imagine Minister Mickey Ring on BBC Radio4 instead..and the calls are coming from horny irish men

snubbleste wrote: »
    I'm surprised that Joe did not cover this topic, which made the BBC. Imagine Minister Mickey Ring on BBC Radio4 instead..and the calls are coming from horny irish men

"Hello, is that the sex chat line?"

"No, we're a farm in Westport."

"Grand, so. I want to fondle your Fresian."

"Hello, is that the sex chat line?"
    "No, we're a farm in Westport Dis is da Lahvlahn."
    "Grand, so. I want to fondle your Fresian." Click.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

Finlays reps used to be in Tesco looking for support for their 'charity'

Joe covering a story on one of his buddies getting overpaid? Next you'll be expecting him to say Mrs. Browinz Boyiz isn't funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

More on Dick-Tective Deeeegan on the scambuster line

No doubt Duffy will plamás him and tell him a real detective would be proud of de wurk he did done in solving dis case so to speak, along with multiple other platitudes about his magnificent, wunderful, fantastic gesture so to speak. And likely ask him did his role in Fair City prepare him for de investigative wurk and dat. Art imitating life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Would love to see Finlay hauled over the coals probably a good mate of another socialist millionaire Duffy so not going to happen

And wasn't it him that announced his delight at the regulation being brought in for the charities.

No doubt Duffy will plamás him and tell him a real detective would be proud of de wurk he did done in solving dis case so to speak, along with multiple other platitudes about his magnificent, wunderful, fantastic gesture so to speak. And likely ask him did his role in Fair City prepare him for de investigative wurk and dat. Art imitating life.

Deegan's (actor) agent the same as Joe's, I wonder?

Be funny if somebody rang in and told Joe that he was just promoting the new storyline for his character in Fair City, that it never happened in real life at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Deegan is real po-leece, yo! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Joe Moneybags

A Ciarog doesn't defecate in the house of another Ciarog, therefore, Joe Duffy will not attack Fergus Finlay, nor will he allow any critiscism of him.

They all move in the same circles, so they'll all protect each other.

The other thing that I couldn't understand was yesterday when the woman had just found out from the Eir guy had cancelled the bill she said "Oh, he's only cancelling it cos I rang Liveline", Duffy was there "no, no no he didn't".... actually pretending that he had served some public service, and trying to pretend like this wasn't just a case of his threatening Eir with a bad PR situation.

A Ciarog doesn't defecate in the house of another Ciarog, therefore, Joe Duffy will not attack Fergus Finlay, nor will he allow any critiscism of him.
    They all move in the same circles, so they'll all protect each other.
    ainneon ciaróg ciaróg eile, but ní ainneonim thú.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Will Joe have a go swipe at Michael O Leary's slagging off de illegal immigrants at Dublin airport?

De Twitter is full of cranks!!!

ainneon ciaróg ciaróg eile, but ní ainneonim thú.

ehhh....Mor dhea a Chara...eh...Back after dese..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

A delicious Irony on the news at one.

Your man had just finished reading the headlines, during which he gave the details of the Aer Lingus story.

When the headines were finished, the Aer Lingus advert boldly declares

" smart flies aer lingus "

Joe will be 61 this Friday, which also happens to be Funny Friday.

Will they do a fitting tribute to him, will it be a considered circle jerk like Syl Fox's 79th birthday party that was live on the Liveline a couple of years ago?

Deegan's (actor) agent the same as Joe's, I wonder?

Unlikely, Joe's agent Noel Kelly only handles the biggest stars so to speak....like Lottie Ryan.

http://www.nkmanagement.ie/lottie-ryan---profile.html

Here's a look at some of the rest of the stable so to speak:
    http://www.nkmanagement.ie/talent.html

There's more that aren't listed though, this I do know from an RTE source so to speak.

Honestly if you're bored someday you should read the bios...they're hilarious.

Pat Kenny regularly talks to Pete The Vet on his show. Guess who both are represented by?
    http://www.nkmanagement.ie/pat-kenny---profile.html
    http://www.nkmanagement.ie/pete-wedderburn---profile.html

You scratch my back......

Oh and Baz's Mom is represented by them if you can believe that?

Maybe today we'll come back to the "yiz have one hour to come on air, or I'll name yiz" story threat from last week.

First "so to speak" after 15 seconds.

"DON'T name them, mary for god's sake or I'll be down the hoi court next week"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Joe will be 61 this Friday, which also happens to be Funny Friday.

Will they do a fitting tribute to him, will it be a considered circle jerk like Syl Fox's 79th birthday party that was live on the Liveline a couple of years ago?

Hopefully it will be a roast with nothing off limits.
    Yeah right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Jesus , you wouldn't have any secrets with this wan , she knows everything about her lodger.

Whoa!

She gave them your bank details?

Hmmm, maybe this "scam" is slightly different.

Name and shame, Joe.

That will only happen if Joe's fallen out with the proprietor.