Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lahvlahn Thread from 12/01/17 - Now we're talking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,012 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I feel bad for the young fella but even starting to negotiate with those scumbags was a mistake.

What I'd like to know is why they didn't tell the Gardai where the car was when they knew this info. If the Gardai did know this (this wasn't obvious from the call yesterday) then what the hell are they being paid for if they can't go into Southhill and repossess the car?

I Aussie t they know full well who stole this car and who burnt it, yet it's likely no charges will be brought in this case.

Joe lambasted the toerags on yesterday's show, no doubt in a few weeks he'll be saying de poor Childers never had a chance.

And where was Willie O'Dea and Niall Collins when this was going down? Were they not available to "negotiate" the release of the car? Or were they too busy rehearsing cliches?

The garda have little interest going near that area, and the residents would take no notice of them anyway.

I hope he has that car insured for what it really is otherwise he is getting nothing

the insurance company will have a book value of very little for a starlet that old, even if it is done up , and might have been a turbo (which i doubt he would have mentioned to insurance company)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I hope he has that car insured for what it really is otherwise he is getting nothing

Didn't even bother claiming off the insurance, the father said yesterday.

I feel terrible sorry for the young lad.

My bag was robbed a few years back with my phone and passport in. Scumbags rang my son and offered to give them back for 150.

No problem says he, tell me when and where to meet you. Scumbags chickened out because they could tell from his tone of voice that he was no eejit gonna hand them 150 politely and say thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

actually when you think about how would an 18 year old get insurance on a 25 year old starlet turbo?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

2smiggy wrote: »
    The garda have little interest going near that area, and the residents would take no notice of them anyway.

But WHOY is that situation tolerated? Seriously.

Go in and sort it out.

actually when you think about how would an 18 year old get insurance on a 25 year old starlet turbo?:confused:

not sure if it is still the case, but 10-15 years ago loads of young lads used to drive 1.3 turbo starlets , insured as basic starlets. very fast cars !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

But WHOY is that situation tolerated? Seriously.

Go in and sort it out.

There is a certain class of people in this country who have realized that there are no real consequences for their actions because they are classified as "disadvantaged".

Rack up double or triple digit convictions and the judge will still give you a suspended sentence or a fine you won't bother to pay because you are "disadvantaged".

Why would the Gardai bother to go in and sort it out when they'll probably get attacked with a dirty needle or some such? Don't blame them at all.

I'd support any political party that promised to be utterly brutal on crime. Build more jails and/or establish work camps and make these people terrified of getting convicted. If you can't simply behave yourself and leave the rest of society alone then we shouldn't have to put up with it so we'll just remove you from a position where you can even interact with the rest of society.

So tired of every sob story in the book being rolled out to defend these utter wastes of space and the areas they've ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

lawlolawl wrote: »
    There is a certain class of people in this country who have realized that there are no real consequences for their actions because they are classified as "disadvantaged".

Rack up double or triple digit convictions and the judge will still give you a suspended sentence or a fine you won't bother to pay because you are "disadvantaged".

Why would the Gardai bother to go in and sort it out when they'll probably get attacked with a dirty needle or some such? Don't blame them at all.

I'd support any political party that promised to be utterly brutal on crime. Build more jails and/or establish work camps and make these people terrified of getting convicted. If you can't simply behave yourself and leave the rest of society alone then we shouldn't have to put up with it so we'll just remove you from a position where you can even interact with the rest of society.

So tired of every sob story in the book being rolled out to defend these utter wastes of space and the areas they've ruined.

Ah, because that's their job?

Honestly the Gardai in this country think the most danger they should be exposed to is someone leaving their lights on full beam wile they approach them as they man a speed gun.

It's a disgrace Joe! Bring back Luggs Brannigan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,551 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

De 2-17 Joe Duffy Wurkday Calculator and dat:

Wurkdays in 2-17 to date so to speak: 21
    Joe Shows: 21
    No Show Joe Shows: 0
    PBH Shows: 0
    D'Omen Shows: 0
    AN Udder Shows: 0

M

Today...
    The burnt out car in Limerick (don't know what more there is to add to the story?)
    Young people being treated badly by employers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

De 2-17 Joe Duffy Wurkday Calculator and dat:

Wurkdays in 2-17 to date so to speak: 21
    Joe Shows: 21
    No Show Joe Shows: 0
    PBH Shows: 0
    D'Omen Shows: 0
    AN Udder Shows: 0

He's due his first non main holiday anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

The Donald sacks the US Attorney General. The Attorney General here wouldn't get sacked even if he/she was harbouring a felon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Danny Healy Rae must be the least intellectual man ever to have been elected to the Dáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭furiousox

Today...
    The burnt out car in Limerick (don't know what more there is to add to the story?)...

Remember the story about daughters and wills a few weeks ago?
    The man can drag out a 20 min story for a week or more.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Will Duffy allow on air bullying again today?

M

So he's naming this place no bother, whoy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Knives are out for Source.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

M

How long was she working there?

Whatever happened, "don't name them, don't name them"?

No problem with the naming today.
    They must have p1ssed Joe off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

Names all round........... surely the named individuals will get the chance to defend themselves???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

No Joe......it wasn't her face.

"Hang on.......(pause)"
    The master of dead air.

CPL 593H

throwing around names like confetti

possible opportunity to close multiple businesses all at once ?

Boards still a bit glitchy.

CPL 593H

M

You can't be discriminated on grounds of being a fine thing or not.

Disruption today...
    Boards.ie will be undergoing some maintenance on January 31 between 10am and 3pm, which may result in some disruption. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

This maintenance on Boards is playing havoc with the posts.... Its a disgrace Joe.....

M

If they owed me the money I would rent a van and seize to the cent that level of goods from the wine bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

'The level of a woman' starring Joe Duffy as the woman and Mannix as the man she loves.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

Fujitsu10 wrote:
    Names all round........... surely the named individuals will get the chance to defend themselves???

We need to hear from the source of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Hopefully joe will ever run or he'll loose that title

So, case has been heard. No need for Joe to retry it.

Story is that the company haven't coughed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Joe taking sides in this from the off. Name the company when he'll protect any other one. Then the big pause for dramatic effect when she mentioned something about fresh faces, forgetting that it's plain English.

M

She should have protested outside the bar every single night.

boards is gone a bit manky

Maybe she's got a nice arse.

Unless you're in coppers

Just for the record (although this seems to be an open and shut case), every dismissal is deemed to be unfair unless the EAT finds otherwise. Burden of proof is on employer.

Multiple business's to fall, a LL Jackpot so to speak!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

madanall wrote: »
    We need to hear from the source of this story.
    Ironicly that's the name of the restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Could maintenance not be done at night time.??

having a facebook page means feckall Duffy ...

Half-price gym membership for amputees.

"Dere gone. Even dough dere Facebook is still, er, on Groupon"

Joespeak

The ruling can be enforced , get a lawyer and give up the couple of grand , the law always have you by the balls and get their cut no matter how hard you try

M

You would think a gym in January would be a gold mine.