Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chores you hate doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

kefir32 wrote: »
    have a dishwasher which is a lifesaver, but obviously pots and pans need to be scrubbed manually. I do scrambled eggs a few times a week and its the worst thing to remove from the saucepan.

Boil some water and a dishwasher tablet in pot for about 15 mins (be careful, it will fizzle over if you are not careful) or leave a tablet to soak overnight, egg just rinses off the pot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,445 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Picking up dog shlte from the back garden Ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

DBB wrote: »
    Cleaning the shower trap *puke, puke*
    A job always mysteriously left to me :(

Oh... Another one... One of my OH's sons, who doesn't live with us but visits regularly, always manages to pee everywhere except actually into the toilet bowl... Then buggers off home leaving pee all around the hinges of the toilet seat. He's old enough now to aim right, and has been warned about it time and time again. Ick. Just Ick.

I'm not a fan of any household chores, but the bathroom has become my arch-nemesis :o

The easiest way to clean the shower tray is to insert the vacuum cleaner nozzle.

Tried it a few months ago. Job done in five seconds. All the stinking water and hairs are gobbled up.

The only task is to clean to plastic insert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

What was the other one LOL

When I was whinging on the TA thread about pasta boiling over and the mess you suggested turning it off and letting it covered once it had boiled,I do this some days now before I go to the school and it's ready when I come home...I think it was your suggestion anyway.ðŸ˜

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    The easiest way to clean the shower tray is to insert the vacuum cleaner nozzle.

Tried it a few months ago. Job done in five seconds. All the stinking water and hairs are gobbled up.

The only task is to clean to plastic insert

You suck water up into your hoover?! Don't think I'd do that!
    Don't think it'd work with our shower trap in any case :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

I hate having to pay my cleaning ladies ,have to put it in an envelope for them as well,so tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Not too many farmers on here. Ye never had the "joy" of picking stones in a tilled field. Now there's a mind numbing task. Back in bits after it too.

There must be something like a 'stone picking machine ' , can you not buy one with all youre eu grants for keeping fields fallow

also , the title of the thread is ' Household chores' , do you live in a Feckin' field ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

My cleaner does the really yucky stuff like dusting and bathroom cleaning.

I quite like ironing and laundry associated stuff, and don't mind unpacking the dishwasher either.

Cleaning the bird feeders is gross, but worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Oops69 wrote: »
    also , the title of the thread is ' Household chores' , do you live in a Feckin' field ?:D

Really? Is the chore you hate doing accurately reading thread titles? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Ragwort :(

maudgonner wrote: »
    Really? Is the chore you hate doing accurately reading thread titles? :pac:

Someone deleted the 'household' half way through , probably the farmer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

have a dishwasher which is a lifesaver, but obviously pots and pans need to be scrubbed manually. I do scrambled eggs a few times a week and its the worst thing to remove from the saucepan.

Do them in the microwave? Then leave the bowl seeping in water while you eat, easy to wash, or stick in the dishwasher.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Oops69 wrote: »
    Someone deleted the 'household' half way through , probably the farmer .

I'd say he got an EU grant to do it, what with him being a farmer and all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Eating dinner, watching tv, having a nap ......... but they have to be done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

I am laughing at all the people who talk about ironing. I think I have about two or three items of clothing that need to be ironed. Yiz are buying the wrong clothes!

I hate washing dishes. They stack beside the sink for two days before I break and have to do them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Ma and pa make me and blind Mary clean out the barn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    What chores do you like least?

Right now I have to take in turf, which is a fcukin pain as the stack is more secure than the pentagon. Also fcuk hoovering and gardening.And clipping my toe nails.

My better half had a secure stack on her last night. That's a chore I hate having to gain security clearance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Malari wrote: »
    My cleaner does the really yucky stuff like dusting and bathroom cleaning.

I quite like ironing and laundry associated stuff, and don't mind unpacking the dishwasher either.

Cleaning the bird feeders is gross, but worth it.

Well lah de dah with your cleaner.
    Dusting is nothing. ..I have an attachments for the vacuum cleaner for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Anything involving putting things away.

Don't mind washing dishes or filling the dishwasher. Hate putting away the dishes.

Don't mind putting on a wash/hanging it out/putting in dryer. Hate hate hate taking it in off line or putting it away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

avoiding the wet patch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Detest washing dishes and cutlery.

More often than not my sink look's like Withnail and I's as a result.

I've actually been bitten!

gammygils wrote: »

Cleaning out the cat litter. Ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Collecting the dog poop from the back yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭daithi7

Spoiler alert- not for the squeamish:)

Removing a partly excreted intestinal worm from my dogs rear end.

P.s. tbh I was able to do it with a stick, and the poor mutt was so distressed about it, that it was actually an enjoyable chore to do in that it gave him such obvious relief/restoration of some dignity. But, having said that I wouldn't want to have have to do it any way regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

avoiding the wet patch
    Ironic, given your moniker.

Dressing the bed and emptying the dishwasher* is the main two that we haven't outsourced.

All cleaning is done by the cleaner, full house and bathrooms. I simply don't do ironing, things that absolutely have to be ironed like shirts go to the cleaners for pressing or I get someone else to do them for me. Oven cleaning I've seen a few mention, can't say I've ever felt the need to clean an oven.

*we usually put on the dishwasher the night before the cleaner comes and she often empties it so can avoid that an odd time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

gammygils wrote: »

I agree, trouble is it's my neighbours dog that sh1ts in my lawn.

I think he must have her trained to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Dressing the bed and emptying the dishwasher* is the main two that we haven't outsourced.

All cleaning is done by the cleaner, full house and bathrooms. I simply don't do ironing, things that absolutely have to be ironed like shirts go to the cleaners for pressing or I get someone else to do them for me. Oven cleaning I've seen a few mention, can't say I've ever felt the need to clean an oven.

*we usually put on the dishwasher the night before the cleaner comes and she often empties it so can avoid that an odd time too.

How can you not clean the oven?

It's something that always needs to be cleaned regularly!

I agree, trouble is it's my neighbours dog that sh1ts in my lawn.

I think he must have her trained to do it.

My neighbors dog does this sometimes too, I simply get the shovel and throw it over the way into their garden.

Years of use and I haven't cleaned the oven. The vast majority of stuff cooked in the oven is covered so not like it can dirty it and not too bothered about a few splashes from stuff that's not covered (most of which didn't dirty it either). What are people Cooking that's dirty the oven enough to warrant regular cleaning?

I hate ironing so I'm careful to get everything out of the dryer and folded as soon as the cycle is over, that way I only have a few work clothes that need the iron.

I hate the oven, but a tip is to put a bowl of boiling water into it as soon as you take something out, so it's still hot. Leave for an hour then just wipe the ick away with paper towels.

I don't do windows either, I pay for those to be done inside and out.

Other than that, I don't mind cleaning. I live in a small place at the moment so it's not like it takes very long. I love the place to be spotless and gleaming, and it usually is. Sometimes I'm lazy and leave things until my cousin is with me - he's in the military and absolutely everything is left regulation clean and tidy after he's been at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The annual clean of the outdoor drains is another pain in the arse. Every autumn they get blocked by leaves and silt. Horrible job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Stigura

Hand washing cheap china I find in my parents attic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Pickin' shtones.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Taking out ashes and hanging clothes out on the line. Hate it.
    I love hoovering and ironing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I hate Ironing with a passion.. so I don't do it anymore. I take them out of the dryer and fold them straight away. School shirts are under jumpers and they don't crease that much anyway. All I iron is stuff that really needs it, when I need it. With 5 kids I'd spend my life ironing, plus, the little feckers mess the drawers up anyway and by the time they wear the clothes they look unironed anyway. (that's why I gave up)

Outdoor stuff I love doing. I can't hoover/mop because of my back, I don't mind cleaning, I usually do a small bit everyday and then wait till I'm in a cnut of a mood and then EVERYTHING gets spotless.. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

Dont like ironing and i hate cleaning wooden venetian blinds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

What are people Cooking that's dirty the oven enough to warrant regular cleaning?

Not everything you cook should be covered. It intensifies the heat and can burn the s.hit out of your food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Dusting skirting boards. It's something I'm a little OCD about so I do it a lot, but begrudge every second I spend at it!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Ironing. Hate it with a vengeance. Not keen on cleaning windows either.

For some reason I enjoy hoovering. I find it comforting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

For God's sake, use a non stick frying pan, not a saucepan. The only place I have ever seen a saucepan used for scrambled eggs is Ireland, and I don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Well lah de dah with your cleaner.
    Dusting is nothing. ..I have an attachments for the vacuum cleaner for that.

So do I. Makes it easier for the cleaner :pac:
    I am laughing at all the people who talk about ironing. I think I have about two or three items of clothing that need to be ironed. Yiz are buying the wrong clothes!

Oh, a lot of my clothes don't really need to be ironed. But I like having everything ironed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Alot of people mentioned duvets which is probably mine too.
    Anyone got any tricks for making it easier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Not if you don't use it. I never use my full size over, toaster oven all they way. I make brown bread in it and all, much easier to clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Gael23 wrote: »
    Alot of people mentioned duvets which is probably mine too.
    Anyone got any tricks for making it easier?

Turn the empty duvet cover inside out & then put your hands up inside it to the two top corners.

Then(whilst usually standing on the bed for length) grab both top corners of the duvet and pull the duvet up through the cover/shake the cover down over the length of the duvet.

Then give it good shake to even itself out and slip the bottom two corners in and clip shut before a final shake to even everything out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,062 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Turn the empty duvet cover inside out & then put your hands up inside it to the two top corners.

Then(whilst usually standing on the bed for length) grab both top corners of the duvet and pull the duvet up through the cover/shake the cover down over the length of the duvet.

Then give it good shake to even itself out and slip the bottom two corners in and clip shut before a final shake to even everything out.

Changing a duvet cover is a lot easier than that. Been doing it for years. I don't what the fekkin problem is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Changing a duvet cover is a lot easier than that. Been doing it for years. I don't what the fekkin problem is here.

Whatever you're having yourself, takes less than a minute that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

If you live in a house, do this bit over the stairs. It is easier to shake down that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

If you live in a house, do this bit over the stairs. It is easier to shake down that way.

If you live an a caravan... marry your sister - then she may wash the duvet