Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Notable or Humorous Users

There was a fella remember from when I first joined. He had a funny username. Something something. It was only last year that he closed his account.

NachoBusiness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

That whiskeyman chap seems awfully sound.

Bet he's humble to boot...

NachoBusiness!

He's still around, different username.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Pighead, especially for the drama with him and the mods a few years back.

Also, where is WetPissKid (aka NetWhizKid) these days? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Has anybody made a lame pun about Bone Cancer and Humerus posters yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,929 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Padraiggg, creator of the legendary Trent, is probably my number one. Just over fifty posts in over six years and yet he's known and respected throughout Boards. What mystique - Who is this man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Going back a bit, but degsy was an all round cracking poster.Sarcastic,knowledgeable, compassionate at times (Thunderdome excepted) witty, argumentative...The list goes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Old Hippy

- very lenient sense of justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Flutterinbantum, it was a dark day for the site when he was given his marching orders.

I liked Fulton Crown also.

These days AvB makes me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Its all alt right

Sharpshooter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,753 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I vote Skid X as he keeps us informed each week on anything music wise (docs and concerts) on the telly, be it BBC 2 or 4, Sky Arts, RTE and TG4. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

Where's Ruu gone, seemed a really sound bloke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

You. Yes, that's right - you reading this right now. Your posts are the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

RayM wrote: »
    "You"? That means me! \o/

00:52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

NachoBusiness!

I wondered how you got this from "something something" and was very impressed til i realised it was you replying to your own comment :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Yerman who knows all about jellyfish. Posted loads about how amazing jellyfish were once upon a time. That was entertaining

And chancer3001. Absolute character

RayM wrote: »

Thanks Ray, you're not so bad yourself. :)

I might as well immerse myself in this thread a bit more :p

I'm a bit of a lurker over on radio and television. PeterTheNinth is very entertaining. Most of who have been mentioned I'm not familiar with. There are some very insightful and articulate people around these parts.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Has anybody made a lame pun about Bone Cancer and Humerus posters yet?

That would probably touch a nerve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

There's a few I like.
    But if I named them I'd look a bit weird

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

somefeen wrote: »
    There's a few I like.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Peregrine wrote: »
    giphy.gif

I'm shocking at lip reading so I don't know whether to hate you or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

That taxAHcruel guy or whatever his name was drove me mad the way he couldn't post a single thing without somehow working into the conversation that he had two girlfriends.

I fear for the life of this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Katgurl wrote: »
    That taxAHcruel guy or whatever his name was drove me mad the way he couldn't post a single thing without somehow working into the conversation that he had two girlfriends.

And mentioning Danny the dinner in every thread he posted in.

• Site Banned Posts: 16 zboz

I fear for the life of this thread.

Do you know why you've never seen an elephant in a tree?

It's cuz they're so good at hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

zboz wrote: »
    Do you know why you've never seen an elephant in a tree?

It's cuz they're so good at hiding.

Rubbish. Evry fule no elephants hide upside-down in bowls of custard. Because fcukin' Ninja Elephant, bee-yotch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I'm shocking at lip reading so I don't know whether to hate you or not.

OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

There's a few I like.
    I got the subtle reference.

Cheers.

He is pretty hilarious though, albeit unintentionally.

Candie wrote: »
    He is pretty hilarious though, albeit unintentionally.

I think he is very interesting and insightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

padraiggg
    Hammer89

Welsh Megaman et al on the Pointless thread

Too many others to name

I love you all mwah mwah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

El Weirdo

Only man I've ever been delighted to see in his bath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Angus von galway/german banker
    Full Marx wrote: »
    I like the guy who does the weather, MT Cranium
    Earthhorse wrote: »
    I quite like maudgonner, whoever she is.

But with the Close Account feature around these days it's rarer for stand out users to stick around.
    I always found Fulton Crown amusing. Flutterinbantam's obnoxious sidekick.
    Going back a bit, but degsy was an all round cracking poster.Sarcastic,knowledgeable, compassionate at times (Thunderdome excepted) witty, argumentative...The list goes on.
    Flutterinbantum, it was a dark day for the site when he was given his marching orders.

I liked Fulton Crown also.

These days AvB makes me laugh.
    Cutie 3.14 wrote: »
    Where's Ruu gone, seemed a really sound bloke

Good calls.

What about The Citizen?

Shag all posts, but became a total cult figure here for a while.

Wonder what happened to him.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Bring back Biggins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Cliques on Internet forums are cringe to bits.

Agreed, cliques are for priques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

El Weirdo

Only man I've ever been delighted to see in his bath

Had me worried there for a second until I realised what you were referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

"Notable" is such a floating term and can be taken positively or negatively. For me some "notable" posters are the ones who I seem to agree with so often on just about everything they write that I sometimes fear people will think we are sock puppets. Seamus is probably the best example of this that jumps to mind as with few exceptions we always seem to be posting pretty much the same things :)

The better notable posters I can think of are those that really do put a lot into their posts before writing them though. Micheal Nugent and Oldrnwisr are probably the two that instantly jump to mind there.

Negatively just for posting unadulterated egregious tosh just about every time they open their mouth..... well there is J C but he is already mentioned. Jackass/Philologos, Nigarric, and One Eyed Jack all appear to have stopped posting though.

DeVores incisive posts on Depression have made him notable to me. Depending on the topic I always make the time to stop and REALLY read his posts. Not just the speed reading I do with 75% of things on boards.

Some people are almost notable for not being notable. There have been a few situations where while talking/debating with someone they say things similar to "Oh you are always like that!" or "conversations always go this way with you" and I stare blankly at their username GENUINELY baffled as to who they are or when I have ever spoken to them before.
    couldn't post a single thing without somehow working into the conversation that he had two girlfriends.
    gramar wrote: »
    And mentioning Danny the dinner in every thread he posted in.

That would probably be a great example to use in the future for "Selection Bias" which is one of the common human fallacies. Where you think some person or group is always doing something, because you only happen to notice that person or group when they are doing that something.

Like how some people think homosexuals are in your face and flamboyant and camp.... solely because it is only the in your face and flamboyant and camp they notice.... whereas most of the average homosexuals they probably do not even KNOW are homosexual.

Similarly I think a cursory glance over the last 50 or 100 posts of any given user, like the one you mention here, can often quickly divest you of any notion of what they are "always" doing.

I certainly notice a lot of users posting "my wife this" or "I did this with my boyfriend" or "I like it when my girlfriend does this......" and so on and so on. We do it all the time on forums like this and no one suggests "oh you always try to work it into the conversation you have a wife!" or similar. But someone in a slightly different situation does it in 5% of their posts, and suddenly they are "always" doing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Well obviously not literally but he did work it in an extraordinary amount of times where contextually it was utterly pointless and added nothing. I haven't seen many of his posts but whenever I see the name the odd time I do always think to myself 'Oh, that's the guy who can't help letting everyone know he has two girlfriends'.

As for notable members some good ones mentioned but the thread where Lenny claimed to stumble in drunk one night to find his ma on her knees giving his dad a blowjob was legendary. Also some of the exchanges between Degsy and CreepingDeath in the thunderdome were tripe A entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Fat Christie, long since gone, deserves an honorable mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,650 ✭✭✭brevity

Wibbs is quite funny. Has a great turn of phrase.

For the consternation he causes in the Soccer forum AndersonIsGod is value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I do always think to myself

Yeah that's kinda how Selection Bias works. Off topic for this thread alas, but it is remarkably interesting to observe people at it. The moment you have a narrative in your head that some person or group is always doing X, you notice X more, and you fail to notice all the times X does not happen.

It is the stuff many superstitions are built on. For example if a great thing happens to you 3 or 4 times while wearing a particular tshirt, you might be prone to calling it "My lucky tshirt". Somehow the other 50 or so times you wore it and nothing happened.... get filtered out.

It is a great one for some theists too, they pray all the time and nothing happens. But 1 or 2 times their prayer coincides with the thing prayed for actually happening..... and wohoo there must be a god! A lot of alternative medicine works on similar principles. And the "I just thought about my friend and they rang me in that moment" effect we see on paranormal threads is similar in that usually people think about their friends often, but only notice when it coincides with an event.

It's not our fault either, it is just a pattern seeking thing humans evolved to do, even when it is totally wrong. And most people do not check. For example there is little chance you are ever going to go back over the last 100 posts of a user and see how few of them actually fit your measure.

Instead what will continue to happen is you will occasionally read post after post from a user, mostly without even noticing it is from that user, then a sentence will jump out at you from ONE of them, and you will think "Ah yea, there they go again, just like I said".

I am certainly not immune to it either. I catch myself at it all the time. But I have tried to train myself to check, when I think "That person/group are always doing X" to check whether they actually are.... or have I just gotten a narrative based selection criteria going on.

For example there is one user, who I think actually posted on this thread, who I once thought got INSTANTLY aggressive, ad hominem, insulting and petty whenever he posted. So I checked and it seems it is only when posting with ME that he gets like that :) especially if the topic is related to abhorrent sexuality like pedophiles.

But I guess having SOME effect on people is better than having none :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I quite like the Wibbs fella too, brings a healthy dose of wisdom and a nice way of putting things. Backwardsman seems like good craic too and then there any poster who has a nice way with words or is particularly witty - Seamus, Whoopsadoodles, Beks101, Merkin, etc

Oh and srameen (I think?) - senior gent who posts some lovely nuggets of wisdom and nice dose of perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

In the Tech forums Terrorfirmer is excellent and provides a wealth of knowledge.
    In the Motors section I like Unkel a lot especially his fondness for large engined cars and again lots of knowledge on his part. The luxobarge thread alone provides a great glimpse of his enthusiasm for cars
    I like Wibbs also and Pighead but I don't think he's no longer on boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I can't remember who this was, but the best post I've ever read on AH was by some fella who claimed to have woken up and heard lots of knackers downstairs or something like that. I'm doing it no justice, because I can't exactly remember what it was about, but I do remember it was very, very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Bring back Biggins.

Christ, no!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

EdenHazard was absolute gold on here. Came back as Mec27 and most recently BabyE but couldn't help himself from falling back into the same posting patterns of rating girls out of ten, being jealous of rugby jocks and being obsessed with Zac Efron, Bieber and French footballers. Legit bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Omackeral wrote: »
    EdenHazard was absolute gold on here. Came back as Mec27 and most recently BabyE but couldn't help himself from falling back into the same posting patterns of rating girls out of ten, being jealous of rugby jocks and being obsessed with Zac Efron, Bieber and French footballers. Legit bro.

I didn't even realise he had returned under those names.

I loved his original account, the guy never failed to make me laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

All in all, there aren't many. Most of the inhabitants of AH are self absorbed toss-pots and the politics forum is a collection of bedwetters and militant muff licking Ellen fans

PS...I'm both self absorbed...And will lick just about any muff you shove in my face