Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people with dogs

14567810»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

I like dogs but can't stand people who think they are mini humans. They are animals and imo should live outside and not in the house. Any dog we had in the past would get a belt of the seeeping brush if they even looked in the back door never mind came inside.

The problem is too many people like you own dogs in this country suffering abuse and neglect. Any wonder so many of them are stuck out the back barking incessantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

I like dogs but can't stand people who think they are mini humans. They are animals and imo should live outside and not in the house. Any dog we had in the past would get a belt of the seeeping brush if they even looked in the back door never mind came inside.

I am hoping that you do not have a dog now. Your mentality concerning dogs is very old fashioned and out of date. It is fine to have a dog outside if it has shelter and comfort but it is never ok to give a dog a belt of a sweeping brush ,,,it is cruel and unnecessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Sounds like you like them alright. Disgusting.

Discodog wrote: »
    People that understand dogs can't stand people that are too ignorant to not appreciate their needs which include human companionship & sharing our homes.

Even more we can't stand people that are deliberately cruel & in our opinion should be locked up.

Dogs are animals they are perfectly capable of living outside (with shelter of course), the only reason they live inside is because humans started bringing them in otherwise they would live out side all the time like the vast majority of other animals. Same goes for cats we had cats for years and they lived outside all the time (with shelter which they choose not to use most of the time) from not too long after they were born. They lived long and very happy lives as did any dogs we had.

Dogs living in the house is a new fad, I knew countless people with dogs and cats growing up and 95% of the would not even dream of letting them in the house. I won't see dogs in houses half as much in rural areas either as country people don't baby them as much as city dwellers.

Also people are taking "a belt if the brush" a bit too literally in reality I meant they were "shooed" out by my mother if they tried to come in. Good job ye never saw a sheep dog getting a kick in the arse when they let sheep escape from a pen.

Ah well the cats don't need to be fed either I suppose, cats feed themselves catching mice and birds?
    A lot of farmers had horrific understanding of animals when I was growing up. Dogs are social. They enjoy interaction and love from humans. They shouldn't be punished for that.0

Though farm dogs reminded me of a puppy we had, a little sheepdog puppy that was going to help my dad on the farm. We were warned not to be making an eejit out of the dog or he'd be hard to train/have no interest in the cattle if he was spoilt. Of course the puppy was king of the house. Myself and my brother fighting over who got to hold him, Whos bed was he sleeping in that night etc.
    The day came for his first day out on the farm to be trained. My dad carried him out under his arm off to the farmyard and as soon as he left him down the puppy started running back to the house squealing :D he wasn't cut out for a life of toil

Though farm dogs reminded me of a puppy we had, a little sheepdog puppy that was going to help my dad on the farm. We were warned not to be making an eejit out of the dog or he'd be hard to train/have no interest in the cattle if he was spoilt. Of course the puppy was king of the house. Myself and my brother fighting over who got to hold him, Whos bed was he sleeping in that night etc.
    The day came for his first day out on the farm to be trained. My dad carried him out under his arm off to the farmyard and as soon as he left him down the puppy started running back to the house squealing :D he wasn't cut out for a life of toil

In other words ye shouldn't have babied him as he couldn't do the job he was bought for becuse of it, though I'm sure if ye put the foot down and moved him outside full time he would have quickly adapted. Also people who let dogs (or any other animal) sleep in their bed are weird imo.

Actually he ended up loving the farm when he got bigger, but that time he was only a bsby and wanted comfort.
    I let my dogs into my bed if they're sick. It's no big deal. They'll lay with their head on their pillow and one of them will get under the covers. The bed sheets are changed the next morning, the dogs are showered regularly, have their bums cleaned regularly and are groomed once a month.

I'd let my dogs into my bed quicker than a person. In fact sometimes both of them will take up the couch and I'll be sitting in front of the couch on a cushion on the floor. They're not worth less than I am because they're not human. We are a family and in our family everyone is equal

Actually he ended up loving the farm when he got bigger, but that time he was only a bsby and wanted comfort.
    I let my dogs into my bed if they're sick. It's no big deal. They'll lay with their head on their pillow and one of them will get under the covers. The bed sheets are changed the next morning, the dogs are showered regularly, have their bums cleaned regularly and are groomed once a month.

I'd let my dogs into my bed quicker than a person. In fact sometimes both of them will take up the couch and I'll be sitting in front of the couch on a cushion on the floor. They're not worth less than I am because they're not human. We are a family and in our family everyone is equal

They are worth more than a lot of humans, I wouldnt let a lot of humans into the shed where the dog/dogs sleep ;).

But they aren't equal either, they are an animal and too may people forget this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Dogs are animals they are perfectly capable of living outside (with shelter of course), the only reason they live inside is because humans started bringing them in otherwise they would live out side all the time like the vast majority of other animals. Same goes for cats we had cats for years and they lived outside all the time (with shelter which they choose not to use most of the time) from not too long after they were born. They lived long and very happy lives as did any dogs we had.

Dogs living in the house is a new fad, I knew countless people with dogs and cats growing up and 95% of the would not even dream of letting them in the house. I won't see dogs in houses half as much in rural areas either as country people don't baby them as much as city dwellers.

Also people are taking "a belt if the brush" a bit too literally in reality I meant they were "shooed" out by my mother if they tried to come in. Good job ye never saw a sheep dog getting a kick in the arse when they let sheep escape from a pen.

Such a typical answer. Dogs have been kept indoors for centuries possibly even thousands of years. Yes there were 95% in Ireland. By the 60's the majority of dogs in England were being kept indoors because people recognised the need for human socialisation.

A dog kept outside is usually a dog ignored, many never even get a walk. The dry shelter isn't much good when the dog goes out, gets wet & then comes in to soak it's bedding. It's not about babying them. It's about having the basic knowledge about what dogs need. It's why the new welfare law uses this to determine cruelty & neglect.

I have seen dogs being kicked frequently. It's the classic response from incredibly ignorant people. I always report them.

Such a typical answer. Dogs have been kept indoors for centuries possibly even thousands of years. Yes there were 95% in Ireland. By the 60's the majority of dogs in England were being kept indoors because people recognised the need for human socialisation.

A dog kept outside is usually a dog ignored, many never even get a walk. The dry shelter isn't much good when the dog goes out, gets wet & then comes in to soak it's bedding. It's not about babying them. It's about having the basic knowledge about what dogs need. It's why the new welfare law uses this to determine cruelty & neglect.

All said from your very biased point of view of course. It's nonsense to say a dog can't live happily outside, they are an animal and it's their natural habitant.

As for getting wet a smart dog won't go out in the rain and even if they do get wet they are dogs and well able for it. How often do other animals get wet and it doesn't do a thing in them. A new born lamb born on a sub zero night in spring has no problem surviving outside so not sure why you think a dog can't.

All said from your very biased point of view of course. It's nonsense to say a dog can't live happily outside, they are an animal and it's their natural habitant.

As for getting wet a smart dog won't go out in the rain and even if they do get wet they are dogs and well able for it. How often do other animals get wet and it doesn't do a thing in them. A new born lamb born on a sub zero night in spring has no problem surviving outside so not sure why you think a dog can't.
    The same sub zero night your lamb was born there's hundreds of homeless people all over Ireland sleeping in doorways, and they've no problem surviving the night. Does that mean you'd be grand inn the streets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

I have seen dogs being kicked frequently. It's the classic response from incredibly ignorant people. I always report them.

I really think you're talking at cross purposes. nox seems to be from a rural background, whereas you're talking about dog neglect in built up areas. My grandfather lived and worked on a farm and his sheepdogs were also pets, but they didn't sleep in the house.

It does raise the issue of whether keeping pets in city areas is really feasible. Some people have the means and the energy to keep their dogs fully exercised, but I'd argue that most people don't. Mind you, I know people living in a rural area who got dogs before they had children and now neglect them, and there is no lack of animal abuse on farms, so it's certainly not a black and white issue.

twill wrote: »
    I really think you're talking at cross purposes. nox seems to be from a rural background, whereas you're talking about dog neglect in built up areas. My grandfather lived and worked on a farm and his sheepdogs were also pets, but they didn't sleep in the house.

It does raise the issue of whether keeping pets in city areas is really feasible. Some people have the means and the energy to keep their dogs fully exercised, but I'd argue that most people don't. Mind you, I know people living in a rural area who got dogs before they had children and now neglect them, and there is no lack of animal abuse on farms, so it's certainly not a black and white issue.

Not at all. Please don't raise the old them & us, country town argument. A dog is exactly the same whether it's a "working dog " or a pet. It has the same physiology. It can feel pain, discomfort, neglect etc.

Cities & small apartments are perfectly good places for dogs. I see way more dogs being walked in the city because some country people think that being left outdoors is a substitute for a walk which it isn't. I live in the country & my dogs are never in the garden unsupervised. They are left safe in the house during the day but they get two good off lead walks every day without fail.

Natural habitat ? Maybe a few thousand years ago. My view isn't biased. It's the view of every expert out there & it's why the new legislation is so different to what has gone before. The lamb has a coat & more importantly a mother. Of course a dog can survive but our legislation demands that it is properly cared for. If you can't look after a dog don't have one.

There is nothing in the legislation that says a dog had to live in the house. If can live outside perfectly fine with a kennel or shed for shelter and to sleep in. As I said we have had dogs and cats that have had a great life without ever setting food inside the door of the house.

I don't agree with keeping dogs in cities at all, locked into a house all day much better to be outside with space to do their own thing.

There is nothing in the legislation that says a dog had to live in the house. If can live outside perfectly fine with a kennel or shed for shelter and to sleep in. As I said we have had dogs and cats that have had a great life without ever setting food inside the door of the house.

I don't agree with keeping dogs in cities at all, locked into a house all day much better to be outside with space to do their own thing.

It says that you have to provide for the physical & emotional needs of your dog. That means spending time with it, walking it, etc. But have no fear because the farming lobby sought exceptions for "working dogs".

It's pointless discussing dogs with you because your mind is well set in the old ways like so many others. It's why we still have some of the worst animal welfare.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

The natural habitat of wolves is outside.

But dogs have been domesticated for thousands of years. The "deal" made between humans and wolves was that the wolf got to share in our company and the warmth of our fire, in return for protecting us from other preditors - and so was born the dog (simplified version of course). Through selective breeding dogs now come in all shapes and sizes, many of which look very different from the wolf. To say that outside is their natural habitat is wrong. They still want the original deal of our company and warmth of our fire. I think it's cruel to leave a domesticated dog outside with neither of these comforts.

However, that's not treating them like humans. I do detest those who really do treat their dogs like little humans - dressing them up, giving them birthday parties, etc. Each to their own, but I personally dislike that. In my opinion, dogs (and other pets) are part of the family, but that doesn't mean that they're a human part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

quickbeam wrote: »
    The natural habitat of wolves is outside.

But dogs have been domesticated for thousands of years. The "deal" made between humans and wolves was that the wolf got to share in our company and the warmth of our fire, in return for protecting us from other preditors - and so was born the dog (simplified version of course).
    Humans haven't needed protection from predators since as long as they've been human. Humans and dogs make a great team but neither need each other, human hunters can take down anything from deer to elephants using nothing more than pointy stone stuck to the end of a stick. Dogs likely became tame so they could access our surplus food. Everything beyond that is happy coincidence. If the deal is just scraps dogs will take that deal.

To say that outside is their natural habitat is wrong. They still want the original deal of our company and warmth of our fire. I think it's cruel to leave a domesticated dog outside with neither of these comforts.
    For a lot of the time humans and dogs have been partners humans lived outside too. I agree though. leaving a dog outside is wrong, the dog see's itself as part of the family and it's not right to isolate them in a cage/kennel outside. They get scared too no matter how aggressive we think certain breeds are. They likely see us as the protector, that's why if something's untowards they bark to get us to deal with it rather than jump in themselves.

There's a lot of people who just keep a dog locked up outside and I don't think they should be allowed dogs. There should be a minimum level of care that includes training them to be social, and fulfilling their exercise needs. If someone's dog is barking all night I think that person should be sent on a dog training course so they know how to socialise the dog properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

ScumLord wrote: »
    Humans haven't needed protection from predators since as long as they've been human. Humans and dogs make a great team but neither need each other, human hunters can take down anything from deer to elephants using nothing more than pointy stone stuck to the end of a stick. Dogs likely became tame so they could access our surplus food. Everything beyond that is happy coincidence. If the deal is just scraps dogs will take that deal.

For a lot of the time humans and dogs have been partners humans lived outside too. I agree though. leaving a dog outside is wrong, the dog see's itself as part of the family and it's not right to isolate them in a cage/kennel outside. They get scared too no matter how aggressive we think certain breeds are. They likely see us as the protector, that's why if something's untowards they bark to get us to deal with it rather than jump in themselves.

There's a lot of people who just keep a dog locked up outside and I don't think they should be allowed dogs. There should be a minimum level of care that includes training them to be social, and fulfilling their exercise needs. If someone's dog is barking all night I think that person should be sent on a dog training course so they know how to socialise the dog properly.

Just a point, not all dogs are naturally social with others some prefer human only company or adult only company and there is nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'd say a lack of experience of dog ownership comes from this post, let alone ignorance of dog ownership in cites Nox.

Some of the most grounded, best behaved and most socialised dogs I've come across, owned and minded were in a city centre. I spent a lot of my life living in North East inner city Dublin where my neighbours had Glen of Imaals, Wheaton's, whippits, greyhounds, lurchers, Kerry Blue's, Staffy's and English bull terriers and the cross breeds of the aforementioned.

These dogs were all kept indoors with the family. There was always someone knocking around the house and the dogs were part of the family, not an mere animal that was kept away outside and excluded from every day activities.

You use the word "fad" when you describe the indoors dog. But the reality is that the word "fad" should be used for the modern day, baseless, selfish, house proud, post late 1950's nouveau riche trophy dog owning attitude that permeates now.

City, country, urban, rural, suburban... doesn't matter. If you're there to look after the dog and be with the dog it's good. If you're going to isolate the dog away from human contact, indoors, or worse outdoors, it's not good.

You could have a tiny yard, a balcony or three acres, your modern day, domesticated dog will still sit at the back door dying to get in for social interaction. I know dogs that live on a barge with families that have a better life than dogs on massive sprawls that are left to they're own boredom.