Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFO red, 19:45 today, Corbally!

• 20-01-2017 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭

Travelling northwest across Corbally tonight, first I thought it was a firework, then I thought a drone.... but it just kept going! Only seemed to be a few hundred feet up....no sound though. :eek:

I'm still going to the pub even if the Russians are coming :D

Anyone else see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,277 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Sounds more like it's time to head home from the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭landmarkjohn

bazz26 wrote: »
    Sounds more like it's time to head home from the pub.

No honestly, the neighbours saw it as well:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭FaganJr

No honestly, the neighbours saw it as well

Any one think to use their phone for a pic or video?? Or did you just post here instead??

FaganJr wrote: »
    Any one think to use their phone for a pic or video?? Or did you just post here instead??

Nope, just stood staring at it... gobsmacked. Sorry.

No point discussing it further so. I bet ye had at least 2 smartphone's at your disposal also.
    I always wonder why there are no pics to these stories??
    Baffling how people react??
    Never happened me but I'd hope I'd have the presence of mind to document what could possibly be a big story.
    Nevermind.
    Maybe next time eh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭source

Last time this happened it was those bloody Chinese lantern yokes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Travelling northwest across Corbally tonight, first I thought it was a firework, then I thought a drone.... but it just kept going! Only seemed to be a few hundred feet up....no sound though. :eek:

I'm still going to the pub even if the Russians are coming :D

Anyone else see it?

Saw it last night over city. Drone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Saw lads flying a drone at the back of Arthur's Qua Wednesday evening.

Green and red lights on it

I had dismissed drone because I thought the domestic ones only had a range as far as you can see or so, this was travelling some distance.

Drone it was then. I can understand why the legislation governing use is needed, if you had 10 lads at the same thing, mid air collisions etc. as well as bewildered local residents ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

I had dismissed drone because I thought the domestic ones only had a range as far as you can see or so, this was travelling some distance.

Drone it was then. I can understand why the legislation governing use is needed, if you had 10 lads at the same thing, mid air collisions etc. as well as bewildered local residents ;-)

Consumer drones these days have ranges up to 7km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

FaganJr wrote: »
    No point discussing it further so. I bet ye had at least 2 smartphone's at your disposal also.
    I always wonder why there are no pics to these stories??
    Baffling how people react??
    Never happened me but I'd hope I'd have the presence of mind to document what could possibly be a big story.
    Nevermind.
    Maybe next time eh!!

Now that told you landmarkjohn. I bet you will behave better the next time. :rolleyes:

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

h3000 wrote:
    Now that told you landmarkjohn. I bet you will behave better the next time.

Nothing wrong with using intelligence in observing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Paddico

Shannon757 wrote: »

Consumer drones these days have ranges up to 7km.
    ...so the schobes can get their orders delivered direct from their dealers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Paddico wrote: »
    ...so the schobes can get their orders delivered direct from their dealers

That's not what I use mine for buy it's conceivable. Illegal though. Can't fly your drone more than 1km away and out of line if sight I believe. Also a drone is not quiet.