Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with Boggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I'm not offended. I'm wondering what your problem is with then? Are you offended when you see them??

What I meant was , I haven't SEEN many families in e.g. Temple Bar square. (Any)

What part of that don't you understand?

Gone way off topic, but boggers are grand. Only for them, Dublin would grind to a halt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Jrop wrote:
    I thought you needed to have 3 Generations buried in one the city's graveyards before you were classified a Dub

Ah no, we take anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

Heyor ! Pilly does dis meen I hafta starts spoking Dublinese ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

retalivity wrote: »
    I'm a bogger, and work for a large financial institution in D4. Im surrounded by boggers, my whole team are culchies like myself, its great!

Im guessing they couldn't find any qualified jackeens to fill the roles...or boggers are just better.

Or maybe Jackeens don't want to work in financial institutions which are full of pretentious boggers full of their own self importance who talk with West Brit accents no matter where in the country they are from. Excel does their work for them, they get worked like dogs, get paid pittance and cause financial meltdowns because nobody in their office noticed the small sum of a BILLION euro going from Anglo to Irish Nationwide at Year End and back.

A thoroughly great bunch of boggers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

seachto7 wrote: »
    What I meant was , I haven't SEEN many families in e.g. Temple Bar square..

But you didn't say this about Temple bar, said it about Merrion square and Fitzwilliam square where you DO see families and couples knocking around!! And... you DO see families in Temple Bar and Meeting House square, the other square in Temple Bar!

Have you ever been to these places? You can google them and look at the pictures if you want, see the families there, you might learn more. :)

Shemale wrote: »
    Or maybe Jackeens don't want to work in financial institutions which are full of pretentious boggers full of their own self importance who talk with West Brit accents no matter where in the country they are from. Excel does their work for them, they get worked like dogs, get paid pittance and cause financial meltdowns because nobody in their office noticed the small sum of a BILLION euro going from Anglo to Irish Nationwide at Year End and back.

A thoroughly great bunch of boggers!

So what do the Dubs do for work? Dub-al-in bussss?

Yes, you have researched the Dublin jobs market thoroughly and financial institutions and Dublin Bus are the only employers in the Capital :P

Still amazed by one bus on top of another?

haha, yup, love d'auld double deckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

Dubs are scum. Culchies are tick, wilfully ignorant, backward mongs.
    /thread

One thing that confuses me about boggers and jackeens is gaelic football, it's ****!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.
    Think your confusing Dublin with Limerick, hey you don't like the place so you can always go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I like how culchies refer to outside the Pale as "Ireland".

It's almost as if the union jackeens are seen as a different race.

Dublin is the ex husband that the rest of the country hates, but depend on it for financial support since they can't get out and make their own money. If they could get rid of us they would, but we would be a lot more financially better off and the countryside would become a third world population and we would have to send trocaire. We'd have are trocaire boxes with little culchie kids on the front starving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

italodisco wrote: »
    That's great, either way we don't ride our sisters and our men don't wear flared jeans / crosshatch / Subaru jackets so I think I'll stay content at being a big aul junkie from the flats cheers lol
    In fairness Jackeen you'd have a better chance of riding your relatives being cramped in such a small city, which is more like a town by international standards.

newacc2015 wrote: »
    I think it funny about they bitch about whatever hole they came from. Yet then bitch whole time about Dublin. How it is so big, everyone is so mean, how busy everyone is etc. That they are glad they never went to college here, as they would hate it even more.

But if you ask them about whether they move back to where ever they came from because they hate Dublin. They gave you a ton of reasons why they would never leave Dublin and where ever they came from is a kip

I honestly can't wrap my head about the boggers who moved up to Dublin about 20 years ago, but still go home to the west to vote.
    You seriously need to get out of Dublin once in a while as you are deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I love the way the average Jackeen breaks it down to us vs them. The truth is Dublin si sub divided into the "haves" and the "have nots".
    I'm living with the "haves", life's quite nice here, even the MacDonald staff have a touch of class. The problem is, you don't have to go too far to bump into a native, house robbing, drug taking, Aslan singing scumbag.

No matter how well off you are in Dublin, and I consider myself very well off, you are never very far from a jackeen low life, salt of the earth scummer, why only last month a bunch of them flashed my nanny in some rat eaten alley on her way home.

Why do Jackeens always refer to the fact that their arses are bleeding? As in "I will in me bleedin aaarse" Must be the pole of the union Jack :D

I love the way the average Jackeen breaks it down to us vs them. The truth is Dublin si sub divided into the "haves" and the "have nots".
    I'm living with the "haves", life's quite nice here, even the MacDonald staff have a touch of class. The problem is, you don't have to go too far to bump into a native, house robbing, drug taking, Aslan singing scumbag.

No matter how well off you are in Dublin, and I consider myself very well off, you are never very far from a jackeen low life, salt of the earth scummer, why only last month a bunch of them flashed my nanny in some rat eaten alley on her way home.
    Here's a stupid question why do you think the people who flashed your nanny are Dubliners? Could be a culchie working in the financial district or one of the many multinationals that live here.

All i picture when i think bogger

MArtyMorrissey.jpg

JamboMac wrote: »

MArtyMorrissey.jpg

As opposed to who for a Dub?

You give me one, but it has to be a tv presenter i could have just found a limerick junky.

By the way we will gladly take all the women from Tg4 no idea where there made but it must be magical place.

You give me one, but it has to be a tv presenter i could have just found a limerick junky.

By the way we will gladly take all the women from Tg4 no idea where there made but it must be magical place.

Some of them have the war paint on. Well, Marty is from Clare, so all the one to me :)

A Limerick junky? And Dublin city isn't crawling with smack heads?

Some of them have the war paint on. Well, Marty is from Clare, so all the one to me :)

A Limerick junky? And Dublin city isn't crawling with smack heads?

Yep Dublin has them and its been mentioned here already, but boggers seem to think Dublin is full of them. I'd say per capita Dublin might have less but that would be hard to figure out.

Good question, but there seems to be an awful lot of them in Dublin city, compared to other comparable cities. Or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

MArtyMorrissey.jpg

He's a New Yorker actually.

Good question, but there seems to be an awful lot of them in Dublin city, compared to other comparable cities. Or is it just me?

Yeah its where they flock at about 9 in the morning like the walking dead to get their metadhone. If you ever go into mcdonalds on O'Connell street you can hear them talking candidly about getting their next fix. I remember one time the junkies girlfriend telling him to rob me and he replied no he'll knock me out, their funny things junkies, because they don't even know they are one.

They think we are all idiots for not taking ****.

Nope not really a new yorker if you move their after your born.

Morrissey was born in Mallow, County Cork (where his mother was from) but was raised in the Bronx, New York, where his parents worked. When he was aged 10, the family returned to Ireland to his father's native home of Clare. They settled in Mullagh. Later, Morrissey went on to study at St. Flannan's College in Ennis and then University College Cork (UCC) in Cork where he studied medicine for three years before switching to microbiology and physics. He then did a master’s in education at NUI Galway to become a teacher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

With the housing crisis now all the bogger towns within an 1hr commute of Dublin will be polluted with dubs. Just like during the boom. Should start a new tread adjusting to bogger life ; )

Not really, we just assimilate like the Borg, Just look at Drogheda. Soon we will call the hole country Dublin and we will all think as one.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

but boggers seem to think Dublin is full of them. .

Conversely Jackeens seem to think the rest of the country is full of inbred turfmunching yokels.

There just happen to be a higher concentration of said stereotype in the respective areas, that's not to say it's the norm or exclusive, you can find scumbags in the country and rednecks in the pale.

check out the pub beside the Spa hotel in Lucan on a Sunday evening if you wanna see the lesser spotted Urban-buff or any country pub when Celtic or playing for the relocated rural scanner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Here's a stupid question why do you think the people who flashed your nanny are Dubliners? Could be a culchie working in the financial district or one of the many multinationals that live here.

Because she told me they:
    1) were in tracksuits and skinny jeans with white belts.
    2) had no soul with blonde highlights
    3) were drinking the cheapest piss in Lidl
    4) were listening to banging tunes (Aslan?) on their phone speaker
    5) were standing in a pool of spit and piss littered with the odd syringe.
    6) were about 4 foot 5
    7) were in Dublin
    8) She couldn't understand the scanger accent except for the words... bleedin, wah and do nuffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Prime Irish Beef

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.
    Ever notice that you can never tell if an individual is from Donegal, Kerry, Wexford or Westmeath until you hear their accent, but you can tell a Jackeen bastard the second you unfortunately lay eyes on him.

During the 1890s, Lord Calverton, a British politician from Dublin, visited Dublin to study the effects of poverty in the slums which made up 110% of the city. He discovered that there were so many prostitutes in the city that many Jackeens regularly had intercourse with the mothers, grandmothers and sisters. This is the scientific explanation why so many of them look like Christy Dignam clones.
    Before being called Anto or Deco the Jackeen bastards were almost uniformly called Jack. This was due to the Dublin infatuation with the Union Jack.

For real Irish people the suffix "een" means something smaller than normal, such as a Jackeen's hands, its brain, its inability to do simple mathematics or its inability to not sh1t themselves in public (they do this because of their heroin addictions).

Pure comedy. These posts have made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Dublin is the ex husband that the rest of the country hates, but depend on it for financial support since they can't get out and make their own money. If they could get rid of us they would, but we would be a lot more financially better off and the countryside would become a third world population and we would have to send trocaire. We'd have are trocaire boxes with little culchie kids on the front starving.

Could you imagine?????
    They'd be all calves licks and gunner eyes, you'd be throwing money at the thing to fill it just to get the thing out of the house so it would stop scaring the cat.
    The bigwigs in Trocaire really missed a trick on this one....sure they could have all had yachts and private islands on the money that could have been made if only they went with the culchie on the box instead of the little African fellow.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Dublin is, and always has been, the main determining factor in Ireland becoming a modern, progressive society. It's easy to point out the flaws, and there are many, but Ireland is still an Island backwater without Dublin.

Social issues though. Not just the obvious ones like homelessness and junkies... Anxiety, insecurity, restlessness, destructiveness etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Social issues though. Not just the obvious ones like homelessness and junkies... Anxiety, insecurity, restlessness, destructiveness etc.
    Those issues are not even close to being exclusive to those living in cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I love Dublin because its mere existence is a daily reminder of why i'm so lucky to live in a rural village in the Southeast, 15 minutes drive from the nearest city.

6) were about 4 foot 5
    7) were in Dublin
    8) She couldn't understand the scanger accent except for the words... bleedin, wah and do nuffin

You just described those lads who wear the plastics bags on their head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

infogiver wrote: »
    25 years ago I was the first bogger to enter a work environment which had been exclusively jackeen for about 100 years
    Not joking you there was a family of 5 sisters from Fatima Mansions (fantastic girls all of them) who'd never been in such close proximity to a bogger for 8 hours at a stretch before
    I've a terrible flat country accent and for the first 6 months every time I spoke the whole place would turn around and gape
    Loved them all stayed for 10 years happy memories

You rode all 5 of them didn't you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

6) were about 4 foot 5
    7) were in Dublin

Did any of them address her as "pal" or "buddy"

Sam Kade wrote: »
    In fairness Jackeen you'd have a better chance of riding your relatives being cramped in such a small city, which is more like a town by international standards.

With that logic you just try to ride the person nearest to you in the nightclub.

I am guessing you work in that D4 financial institution mentioned earlier, average family size in rural Ireland is higher and smaller population in country town so much higher likelyhood of riding your cousin who is also your aunt.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why do Jackeens always refer to the fact that their arses are bleeding? As in "I will in me bleedin aaarse" Must be the pole of the union Jack :D

"I'm happy out" well go the **** outside and bring the smell of manure with you

Its like everything else in Ireland, badly handled. A lot of cities have designated areas and they get arrested outside of them but they are free to roam here. Very little in the way of rehab, the queues for the methadone clinics are a sight to behold.

He is from Cork

retalivity wrote: »
    I'm a bogger, and work for a large financial institution in D4. Im surrounded by boggers, my whole team are culchies like myself, its great!

Im guessing they couldn't find any qualified jackeens to fill the roles...or boggers are just better.

I am from Dublin and agree 100%.

Like most Irish people we are not much more than 3 generations from the bog.

Think Philip Costello got into some hot water for that remark back in the day! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Not really, we just assimilate like the Borg, Just look at Drogheda. Soon we will call the hole country Dublin and we will all think as one.:pac:

I doubt that. The dubs move to these places and there kids go to the local school and come out with dirty bogger accents ; ) Bring your kids up in a bogger town and your raising the next generation of boggers. It Doesn't matter if the parents are dubs at heart ; )

I remember one time the junkies girlfriend telling him to rob me and he replied no he'll knock me out, their funny things junkies, because they don't even know they are one.

It's like they think we can't hear them, two junkies were discussing grabbing my phone when I was talking on it, I said one step towards me and I will put you both in hospital they looked at me like I read their minds :eek:(shudder the thought)

I doubt that. The dubs move to these places and there kids go to the local school and come out with dirty bogger accents ; ) Bring your kids up in a bogger town and your raising the next generation of boggers. It Doesn't matter if the parents are dubs at heart ; )

That's not fully true have nieces and nephews down in drogheda, 2 of them have a Dublin type accent but the youngest at times is impossible to understand all 3 have always lived in the country. The older 2 had more time spent up with us Dubliner though. So just keep them on a diet of fair city and you'll be grand.

I remember the day you could pinpoint a county from hearing someone speak I know girls from Galway and Dundalk who have that faux D4/ American lilt, I know people from Naas and Bray with proper Dublin accents.

I hate the ****ing fakery Dublin scumbags do their best to make themselves sound so Dublin you can just about make out what they are saying and at the other end people with the plums in the mouth D4/ American accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

I have lots of relations in Dublin, mostly work in the bar trade, We make a good living from them Dubs so I shan't be slagging them, not yet anyway.

Not yet, we are not planning stopping drinking anytime soon