Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Al Porter - Lunchtimes on Today FM Mod warning post #1 / #558

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Starts today - let the whining commence :D

Going to try and listen to him but its going to be tough, as I've never liked him on TV or 2fm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I think this show will be reasonably popular but Al will lose interest and go off to do other stuff sometime in 2018

Starting off with one of the biggest Gay icons - Madonna

If this is the music we have to listen to, we are in for a long summer :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

What do people think of it so far?lenny and Pam are working with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭EverythingGood

I miss Anton. Today FM is gone to the dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Doesn't seem to be as camp as when on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Ryaner179

Not even 30 minutes in and already casual homophobia on this thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭The Parish Priest.

homophobia ??? who on the thread is afraid of homosexuals ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Evelynn Warm Munchies

Thank god my boss just installed his Spotify as the stores music player ...bye bye today fm

ITV2 wrote: »
    how long into show 1 will it take him to mention he's gay ??:D

17 mins in - he dates other men :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Evelynn Warm Munchies

Ryaner179 wrote: »

isn't his act a negative stereotype?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Not too pushed on this show so far. I'll give him a chance & dip back into him tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Ryaner179

isn't his act a negative stereotype?

Keyword there is act, as in not real, nothing he has done/said so far is anywhere close to his comedy persona

His phone chat with callers sounds far more natural than some who have been doing it for much longer so far

I'm out. Cant warm to him and have never warmed to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

Ah he hasn't done anything wrong yet. No need to sharpen the pitchforks for the moment.
    It's not his fault he's not Anton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Ryaner179 wrote: »

Build a bridge..,

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

It's only 45 minutes into his first day on the job, some of you are very harsh! Have tuned in for a listen as I'm a fan of Al's normally. There is a lot less talking than I'd have expected so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,843 ✭✭✭Glebee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

baldbear wrote: »
    Not too pushed on this show so far. I'll give him a chance & dip back into him tomorrow.

jeyyyyyasus !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Its been alright so far, he might suit the slot. Loads of energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,693 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Ah it's grand really, he isn't as annoying as I thought he would be. Music is pure ****e though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Not into this at all... why is he speaking to people like they are 6 years old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Christ lads its lucky Porter isn't reading this thread.
    With all the talk of dipping and slots he'd have enough innuendos for his next tour.

Christ lads its lucky Porter isn't reading this thread.
    With all the talk of dipping and slots he'd have enough innuendos for his next tour.

Careful now, you might be accused of being homophobic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Probably the longest intro EVER given by a radio presenter. Well, about themselves anyway. Aside from that, the show wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. My colleagues had no comment, so they're obviously happy enough so far. Still, I'd prefer Muireann to have been kept on that slot. I enjoyed listening to her for the last number of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Heard most of the show today and it went better than I expected. I groaned when the Madonna song was the first played but the rest of the music was very much an ABC of playlisted music. I'll stay listening for a few weeks as I did when Ray D'Arcy started as I hope he will grow into the show as well but I think there is a huge off air demand on his time and I hope the show won't suffer because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭IUA14

I heard the first hour of the show...meh but sure look we'll see...one thing that stuck with me when he was doing the spiel about himself was he said "it might come out throughout the next twelve months"...has he only signed on for a year??? I wouldn't be surprised given he very much has his eyes on the UK and other things with BBC and touring etc. but it would be baffling for Today FM to make such an short term choice at, significant expense, in him for a year.

The gratuitous texts tho...christ they have to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

IUA14 wrote: »
    I heard the first hour of the show...meh but sure look we'll see...one thing that stuck with me when he was doing the spiel about himself was he said "it might come out throughout the next twelve months"...has he only signed on for a year??? I wouldn't be surprised given he very much has his eyes on the UK and other things with BBC and touring etc. but it would be baffling for Today FM to make such an short term choice at, significant expense, in him for a year.

The gratuitous texts tho...christ they have to stop.

I would say panty yokes be their next pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Being on the radio Monday to Friday will prevent him from gigging in the UK for anything other than two nights a week

With the afternoon slot he can gig all around Ireland any night of the week.

So he's upping his comedy profile and he's becoming a broadcaster.

He may want to go down the broadcasting route in the UK after this and if so he's made a smart move. I'm sure he's being advised well.

His "I'm gay" routine isn't for me but if his radio persona is different from his TV appearances then who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I actually enjoy listening to him when he's on radio or TV, despite the fact that he does camp it up a little bit too much at times.

Missed his show today, but I honestly wouldn't be surprised if he has a good career in the future, maybe even in the UK. Who knows, he might even be the next Graham Norton? He's young, intelligent, quick-witted.......he could go far.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I listened in for about 30 minutes this afternoon and quite liked it. He's a bit shouty but if he tones that down, it will hopefully be quite listenable.

I still think there are better options for the slot already in Today FM.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I actually enjoy listening to him when he's on radio or TV, despite the fact that he does camp it up a little bit too much at times.

Missed his show today, but I honestly wouldn't be surprised if he has a good career in the future, maybe even in the UK. Who knows, he might even be the next Graham Norton? He's young, intelligent, quick-witted.......he could go far.
    You're having an absolute laugh!

Skoda weren't long bailing out on the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

The office radio lasted 15 minutes with him today.. choices are limited though at that time. Hook is a no go, as is ronan collins so 4fm getting a whirl today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭statto25

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Skoda weren't long bailing out on the show

Skoda sponsored Antons show. McCain sponsored Dermot and Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 justsaynokids

Listened today , it's absolute drivel.

statto25 wrote: »
    Skoda sponsored Antons show. McCain sponsored Dermot and Dave

Ah yes sorry... but even when Muireann was on it was lunchtimes on Today fm with mcains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I thought yesterday's show was poor but showed some potential.

Today's show proved this guy isn't suitable. "Feck off", "bloody hell", "get the ride out of that". This isn't the sort of stuff for a national broadcast afternoon show.
    He's loud and obnoxious, maybe suitable for some back street local radio station but well below the standard of presenter needed for today fm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

_Brian wrote: »
    I thought yesterday's show was poor but showed some potential.

Today's show proved this guy isn't suitable. "Feck off", "bloody hell", "get the ride out of that". This isn't the sort of stuff for a national broadcast afternoon show.
    He's loud and obnoxious, maybe suitable for some back street local radio station but well below the standard of presenter needed for today fm.
    I imagine he'll be reigned in a bit before long, Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Yesterday i gave him a chance, today i decided i'd rather be kicked on the balls for 2.5 hrs than listen.

Sorry Al, you're not my cup of tea and i feel its going to back fire on Today FM.

Oh and only one man is worthy of wearing a suit on Today FM, he ain't no Anton:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭TheManFromTipp

The voice he put on handing over to the news at 12..even the news reader afterwards was slagging him,I thought he sounded a bit english for a while as well..He seems to be learning how to use the desk live on air.Awful..I am out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

I enjoyed it..................:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,803 ✭✭✭prunudo

I have to say, it's not as bad as I had feared and it doesn't grate me as much as F. D'arcy show.
    I'll give the show a chance for couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

jvan wrote: »
    I have to say, it's not as bad as I had feared and it doesn't grate me as much as F. D'arcy show.
    I'll give the show a chance for couple of weeks.

For the moment I'll turn over when he's on. Give it a few weeks and I'll listen on again from curiosity.
    However Al and his type of personality aren't my cuppa at all, I'd consider him crass, shallow and in general not funny and definitely not interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Tuned in again.

Not a fan of listening to people who have issues pronouncing their Rs

Find it really annoying so I think I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

People with lisps shouldn't be radio presenters, IMO.

anna080 wrote: »
    People with lisps shouldn't be radio presenters, IMO.
    Don't be a discriminatory dick.
    I don't like his humour, I don't like his presenting style but to simply suggest anyone with a speech impediment should be disqualified from holding a job on radio is absolutely moronic, small minded and pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Don't be a discriminatory dick.
    I don't like his humour, I don't like his presenting style but to simply suggest anyone with a speech impediment should be disqualified from holding a job on radio is absolutely moronic, small minded and pathetic.

Well, I did say IMO. I'm not asking anyone to agree with me. It's a radio show, where all we have to go on is enunciation and the spoken word, and if you do not have a pleasant voice and are spluttering down the radio, well that's something I do not want to listen to and I make no apologies for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Its as bad as what I thought it would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭h7nlrp2v0g5u48

I like his humour and I'm abit surprised TV3 or RTE didn't offer him his own show on TV. If they can take a chance on Tommy Tiernan who I find very unfunny why not give Al a trial run and see how he works out.