Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

Congrats to the Munchs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Rod Munch wrote: »
    Ye have missed one of Anders most important attributes.

His ability to piss on the chips, spectacularly, of opposition fans.

Priceless tbh.

In other news a new United fan was born yesterday when Mrs Rod Munch gave birth to our son. Mother and baby doing well thank god.

She wouldn't let me call him Ander however.

Next one perhaps.

Nice one man. Congrats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

https://www.instagram.com/p/BTFNKcslsW6/

Always good to see a happy squad

Pfa team of the year

FB_IMG_1492675584543.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Priceless tbh.

In other news a new United fan was born yesterday when Mrs Rod Munch gave birth to our son. Mother and baby doing well thank god.

Next one perhaps.

Big congratulations man :D hope everything continues to go well, enjoy it! All the best to the 3 of you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

I think we are in danger of over hyping Herrera.
    Yes he was brilliant at the weekend, a man of the match performance no doubt but he has been underwhelming and sloppy with the ball plenty of times too.

Lets hope he can find consistency in his performance and influence games more like he did at the weekend(albeit in a one off specialist role)and maybe the weekend will be a spring board for him but I think the priase he is getting is ott .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,593 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Priceless tbh.

Next one perhaps.

Welcome to the world little King Eric :D glad that everyone is doing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

adox wrote: »
    Yes he was brilliant at the weekend, a man of the match performance no doubt but he has been underwhelming and sloppy with the ball plenty of times too.

Lets hope he can find consistency in his performance and influence games more like he did at the weekend(albeit in a one off specialist role)and maybe the weekend will be a spring board for him but I think the priase he is getting is ott .

Superb analysis last night by Kenny Cunningham on OTB.While he praised Ander's discipline he said both Hazard and Conte got it wrong tactically by Hazard not staying right out wide.He said in the last game where Jones was given the same task against Hazard he simply didn't have the discipline to carry it out and left him alone at times and we paid the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,341 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

zerks wrote: »
    Superb analysis last night by Kenny Cunningham on OTB.While he praised Ander's discipline he said both Hazard and Conte got it wrong tactically by Hazard not staying right out wide.He said in the last game where Jones was given the same task against Hazard he simply didn't have the discipline to carry it out and left him alone at times and we paid the price.

we were a man down quite early in the last match against them though, so I don't think it is an accurate measure of the tactic. We were doing well til the sending off, which was arguably a little harsh.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

adox wrote: »

Herrera is consistent this season. All midfielders are sloppy one time or another, that's not a problem as we are not playing possession game. Herrera is superb defensively this season and contributed lot in attack too for a defensive minded player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

jayo26 wrote: »
    Pfa team of the year

FB_IMG_1492675584543.jpg

Delighted de gea made it.

Glad to see David Luiz made it as well. Excellent season and one of the best Centre backs in the league

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Buzzing for tonights game!!! After last weekend, the crowd will be gassed I bet. Feeling really confident about CL football but one bad game could change it all. I hope Rashford starts up front again

we were a man down quite early in the last match against them though, so I don't think it is an accurate measure of the tactic. We were doing well til the sending off, which was arguably a little harsh.

He mentioned that but his point was that Jones didn't have the discipline or concentration level needed to do what was asked of him.
    Now we know what Jose meant when he made that comment about "doing the thinking for Shaw" recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Congrats on the new arrival Munch, hope all is well!

After last sunday the confidence is hopefully high, hope we go out and trounse anderlecht tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Be interesting to see if Romero or DDG starts in goal, and will he use Shaw as LB?

Ibra will be leading the line, no doubt. Mika and Carrick Id imagine will be starting too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

DDG very lucking to get into the TOTY, not his best year, I would argue that Lloris should've got in instead.
    Kyle Walker has had a great season but I feel that Tony V deserved RB more.

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Be interesting to see if Romero or DDG starts in goal, and will he use Shaw as LB?

Ibra will be leading the line, no doubt. Mika and Carrick Id imagine will be starting too.

Romero is in goal... He is preferred for Europa league according to Jose that don't mean he is the Europa league keeper tho haha um yes it does jose.

In the past games he has been preferred, but I wonder will Jose play it safe and start DDG considering how tight the tie is. I feel we have to play our best team and that means De Gea in goal for me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Gotta dance with the girl you brought. Romero deserves to see it all the way through now imo.

Nailz wrote: »
    DDG very lucking to get into the TOTY, not his best year, I would argue that Lloris should've got in instead.

I don't get why people say this about DDG he is still solid as ever in the second best defence in the league. He made probably a maximum if 3 mistakes all season and one lead to a goal he is human but I'd still prefer him in goal over any other keeper in the world right now.

I don't get why people say this about DDG he is still solid as ever in the second best defence in the league. He made probably a maximum if 3 mistakes all season and one lead to a goal he is human but I'd still prefer him in goal over any other keeper in the work right now.

Me too, Janice from accounting has horrible ball to hand coordination.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Gotta dance with the girl you brought. Romero deserves to see it all the way through now imo.

Yeah he does indeed he has preformed so well and if Jose didn't select him it would be proper ****ty thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Nailz wrote: »

I don't get why people say this about DDG he is still solid as ever in the second best defence in the league. He made probably a maximum if 3 mistakes all season and one lead to a goal he is human but I'd still prefer him in goal over any other keeper in the world right now.

Lloris is a bit dodgy also. He had an absolute mare in a very big game this season too, I think it was against City where he gifted them a goal, if not two.

Keane to leave burnley at end of season....... was at United game sunday hmmmmmmm I wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Lord TSC wrote: »

I'd be amazed if we don't achieve top 4 and Jose leaves out the best keeper in the world in the final of the EL, all for the sake of sentiment.

Romero is a good keeper, and it'd be harsh but De Gea is number 1 and for him not to start the most important game of the season would be ridiculous.

Keane to leave burnley at end of season....... was at United game sunday hmmmmmmm I wonder

Was it not a few Burnleys players (as we play em sunday) or was it a load of randomers I cant remember

It was his agents and solicitors with pens....

Nah could of been the players I can't remember.

Was at the game with his brother, Will.

Of course there could be something in it (I know someone very confident on collecting a bet they made) - but the fact also remains that he and his brother would still have close ties with various United players and staff - so going to watch a United game isn't a weird thing for them to do.

So lads, will Rod allow us pick the name for Rod Jr?

Marouanne Munch has a good ring to it.:)

Sky Sports: Blaise Matuidi will be allowed to leave PSG in the summer for €10-15m (£8.3-£12m). He has offers from England and Spain, with Manchester United at the front of the queue for his signature. (Le Parisien)

He's signing for Chelsea so :D

Seriously though, I wonder if there is a buy back clause or if Utd would be interested in buying him back. He went when LvG did a mass clear out didn't he?

He's signing for Chelsea so :D

Seriously though, I wonder if there is a buy back clause or if Utd would be interested in buying him back. He went when LvG did a mass clear out didn't he?

According to Sky Sports, Utd have a buy back clause

• Massive game deserves a massive match thread....

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Massive game deserves a massive match thread....

get jayo to do it..we'll win ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Delboy5

Was at the game with his brother, Will.

Of course there could be something in it (I know someone very confident on collecting a bet they made) - but the fact also remains that he and his brother would still have close ties with various United players and staff - so going to watch a United game isn't a weird thing for them to do.

I heard they were watching it from the Directors box.......he'd also qualify for home-grown squad quota which could be useful...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭paulbok

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Me too, Janice from accounting has horrible ball to hand coordination.

That must have spoiled the Xmas party for you so? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Sky Sports: Blaise Matuidi will be allowed to leave PSG in the summer for ?10-15m (?8.3-?12m). He has offers from England and Spain, with Manchester United at the front of the queue for his signature. (Le Parisien)

He would be a very good addition especially at that price.The cm is light on numbers now so a signing like that at a low cost would be ideal.

get jayo to do it..we'll win ;)

I don't think people appreciate my minimalist style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Think he stole that from MNF :D

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

Is Keane an upgrade on any of our CB's ? I doubt it.

beno619 wrote: »

Well he hasn't had a major injury in two years so he is instantly an upgrade on Jones and maybe smalling too.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Delboy5

Smalling and Jones....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭markc91

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/manchester-united-moyes-ferguson-keane-12919119

Well said! Should have gotten Jose 1st time around, things would have been a lot different....

all at the top of their game, I am not sure - but it is very tough to rely on Jones and Smalling to do those things at this point.

It could be a case that Keane is being looked at as a solid CB buy, to add to a selection of CBs (with baily and... I can't believe I am saying this...Rojo as first choices until beaten out for a spot). The fact he would add to a home grown quota is possibly a consideration too.

Also, I have zero idea what other defenders we could go for. There aren't many truly top centre backs around, and most are at clubs we couldn't buy them from I guess.

Jose has got a good return out of the defence we have this season - he might see that base defensive unit and Keane as good enough for next season, giving him more room/funds to concentrate on midfield and attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭stesaurus

He'd be a great 3/4th choice option if it's true that we have a buy back clause. Ideally replace either Jones/Smalling in the squad due to their injury records.

Lads Keane has had a solid season if he struck up a good partnership with bailley he would be alot better then 3rd or 4th choice someone like them two could be a cb partnership for years to come.

He is the perfect age the only down part of it is it's a sickner that he was let go in the first place for all the good that let did with parts of the squad he baffled with his decisionstoo.

Rojo at the moment is playing really really well but he is prone to making odd decision that leaves him open to red cards and suspensions it will catch up with him at some stage and he will have a name for himself.

s.welstead wrote: »
    He'd be a great 3/4th choice option if it's true that we have a buy back clause. Ideally replace either Jones/Smalling in the squad due to their injury records.

I don't believe we have a buy back clause - the reports are incorrect as far as I understand. Memphis having a buyback clause (or first refusal) was remarked as being out of the ordinary (and smart) for United.

I believe the sale to Burnley had a percentage sell on clause attached, not a buy back. So United would get a percentage of whatever fee Burnley get for Keane. If we are buying him then I would guess this might be waived as it would be a zero sum game in the end (in respect of the clause). There might be accounting issues that make it attractive or unattractive to either United or Burnley to still use the clause - I dunno. Player amortization over the contract term would have a lower value if the purchase price United pay is lower but the sell on fee waived.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭KH25

markc91 wrote: »
    http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/manchester-united-moyes-ferguson-keane-12919119

Well said! Should have gotten Jose 1st time around, things would have been a lot different....

That article just reminds me how much I miss Chicharito! LVG should never have sold him and Moyes basically left him to rot on the bench until the 85th minute in most games.