Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 17,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Rooney, Carrick available, Jones is a "wait and see tomorrow" and Mkhi is out :(

Moderator: Forum Games

• astradave wrote: »
    Rooney, Carrick available, Jones is a "wait and see tomorrow" and Mkhi is out :(

Did he say how long?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Surprised it hasn't been used for a Ronaldo link conspiracy yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Surprised it hasn't been used for a Ronaldo link conspiracy yet

Beat me to it
    Wait if the #7 is in the back????

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Did he say how long?

Just that he will miss the match on sunday, going by the twitter updates.. in fairness Jose usually never goes further than the match ahead with updates like that

On Rooney:

“He did it in exactly the right moment because I think this should be the last question about him until the end of the season.”

Looks like he is gone in the summer.

then this :D

https://twitter.com/Chriswin4/status/835128618141560833?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

Mourinho was told he could become the first United manager to win a trophy in his first season:
    “You are right but I have so many good things in my career that I wouldn’t be influenced by a little detail. The important thing is the club and the fans.”

Edit: heres the Youtube Vid

• Registered Users Posts: 33,758 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Jose says the EL draw was 'a bad draw in every aspect'

First leg against Rostov at 6pm,
    2nd leg at 8.05pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Any word on Mick or Carrick for Sunday?

astradave wrote: »
    Pheonix10 wrote: »

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

This Rostov is a tiny place.

https://www.google.ie/maps/place/Rostov,+Yaroslavl+Oblast,+Russia/@57.1859402,39.4164464,23323m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m5!3m4!1s0x46b3204f23a50833:0xa4f3079f91ac13e0!8m2!3d57.195623!4d39.4131527

Population the size of Bray.
    About 200kms West of Moscow and on a main rail line so shouldn't be too bad to access.
    Beautiful looking little town, very quaint Russia.

Have a look at the Google images.

Edit: I'm a twat and there's more than 1 Rostov in Russia. Thanks Flint!! :)

• Pheonix10 wrote: »

99% certain I'm gonna make the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Jayop wrote: »
    This Rostov is a tiny place.

https://www.google.ie/maps/place/Rostov,+Yaroslavl+Oblast,+Russia/@57.1859402,39.4164464,23323m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m5!3m4!1s0x46b3204f23a50833:0xa4f3079f91ac13e0!8m2!3d57.195623!4d39.4131527

Population the size of Bray.
    About 200kms West of Moscow and on a main rail line so shouldn't be too bad to access.
    Beautiful looking little town, very quaint Russia.

Have a look at the Google images.

Don't go there or you won't get to see the game :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Don't go there or you won't get to see the game :pac:

feck should have guessed there's more than 1 Rotov in Russia.

Yeah, that one makes more sense with a population over a million. it also has an airport so the club should be able to schedule a flight right there.

Right on the border with the Ukraine too so not as far to fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,066 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

With all this talk of Rooney leaving the club in the Summer does anyone actually think that United will break the world record again to sign Greizmann? Cant see it happening personally.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

billyhead wrote: »
    With all this talk of Rooney leaving the club in the Summer does anyone actually think that United will break the world record again to sign Greizmann? Cant see it happening personally.

I personally think it's a nailed on signing this summer. Appears to be the worst kept secret in football. Plus his brother seems to be flirting with Man Utd every week too. As an Arsenal fan I wouldn't like to see the signing happen, but it will in the summer.

I can see it but would prefer if it was 70m odd and not a world record. What is his clause at? And could he go for less?

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Every Man United fan would say YES! YES! YES!

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    I can see it but would prefer if it was 70m odd and not a world record. What is his clause at? And could he go for less?

His buy out clause is £85.5 million, highly doubt Atletico would let him go for anything under the £85 million.

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    His buy out clause is £85.5 million, highly doubt Atletico would let him go for anything under the £85 million.

So no record transfer needed? Just the 85 mil in change...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

With the money floating around and the squad we have already i can see the Griezman deal easily happening or another similar.

Woodward said they won't be a big turnover of players so it will be quality over quantity we don't have loads of gaps in the squad to fill just need to improve it in some positions to add to the potential and class thats already there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

What time is Kick off in the Final on Sunday and is it Sky that are showing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

What time is Kick off in the Final on Sunday and is it Sky that are showing it?

4.30 kick off on Sky.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Lukekul

And grand quiz to annoy yourself, can you name every united premier league goal scorer?

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/quiz-name-every-single-manchester-united-premier-league-goalscorer/114693

Watched that Gary Lineker with Juan Mata, he's (Mata) such a likable fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Lukekul wrote: »
    And grand quiz to annoy yourself, can you name every united premier league goal scorer?

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/quiz-name-every-single-manchester-united-premier-league-goalscorer/114693

Forgot Cantona......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,504 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Forgot Cantona......

I got to around 70 and really started racking my brain, then realised with about 30 seconds left that I had been trying to remember earlier years so much I had forgotten about most of the current squad, including the likes of Pogba and Zlatan...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,742 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Im a bit late but finally managed to watch the Mata interview.

Absolutely love him even more. Such a class act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

I got to around 70 and really started racking my brain, then realised with about 30 seconds left that I had been trying to remember earlier years so much I had forgotten about most of the current squad, including the likes of Pogba and Zlatan...:o

Forgot Mkhitaryan too and I have his name on my United shirt :)

If we sign Griezman will we become the most expensive squad in the universe?

No just most expensive in the world..... we will never catch them teams on Mars for the spending power.

Headshot wrote: »
    Im a bit late but finally managed to watch the Mata interview.

Absolutely love him even more. Such a class act

Me too just now also it was a really enjoyable and honest interview just a bit short need more juan

jayo26 wrote: »
    No just most expensive in the world..... we will never catch them teams on Mars for the spending power.

O ya Mars rovers forgot about them :pac:

Ill get my spacesuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Lukekul wrote: »

73 out of 98.

Not bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

astradave wrote: »

Such a legend, would be great craic to go on the beer with as well

bangkok wrote: »
    Such a legend, would be great craic to go on the beer with as well

Id say he is saying exactly same about you :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Apparently our next trophy puts us level with Liverpool on the major trophy front

We must of been level with them until they won league in October.... Bugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

We must of been level with them until they won league in October.... Bugger

Coutinho had world player of the year wrapped up too, I wonder why Klopp hasnt played him in 6 months

Still not as good as Mata

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭Sand

It just makes me smile that even 18 months ago people were agonising about the financials as if the floodlights would have to be dimmed to save on the electricity bills.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

https://twitter.com/utdreport/status/835259891895926786 :P:P

Mixed emotions from people on twitter!! Some saying he should be dropped for this. Wtf! Just a bit of craic. So what if he dropped the N bomb :pac:

https://twitter.com/utdreport/status/835259891895926786 :P:P

Mixed emotions from people on twitter!! Some saying he should be dropped for this. Wtf! Just a bit of craic. So what if he dropped the N bomb :pac:

Thank fuk people on twitter dont pick the team or run the club then so ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Thank fuk people on twitter dont pick the team or run the club then so ha.

I thought black people could say the N bomb, especially worded/spelt with an a and not an er at the end.

Seems very acceptable in USA MTV land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

LINE UP EVERY RAPPER AND SHOOT THEM NOW. THIS IS DISGRACEFUL

Looks like an old video?

• Sand wrote: »
    It just makes me smile that even 18 months ago people were agonising about the financials as if the floodlights would have to be dimmed to save on the electricity bills.

So true.
    I also never understand the whole "But he cost x amount!" scenario or the other one is "wages are too high!".
    As if the money is of a concern to the fan complaining.
    Unless you are a shareholder then why moan about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

So true.
    I also never understand the whole "But he cost x amount!" scenario or the other one is "wages are too high!".

I agree in one sense but in another, some people don't like their club to be taken advantage of my other clubs just because we're rich. But in the main, I say spend that lolly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭BenK

So true.

I think the wages one does have some validity as it can upset the dynamic of a squad if one or two players are on huge wages in comparison to the rest of the squad. It can also possibly affect hunger if a young player in particular is getting huge wages and maybe players then think about only coming to the club for the money too. Di Maria possibly... And look at what's happening in China, I don't think players are going there for the 'project'.

Probably going a bit off tangent but Neville had a good line from Matt Busby's book the other day on twitter that the first thing he looked for when signing a player was that the player really wanted to play for United.

Paying high fees also says 'we are rich and successful to be able to afford such a player, and top players want to come to us'.
    One can be sure Real Madrid were a little peeved that they no longer have the record for having the most expensive player.
    United currently hold the record for most expensive player in the world with Pogba, and the most expensive teenager with Martial.
    Griezmann will likely be the most expensive player to transfer out of La Liga.
    What it says is the future for French football is very bright...