Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Few Things that The GAA need to Do!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Jaden wrote: »
    And herein lies an important point. The DCB didn't plough funding into building buildings - it spent it on grassroots development of games - getting kids to play our national sports. Only time will tell if they were successful or not, but they signs are very encouraging.

On the subject of a stadium that's fit for purpose, there are arguments as to it's need either way. I personally would prefer Spawell go ahead, but I have heard differing, and probably just as valid reasoning that it should not.

It's not bitter to suggest the GAA have mismanaged their handling of their mandate to foster our national sports. Broadly speaking, I think you may have a point. The question of how we address and mitigate this, is probably where we would start to disagree.

And I admire them for ploughing the funding into grassroots. In hindsight it has proven (or certainly on the way to being proven) that it was the right road to take. However all that needs funding and that's where the GAA came up trumps.

An organisation like the GAA should have had the strategic know-how to realise that maybe Dublin's model might be the way forward - build from the bottom up and the rest will follow. A directive could then have issued to other counties to adapt a similar model. Instead they have waited around for Dublin to get their sh1t in order and the gap is now becoming too wide to manage. I always thought the GAA hierarchy would be wise enough see forward 10/15 years - now I'm not so sure.

I'm involved with GAA at the grassroots and I genuinely have zero interest in attending my county games anymore. It's becoming boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

largepants wrote: »
    And I admire them for ploughing the funding into grassroots. In hindsight it has proven (or certainly on the way to being proven) that it was the right road to take. However all that needs funding and that's where the GAA came up trumps.

An organisation like the GAA should have had the strategic know-how to realise that maybe Dublin's model might be the way forward - build from the bottom up and the rest will follow. A directive could then have issued to other counties to adapt a similar model. Instead they have waited around for Dublin to get their sh1t in order and the gap is now becoming too wide to manage. I always thought the GAA hierarchy would be wise enough see forward 10/15 years - now I'm not so sure.

I'm involved with GAA at the grassroots and I genuinely have zero interest in attending my county games anymore. It's becoming boring.

You are like me. I don't bother with the county team anymore. I predicted in 2008 because I saw how big Dublin was getting in terms of marketing potential, grants, sponsorship and sheer numbers that Dublin would take over GAA football, they will take over hurling in another 10-15 years. I could see it a mile off well before they even won an All ireland.

So I'll ask you & other posters who don't care about supporting their county anymore; if your county joined up with neighbouring counties so you would have a population of 400k or so to pick from and other counties joined up with their neighbours and a league of ten teams was played the same as the premier league with home and away matches would you go for it? Or would you just say no i'll never support anyone but my own county even if that means they don't ever have any hope of winning anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Dots1982 wrote: »
    You are like me. I don't bother with the county team anymore. I predicted in 2008 because I saw how big Dublin was getting in terms of marketing potential, grants, sponsorship and sheer numbers that Dublin would take over GAA football, they will take over hurling in another 10-15 years. I could see it a mile off well before they even won an All ireland.

So I'll ask you & other posters who don't care about supporting their county anymore; if your county joined up with neighbouring counties so you would have a population of 400k or so to pick from and other counties joined up with their neighbours and a league of ten teams was played the same as the premier league with home and away matches would you go for it? Or would you just say no i'll never support anyone but my own county even if that means they don't ever have any hope of winning anything?

Any proof of this?

Slattsy wrote: »
    Any proof of this?

Sorry I don't really talk to Dub GAA fans on internet forums. It's for my benefit not yours. The question was directed at people from other counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Am I alone in thinking that the GAA should do...nothing?

The introduction of the black card, now the mark, and Congress due to be held soon. Who knows whats next, we may no longer recognise our game within a few short years.

The changes recently make me think of Father Ted trying to tap out the dent in the blue Rover.

The introduction of the black card, now the mark, and Congress due to be held soon. Who knows whats next, we may no longer recognise our game within a few short years.

The changes recently make me think of Father Ted trying to tap out the dent in the blue Rover.

14 pages in before someone mentions these :D

The mark - we'll have to give it a go see what happens. I think it will slow down the game, but that will suit some counties more than others.

Black card.. I think it has helped, but refs don't seem to apply in the same way as another ref does, so if we can get the consistency right I think its a good thing.

Pretty much. They should change the rule where games that go to extra time are 15 a side regardless of red cards in normal time but apart from that I find the rules debate to be tiresome and missing the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Wow, the thread that keeps giving, we now have a Soothsayer among us😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Was at the FBD final at the weekend and thought the mark was a good rule change. Better than I thought it'd be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

thesultan wrote: »
    Feel free to add.
    1 Listen more to the grassroots . The Sky deal has been a disaster why do it again?
    2 Take Dublin out of Croke Park bar everything nearly bar Leinster final in Leinster. Let them play at opponents venues not neutral.

3 Enforce the training ban for inter countyteams until January. Give fellas a break.

4 Bring a decision in congress down to 55% majority ruling.

Lol at number 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Dublin's funding for grassroots development came out of the coaching pot for all counties
    Plus a million a year from the Irish Sports Council

Physical infrastructure funding in the GAA comes from a different fund and all counties are entitled to funding for centres of excellence

You cannot compare the two

Dublin has use of taxpayer funded indoor and outdoor training facilities in UCD, DCU and multiple other sites.
    Most counties outside of Dublin don't have that luxury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

lawred2 wrote: »
    Lol at number 2

Genuine GAA fans enjoy a good away game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Was at the FBD final at the weekend and thought the mark was a good rule change. Better than I thought it'd be.

I think it has the potential to be a good rule change encouraging more high fielding.I've been impressed with its application thus far.There has been some confusion amongst players when a mark is called.

The much maligned black card I believe has been a very positive addition if there was a modicum of consistency and correct application of the rule.

14 pages in before someone mentions these :D

The mark - we'll have to give it a go see what happens. I think it will slow down the game, but that will suit some counties more than others.

Black card.. I think it has helped, but refs don't seem to apply in the same way as another ref does, so if we can get the consistency right I think its a good thing.

My problem is that they appear to be a reaction to recent styles of play, in changing the rules the GAA are interfering with a sports natural evolution.

I agree that something needed to be done about cynical fouling, but creating a whole new concept was extremely rash. I would have prefered at least trying to adapt the rules using yellow and red cards and seeing what the reaction was.

As for the mark, most certainly in place to make the game more aesthetically pleasing...but I fear its actually going to be a part of a downfall instead of saving one.

Congress needs to be reminded that they're not obliged to make changes every time they convene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Genuine GAA fans enjoy a good away game

Grand. How do you plan on filling in the revenue holes that such an ideological move would inevitably result in?

Apparently seeking further TV money is out of the question too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I think the whole appeals process needs to be given a long hard stare at. It is woefully inconsistent at times, and undermines referees' authority. I'm all for an appeals process - that's just fair, but the CCCC are becoming, if not already, a joke.

I'm pretty sure they'd acquit anyone, given enough pressure to do so. It needs sorting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Dublin's funding for grassroots development came out of the coaching pot for all counties
    Plus a million a year from the Irish Sports Council

Physical infrastructure funding in the GAA comes from a different fund and all counties are entitled to funding for centres of excellence

You cannot compare the two

Dublin has use of taxpayer funded indoor and outdoor training facilities in UCD, DCU and multiple other sites.
    Most counties outside of Dublin don't have that luxury

That is a good point. Furthermore, other counties have to pay to maintain and upgrade their facilities, whereas Dublin don't. That is a very expensive business relative to gaa county earnings, it is a real help not to have that monkey on your back. It is an even better help to have them paid for by the taxpayers... Saying that, I wouldn't be against Dublin using those facilities and not wasting gaa money. We need to be pragmatic if we are to reach our potential. Redirect the money to teams like Roscommon for example, who have the interest, and a high level of quality, but lack the resources. That is where you would see quick returns in terms of improving competitiveness.

Im sure the concept of me wanting Roscommon to improve is quite alien to some on here, going off some of their posts. But the thing is I realise that there are more important things than beating and/or hammering your neighbour every year. The gaa dies if you go down that road. We need to take responsibility for our game, not just our team.

What is clear from this thread is that the biggest issue in the gaa at present, according to it's members, isn't the black card or the mark, or even the fixtures, it is the artificial creation of a super-power that is miles out of kilter with everyone else, to the point of ruining the game down the line.
    Thankfully, the gaa appear to be angling to split Dublin in the future, which is good for everyone, especially those in Dublin, though they may need to be dragged kicking and screaming towards that improvement.

As regards changes to the game, Id like to see the mark introduced all over the field. Otherwise the game will continue to move away from physically bigger players, like it is in soccer. They already get no frees, get targeted in melees, get targeted by opposing ball-carriers, get avoided on kickouts. Slowly but surely, bigger players are becoming yesterday's player - that need to be addressed. There should be room for more than one type of player in the game.

You can pump money into Roscommon till the cows come home, they will never compete for Sam. Same with Monaghan. Those counties do well to stay in Division 1 but money is only half the story. Without a large base population these counties will simply never be anything but cannon fodder for the best teams. Mayo and Kerry do wonderfully to give Dublin a game but they are fighting a losing battle, literally.

That's why as I see the GAA will eventually come round to amalgamations teams, professionalism and an out and out league format. The current model of competition is unsustainable and simply spilting Dublin will never fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

That is a good point. Furthermore, other counties have to pay to maintain and upgrade their facilities, whereas Dublin don't. That is a very expensive business relative to gaa county earnings, it is a real help not to have that monkey on your back. It is an even better help to have them paid for by the taxpayers... Saying that, I wouldn't be against Dublin using those facilities and not wasting gaa money. We need to be pragmatic if we are to reach our potential. Redirect the money to teams like Roscommon for example, who have the interest, and a high level of quality, but lack the resources. That is where you would see quick returns in terms of improving competitiveness.

Im sure the concept of me wanting Roscommon to improve is quite alien to some on here, going off some of their posts. But the thing is I realise that there are more important things than beating and/or hammering your neighbour every year. The gaa dies if you go down that road. We need to take responsibility for our game, not just our team.

What is clear from this thread is that the biggest issue in the gaa at present, according to it's members, isn't the black card or the mark, or even the fixtures, it is the artificial creation of a super-power that is miles out of kilter with everyone else, to the point of ruining the game down the line.
    Thankfully, the gaa appear to be angling to split Dublin in the future, which is good for everyone, especially those in Dublin, though they may need to be dragged kicking and screaming towards that improvement.

As regards changes to the game, Id like to see the mark introduced all over the field. Otherwise the game will continue to move away from physically bigger players, like it is in soccer. They already get no frees, get targeted in melees, get targeted by opposing ball-carriers, get avoided on kickouts. Slowly but surely, bigger players are becoming yesterday's player - that need to be addressed. There should be room for more than one type of player in the game.

So in summary

1. We should take all the money away from dublin because those big bullies wont let mayo have an all ireland even though mayo are the bestest county. Dublin have all these facilities in the big smoke and all mayo have is miles and miles of fields without anything there. Reports like the following are actually just propoganda by the dublin meeja

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.the42.ie/gaa-abbotstown-dublin-2697995-Apr2016/%3Famp%3D1

2. You really hope that if you say it often enough the GAA might split up those dublin bullies. Lots other mayo and kerry fans dont like having to share the top table with dublin would like to have a clean run at Sam.

Plan to follow for when north and South dublin both beat mayo, but further splits are a possibility...

3. No one is buying your crocodile tears for the leinster championship, so saving roscommon football for the good of the game is now a priority. The current plan involves redirecting all dublins funding there so that players now recover by lying in money baths instead of ice baths. No proposal as yet to address the gaps between counties like kerry or mayo (shure it will be grand, its just the natural order for genuine football counties...)

4. Protect aidan o'shea from the big bullies who wont let him score 5 goals every game

Oh!... And to stress you really care about the weaker counties. Not just Mayo mind (cause i guess you see them as a genuine football county)

Yeah really care about mayo weaker counties.....

You can pump money into Roscommon till the cows come home, they will never compete for Sam. Same with Monaghan. Those counties do well to stay in Division 1 but money is only half the story. Without a large base population these counties will simply never be anything but cannon fodder for the best teams. Mayo and Kerry do wonderfully to give Dublin a game but they are fighting a losing battle, literally.

I wouldn't necessarily agree. They do well to stay in D1 as they are, but if they got investment, they would definitely improve. Once they are in the mix it is surprising how a culture can develop - mayo are an example of that. Prior to 96 - nowhere, but contesting several all Ireland finals since. Now if Roscommon wanted to go down the route of amalgamation, then that could be done, but for a county like that, every effort should be made to make them competitive as they are, if they so wished, because at the end of the day, teams like that is what the gaa is really about, rather than big conglomerate juggernauts. Keeping the thing local is important also.

That's why as I see the GAA will eventually come round to amalgamations teams, professionalism and an out and out league format. The current model of competition is unsustainable and simply spilting Dublin will never fix it.

Splitting Dublin alone wont fix every ill in the gaa, but splitting Dublin, optional amalgamation in certain circumstances and pooling resources, with resources awarded to the most in need of it could improve it vastly. That way you could have 10 or more teams capable of winning the thing, and maybe another 10 capable of knocking any of those teams out. That is a far better competition than 1 team capable of winning and 2 capable of beating them every 5-6 odd years...

This facetious idea that you need to have 32 counties capable of winning the thing or we cant do anything to improve it, stinks of an ulterior motive, and will be pushed ad nauseum by posters from Dublin. But that says more about themselves than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Roscommon and Monagahan are in Division 1.Roscommon have got to the quarter finals on a reasonably regular basis this century and the semi finals and one final in 80's and 90's.Monaghan have been in a whole load of quarter finals this century.

How can you say they can't compete for the all ireland when they ahve been there or thereabouts but just a little short for a long while.It's like saying mayo can't win the All Ireland.

Roscommon and Monagahan are in Division 1.Roscommon have got to the quarter finals on a reasonably regular basis this century and the semi finals and one final in 80's and 90's.Monaghan have been in a whole load of quarter finals this century.

How can you say they can't compete for the all ireland when they ahve been there or thereabouts but just a little short for a long while.It's like saying mayo can't win the All Ireland.

I don't know, seems pretty clearcut to me that counties that small simply are unable to cut it with the best, Please show me the championship results of the last 10 years that show me to be wrong?

Forget about the 80's and 90's. Has no relevance to the current age. Game has completely moved on.

tritium wrote: »
    So in summary

1. We should take all the money away from dublin because those big bullies wont let mayo have an all ireland even though mayo are the bestest county. Dublin have all these facilities in the big smoke and all mayo have is miles and miles of fields without anything there. Reports like the following are actually just propoganda by the dublin meeja

If everything was fair and mayo never won an all Ireland I accept that without issue. I have stated this already, and you have seen that. But keep trying to target the poster. It undermines you without me having to bother arguing your points.

2. You really hope that if you say it often enough the GAA might split up those dublin bullies. Lots other mayo and kerry fans dont like having to share the top table with dublin would like to have a clean run at Sam.

I think this is your own story you are telling. nothing I say is going to influence the gaa decision makers. Im just speaking honestly on the issues in the gaa.

For the record if Dublin won sam or anything else with the same resources as their opponents Id more than happily give them their deserved praise. As of now, what praise do they deserve? Congrats on shooting some fish in a barrel.

3. No one is buying your crocodile tears for the leinster championship, so saving roscommon football for the good of the game is now a priority. The current plan involves redirecting all dublins funding there so that players now recover by lying in money baths instead of ice baths. No proposal as yet to address the gaps between counties like kerry or mayo (shure it will be grand, its just the natural order for genuine football counties...)

The leinster championship is an example of what is to come for the all Ireland, which is a major concern for the gaa as a whole. I am part of the gaa therefore it is my concern. Apparently you are not.

4. Protect aidan o'shea from the big bullies who wont let him score 5 goals every game
    Oh!... And to stress you really care about the weaker counties. Not just Mayo mind (cause i guess you see them as a genuine football county)
    Yeah really care about mayo weaker counties.....

Painfully backward thinking. Have you noticed Michael murphy's influence dip over the past few years? Probably not - you probably don't know who he is. His dip in form is connected to this. How about Eoghan O'Gara? Not great the last few years either... Seeing a pattern?
    If AOS was from Dublin, Id still say the same thing about bigger players, because I can see that while AOS will come and go, there will be more players facing the same issues. The difference is, in that instance you would too. Kinda sums up why nobody is taking you seriously here.

I don't know, seems pretty clearcut to me that counties that small simply are unable to cut it with the best, Please show me the championship results of the last 10 years that show me to be wrong?

Forget about the 80's and 90's. Has no relevance to the current age. Game has completely moved on.

Well they will never truly compete in the current context with the direction the game is going in, but splitting Dublin changes that direction. There is no superpower then, no unbeatable force who are only driving further ahead. Roscommon have come close to beating mayo often in the last few years. They could definitely find themselves in a semi or even a final. The same goes for monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

.It's like saying mayo can't win the All Ireland.

..........ahem!!..............Don't mention the war

:D:D

Well they will never truly compete in the current context with the direction the game is going in, but splitting Dublin changes that direction. There is no superpower then, no unbeatable force who are only driving further ahead. Roscommon have come close to beating mayo often in the last few years. They could definitely find themselves in a semi or even a final. The same goes for monaghan.

We've been repeatedly told by your side of the debate
    that Dublin has 10 times the population of the "real football counties"

Do we divide it into 10 teams?

Do we have 10 county stadiums in the 10 counties of dublin?

Or do we just keep dividing it until Dublin are crap and all their teams are in Division 4?

Where do we stop with this? Do we split Cork because they have a bigger population than Leitrim and we want to give Leitrim a chance?

Resources should be ploughed into counties that are willing to demonstrate a proper plan on how they are going to use them.....and yes if this means withdrawing money from Dublin lets do so. Some counties are obviously probably never going to reach the holy grail of an All Ireland but there are enough teams capable of competing at the top.

Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo have all proven they can. Cork are underachieving and Kildare and Meath likewise.

If we wish to abandon tradition and split Dublin well then everything should be open to change. Provincials, All Ireland structures, league structures etc.

But the decisions should be based on proper planning and carefull consideration.............not bile and antagonism towards a successfull team

I'd have thought 2 Dublin teams competing in the AI final against each other every year would be the culchies / begrudgers / etc worst nightmare to be honest.

But I suppose when you don't seem to have much of a life, it gives you two things to moan about instead of just the one. Fills your days and nights though I suppose, doesn't it?

Monaghan are good right now because they have the best scoring forward in the country. When he's gone they'll be back in the pack.

Your plan works up to a point. However if you are from Laois, Wexford, Wicklow, Clare, Waterford, Limerick, Sligo, Leitrim, Fermanagh, Antrim, Louth, Offaly, Longford, Westmeath, Cavan and Carlow you will have to join up with other counties under your plan. I'm not sure that can work logistically in an amateur sport. You would need Longford, leitrim and Offaly to join up to train together and even at that would they compete with the likes of North Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Galway or Mayo? I think you need every team outside of Dublin to form their own amalgamations in a professional era for a truly competitive championship.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

I'd have thought 2 Dublin teams competing in the AI final against each other every year would be the culchies / begrudgers / etc worst nightmare to be honest.

But I suppose when you don't seem to have much of a life, it gives you two things to moan about instead of just the one. Fills your days and nights though I suppose, doesn't it?

splitting Dublin in 2 is of no use. If the funding allowance remains the same, it will be of negligible effect to help other counties and I dont think it would diminish Dublin. Instead of crippling a county, the GAA should be improving or seen to improve the others. The GAA treat Dublin as a province for funding purposes but as a county for participation purposes. That straight away is surely something to be addressed.

As I have stated on here numerous times, this isnt a slight on Dublin. They got money and spent it extremely wisely and effectively. They have enviable coaching structures and plans in place that are simply not transferable to other counties. The GAA is about numbers. Whether that is playing numbers or money, it matters little. They targeted Dublin and have been successful on both counts. Are they better off investing in a heavily populated area rather than small populated counties? They are happy enough to leave other counties fend for themselves, as the return on playing numbers nor money would be forthcoming. However, by doing so, they will diminish the competitiveness of championships and in the long run, end up with very little outside of Dublin.

Some comments already saying that Dubs lose players to a vast array of other sports, that rings through in rural areas too. But even within Dublin, there will be a time when the size of its own clubs becomes a hindrance to itself. Its unsustainable to have some of the clubs at the size they are at and they will lose out longterm as a result. Splitting clubs in Dubin will hardly be well received, but I think it should be looked at for its own good, nevermind what us culchies think of Dublin.

Some clubs in Dublin operate on higher funding and numbers than some counties do. Its inevitable that there will be a disparity in the county competitions then. Money isnt the source of all solutions, but the disparity in funding is a major factor as to what a county can and cant do.

I think the obvious one is Donegal, down and out miserably to Armagh in a qualifier in 2010 to an All Ireland semi-final in 2011, followed by an All Ireland title in 2012. 

A rethink, focus in the right areas and I think there are quite a handful of teams who can punch above their weight. The Division 1 teams should all feel capable of reaching an All Ireland final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Beffs

That is a good point. Furthermore, other counties have to pay to maintain and upgrade their facilities, whereas Dublin don't. That is a very expensive business relative to gaa county earnings, it is a real help not to have that monkey on your back. It is an even better help to have them paid for by the taxpayers.

The Dublin county board are not spending lots of money on a county ground. Instead, they pay Croke Park truck loads of their own money, to rent out Croke Park for their home league games. They do not get to use Croke Park for free. That money is then free for the GAA to do whatever they want with, such as bail out counties who are piss poor at managing their own finances or county grounds. Ring a bell?
    Painfully backward thinking. Have you noticed Michael murphy's influence dip over the past few years? Probably not - you probably don't know who he is. His dip in form is connected to this. How about Eoghan O'Gara? Not great the last few years either... Seeing a pattern?

Eh, Eogahn O'Gara did his cruciate two year ago. That may have had something to do with his current form. But you knew that, right?

Seriously lad, your level of ignorance related to Dublin GAA matters is hilarious. You can proclaim things as FACTS that EVERYBODY KNOWS, if they were TRUE GAA FANS, as much as you want. It doesn't make them facts. Nor does it diminish other peoples GAA credentials, as much as you seem to think it does. Nor does it make your ranting, the reasonable, rational debate that you seem to have have convinced yourself it is.

Keep it up boy. It is comedy gold.

Don't bother replying with the usual insults you deploy for anyone who doesn't agree with you. I'll just take them as said.

If they are the two best teams when all things are equal then best of luck to them.

As for begrudging, surely it is yourself who is begrudging everyone else in the country an equal, or at least more equal, chance? Has it not occurred to you that this is what you are at such pains to prevent - fairness? Alarm bells should be ringing.

Also, do you not realise your depiction of 'culchies' is actually quite degrading as well as displaying a high level of ignorance on your part? Is that genuinely how you see anyone who is simply not from Dublin city?
    And you say it is 'culchies' that are backward?

Beffs wrote: »
    The Dublin county board are not spending lots of money on a county ground. Instead, they pay Croke Park truck loads of their own money, to rent out Croke Park for their home league games. They do not get to use Croke Park for free. That money is then free for the GAA to do whatever they want with, such as bail out counties who are piss poor at managing their own finances or county grounds. Ring a bell?

Eh, Eogahn O'Gara did his cruciate two year ago. That may have had something to do with his current form. But you knew that, right?

Seriously lad, your level of ignorance related to Dublin GAA matters is hilarious. You can proclaim things as FACTS that EVERYBODY KNOWS, if they were TRUE GAA FANS, as much as you want. It doesn't make them facts. Nor does it diminish other peoples GAA credentials, as much as you seem to think it does. Nor does it make your ranting, the reasonable, rational debate that you seem to have have convinced yourself it is.

Keep it up boy. It is comedy gold.

Don't bother replying with the usual insults you deploy for anyone who doesn't agree with you. I'll just take them as said.

Sorry I stopped reading after 'truckloads of money'...

bruschi wrote: »
    . But even within Dublin, there will be a time when the size of its own clubs becomes a hindrance to itself. Its unsustainable to have some of the clubs at the size they are at and they will lose out longterm as a result. Splitting clubs in Dubin will hardly be well received, but I think it should be looked at for its own good, nevermind what us culchies think of Dublin.

I have to say that i agree completely with you on this. The size of some clubs in Dublin is becoming a major problem with respect to running them. The sheer volume of players makes it very difficult to administer and some of the "club Atmosphere" is lost due to club members being complete strangers to each other.

Areas that have had massive populatation growth still only have the original GAA club in the area whilst there maybe 7 or 8 soccer clubs (this in itself can obviouslyalso cause problems with resources).

There's a happy medium with respect to club size and some of the clubs in Dublin have gone past this. My own club is big and I sometimes have doubts about how feasible further expansion actually is

How big is to big though? I started in a club in 1974, it was 5 yrs old at the time. We are now considered a big club. Would I want is diluted, no, its my club.

Paulzx wrote: »
    I have to say that i agree completely with you on this. The size of some clubs in Dublin is becoming a major problem with respect to running them. The sheer volume of players makes it very difficult to administer and some of the "club Atmosphere" is lost due to club members being complete strangers to each other.

Areas that have had massive populatation growth still only have the original GAA club in the area whilst there maybe 7 or 8 soccer clubs (this in itself can obviouslyalso cause problems with resources).

Agreed.
    The same applies for Dublin at intercounty. They don't have an intercounty atmosphere, they have a thoroughly professional atmosphere, akin to leinster rugby. Similarly, the atmosphere and indeed culture in their rival counties are sinking fast because they know they cant compete, and they know it is completely unfair. My changes are designed to reintroduce the intercounty atmosphere across the board.

The fact that you agree with it at club level, yet completely disagree with it at intercounty should be alarming to you. The ethos of both is the exact same. It is just a scaled up version

Agreed.
    The same applies for Dublin at intercounty. They don't have an intercounty atmosphere, they have a thoroughly professional atmosphere, akin to leinster rugby. Similarly, the atmosphere and indeed culture in their rival counties are sinking fast because they know they cant compete, and they know it is completely unfair. My changes are designed to reintroduce the intercounty atmosphere across the board.

The fact that you agree with it at club level, yet completely disagree with it at intercounty should be alarming to you. The ethos of both is the exact same. It is just a scaled up version

Not really the same, there are a load of huge clubs in Dublin so they can compete with each other on a relatively even footing. In the intercounty scene there is only one mammoth.

Yes. But I was more referring to the logic behind it.

Out of interest, what would Dublin club people think if DCB, the Government and indeed monies collected by all other clubs were directed to St. Vincents? If subsequently Vincents had every game at home and bullied the DCB into letting their players off on deserved red cards? Would your club accept that? Would you think it is fair?

Well i think the Dublin club scene is great, the only thing that looks a bit stupid to me and is comparable to intercounty is that they have way too many teams playing senior championship and thus their intermediate level is far weaker than it should be.

They must have nearly 20 teams that are making up the numbers while normally Judes, Bridgets, Vinnies, Kilmacud, Ballyboden & 1 or 2 others are the only ones with a shot at winning it.

Yes. But I was more referring to the logic behind it.

Out of interest, what would Dublin club people think if DCB, the Government and indeed monies collected by all other clubs were directed to St. Vincents? If subsequently Vincents had every game at home and bullied the DCB into letting their players off on deserved red cards? Would your club accept that? Would you think it is fair?

And don't forget letting their goalie take frees...

...and the ref blatantly discriminating by not giving them black cards....

.....and God himself cursing everyone else with bad luck.....

Did I miss any of the other excuses trotted out over the last 5 or so years?

Oh sorry I forgot, you only want answers from those who agree with you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

thesultan wrote: »
    Viewing figures are very poor and I feel they should be free to air.

From a supporters perspective its been a huge success. We get actual analysis on football, instead of the Dunphy-esque sideshow that the Sunday Game has become.

And don't forget letting their goalie take frees...

...and the ref blatantly discriminating by not giving them black cards....

.....and God himself cursing everyone else with bad luck.....

Did I miss any of the other excuses trotted out over the last 5 or so years?

Oh sorry I forgot, you only want answers from those who agree with you :)

Well answers in general would be a start...

Naahh!, Tried that but for some reason you seem to ignore any answers that don't fit your dogma. So frankly I'm tired of your nonsense and couldn't be arsed repeating myself and others again

So I'm just going to sit over here in Dublin, looking out my window at the procession of Dublin GAA players bathing in money as they puff on cigars made of rolled up hundred euro notes. I might even sip on mineral water distilled from the bitterness of our rivals......

Naahh!, Tried that but for some reason you seem to ignore any answers that don't fit your dogma. So frankly I'm tired of your nonsense and couldn't be arsed repeating myself and others again

So I'm just going to sit over here in Dublin, looking out my window at the procession of Dublin GAA players bathing in money as they puff on cigars made of rolled up hundred euro notes. I might even sip on mineral water distilled from the bitterness of our rivals......

You posted a lot of platitudes, Im talking about genuine responses...

As for watching 30 odd men bathing, good for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Beffs

Sorry I stopped reading after 'truckloads of money'...

Why?

Mayo spent 1.6 million on their inter county teams last year. If that isn't truck loads of money, I don't know what is.

http://www.the42.ie/mayo-gaa-3-3115597-Dec2016/

One would think some one from Mayo would be well used to discussing obscene amounts of money, when it comes to their own county, as well as others. Or do you only want to talk about money, when you can set an agenda, that is to your own liking? If it is, your having a fit of the vapours, at the mere mention of the M word is a bit unconvincing.

Have you considered changing your user name to "Mayo Are F#king Loaded" ? It would be a lot more apt, as well as accurate.

Beffs wrote: »
    Why?

Frankly, because to suggest the rental fee the gaa would charge Dublin is a truckload of money, let alone truckloads, particularly in respect to a conversation on the massive spend required to buy land and then build a new stadium, and centre of excellence, is an insult to people's intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

However, if we are draw analogies in an attempt to prove a point, yours falls well short of being representative. I offer a more comprehensive one:

St. Vincent's football club go to the DCB with a plan to improve long term footballing prospects in the club. It's an ambitious, and never tried before plan, but it's well thought out, and the DCB grant the funding. All monies are diverted into grassroots development, and GAA undergos a rebirth in the catchment area. In the meantime, Kickhams and Marino do nothing, except build a big clubhouse that they can't use to it's full extent, using money mainly supplied from the same DCB - their return on investment is abysmal, but the DCB understand that grounds need developing. Both Kickhams and Marino plummet down the league standings, and get crucified by Vinnies in the county championship. Na Fianna lose the county final a couple of times to Vinnies (once in a replay), and demand that Vincent's be split in two.

Na Fianna then only get half what they wanted in loans to redevelop their grounds, but take out a loan with a bank that cripples them. The DCB step in and restructure their debt to allow them to function. Na Fianna complain about Vinnies grants, but don't cut their grass.

In parallel, Vincents have been doing well recently, after a long slump of form, and attendances are way up. They have spearheaded a league format, called the Inbetween Winter and Summer series, and it's been a great success.

Their club ground is too small to host their games, so they rent Parnell park from the DCB, which in turn allows the DCB to service their debt on Parnell park faster then they hoped, and gives them cash flow to allow more money to be distributed to other clubs. Na Fianna Complain that Parnell park is now clearly Vinnies home ground.

The DCB also decide that Vinnies games need to be played in venues that can accommodate their fan numbers, Vinnies get no say in this. Na Fianna complain.

Vinnies finally convince the DCB that they should build their own ground. Na Fianna rubbish the idea, saying it's a waste of money, and continue to complain about Vinnies home advantage.

Vinnies have one of their players (Let's call him Dermot Connolly), cleared to play in the county final, owing to a mess of an appeals system the DCB has created. Na Fianna have one of their players cleared under the same mess, lets call him Kieran Keane. Everyone agrees that the system needs to be fixed, Na Fianna complain about Dermot.

Finally, things come to a head after Vincent's win the county title four times in six years, a few years after Ballyboden do so. Na Fianna complain about this dominance - Ballyboden produce an amazing minor team, and build on this with a plan to topple Vincents.

Na Fianna's captain (also their selector) goes off to play basketball, and hurts his foot.

Again, I apologise for the comedic tone, I hope I managed to fool you all with my clever subterfuge.....

Jaden wrote: »
    However, if we are draw analogies in an attempt to prove a point, yours falls well short of being representative. I offer a more comprehensive one:

St. Vincent's football club go to the DCB with a plan to improve long term footballing prospects in the club. It's an ambitious, and never tried before plan, but it's well thought out, and the DCB grant the funding. All monies are diverted into grassroots development, and GAA undergos a rebirth in the catchment area. In the meantime, Kickhams and Marino do nothing, except build a big clubhouse that they can't use to it's full extent, using money mainly supplied from the same DCB - their return on investment is abysmal, but the DCB understand that grounds need developing. Both Kickhams and Marino plummet down the league standings, and get crucified by Vinnies in the county championship. Na Fianna lose the county final a couple of times to Vinnies (once in a replay), and demand that Vincent's be split in two.

Na Fianna then only get half what they wanted in loans to redevelop their grounds, but take out a loan with a bank that cripples them. The DCB step in and restructure their debt to allow them to function. Na Fianna complain about Vinnies grants, but don't cut their grass.

In parallel, Vincents have been doing well recently, after a long slump of form, and attendances are way up. They have spearheaded a league format, called the Inbetween Winter and Summer series, and it's been a great success.

Their club ground is too small to host their games, so they rent Parnell park from the DCB, which in turn allows the DCB to service their debt on Parnell park faster then they hoped, and gives them cash flow to allow more money to be distributed to other clubs. Na Fianna Complain that Parnell park is now clearly Vinnies home ground.

The DCB also decide that Vinnies games need to be played in venues that can accommodate their fan numbers, Vinnies get no say in this. Na Fianna complain.

Vinnies finally convince the DCB that they should build their own ground. Na Fianna rubbish the idea, saying it's a waste of money, and continue to complain about Vinnies home advantage.

Vinnies have one of their players (Let's call him Dermot Connolly), cleared to play in the county final, owing to a mess of an appeals system the DCB has created. Na Fianna have one of their players cleared under the same mess, lets call him Kieran Keane. Everyone agrees that the system needs to be fixed, Na Fianna complain about Dermot.

Finally, things come to a head after Vincent's win the county title four times in six years, a few years after Ballyboden do so. Na Fianna complain about this dominance - Ballyboden produce an amazing minor team, and build on this with a plan to topple Vincents.

Na Fianna's captain (also their selector) goes off to play basketball, and hurts his foot.

Again, I apologise for the comedic tone, I hope I managed to fool you all with my clever subterfuge.....

Big issue with that; there are no na Fianna, no Kickhams etc etc, or in other words, no other superclubs.

Maybe answer the one you were asked instead of making up one for yourself to answer...

Also patting yourself on the back for coming up with the 'ingenious' plan to make use every penny you can grab to get some of your 10 times the average population of young lads to play football. Team of monkeys working around the clock on that one I take it... Have you ever considered the plans that must be in place in the likes of Kerry, tyrone or mayo, who can almost keep with you, with a 10th of the resources, and a tiny fraction of the cash? Some people seem truly clueless...

Interesting that this has now moved onto club football, the term super club now in vogue. Can someone please define a super club?? Between "Genuine Football Counties", "an insult to people's intelligence" this is looking more likely The Donald's soundbites campaign