Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Java Internship

Options
  • 27-01-2017 11:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 4

Hi guys,

Looking for some advise if anyone can help. I completed a higher diploma in Web Technologies a couple of years ago. Unfortunately there was no internship at the end of it, whereas the year before most people got placed.

The main language we used was Ruby on Rails and maybe the internships dried up because Ruby on Rails doesn't seem to be a popular language anymore. I have recently become unemployed and I am doing an online Java course with ecollege which I'm enjoying (It's free to unemployed).

Basically what I'm asking is how difficult is it to get a Java Internship and should I stick with it or return to a career (which I would have to do exams for) which I don't particularly like, but I have a better chance of employment.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Why not look at a conversion course for Software Development?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 LenyG86

Thanks for the reply.
    The course I did in Web Development was a conversion course too.
    There is a two year evening conversion course in Software development starting soon, which would suit me because I could work also.
    I'm just worried that I would be back in the same position two years from now.
    Do you think a course in software development might offer more opportunities?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

where are you located?

where are you located?
    South Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 8,432 ✭✭✭RedXIV

LenyG86 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply.