Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro Team Jersey Yay or Nay ?

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭lethal dose

I don't have many jerseys but I do have one like this, it's a Movistar from 2015 I think, made by Endura, good material in it

Wear this one myself during the summer for similar reasons or my vintage Lotto/Ursa.

Otherwise I usually wear Boards kit on the mass charity/sportives etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,475 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

I bought the Belkin jersey (santini) , love wearing it. Soooo comfy :)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I rememebr a few years ago being on a MNS CC spin and there was this fella in full Ireland kit. There's me thinking "Jaysus, who's yer man". It turned out to be Martyn Irvine :o

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Hah, I remember doing the Cycle4life and seeing a lad in full Garmin kit, and a Cervelo R5, and the POC helmet.....and thought 'wud'ja look at yerman?..bleedin' enthusiast'.
    It was Dan Martin.

Then I saw the rainbow bands, and thought 'ah now here? who's this lad now?'
    'oh..thats Colin Lynch'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭Junior

Hah, I remember doing the Cycle4life and seeing a lad in full Garmin kit, and a Cervelo R5, and the POC helmet.....and thought 'wud'ja look at yerman?..bleedin' enthusiast'.
    It was Dan Martin.

Then I saw the rainbow bands, and thought 'ah now here? who's this lad now?'
    'oh..thats Colin Lynch'

Couple of years ago I was riding up to our club league race, and there was a lad in full An Post kit, ahh heyor... Oh, that's Sam. Wooopsie.

Wear whatever you want, however you want, once you are happy and it's comfortable.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Reminds me of seeing 2 ladies on a tandem in full Irish kit at the WW200 last year and thinking it was a bit OTT.

(It was our Paralympians Katie Dunleavey and Eve McCrystal! :o)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Doc07

Shamelessly wear old pro jerseys in summer but usually club or boards jersey on sportives.
    I like the infamous ones and my most frequently worn are;
    Tom Simpson: Peugeot
    Bjarne Riis: Gewis Balon
    Jalabert: ONCE
    Contador: Tinkov
    Pantani: Mercatone Uno
    I have a Festina from 1998 season but it's too big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Wear what ya want, main thing is your out on your bike.....

deep ......
    Maybe get that printed on a jersey ...... :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

greenspurs wrote: »
    deep ......
    Maybe get that printed on a jersey ...... :p:D

After a proofreading

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

The aul pro jerseys can be a 2 edged sword though.

I always find it funny when you are out cycling and someone is wearing the World Champion Rainbow jersey and you glide past them as if they are not there and chuckle.
    But the best had to be the poor lad in the King of the Mountains Polka Dot jersey in the Wicklow 200 two years ago who was walking up Shay Elliott with his bike, the abuse the poor lad got was funny.
    So by all accounts get the pro jersey but be careful which one you pick and make sure you can back it up :pac:

I always find it funny when you are out cycling and someone is wearing the World Champion Rainbow jersey and you glide past them as if they are not there and chuckle.
    But the best had to be the poor lad in the King of the Mountains Polka Dot jersey in the Wicklow 200 two years ago who was walking up Shay Elliott with his bike, the abuse the poor lad got was funny.
    So by all accounts get the pro jersey but be careful which one you pick and make sure you can back it up :pac:

Because bike snobs are everywhere.......
    As has been said before, When people wear premier league jerseys playing 5 aside/training , no one training/playing with them expects them to be Aguero/Kane/Coutinhno,
    but if a cyclist wears a team/classification jersey on the road , they have to be able to live up to the jersey ?
    I could never understand that....... :confused:
    I wear what I want........ and fc uk what anyone else thinks..... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Usually its easy to hand out hidings to those detractors with all the gear and no idea......

It's hardly snobbery. Team kits are super expensive.

Cycling isn't soccer. Of all the sports, the commercialisation and money flowing through soccer makes it the sport almost all other sports should avoid comparison with.

Wearing a team kit in cycling is akin to wearing a Tap Out shirt. Wearing a rainbow, yello, polka dot, etc. is like walking around with a plastic UFC champions belt on all day. I like that comparison better.

Fundamentally, it's poor imitation masquerading as emulation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

When I lived in Switzerland at least 50% of the lads you'd see out on a spin were in full kit of some kind, and more often than not on a matching bike as well.
    When I bought my Rose, I did get a set of Rose summer kit, and some arm and leg warmers, but it's a retro looking kit and definitely not pro.

Usually its easy to hand out hidings to those detractors with all the gear and no idea......

Is that what you enjoy ?
    sad ...... :confused:

It's hardly snobbery. Team kits are super expensive.

Cycling isn't soccer. Of all the sports, the commercialisation and money flowing through soccer makes it the sport almost all other sports should avoid comparison with.

Wearing a team kit in cycling is akin to wearing a Tap Out shirt. Wearing a rainbow, yello, polka dot, etc. is like walking around with a plastic UFC champions belt on all day. I like that comparison better.

Fundamentally, it's poor imitation masquerading as emulation.

The snobbery was the poster (posters) that look down on/slag cyclists that wear Pro kit .....
    Where would you stand on Club kit suppliers that have the option of a "Standard" or "Pro"/Race fit jerseys and shorts?
    Club riders should only wear "Standard" fit gear then , going by your (and the others) criteria ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Doc07 wrote: »
    Shamelessly wear old pro jerseys in summer but usually club or boards jersey on sportives.
    I like the infamous ones and my most frequently worn are;
    Tom Simpson: Peugeot
    Bjarne Riis: Gewis Balon
    Jalabert: ONCE
    Contador: Tinkov
    Pantani: Mercatone Uno
    I have a Festina from 1998 season but it's too big.

Still too soon for Postal or Discovery kit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

If you like the look of it, wear it. Lifes too short to get worked up about this stuff. Unless its team sky :P

Hahaha, I remembered him when I started reading this thread and was gonna highlight him as a warning! Hes either devoid of irony or has a great sense of humour or both!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

retalivity wrote: »
    This popped up in a facebook ad, apparently based in donegal. Never heard of them before and a bit pricey, but the jersey is gorgeous

http://www.tadaias.cc/product-page/5bd9b026-4456-b933-135a-4947bd00aaa6

That Tadais stuff just looks like a copy of Galibier, Rivelo and SoLo to be honest, which are all a bit like Rapha, or inspired by them I'd say.

I've a HTC jersey, and an old Italian team that I can't recall. Got them cheap when I started cycling from a boardsie and I'd little gear.

Have a Cannondale Garmin Gabba 2 as it was about €40 quid cheaper than a normal Gabba and I liked the fluo green.

Also have a La Vie Claire replica jersey. That's a classic and looks great.

I'd say, buy the best you can afford. Unless the best you can afford is Muddyfox, that stuff is awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Weepsie wrote: »
    I'd say, buy the best you can afford. Unless the best you can afford is Muddyfox, that stuff is awful.

Agreed on Muddyfox. I did, before I understood what I was doing, buy some Muddyfox stuff. The one jersey I bought is okay for short quick spins, and the bottoms are languishing in the bottom of the drawer, never to be used again. It is cheap, and it is cheap for a reason.

Essentially, if you can get a good price on pro gear, go for it. If you do go for polka dots, or world champion colours, either have a great sense of humour, or do something to look like you've earned your stripes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I actually remember that guy and iirc he was quite overweight. I thought fair bloody play to him for doing it and if people were abusing him it's disgraceful. The one aspect of cycling I hate is this bull****. We should be able to wear whatever the hell we like without some clown passing judgment.

Agree totally, theres a serious amount of know alls and snobs in irish cycling. But I saw that guy, went past him, and iirc the "abuse" was all good natured.

greenspurs wrote: »
    The snobbery was the poster (posters) that look down on/slag cyclists that wear Pro kit .....
    Where would you stand on Club kit suppliers that have the option of a "Standard" or "Pro"/Race fit jerseys and shorts?
    Club riders should only wear "Standard" fit gear then , going by your (and the others) criteria ?

My criteria? A race fit is not necessarily for racing but an indicator of more slimline cuts for aerodynamic reasons. Aero assists all, so I don't see an issue with it. You're confusing points of aerodynamics with those of aesthetics.

It really just comes down to class. As in fashionable class, not societal. In my opinion, wearing an item of clothing which blares an organisations name is an attempt by the wearer to associate themselves with the values and achievements of said organisation, an attempt to claim part ownership of an achievement or to claim the organisation's values as their own.

So, you want to associate yourself with the high life, you wear Tommy Hilger or Ralph gear. But not the understated clothing, as it's actually expensive, you wear the version with the emblazoned logos and garish colours so everyone knows you're wearing said "expensive" gear and living the high life. It's like wearing a t-shirt declaring "I am a desperate aspirational".

In terms of sport, and soccer particularly, which has the added bonus of allowing yourself to adorn yourself with a particular player's name, wearing a team jersey claims not only that you support a team. It is also a declaration of your part in whatever successes or otherwise they have achieved. That strange regaling in work on a Monday of how "we hammered Aston Villa", when in fact you were sitting on your hole 200 miles away watching on the TV is connected in the same way. "We" did it. This shared celebration is for many the lazy man's confirmation of worth and thankfully the idea of celebrating a Quick Step win as "our" win has not been leaked into cycling by the soccer/fair weather cycling fan.

Although wearing the kit of defunct team is acceptable as a declaration of a long-term support for not only a team but more as support for the sport of cycling, the wearing of contemporary team kit is fundamentally more than a simple "I like this team", it is as, I said above, both lame aspirationalism and fickle bandwagon hopping.

Cycling, to me, is about the feats of the individual over the group and the possibilities each of us has to become that individual. To project the abilities or persona of another, or to claim their victories, especially the winners' jerseys, is against the very nature of what we do on the bike and should be treated as anathema.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

My criteria? A race fit is not necessarily for racing but an indicator of more slimline cuts for aerodynamic reasons. Aero assists all, so I don't see an issue with it. You're confusing points of aerodynamics with those of aesthetics.

It really just comes down to class. As in fashionable class, not societal. In my opinion, wearing an item of clothing which blares an organisations name is an attempt by the wearer to associate themselves with the values and achievements of said organisation, an attempt to claim part ownership of an achievement or to claim the organisation's values as their own.

So, you want to associate yourself with the high life, you wear Tommy Hilger or Ralph gear. But not the understated clothing, as it's actually expensive, you wear the version with the emblazoned logos and garish colours so everyone knows you're wearing said "expensive" gear and living the high life. It's like wearing a t-shirt declaring "I am a desperate aspirational".

In terms of sport, and soccer particularly, which has the added bonus of allowing yourself to adorn yourself with a particular player's name, wearing a team jersey claims not only that you support a team. It is also a declaration of your part in whatever successes or otherwise they have achieved. That strange regaling in work on a Monday of how "we hammered Aston Villa", when in fact you were sitting on your hole 200 miles away watching on the TV is connected in the same way. "We" did it. This shared celebration is for many the lazy man's confirmation of worth and thankfully the idea of celebrating a Quick Step win as "our" win has not been leaked into cycling by the soccer/fair weather cycling fan.

Although wearing the kit of defunct team is acceptable as a declaration of a long-term support for not only a team but more as support for the sport of cycling, the wearing of contemporary team kit is fundamentally more than a simple "I like this team", it is as, I said above, both lame aspirationalism and fickle bandwagon hopping.

Cycling, to me, is about the feats of the individual over the group and the possibilities each of us has to become that individual. To project the abilities or persona of another, or to claim their victories, especially the winners' jerseys, is against the very nature of what we do on the bike and should be treated as anathema.

Cycling, to me, is about riding my bike, enjoying it and not giving a damn about what people like you think about what I'm wearing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I had to lookup the meaning of "anathema"

I don't think it's a word I'd ever use or want to.

Cycling, to me, is about riding my bike, enjoying it and not giving a damn about what people like you think about what I'm wearing.

43051169c7a7b8517db99fba709b618506ced2b1fdca827c2ef3b49916592071.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,511 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Red and Black are The Correct Colours for cycle wear.

Red:confused::confused:
    never

black, white and pink ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Doc07

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Still too soon for Postal or Discovery kit?

Probably....definitely too soon for Team Sky.