Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda physical

• 31-01-2017 9:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4

I have received my date for my fitness for mid Feb...just wondering what happens if I fail, do I get to repeat it at a later date or do I have to start the recruitment procedure all over again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Gnr_Iver

I have received my date for my fitness for mid Feb...just wondering what happens if I fail, do I get to repeat it at a later date or do I have to start the recruitment procedure all over again?

You will be given the opportunity to retake the test at a later date. If you feel that you're not up to it at the moment you can defer your physical until the next round. This can only be done once.

If you fail your second attempt then unfortunately it's the end of the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 WARRIOR08

Well the fitness is a 2 part assessment.
    Part one is shuttle run and then push ups and sit-ups.
    Part two is obstacle course and push pull machine.

If you were too fail any part of any stage you must repeat that full stage.
    For example you pass the shuttle run pass the push ups and then are unable to do the sit-ups you must return another date to redo the shuttle run and the push ups and also complete the sit-ups in one sitting.

But on the first day if you then go on too pass stage two completely you will only have to return to do part one.

I'm not sure what happens if you fail on your redo day sorry.

I hope that is clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 billymul10

Wen did u do ure interview do u mind me asking! Cause I did mine the 17th of this month and I didn't hear anything yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Jecksfly

Gnr_Iver wrote: »

You will be given the opportunity to retake the test at a later date. If you feel that you're not up to it at the moment you can defer your physical until the next round. This can only be done once.

If you defer due to being sick and then fail on your first date do you get a second attempt.. or does the defferal count as your first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Gnr_Iver

Jecksfly wrote: »
    If you defer due to being sick and then fail on your first date do you get a second attempt.. or does the defferal count as your first?

You're given two opportunities to do the test. If you defer and fail then you will have one more chance

• Registered Users Posts: 4 holiday2014

billymul10 wrote: »
    Wen did u do ure interview do u mind me asking! Cause I did mine the 17th of this month and I didn't hear anything yet!

I did my interview in September I think it was, followed by my medical in mid December :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Thebunny

billymul10 wrote: »

I did my interview the 18th and got email yesterday that I passed. Hope you got on well

• Registered Users Posts: 2 cdepaor84

Just a quick one folks, have the medical coming up shortly, if you're above the 30 mark on the BMI, are automatically ruled out of the competition or are you given time to get below the 30 mark? Thanks in advance for any answers!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

cdepaor84 wrote: »
    Just a quick one folks, have the medical coming up shortly, if you're above the 30 mark on the BMI, are automatically ruled out of the competition or are you given time to get below the 30 mark? Thanks in advance for any answers!

You're given up to 3 months to get below the cut off.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Soap MacTavish

sorry just quick question on this, if you have to defer the physical, is a doctors cert required? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

sorry just quick question on this, if you have to defer the physical, is a doctors cert required? thanks

Ring them up to defer. If it's on medical grounds they'll ask you to send in a cert, yes. Not sure if you can defer for other reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭vardy98

In relation to the push ups do your feet have to be together or can they be a small bit apart. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 16 billymul10

vardy98 wrote: »
    In relation to the push ups do your feet have to be together or can they be a small bit apart. Thanks

Look up Garda fitness test 2015 on YouTube the whole lot is there!!

mine were apart

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭Henry2006

My daughter tried to defer the fitness test today as she has the flu and done no training for over a week and feels rotten and they wouldn't let her even though at the open day they were told by one of the instructors that if you had the slightest doubt about your fitness to defer it,, shes really annoyed as know she won't be ready for it and will fail and she would rather wait 2 weeks to get back on top of it and then do it :(

Henry2006 wrote: »
    My daughter tried to defer the fitness test today as she has the flu and done no training for over a week and feels rotten and they wouldn't let her even though at the open day they were told by one of the instructors that if you had the slightest doubt about your fitness to defer it,, shes really annoyed as know she won't be ready for it and will fail and she would rather wait 2 weeks to get back on top of it and then do it :(

I would say go for it personally! It's a 2 part assessment she could pass half of it. leaving only half to train for the next time. You never know she might even pass the whole thing! 1 week off training is not too bad count it as a recovery week should take one week of before the test anyway for recovery.
    I would say encourage her to go as she has no choice as they said she cant defer and and just make sure she gives it her all.

Side note hypothetically IF she did fail one part make sure she stays calm and moves on for the next part. some candidates seemed to get very upset if they fail 1 part, head up move on to the next bit and give it hell.

Great advice, thanks for that. Its the bleep test that will challenge her, I didn't realise if you fail part 1 you can go on to part 2 so will tell her that

well with the beep test there are a few tricks you can employ to lessen the burden.

1.) She has to get 7.6 if she is 18-25.
    2.) I believe your foot only has to touch the line! I don't think you have to cross it I didn't. Saved me two extra large steps on the way back. Maybe i got lucky no one else did it !
    3.) The most important rule of all, the cardinal rule of bleep tests DON'T SPRINT FROM THE START!!!!!! The test starts slow, so go slow as it increases the speed you match it! So many people on the day that struggled just went hell for lather from the get go you will burn out! By the end of the test it will be flying and you need this energy for the later rounds.
    4.) Practice makes perfect if you can do it in training you can do it on the day!!

Best of luck!

WARRIOR08 wrote: »
    well with the beep test there are a few tricks you can employ to lessen the burden.

1.) She has to get 7.6 if she is 18-25.
    2.) I believe your foot only has to touch the line! I don't think you have to cross it I didn't. Saved me two extra large steps on the way back. Maybe i got lucky no one else did it !
    3.) The most important rule of all, the cardinal rule of bleep tests DON'T SPRINT FROM THE START!!!!!! The test starts slow, so go slow as it increases the speed you match it! So many people on the day that struggled just went hell for lather from the get go you will burn out! By the end of the test it will be flying and you need this energy for the later rounds.
    4.) Practice makes perfect if you can do it in training you can do it on the day!!

Best of luck!

Thanks so much, they're great tips, it's a challenging test alright. Do you know if there's an annual test guards do to keep up their fitness or is it just part of the application ?

Not sure i believe its this test and then you get tested again in the training a few times but none i'm aware of after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Not sure i believe its this test and then you get tested again in the training a few times but none i'm aware of after that.

I have heard during training you get tested around 3/4 times with the same test.

If you do make it into the Gardaí and would like to go for a specialist unit, expect more of the same. Plus it's no harm at all keeping in shape, both from a physical and mental perspective.

TallGlass wrote: »
    I have heard during training you get tested around 3/4 times with the same test.

If you do make it into the Gardaí and would like to go for a specialist unit, expect more of the same. Plus it's no harm at all keeping in shape, both from a physical and mental perspective.

I agree, should be at least twice yearly

I think you asked this before. they can be a small bit apart I believe ! Here is detailed video of the test.
    https://youtu.be/uXo3roYoCUw

I would say go for it personally! It's a 2 part assessment she could pass half of it. leaving only half to train for the next time. You never know she might even pass the whole thing! 1 week off training is not too bad count it as a recovery week should take one week of before the test anyway for recovery.
    I would say encourage her to go as she has no choice as they said she cant defer and and just make sure she gives it her all.

Side note hypothetically IF she did fail one part make sure she stays calm and moves on for the next part. some candidates seemed to get very upset if they fail 1 part, head up move on to the next bit and give it hell.
    So she rang today to defer as is so sick and not even able to think about training. She spoke to HQ and told them about the email she received yesterday saying she can't defer and was told to get a letter from her doctor and email it back and they will change the date but that she can't defer ???

Does this make sense to anyone as to me its the same thing

So she rang today to defer as is so sick and not even able to think about training. She spoke to HQ and told them about the email she received yesterday saying she can't defer and was told to get a letter from her doctor and email it back and they will change the date but that she can't defer ???

Sounds like... and i am not too sure here this message has already been diluted from HR REP to candidate to father to boards (a lot of room for miscommunication here). But too me it sounds like they are saying she may not defer her test day and by not attending her scheduled day, she will have to attend the repeat day and pass everything the second time around in one go. that is my interpretation and could be wrong.

If that is the case may as well go to the first one feeling like death and give a bash. Its the option that makes the most sense nothing to loose everything to gain.

I would ring a third time and check the facts get them to speak plainly.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Depotdoc

Sounds like... and i am not too sure here this message has already been diluted from HR REP to candidate to father to boards (a lot of room for miscommunication here). But too me it sounds like they are saying she may not defer her test day and by not attending her scheduled day, she will have to attend the repeat day and pass everything the second time around in one go. that is my interpretation and could be wrong.

If that is the case may as well go to the first one feeling like death and give a bash. Its the option that makes the most sense nothing to loose everything to gain.

Agreed Henry, get her to ring on Monday before making any decisions and get them to confirm if she will lose one of her chances if she doesn't go to this one. I was told when I attended the open day that if you think you won't pass the fitness you should ring up and tell them you're sick so that you don't lose one of your chances.

Depotdoc wrote: »
    I was told when I attended the open day that if you think you won't pass the fitness you should ring up and tell them you're sick so that you don't lose one of your chances.

i also have a vague memory of this! this sounds accurate!

Agreed Henry, get her to ring on Monday before making any decisions and get them to confirm if she will lose one of her chances if she doesn't go to this one. I was told when I attended the open day that if you think you won't pass the fitness you should ring up and tell them you're sick so that you don't lose one of your chances.
    She was told that too, if there was even the slightest doubt of not being ready to defer it, very strange

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Cocopops24

I think where they are coming from is the test is over a week away so will she still be sick on the day? They will absolutely defer her until she is better if this is the case but I know applicants are not allowed to defer just because they feel they're not ready. She'll need to get a medical certificate stating she is sick for the date of the test as well as the expected recovery date and the office will reschedule her for after that. You're advised not to do the test if you are anyway unwell (you need to sign a form declaring yourself fit on the day) but you'll need to send proof from the doctor to the appointments office

Yeah I know what you mean it sounds like chinese whispers but I was standing beside her when she was on the phone and it just didn't make sense, literally "send in a doctors note to say you can't attend on that day and we will arrange a new date but we can't defer it"

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Depotdoc

Yeah I know what you mean it sounds like chinese whispers but I was standing beside her when she was on the phone and it just didn't make sense, literally "send in a doctors note to say you can't attend on that day and we will arrange a new date but we can't defer it"

It sounds like they mean that you can't simply get a new date or 'defer' without a doctors note.

They must think that by asking to defer she is asking if she can have a new date because she's not ready. A lot of people try to get new dates if they know they're not fit enough so they'll ask to 'defer'

They're simply telling her the only way to change the date is with a doctors note

It sounds like they mean that you can't simply get a new date or 'defer' without a doctors note.

They must think that by asking to defer she is asking if she can have a new date because she's not ready. A lot of people try to get new dates if they know they're not fit enough so they'll ask to 'defer'

They're simply telling her the only way to change the date is with a doctors note
    Ah, thanks for that, that makes complete sense now, I'm feeling a bit thick now for asking lol

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭laotg

I sprained my ankle two days before my fitness and called them to ask for a new date. They requested a sick cert detailing when I would be fit again. The doctor stated 6 weeks in the letter and I sent that to HR. They accepted that and said my date would be reset but that I would need another cert from the doctor in 6 weeks confirming I was fit again. 6 weeks later I got that from the doctor and sent it, my new date was scheduled for two weeks later. So it didnt give me much time to get fit again considering I was off the ankle for that long. 2 weeks was enough to get back to the standard but might not have been for some people. My advice is to get fit as soon as possible because they may not hive you much time from the original date you were given.

Cocopops24 wrote: »
    I think where they are coming from is the test is over a week away so will she still be sick on the day? They will absolutely defer her until she is better if this is the case but I know applicants are not allowed to defer just because they feel they're not ready. She'll need to get a medical certificate stating she is sick for the date of the test as well as the expected recovery date and the office will reschedule her for after that. You're advised not to do the test if you are anyway unwell (you need to sign a form declaring yourself fit on the day) but you'll need to send proof from the doctor to the appointments office
    Thanks for that, when she sent the first email she told them that she had a bad flu for the last week and still very sick and that she will not be fit for the test and could she defer by 2 weeks, I guess what she should have added was that she can send in a doctors note to confirm this. Going to have to wait till monday now to get the letter from doctor so hope this will be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭blueforce89

I'd imagine HRM hear a lot of reasons from people for wanting to defer medicals/physicals and even start dates. Some genuine and some from people who really should know better and that they are holding up a spot for someone who can genuine do it or even start. They've got to get proof like a doctors note otherwise the system would fall apart and they wouldn't know who's coming and going. I doubt someone who wants an extra week training will pay for 2 sicks notes if they aren't actually sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭DooraGirl

I'd imagine HRM hear a lot of reasons from people for wanting to defer medicals/physicals and even start dates. Some genuine and some from people who really should know better and that they are holding up a spot for someone who can genuine do it or even start. They've got to get proof like a doctors note otherwise the system would fall apart and they wouldn't know who's coming and going. I doubt someone who wants an extra week training will pay for 2 sicks notes if they aren't actually sick.

I'd have to agree there. Everyone who applies for the role of a Garda knows full well there is a physical to be taken. And knows EXACTLY what it entails. No surprises. People should be ready when they are called. They are only holding themselves up at the end of the day.

I agree with you and this makes perfect sense, I would say they get very ticked off when applicants request another date as there must be a huge amount of admin going on in the background and this type of thing just adds to it

laotg wrote: »
    I sprained my ankle two days before my fitness and called them to ask for a new date. They requested a sick cert detailing when I would be fit again. The doctor stated 6 weeks in the letter and I sent that to HR. They accepted that and said my date would be reset but that I would need another cert from the doctor in 6 weeks confirming I was fit again. 6 weeks later I got that from the doctor and sent it, my new date was scheduled for two weeks later. So it didnt give me much time to get fit again considering I was off the ankle for that long. 2 weeks was enough to get back to the standard but might not have been for some people. My advice is to get fit as soon as possible because they may not hive you much time from the original date you were given.
    Thats good to know, going to have to wait till monday to get note from the doctor and she sent them an email telling them this just so they don't think she is stalling for time or something

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Justdoit_90

Anybody got a link for the actual beep test?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 lolz95

If you get a link can you pass it onto me please :)

I have my fitness test coming up next month. Iv been training since Last Nov. However I feel that my running ability is poor for this bleep test.

Has anyone got any good tips on how to do it correctly.

cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 SeanCarley1

What about the pushups?? I can't do a single one!! I'm not worried about anything else.

The pushups are my main worry.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Marck

What about the pushups?? I can't do a single one!! I'm not worried about anything else.

If you find push ups hard it's really important to practice them as much as possible. Try setting a realistic goal of 10 push ups every morning and every night (example) and upping the amount every few days. You could also start doing bench press with dumbells and or barbell to increase strength in your chest/triceps.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 lolz95

Sean
    start off doing 10 on the wall... Yes I know that sounds absolutely ridiculous... But seriously keep doing them against a wall. Then try a few on the floor.. If u get to 3 well then great try 4 the next day.. Slowly build your upper body strength.
    I know how u feel I started training in Dec and couldn't do 1...i can now do 40.. Even try build the strength by doing the girls version first then move on to mens version. Doing the plank aswel helps build strength for them.. Well that's what I found.

Hope this helps. ðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭The Red Lad

I'm pretty confident with everything but the sit ups 35 in a minute is tight enough anyone know strictness with them

• Registered Users Posts: 47 JN94

I'm pretty confident with everything but the sit ups 35 in a minute is tight enough anyone know strictness with them
    I found the instructor strict and he warned me twice to make sure my shoulder blades were touching the mat on the way down. Apart from that the instructor was talking me through it and pushing me on until I thankfully passed. I would focus on your shoulder blades touching the mat and elbows past the knees.
    Remember to keep pushing on till you reach your goal and the best of luck with the physical !!

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭The Red Lad

JN94 wrote: »
    I found the instructor strict and he warned me twice to make sure my shoulder blades were touching the mat on the way down. Apart from that the instructor was talking me through it and pushing me on until I thankfully passed. I would focus on your shoulder blades touching the mat and elbows past the knees.
    Remember to keep pushing on till you reach your goal and the best of luck with the physical !!

Thanks thats all I'm worried about but I suppose I've time on my hands to improve considering I didn't have my medical yet. Are the instructers members of ags ?

• Registered Users Posts: 47 JN94

Thanks thats all I'm worried about but I suppose I've time on my hands to improve considering I didn't have my medical yet. Are the instructers members of ags ?
    Yep they are all members of AGS. Pretty sure some of them are hurling heads as some of the lads were fangirling like "do you know who that is". Not a hurling head myself so I couldn't tell you who is who. All the instructors were sound that's the main thing. All the best with it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭22832

Any link for beep test thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭weadick

Is this the same shuttle run test we have to do?

https://youtu.be/aftiZ6JDCGU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

weadick wrote: »
    Is this the same shuttle run test we have to do?

https://youtu.be/aftiZ6JDCGU

I think it's this one:

https://youtu.be/ADHdWrz95iE