Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The British army used torture in Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,380 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

maryishere wrote: »
    Very soft and compassionate people the British, all right, too soft. DeValera let IRA hunger strikers die on hunger strike and he even hung some IRA from the end of a rope. Mrs Thatcher had not the guts to hang any. If some had been hung from the start of the troubles, like DeValera did, would the troubles have got so bad?

they probably would have been worse.
    timthumbni wrote: »
    Listen eotr, your actions regarding that means that the rest of Europe know you are wee pussies. Sure youse need to ask permission from Frau merkel to go to the bog ffs....

At least the brits have the cajones to carry something through. Youse are the equivalent of a firm's man. You will do exactly what you are told....

we weren't told to do anything. the original deal was rejected, so the deal was hugely modified and it was passed because the modifications made the deal exceptable to the populous.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,199 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Yes, that seems to be a common republican mantra that the rest of the British will get that pissed off that they will somehow eject NI. In reality there is no chance of that. It's cute that you seem to think there is a chance though. I know 2016 was to be "the year" but republicanism has peaked in NI and to be brutally honest the dla bill for republican west Belfast would be enough to bankrupt your wee state. (Again) Its a quare boast that under sf west Belfast must be full of the sickest population in Western Europe and possibly competes with African nations worldwide. There's hardly a car up there that isn't a dla one. I suppose that's sf for ya though. Spending everyone else's money.... and then whingeing about it...

2016 was to be the year? I think you might be falling victim to a loyalist (of course you are not one of those when it suits) fantasy. Cute!

Listen eotr, your actions regarding that means that the rest of Europe know you are wee pussies. Sure youse need to ask permission from Frau merkel to go to the bog ffs....

At least the brits have the cajones to carry something through. Youse are the equivalent of a firm's man. You will do exactly what you are told....

They haven't carried anything through yet.
    And all the brave men who campaigned on this jumped ship too when the chips came down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

2016 was to be the year? I think you might be falling victim to a loyalist (of course you are not one of those when it suits) fantasy. Cute!

Emmm. That was the shiners that said that actually. As I unionist I obviously don't give a ****. Sure sf will move the goalposts and their flock will open their sheep mouths and swallow exactly whatever they are retold. Now that's cute....

They haven't carried anything through yet.
    And all the brave men who campaigned on this jumped ship too when the chips came down.

So you don't think we will leave the eu then???? As I said unlike you lot the brits do have the balls..

Emmm. That was the shiners that said that actually. As I unionist I obviously don't give a ****. Sure sf will move the goalposts and their flock will open their sheep mouths and swallow exactly whatever they are retold. Now that's cute....

SF said there would be a UI in 2016? Can you link to that?

'SF moving goalposts' :) outta the mouth of a 'NEVER NEVER NEVER....ah sure go on' Unionist. Hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

SF said there would be a UI in 2016? Can you link to that?

Evin in 2003: Quote: "A UNITED Ireland by 2016 is on the cards, Sinn Fein's Martin McGuinness predicted last night.
    With nine days left to the North's Assembly Election, the Mid Ulster MP said at his party's manifesto launch republicans could attain their goal by the centenary of the 1916 Easter Rising.
    "As we develop the north-south implementation bodies and people co-operate and work together, I think people will see more and more the logic of that," Mr McGuinness said."

"Certainly it is our view that it can be accomplished over a short period. Gerry Adams has said 2016 and I think that is achievable."

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/well-have-a-united-ireland-by-2016-says-mcguinness-25922555.html

Evin in 2003: Quote: "A UNITED Ireland by 2016 is on the cards, Sinn Fein's Martin McGuinness predicted last night.
    With nine days left to the North's Assembly Election, the Mid Ulster MP said at his party's manifesto launch republicans could attain their goal by the centenary of the 1916 Easter Rising.
    "As we develop the north-south implementation bodies and people co-operate and work together, I think people will see more and more the logic of that," Mr McGuinness said."

"Certainly it is our view that it can be accomplished over a short period. Gerry Adams has said 2016 and I think that is achievable."

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/well-have-a-united-ireland-by-2016-says-mcguinness-25922555.html

Thanks for the link as I'm useless technically at links.

To be fair sf like to bluster a bit but even they know there is zero chance of a UI at the moment. You get republican morons that spout nonsense like "one Ireland, one vote" but they know it's a non starter. Quite funny..

:):) somebody speculating in an election campaign is now them saying it would definitely happen?

I hope you call all party's to account when they similarly play to their galleries.

Thanks for the link as I'm useless technically at links.

To be fair sf like to bluster a bit but even they know there is zero chance of a UI at the moment. You get republican morons that spout nonsense like "one Ireland, one vote" but they know it's a non starter. Quite funny..

Well it was your masters who signed the mechanism for it to happen and to all intents and purposes have left. Hence why I am delighted that their mess is coming back to be annoyingly ruled directly. I look forward to Arlene's stubbornness and ingrained bigotry doing more to drive a wedge in London. Like Paisley, all you need to do is give the DUP enough rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

People who glorify and condone the bombing of innocent people like the Balcombe st gang did, give even extremists and true Republicans a bad name.

I do condone the bombings of any civilians they killed during their campaign. Hey so did uMkhonto we Sizwe kill innocent people by mistake as well & a lot more people glorify them.

Who are true Republicans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

steddyeddy wrote: »
    We have previously seen evidence of far reaching collusion with terrorist groups. These include allegations that British army members were part of the Glenanne gang.
    From the BBC

In other news,yer man Gerry Ryan off the radio had a heart bang recently,albeit recently in comparison with the shower of animals operating from that little farmhouse up in glenanne.The guns were traced back to a udr man,who has been named.Two unnamed ruc officers were also invalved.

I do condone the bombings of any civilians they killed during their campaign. Hey so did uMkhonto we Sizwe kill innocent people by mistake as well & a lot more people glorify them.

Who are true Republicans?

So you condone bombings of civilaians by the Ira. That's nice. Holy ****. Republicans have some nerve....

No, no, no, you have it all wrong. Marty mean't we would have a United Ireland in 2016 in spirit only. And sure can't you feel the spirit of unity?

So you condone bombings of civilaians by the Ira. That's nice. Holy ****. Republicans have some nerve....

Yes, of course but not military, political or economic targets.

No, no, no, you have it all wrong. Marty mean't we would have a United Ireland in 2016 in spirit only. And sure can't you feel the spirit of unity?

I can feel it. The fact that some morons call themselves after a murdering terrorist gang suggests that some don't....

Yes, of course but not military, political or economic targets.

Do you know what the word condone means????

Sorry, i read the post wrong I taught you said condemn.

I can feel it. The fact that some morons call themselves after a murdering terrorist gang suggests that some don't....

And post reported to Mod.

Apparently were suppose to be the uncivilized ones. Can you not leave the sectarianism out for just 10 mins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

As this thread has gone off topic completely and always has, I suggest it be locked / closed down. It was the paramilitaries who used the real torture in N.I., such as for example that practised by the Shankhill butchers and for example on the other side by the INLA ( cutting off of kidnap victim dentist O'Grady's fingers).

And post reported to Mod.

Apparently were suppose to be the uncivilized ones. Can you not leave the sectarianism out for just 10 mins?

Pretty typical of whinging republicans. You just condoned the murder of innocent civilians and then go whingeing about something (regardless of your obviously provocative user name)

A credit to republicans and quite typical to be fair. .....

As long as republicans like you are consigned to the keyboard then I suppose all is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Very soft and compassionate people the British, all right, too soft. DeValera let IRA hunger strikers die on hunger strike and he even hung some IRA from the end of a rope. Mrs Thatcher had not the guts to hang any. If some had been hung from the start of the troubles, like DeValera did, would the troubles have got so bad?
    Well why bark when you have a dog. Mrs.Thatcher didn't do any hangings, she got "her boys" the SAS to do the murdering. I wont say IRA as there were a few innocents also including an innocent schoolboy but of course he doesn't fit your agenda (as usual).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Well why bark when you have a dog. Mrs.Thatcher didn't do any hangings, she got "her boys" the SAS to do the murdering.

Just in case there's any confusion as to who the murderers were. It was the SAS who got rid of the murderers, admittedly not always in the most PC fashion, but if the PIRA wanted to bomb, maim & murder at will, then they needed to be stopped, and the SAS were brought in to fulfil that role ...

Sorry, i read the post wrong I taught you said condemn.

What are you talking about Willis? You were the one that mentioned that you condoned thebombing of innocents. Strange but nothing surprising when it comes to Irish republicans.

And you are really playing up to the Irish meter by saying taught instead of thought. ;-)..

Are any of the cohort of defenders going to deal/recognise the subject of the thread?

The use of torture by the British state was a failed effort to stop the dismantling of a bigoted sectarian statelet that was their responsibility. As was collusion and the multiple killings of innocent people.
    Who agrees that if the British had behaved like the democratic state it pretends to be that the conflict /war would never have happened? Therefore the greater onus lies with them.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Just in case there's any confusion as to who the murderers were. It was the SAS who got rid of the murderers, admittedly not always in the most PC fashion, but if the PIRA wanted to bomb, maim & murder at will, then they needed to be stopped, and the SAS were brought in to fulfil that role ...
    Ah you cut off the end bit of my post about your SAS heroes murdering an innocent schoolboy, well there's a surprise eh.

What are. You talking about Willis? You were the one that mentioned that you condoned te bombing of innocents. Strange but nothing surprising when it comes to Irish republicans.

And you are really playing up to the Irish meter by saying taught instead of thought. ;-)..

When you yourself make myriad spelling mistakes I don't think you are in a position to mock. It is like a Unionist looking down their nose at us in the south getting money from the EU, when the statelet they ran for decades never broke even or came close.

Who agrees that if the British had behaved like the democratic state it pretends to be that the conflict /war would never have happened?

Nope. Sorry for bursting your bubble. I'm sure that someone who named themselves after an IRA gang(weird) might though. And what a backer that would be...

Ah you cut off the end bit of my post about your SAS heroes murdering an innocent schoolboy, well there's a surprise eh.

Oh I dont deny that mistakes were made, and indeed with an opperation like the SAS I'm sure there were a few wrong'uns within their ranks, but, and (here's the but) The Provisional IRA went out on a daily basis to plant bombs and kill people, and the Provo's were very good at it too, too good in fact for the regular police and army to deal with, hence the SAS were called in to literally fight fire with fire, and they did, usually with great effect.

Have you got a link to the unfortunate school boy death.

Nope. Sorry for bursting your bubble. I'm sure that someone who named themselves after an IRA gang(weird) might though. And what a backer that would be...

The IRA your masters sold you out to? By negotiating a deal and agreement with and allowing into government?

Yeh, you think they lost. :):) Keep clinging on. Even Paisley knew what side his future bread was buttered on and done a deal himself.

[QUOTE=FrancieBrady;102748854 It is like a Unionist looking down their nose at us in the south getting money from the EU, when the statelet they ran for decades never broke even or came close.[/QUOTE]

I don't look down my nose at youse lot. Like most Norn Iron ones we genuinely don't give a flying feck what youse are doing. I'm sure the next ghost estate down south is only around the corner.

Yes, youse got a lot of Eu money but sure they led you by the nose and still do. You'll never beat the Irish song sung by the footie ones must surely now be sung in jest???? As youse do what you are told and say you like it. Bravo.

The IRA your masters sold you out to? By negotiating a deal and agreement with and allowing into government?

Yeh, you think they lost. :):) Keep clinging on. Even Paisley knew what side his future bread was buttered on and done a deal himself.

In English please..... I've no idea what that rambling post was about...

OMG I think he (FB) might be on the sauce :D

Btw it's nice to hear a republican admitting that sf are more or less the same as the Ira. Well done for admitting that. Paisley is dead. It seems the new leader doesn't particularly care for republican terrorists be they Ira or their political cheerleaders in sf. Dohhhh...

Oh I dont deny that mistakes were made, and indeed with an opperation like the SAS I'm sure there were a few wrong'uns within their ranks.

The Provisional IRA went out on a daily basis to plant bombs and kill people, and the Provo's were very good at it too

Cop on.

Pretty typical of whinging republicans. You just condoned the murder of innocent civilians and then go whingeing about something (regardless of your obviously provocative user name)

A credit to republicans and quite typical to be fair. .....

As long as republicans like you are consigned to the keyboard then I suppose all is good.

Trust me, I'd be more than happy to meet you face to face pal.

I don't look down my nose at youse lot. Like most Norn Iron ones we genuinely don't give a flying feck what youse are doing. I'm sure the next ghost estate down south is only around the corner.

Yes, youse got a lot of Eu money but sure they led you by the nose and still do. You'll never beat the Irish song sung by the footie ones must surely now be sung in jest???? As youse do what you are told and say you like it. Bravo.
    Sure you don't care, that's why you are on an Irish forum hurling vitriol. :):)

You know, you just don't want to deal with like the subject of the thread.

Cop on.

To what? you mean like the IRA didn't plant bombs? :confused:

PS Why is that Balcome Street Gang poster wearing a green face mask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,380 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the vast majority killed by the SAS were civilians, killed because they were irish. thatcher hated the irish as is well known

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Oh I dont deny that mistakes were made, and indeed with an opperation like the SAS I'm sure there were a few wrong'uns within their ranks, but, and (here's the but) The Provisional IRA went out on a daily basis to plant bombs and kill people, and the Provo's were very good at it too, too good in fact for the regular police and army to deal with, hence the SAS were called in to literally fight fire with fire, and they did, usually with great effect.

his name was John Boyle. Was shot in Antrim in the mid 80's

Cop on.

Your seeing the Mad Dogg/Stoney side of these sectarian psychos now.

the vast majority killed by the SAS were civilians, killed because they were irish. thatcher hated the irish as is well known

As Trump might say ^ "Fake News" ^

I'm bailing out for tonight, before it totally wrecks my head.

Goodnight all.

It's telling that a username like that is allowed on these boards. A celebration of a terrorist murder gang that should not be allowed in a supposed neutral forum. Thank god that no unionist would be crass enough to do something similar. It illustrates Irish republicans well though so every cloud and all that.

Threats over a Internet forum.. All the hallmarks of a keyboard warrior right there... I'm so scared..... 🙁🙁🙁🙁🙁

His name was John Boyle. I'd say I'm surprised that you never heard of him but actually I'm not really. Two SAS troopers actually showed up at a dog and pony show trial but of course were acquitted. Links? Take your pick from the BBC documentary Brits by Peter Taylor or even the book, The Regiment: The Real Story of the SAS.

The chap dictates what he wants to wear,it's not any of our business.Back to advising you to cop on,I suggest you learn some history,read some books or whatever.One little snippet from the post of yours: The provisional IRA set out to plant bombs and kill people,the provos were pretty good at it too.Now read the previous sentence(which,as I said came from your post btw)give yer oul chin a scratch and see what's wrong with said statement.The behaviour of the Sas on this island was despicable.
    Also,my avatar or whatever its called these days is the cartoon character snake from the simpsons,but I don't go out sticking up poxy kwik-e-marts all f@ckin day do I?.To summarise,I'll reiterate what I've already said.Cop on.

Btw it's nice to hear a republican admitting that sf are more or less the same as the Ira. Well done for admitting that. Paisley is dead. It seems the new leader doesn't particularly care for republican terrorists be they Ira or their political cheerleaders in sf. Dohhhh...

And her career is over. Just watch.

As Trump might say ^ "Fake News" ^

I'm bailing out for tonight, before it totally wrecks my head.

Goodnight all.

Another shift without dealing with the subject of the thread? Well done well done :)

And I'm not your pal, chum.......

The funny thing about that ridiculous threat to me (and I do find it funny) is that eotr thanked the post.

Considering his posting history he would probably post the meeting on you tube with various ones calling the others a bucket of ****e and offer to tarmac your drive afterwards. ;-)

I've lived all my life in NI during the worst of the troubles and my family were at constant real threat from Irish republicans simply because we were protestants. Forgive me if I don't soil my pants over a threat from some keyboard warrior named after a terrorist gang like yourself.....