Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why motorcycles are unpopular in western countries

• 03-02-2017 10:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭Johnboner

Very few motorcycles on the roads just don't understand why. After I started riding a bike I knew pretty soon that it was one of the best decisions I have made and I don't even want to look at the car anymore and dread any time I have to drive it.
    1. Much faster than a car and avoid all congestions, I cut my commute time from 1.30-2 hours to 40-50 min maximum no matter the traffic or conditions.
    2. It's much more fun and relaxing, I am actually looking forward to riding a bike as it makes me relax and busy at the same time, while sitting in a car just makes you impatient, bored and puts you in a bad mood.
    3. Price - even the biggest bikes cost pennies compared to cars lowest end cars, tax is €88 for over 250cc and insurance is much cheaper.

Cons
    Weather - I don't find it a problem as even cheap waterproof clothing protects you 99% of the time.
    Safety - sure but if there were more riders, there would be more awareness? Maybe a bad thing after all since I bet government would want to cash in and create nct and other charges.

Apparently only 2% of vehicles are bikes in this country so why is the number so low? Am I missing something? Commuting in Dublin and you don't see many bikes at all except for couriers.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Johnboner meet average Irish motorist, on their phone not looking where they're going. Average motorist meet...