Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite part of Eyre Square?

• 06-02-2017 3:42pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭

Well what's your favourite part of Eyre Square? There's a lot going for it but I think the best is the Galway Hooker fountain.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The back room in O'Connells.

Followed by the front bar in O'Connells.

Followed by the beer garden in O'Connells.

Honourable mention to the new snug... in O'Connells.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,439 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The grass.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The paths so my shoes don't get muddy in the rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

biko wrote: »
    The paths so my shoes don't get muddy in the rain.

So, you're against the grass then?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I hate it so much I wish it could be Christmas market every day :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

The controversy

• Registered Users Posts: 25,950 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The bus stops (all of them) so I can go someplace else.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,510 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I like upstairs in cafe express, looking out the window at the comings and goings.

• Registered Users Posts: 639 ✭✭✭smurf492

Abrakebabra...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

Supermacs at 3am on rag week.

The people who 'borrow' every cigarette I have as I go from the bottom to the top. My lifespan must have increased by about 30 years at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

I like that it is now a amenity that can be used and enjoyed by all people with varied interests, beliefs and uses all year round

And it's close to Murty Rabbits.

Played out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

The value for money that was the "re-development"

Arghus wrote: »
    Played out...

I was hoping that after the third time it was recommended, but alas.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I really don't like Eyre Square.
    Its horrible looking.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Your Face wrote: »
    Its horrible looking.

Sorry no anti-recommendations allowed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

Your Face wrote: »
    Its horrible looking.

What do you think could be done to make it better?

Put it beside a beach.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Ah here, ease up on the auld Murty Rabbits craic, shure what did it ever do to you...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Well not messing it up in the first place would have been nice.

However, to play along - I'd start with structual deficiencies ie a working drainage system.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

I like the Pádraic Ó Conaire statue. Oh wait....

Actually it's really awful. It looked way better 100 years ago with the railing around it:

lcab00891_EyreSquare.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭ArtyC

FatherTed wrote: »

Actually it's really awful. It looked way better 100 years ago with the railing around it:

lcab00891_EyreSquare.jpg

This!!

Those were the days, when the square looked nice and nobody had any shoes and there was about fourteen of us to a bed all coughin', splutterin' and consumptin' on each other. And you might get a black spud between ye to do until the middle of next week, but you couldn't be certain how long because all the days were the same and you didn't know their names anyway. And you couldn't count beyond one, even if you had more than one of anything to count - which was never.

But sure, weren't we happy. And the square looked lovely.

lcab00891_EyreSquare.jpg

That looks like a rape-danger zone to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

Ah yes, now there's the man for the square! How many of us have pics as kids (or older) sitting on his lap! I saw a nice collage of loads of such photos in the Galway Museum when last there.

And sitting on top of the cannons made you feel like a boss.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,228 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Well what's your favourite part of Eyre Square? There's a lot going for it but I think the best is the Galway Hooker fountain.

Yeah. Especially when there's water in it.