Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2019/2020

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Panrich

matrim wrote: »
    Was reading an article earlier saying that El Ghazi is doing Ramadan so is suffering a bit from tiredness. I wonder if starting 2 game in 4 days will be too much for him and we might see him starting on the bench.

I wonder if Elmo is as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

matrim wrote: »
    Was reading an article earlier saying that El Ghazi is doing Ramadan so is suffering a bit from tiredness. I wonder if starting 2 game in 4 days will be too much for him and we might see him starting on the bench.

Ah hadn't seen that, that would be a blow. Definitely not a game for anything less than full intensity, may be an option off the bench if so unless they have sports nutrition ways around it now these days? Not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Sono

Game day, bloody huge one.

I’m confident and that’s usually a curse in itself but hopefully we can get the job done.

I’ll go for a tight 1-1.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

What about putting McGinn out wide and drop a winger? He has the legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,657 ✭✭✭✭CSF

What about putting McGinn out wide and drop a winger? He has the legs.

I just don’t see the reason to change what is being done well.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I can see Smith picking same team as Sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Brian201888

I'd be happy with the same team, Kodija for Adomah would be better I think but if we go same again then that's fine.

Hourihane on for Whelan after 60 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Hause for Taylor to give extra presence at the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Esse85

I'm predicting 0-0 and same side as the weekend, Hourihane can feel very unlucky but hopefully Whelan will be looking to impress and make up for his individual error.
    Adomah massively needs to put in a better shift this evening.

I can see Smith picking same team as Sat.

Think Hourihane, Green and Hause come in for Whelan, Adomah and Taylor.

The first 2 in particular would signal his intent to not try just hold what has already been gained.

Hourihane and Green start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

CSF wrote: »
    Think Hourihane, Green and Hause come in for Whelan, Adomah and Taylor.

The first 2 in particular would signal his intent to not try just hold what has already been gained.

No huase, still Taylor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,149 ✭✭✭Patser

Going for it, lovely to see. Imagine what Bruce's team would have been - midfield of Jedi, Bjarnason and Whelan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭LeBash

Yer man Johanson shouldn't be on that pitch tonight. He was having the legs off everyone. Watch for an early crunching tackle on Grealish.

No huase, still Taylor.
    Yup, happy with the team in general. Think Smith's attitude in his selection will feed into the team.

Patser wrote: »
    Going for it, lovely to see. Imagine what Bruce's team would have been - midfield of Jedi, Bjarnason and Whelan

Bruce's team would have finished mid table!

West Brom pressing the back fours attempts to play it short. There is a mistake there. Or space in behind them.

Initial thoughts:

Green even more missing than Adomah, McGinn quiet by his standards. El Ghazi doing a good bit - but all so scrappy

Think Hourihane for Whelan looks like the correct call.

Feck

Elmo and Tammy watched it go in

Two lads standing there with their flutes in the hands.

F*ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭remoteboy

Might wake us up.

Attacking wise we've been as blunt as a spoon.
    McGinn needs to get involved, he's done very little in the two legs so far.

Was a clear free out in the build up to their corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,278 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Is there an away goal rule here?

flazio wrote: »

No

flazio wrote: »

No

Grealish getting no protection from the ref here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Green looks lost out there

I’d hook him at half time

Johansen appears to be unbookable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Brian201888

Green and McGinn have been nowhere

Not even a yellow for a stamp

McGinn is doing okay I think.

Brunt scumbag stamping on his arm.

I'd get Kodija on for Green.

CSF wrote: »
    Johansen appears to be unbookable.

All the West Brom players look unbookable.

Joke of a ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭basillarkin

That's a straight red

We’ve been very sloppy. Real lack of accuracy and incision.

Referee is a complete homer.

Final ball has been awful, no real quality or clear cut chances.

I'd question how fit Tammy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,797 ✭✭✭✭JPA

We've been fairly poor. El Ghazi and Taylor getting a lot of ball on the left but doing nothing.
    The whole team needs a boot, we just need a 1-1 remember.

I think it was an accident by Brunt to be honest, he was off balance and had to stand somewhere. Looked to be genuinely apologising to McGinn at HT.

As far the game-

Positives - McGinn, El Ghazi, Hourihane and Grealish were slowly getting going towards end of half, like they were waking up.
    Also we're definitely playing the better football, and I can see the game plan - isolate Holgate vs El Ghazi on left, McGinn and Green work together on right

Negatives - West Brom so much more up for it!! Chasing everything, scrapping harder. Hopefully they'll tire
    Tammy and Green doing nothing - I'd hoped Green's youth would lead to energy and pace, instead it's terrible crosses and poor ideas. Tammy spending most of his time arguing with ref, little presence in box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭LeBash

I thought we've been playing pretty well but West Brom have a great shape at the back. They've done brilliant keeping Tammy dead quiet over the 2 legs so far.

Brunt should at least have a yellow for the stamp and Johanson still hasn't got a booking.

Set pieces are scary, they have some height in their side.

Defending them throws is problematic, we've enough small players to put on the posts to defend them, a player on the back post for the goal clears that every time.

Esse85 wrote: »
    Defending them throws is problematic, we've enough small players to put on the posts to defend them, a player on the back post for the goal clears that every time.

You'd wonder what Elmo was doing standing in no man's land but I looked like he was tracking the running attacking the back post. Tammy standing in the middle, marking no one and making a half arsed attempt to get to it. You'd wonder is he interested but you could also argue why would he be?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Am I right in saying there isn't an away goals rule in this game?

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Am I right in saying there isn't an away goals rule in this game?

Correct.

How has that lad not got a yellow!?

Kick the Fcuking ball in from corners and stop messing about.

Green is brutal and should be arrested.

Tammy is limping even though it's his shoulder that is supposedly injured. I think he just doesn't want to be out there.