Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daily weirdness of others

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

IK09 wrote: »
    I have just received confirmation that the culprit remains in Galway. Latest movements were tracked 3 weeks ago.

As for the Cork incidents....we could be dealing with a copy-cat sh1tter.

The suspect is hatless. Repeat, hatless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

A neighbour of mine sits in his front garden with a telescope and takes pictures of the sky.Nothing wrong with this.

The wierdess is the wife opens the living room window and asks when is he coming in 3 maybe 4 times over an hour or two.After 10 years doing this you would think she would know he would be back in at X time or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,849 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Could this Phantom just be someone who is getting carried away with avoiding Poseidon's Kiss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

IK09 wrote: »
    This isnt something I have experience of, but one of my friends works with someone he refers to as "The Phantom".

The story goes back years with a friend who filled me in on the situation over a pint. He works in a large medical device company in Galway and one day while making the trip to the leithris, he enters a cubicle. Someone has filled the toilet with toilet paper and proceeded to take a massive dump on top of the toilet paper, not only rendering the toilet unusable, leaving a terrible mess for the cleaning staff, but stinking the place up.

I learned the story from him quite early on. He was scarred by his experience. He understood, that there was a certain amount of "two fingers up" to the company in this act, but could not get his head around why the person felt the need to punish others also.

A month later I get a text, it read "it happened again", I needed no further explanation, the 3 words could mean only one thing. Again, we met for a pint and he still cant get his head around it. Why does he have to smell this persons sh1te when he goes into the bathroom he asks himself.

When it happened for the third time, he denounced this man and gave him the title "The Phantom". He swore that he would find him. He studied his habits, taking note of the weeks, days, and times that "The Phantom" struck, but to no avail, there was no pattern. He struck as and when he pleased. Sometimes leaving months between his exploits, sometimes, only days.

It got to the stage where when redundancies and severance packages were being offered, my friend was less concerned with the possibility of losing his job, than he was that "The Phantom" might lose his before he caught him.

My friend has become obsessed. Like an old detective trying to solve a case. The most disturbing thing about the scenario is that as he walks into the toilet, the scent invades his nostrils. He can smell that "The Phantom" has acted before he even enters the cubicle to get visual confirmation.

To this day, almost 3 years later, I still receive the mandatory text that "The Phantom" has struck. To his distress, "The Phantom" remains at large.

It's done lads. Close the thread. This post wins the internet today. :D

A mate used to work in a car wash and one morning in the middle of the main washing area there was a turd that had been split in half. They checked the footage and sure enough someone went in, laid a log, then used and implement to cut it in half before leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

buck65 wrote: »
    When I go to the toilet or have a shower I always start interviewing myself about an imaginary sports career that I admittedly have retired from but am still plagued by an imaginary reporter asking the same questions.

Were you the only boy growing up in your family?

A mate used to work in a car wash and one morning in the middle of the main washing area there was a turd that had been split in half. They checked the footage and sure enough someone went in, laid a log, then used and implement to cut it in half before leaving.

footage of a public toilet?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

My neighbours are lovely lovely people. We don't hear a peep out of them and they are lovely to talk to and interact with.

But every night between 10:15 and 10:55 they shower, not together but one in the shower the other in the bathroom, then the other one showers and the other stays in the bathroom. Throughout this they go throught their individual day and everything that happened. The person that is in the shower is the one that speaks.

There is something about this time and the acustics the sh*ty quality of our houses where whatever is said in the bathroom is crystal clear in my bedroom. So I know everything that goes on with them.

They aren't weird or strange and live a fairly normal life.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    My neighbours are lovely lovely people. We don't hear a peep out of them and they are lovely to talk to and interact with.

But every night between 10:15 and 10:55 they shower, not together but one in the shower the other in the bathroom, then the other one showers and the other stays in the bathroom. Throughout this they go throught their individual day and everything that happened. The person that is in the shower is the one that speaks.

There is something about this time and the acustics the sh*ty quality of our houses where whatever is said in the bathroom is crystal clear in my bedroom. So I know everything that goes on with them.

That is a nice way of sharing for them..

It's just a pity for them that they are also sharing with you..

Do you listen every night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭guile4582

would the content be good enough for an overheard in dublin/Give Up Your Auld Sins animation? could replace a prayer at bedtime on rte one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭TheWarChicken

Long time friend of mine.
    Wears shorts all year round. Always wears checked shirts. Kind of an odd lad in general, but this always confused me.

Knew a lad who would wear shorts and go with either flip flops or bare feet regardless of weather or time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭6541

Would you ever bring up topics they previously discussed with them, like say dude I agree with the missus ya do need a new car !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

A friend of mine is the same, he's always in either shorts or 3/4 lengths regardless of the weather. He's worn the same clothes for the past 10 years.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

6541 wrote: »
    Would you ever bring up topics they previously discussed with them, like say dude I agree with the missus ya do need a new car !
    I wonder if I start to talk, do they hear me?

I could try join in the conversation tonight. Although I'm not a great converstationalist that late and they can't see my nods of agreement or disatisfaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Is it weird to bring cups of tea with you when going to the bathroom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I wonder if I start to talk, do they hear me?

I could try join in the conversation tonight. Although I'm not a great converstationalist that late and they can't see my nods of agreement or disatisfaction.

NeighbourMan: "I might slip up to the local, have a pint with the lads..."

NeighbourWoman: "Hang on now, we're saving for that holiday, remember?"

Boom_Bap: "You weren't worried about the holiday a week last Saturday, Miriam, were ya now??"

Neighbours: "What the f*ck was that??"

Boom_Bap: "... ah sh*te..."

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Is it weird to bring cups of tea with you when going to the bathroom?

Defeats the purpose of going to the bathroom, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Echoes675

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Used to work with a girl who would bring a two litre bottle filled with diluted orange, miwadi or something, to lunch every day. It just looked odd when shed drink it from the bottle.

ummm

408699.jpg

Lived with a lad who used to eat bags of taytos and chocolate bars while going for a dump.

How do I know this you ask? Well he wasn't fond of closing the door either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I see a few:

My next door neighbour who is renting his house collects pallets and spends 20 minutes every evening chopping them up for the fire. I've also seen him trimming around the edges of his lawn with a scissors.

At work: it's fun watching everyone arrive first thing and look at their quirks when parking, like the colleague who, even if there are spaces beside the door, will park at the opposite end of the car park, right beside the one car that has parked there that early.

We get the "park up, clock in, move car" people as well. And double parkers. Despite innumerable notices from facilities management, the same people double park every day, blocking colleagues in who need to go out at lunchtime or leave early. Last week one person did a double whammy, was asked to move their car at lunchtime, did so, but double parked on someone else, asked to move at 4pm again.... Always on fag break and not at their desk when these incidents happen too... :rolleyes:

I'm guilty myself, I like the same seat in the canteen every morning. It's quiet there, and I like to read. It doesn't feel right sitting anywhere else.

I think I know the pallet chopper, one guy in work has his whole car full of pallets every now and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Sklarker

I do this every time I lock my car too, and recently checked my dad's car after he locked it and looked over and he was checking the door handle on the other side too. The apple doesn't fall far from the OCD tree!

I used to park in the same spot every day in the Phoenix Park. There was always this woman who parked a few spots ahead of me who used to not only check every door lock multiple times but used to run her fingers along the rubber seals of all the windows checking there was no gap I guess. Pretty extreme OCD. Her routine took several minutes every day. She kind of frightened me for some reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

My hubby really gets on my nerves in car parks. He will circle the car park at least 3 or 4 times before finally deciding on a spot but not before making sure no other car can squeeze in along side and heaven forbid put a scratch on our car while opening their door

I am ready to lose the head and shout Park the **** car. And then after all the manouvering ( my sis says you would think he was driving an aeroplane) he will reverse out of the space and park in a spot where no one else would park.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Someone watching very loud gay man porn in the jacks. Like I was in there and all you heard was large spanking noises and something about being another man's toy?

I think he forgot to plug his headphones in. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

My dad flushes as he pees, then flushes or 'tries to' flush when he's finished peeing, but by that stage the toilet won't allow him to flush again, resulting in him walking off and the smell lingering.

I've asked him why he does this and he says 'if you flush mid way you alleviate any odour'. It's the complete opposite but he won't change his ways. So annoying. He's actually broken one of the toilets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Heat_Wave wrote: »
    My dad flushes as he pees, then flushes or 'tries to' flush when he's finished peeing, but by that stage the toilet won't allow him to flush again, resulting in him walking off and the smell lingering.

I've asked him why he does this and he says 'if you flush mid way you alleviate any odour'. It's the complete opposite but he won't change his ways. So annoying. He's actually broken one of the toilets!

Now that is weird.

Everybody knows that the reason you flush mid piddle is to challenge yourself to a race to finish before the flush ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

I live in a rural area. Outside the local village, I used to see a couple with a beautiful dog many times when going to town. They'd often be in the same spot coming back from town.

The woman has the dog on a short lead, she stands a few feet away from the car. The man is either in the car, or leaning on it outside.

So it looks like they're just about to go for a walk, or the woman is, at least.

Except they never do. I always see them like that, in the same spot outside the village. I have never seen the woman further than a few feet from the car with the dog.

Now they have changed spots. I see them up the mountain road, there is a crossroad sort of spot with lovely scenery. It would be flat and very easy to walk even just a little bit along the road, but I've just seen them standing there, the woman always a few feet away from the car.

Maybe they're not very mobile and they just want the dog to get some fresh air I don't know. At first I thought they were training the dog to be good when cars passed by. But that's been going on more than a year now.

I haven't seen them in a while, but I don't travel the road regularly enough to tell if they're taking a break from standing there or what.

The dog is a very striking collie type dog (but I don't think it's collie exactly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

sugarman wrote: »
    What's weird about that? God forbid someone wanting to look after their car.

With you and the hubby 100%. Why let someone damage something you work hard to own and care for?

I park my car at the back of the car park at work to protect it from the Harvey door bangers. It's because I love cars and I love my car. It's a privilege to own a car and I would feel I let myself and it down if I let someone careless dozy cumt prang it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

I live in a rural area. Outside the local village, I used to see a couple with a beautiful dog many times when going to town. They'd often be in the same spot coming back from town.

The woman has the dog on a short lead, she stands a few feet away from the car. The man is either in the car, or leaning on it outside.

So it looks like they're just about to go for a walk, or the woman is, at least.

Except they never do. I always see them like that, in the same spot outside the village. I have never seen the woman further than a few feet from the car with the dog.

Now they have changed spots. I see them up the mountain road, there is a crossroad sort of spot with lovely scenery. It would be flat and very easy to walk even just a little bit along the road, but I've just seen them standing there, the woman always a few feet away from the car.

Maybe they're not very mobile and they just want the dog to get some fresh air I don't know. At first I thought they were training the dog to be good when cars passed by. But that's been going on more than a year now.

I haven't seen them in a while, but I don't travel the road regularly enough to tell if they're taking a break from standing there or what.

The dog is a very striking collie type dog (but I don't think it's collie exactly).

Maybe the woman or man has some sort of phobia about been outdoors and they are trying to overcome it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I do my old bachelor uncles washing for him, he has outside trousers and inside trousers. The outside trousers are washed every time he wears them, so if he went to the shops for half an hour he would put the trousers in the wash and get another fresh pair if he had to go out again.
    This is weird in itself but the inside trousers never get washed! I have to sneak in and get them when he's out to give them a wash. Only with his trousers rest of his clothes are washed as normal. I have asked him and all I get is sure they're dirty.

Does he also have "bus pants"?
    If so I believe Sheldon Cooper has cracked time travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I must be a bit weird, cos I do quite a few things mentioned in this thread myself.

I went to school with a girl who hated doing P.E, and would always have excuses about why she couldn't do it that day. But she never gave the normal teenage-girl excuses the rest of us gave, like a forgotten kit, period pain or a sprained ankle.

Just about every lesson for 5 years she would have a serious life threatening disorder, and be grand again by next class. "I had a brain haemorrhage last night, so can't do P.E miss" "My lung collapsed this morning so I can't do PE miss" "I have leukaemia miss".

Think the best ever was one Monday morning when she told the teacher she went to Vietnam for the weekend and fell out of a helicopter "no broken bones, but the doctor says no sports for a week". We used to be in absolute stitches laughing at her.

The thing was, she was always dead serious when she said these things, like she actually believed they were true.

She was bananas, I mean bat sh1t crazy. The poor girl is probably in a mental hospital now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭StillThinking

Does he also have "bus pants"? If so I believe Sheldon Cooper has cracked time travel.

Bus ones are the inside trousers, must kill him to leave the house with them on. Wouldn't mind like but all his trousers are the exact same, same brand in the same colour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Someone watching very loud gay man porn in the jacks. Like I was in there and all you heard was large spanking noises and something about being another man's toy?

I think he forgot to plug his headphones in. :(

Ha ha.

Reminds me of a post I read on here way back about some guy coming home half cut and deciding to listen to some music. He doesn't want to wake the house and so uses earphones, but after putting them on his head he forgot to plug them in and unable to hear properly, thought the volume was really low, so turned it all the way up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I'm living with a Chinese lad who every night gets a dish boils two kettle loads of water, then gets four or five tea bags puts them in the water goes up to the bathroom and washes his hair in the tea. He's afraid his hair is falling out so feels the need to do so this while destroying the bathroom with tea.

Two things I find odd, he's stressed out so much he might be losing his hair that stress will probably cause his hair to fall out. Also we have boiling hot water out of the taps every night, why he needs to boil the kettle is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

Being alone in my car during the commute, I can continue to have imaginary but very vocal and animated arguments with others, safe in knowledge that other drivers and pedestrians will simply assume that I am on the 'hands free' and not completely mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

I used to share a house with a guy that played Neil Young Harvest every night to go asleep to. It drove me mad, but it must have sunk in, because I love it now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

I used to share a house with a guy that played Neil Young Harvest every night to go asleep to. It drove me mad, but it must have sunk in, because I love it now!

Absolutely classic album. Though I can imagine falling asleep while the orchestral dramatic part of "a man needs a maid" gets going must be quite annoying ha ha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 Silo18

While walking towards automated doors, I'll sometimes pretend to have Jedi powers that allow me to open the doors using The Force.

I'll sometimes use a small hand gesture and try to time it to coincide with the door actually opening.

I keep the gesture subtle though because, obviously as a Jedi, that **** is no big deal.

Plus, I don't want people thinking I'm a weirdo.

I'm 41.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭guile4582

Silo18 wrote: »
    While walking towards automated doors, I'll sometimes pretend to have Jedi powers that allow me to open the doors using The Force.

I'll sometimes use a small hand gesture and try to time it to coincide with the door actually opening.

I keep the gesture subtle though because, obviously as a Jedi, that **** is no big deal.

I'm 41.

i too am guilty of this one....the force is strong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭ablelocks

I'm 41.

when my kids were small, I used to do this for them.

I also trained them to develop and use their force to do it too.

The time my youngest fella "successfully" tried it on an automated revolving door was great craic...he was only 4 at the time and thought he was destined for galactic greatness...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I'm 41.

I'm am guilty of this as well, the OH found it quite weird at first but she rolls with it now - the only difference is that I pretend I'm Magneto

• Registered Users Posts: 33 the phantom worker

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I used to work with a girl like that too, horrible fat ginger creature, would always try to get one up on someone else

i e; a colleague would pass accountancy exams - she would know someone who came first in the country or won an award. Someone went on a nice holiday - she went there too and had access to a nice villa and would go out on a yacht. Someone brings a homemade cake to work - she would know someone who owned an artisan cake shop and would do the cake differently. It was all bull****.

we had one of those....we would call her "Elevenerife" because if you had gone to Tenerife, she had gone to Elevenerife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭ablelocks

[QUOTE=the phantom worker[/QUOTE]

he's here! hope the mods and admins lock up the jacksessses

we had one of those....we would call her "Elevenerife" because if you had gone to Tenerife, she had gone to Elevenerife

lol

• Registered Users Posts: 33 the phantom worker

ablelocks wrote: »
    he's here! hope the mods and admins lock up the jacksessses

Hadn't gotten to that part of the thread when I posted....well this is awkward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

A migraine?!?!? That's nothing. Last week my head FELL OFF!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

eoin_mcg wrote: »
    ummm

408699.jpg

At that's only one litre! You obviously don't have it in ya for 2 :p :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm 41.
    I do something similar with the doors in work. They are hinged double doors that are automated. Sometimes the doors are closing as I approach them and I like to dart between them before they close so I can hum the Indiana Jones theme tune. I'm almost 40 and a manager. :pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

I'm 41.

Guilty of this too :)

I had a neighbour when I lived in Dublin who played Tatu 'All The Things She Said', Bombfunk Mc's 'Freestyler' and some Gregorian chanting every SINGLE Saturday morning around 9am for at the entire 4 years I lived beside him. Often on a repeating loop.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

Great Thread

Embrace the wierdness