Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017 *Warnings see OP-updated 09/05/17*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

bangkok wrote: »
    zlatan and pogba would have seriously improved yer team and the reasons you have given for their move to Utd are beyond ridiculous

I think they're right on the money (pardon the pun)

What a load of bollocks I'd have loved if we signed both of them , players like them would have complimented Ozil and Sanchez not hamstrung them like most of our current lot do

That's your opinion, I have mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

What a load of bollocks I'd have loved if we signed both of them , players like them would have complimented Ozil and Sanchez not hamstrung them like most of our current lot do

Be careful talking with sense and ambition in here it isnt liked :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

FixitFelix wrote: »
    I think they're right on the money (pardon the pun)

so you wouldnt like to sign Ronaldo as he has a clothing range and you wouldnt like to sign Messi as he likes to win trophies :rolleyes:

Because Pogba and zlatan are comparable to the 2 best players in the world ha Pogba is a professional dabber and an average footballer

average footballer?? seriously

if you dont rate zlatan or pogba you are actually clueless about football

average footballer?? seriously

if you dont rate zlatan or pogba you are actually clueless about football

Or maybe not just looking at them through Rose tinted glasses! whatever about zlatan, from what I've watched of Pogba in the euros and this season at utd he hasn't shown me anything to justify the hype or price tag

you clearly have seen feck all of pogba so.

4 time serie a champ

FIFA U-20 World Cup Golden Ball
    Golden Boy: 2013
    Serie A Team of the Year: 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16
    FIFA World Cup Best Young Player: 2014
    Bravo Award: 2014
    UEFA Team of the Year: 2015
    FIFA FIFPro World XI: 2015
    Serie A Top Assist-provider: 2015–16

and already this season for Utd 7 goals scored and hit the post/crossbar 8 times. he dominated against arsenal this season already and has been dominating games the last few months, only 23 imagine how good he will be in 2,3,4,5,6 years time and even then will be just hitting his prime.

but yea, he wouldnt make the arsenal team

4 time serie a champ

and already this season for Utd 7 goals scored and hit the post/crossbar 8 times. he dominated against arsenal this season already and has been dominating games the last few months, only 23 imagine how good he will be in 2,3,4,5,6 years time and even then will be just hitting his prime.

I never claimed to see alot of him, I am basing my opinion on what I've seen of him which is what I'm doing, and why you are saying he's hit the crossbar 8 times is lost on me, Walcott has ballooned as many shots as that into the stands which has the same result, which is **** all.
    And you are obviously seeing what you want to see when you say he wouldn't get in the team which is something I never said I said I wouldn't want him at Arsenal, which is an opinion I'm allowed to have there is players I'd have in the Arsenal team way before him

I never claimed to see alot of him, I am basing my opinion on what I've seen of him which is what I'm doing, and why you are saying he's hit the crossbar 8 times is lost on me, Walcott has ballooned as many shots as that into the stands which has the same result, which is **** all.
    And you are obviously seeing what you want to see when you say he wouldn't get in the team which is something I never said I said I wouldn't want him at Arsenal, which is an opinion I'm allowed to have there is players I'd have in the Arsenal team way before him

i only ever seen messi play once against PSG last week, he was awful, so basing my opinions on what i have seen of him, messi is awful....
    great logic there.

also yer current midfield is made up of the likes of Oxlade chamberlain, xhaka, elneny and francis coquelin... cazorla is class but he is injured

like Oxlade chamberlain, xhaka, elneny and francis coquelin ok.

You speaking for me now as well?
    Again not once did I mention any of these players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Sigh

Can we go back to the blud and fam argument again :pac:

Sigh

Can we go back to the blud and fam argument again :pac:

Fine by me fam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Whispers whispers whispers.

Wenger to Leicester.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

4 time serie a champ

Pogba is a good player, but he's not the best midfielder in the world which I have seen you say he is. You overrate the whole Man Utd team tbh :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭emmetlego

In the words of Dunphy, he's a good player, not a great player, and certainly not a 100 million player. I think Elneny is as good as him, obviously Wenger disagrees with me too...

Ranieri would be a good yes man for Kronke...

Ghent have dented Arsenal's top 4 chances severely! They're good, but they're no Bayern Munich!

emmetlego wrote: »
    In the words of Dunphy, he's a good player, not a great player, and certainly not a 100 million player. I think Elneny is as good as him, obviously Wenger disagrees with me too...

Ranieri would be a good yes man for Kronke...

elneny as good as pogba???!

goodnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

We say what we want
    We say what we waaaannnt
    This is the Arsenal thread
    we say what we want.

Joking aside Ive seen nothing from Pogba bar hitting the post and crossbar 8 times to think he'll become anything other than a decent footballer,best midfielder in the world????...nah not for me.
    Eleny right now is just as good,Ramsey on his day is better,Wilshere too,Cazorla every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Pogba is nowhere near the best midfielder in the world :D:Dhttps://www.premierleague.com/players/3920/Paul-Pogba/stats

85 shots .. 27 on target = shooting accuracy = 32% :)

Sure he can spray around nice passes but only has 3 assists this year :D

overpriced and overrated IMO :)

gitzy16v wrote: »
    We say what we want
    We say what we waaaannnt
    This is the Arsenal thread
    we say what we want.

Joking aside Ive seen nothing from Pogba bar hitting the post and crossbar 8 times to think he'll become anything other than a decent footballer,best midfielder in the world????...nah not for me.
    Eleny right now is just as good,Ramsey on his day is better,Wilshere too,Cazorla every day of the week.

Sure walcott is better as well while ur at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Pogba isnt even the best CM at United LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

No...No he's not....Not by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

emmetlego wrote: »
    Ghent have dented Arsenal's top 4 chances severely! They're good, but they're no Bayern Munich!

For jesus sake. Bloody Spurs.

One thing yis had to do. Just one bloody thing. Beat bleedin Ghent.

And yis couldn't.

Bloody Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,114 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    For jesus sake. Bloody Spurs.

One thing yis had to do. Just one bloody thing. Beat bleedin Ghent.

And yis couldn't.

Bloody Spurs.

That's racist!!!!:eek:

I thought you said goodnight?

Typical MU revisionist! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm not really a big time Spurs hater, but fair play to them: they're always good for a laugh.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Arghus wrote: »
    I'm not really a big time Spurs hater, but fair play to them: they're always good for a laugh.

As Roy Keane once said, Spurs will always let you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Post of the Day :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

elneny as good as pogba???!

goodnight

If you were to view it in a value for money aspect - Elneny wins all day at the minute in my opinion at least. But for sure Pogba has the ability and will be much much better in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

But imagine the goals that Giroud would get for Arsenal if you had Pogba...

Let's imagine...

https://twitter.com/footballnus/status/737553114861948928

RobertKK wrote: »

Let's imagine...

Its not exactly happening with Zlatan, I dont see how him being with Giroud would be any different :pac:

Let's imagine...

Pogba the classic YouTube footballer

DeclanRe wrote: »
    Its not exactly happening with Zlatan, I dont see how him being with Giroud would be any different :pac:

It only happened last Sunday, that being the latest.

https://twitter.com/unitedgoalhq/status/833375796613967873

DeclanRe wrote: »
    If you were to view it in a value for money aspect - Elneny wins all day at the minute in my opinion at least. But for sure Pogba has the ability and will be much much better in the future.

If elneny is such a good player why isnt he the first name on the arsenal team sheet?

Its actually laughable that ye think he is better than pogba or is it just because pogba plays for utd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,114 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

That's more down to Blackburn defending like a Sunday league team.

Pogba would be great for us. For a few weeks.

Couple of months settling in, few good weeks, injured on and off for ever.

Quazzie wrote: »
    That's more down to Blackburn defending like a Sunday league team.

But one still has to make the right pass to make it happen, too long and the goalkeeper has it, too short and the defenders have it,
    Goldilocks pass and a good striker nets it, Giroud and Zlatan being two examples of the good striker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

None of you can be serious that Elneny is as good as Pogba?

Hes older and hasnt even come close to playing at the level, domestically or on the international scene that Pogba has so far.

I will say this though, Pogba was vastly overpriced, by about a good 25-30m but thats the market you operate in with a greedy leech agent involved too, Pogbas PR stuff, dabbing and doing music videos will lend him criticism but his talent is pretty clear to see, hes clear as day a better player and prospect than Elneny.

Hell if youre going to throw over priced players into the mix who've done feck all, you only have to look at Xhaka.

This thread. I have no words.

Are the utd fans here trying convince us or themselves that Pogba is a top player ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭domrush

How can anyone seriously say they don't want Pogba or Zlatan in our team? Madness.

Anyone who thinks Elneny is better quality than Pogba obviously has watched **** all United this season, he's been consistently quality since October. Zlatan having an excellent season as well. I'm all for bigging up my own team ahead of rivals but c'mon lads, a dose of reality.

Elneny is vastly overrated by a lot of people in here. He's a solid player but most of the time he's passing sideways, I've yet to see anything that would make me want him starting for us week in week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I'd have Pogba without a doubt.

Are the utd fans here trying convince us or themselves that Pogba is a top player ?

Yes that is the only reason, madrid barca utd and psg all wanted him because he is average

I can't believe so many took the bait...

Basil3 wrote: »
    This thread. I have no words.

Blame the fixture schedule.

Our next match isn't 2019 or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Pogba has stupid hair, Elneny's is far superior

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Elneny is basically Gilberto, with more energy.

4 Assists all season. 3 for Zlatan.
    Ah no im just joking anyway - id love to have Pogba in the Arsenal team.
    Ill say the same when ye get Griezman next year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

keano_afc wrote: »
    Elneny is basically Gilberto, with more energy.

Ah I like Elneny too but Gilberto was better. Utterly superb reading of the game.