Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I a lazy teacher?

Options
  • 10-02-2017 11:29am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29

Hi folks

I have been teaching about 15 years in a working class area. Im a religion and English teacher. Mainly Religion.

We dont do it as an exam subject-Religion. Means I can apply some creativity to the course. Means no correcting. At Senior level I do the relationship and sexuality course.
    I do have one group of LCVP

At senior Level English I have one honours group/ One Ordinary.
    JC-I have an English Class mixed ability.

I correct mainly My honours LC English class about twice a month I take up essays. There are about 30 of them
    The English JC group-I take up something once a month.
    The Lc ordinary class has ten pupils . attendance varies wildly. I rarely take up anything as they rarely do Homework. I have done a few detentions but they drift back to doing no homework unless I give personal detentions

Most weeks I do about 3 hours at home. Some weeks nothing
    I often use my Religion classes to keep track of the School study group or other school related stuff. Sometimes in my religion class will plan for the English.
    The Lcvp class can require prep but Im only on half the year. When Im on it takes an hour a week prep.
    Let judgement begin.

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

You're doing grand. Same thanks you will get.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭deiseindublin

I'm presuming this is going to turn into a "We teachers have it easy and ASTI should have voted Yes" posts?