Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A lot of problems with manager and work

Options
  • 13-02-2017 12:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,553 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

Before I start, I know my own personal best option is to leave, which I will do as soon as possible. However, I would hate to leave my workplace as it is and I believe the reason it has gotten as it has is because too many people have done nothing.

I work in a shop whilst saving for further education and there are some serious manager problems. The manager has been working there about 8 years. There are staff there longer than her. I've been there about a year and a half. To put a long story short, the manager is a bully. She yells at people across the shop in front of customers, she's made staff members cry having called them stupid. She is always right, even when she is wrong.

For example, there was a problem with one of the printers and there was an expert in. The manager asked if it was the way staff were tearing off receipts and the expert said no, because if that was the problem then it would have happened a long time ago and that it was an issue with the printer which would need to be replaced. The manager spent a long time trying to convince the expert that it was indeed the staff's fault, whilst the expert kept telling her that that wasn't the case. I had warned the staff of what happened so they knew and sure enough, a few days later the printer jammed again and I caught the manager yelling at the girl on the till about how she must be tearing off the receipts wrong.