Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.270 Win Ammo Recomendation

Options
  • 13-02-2017 6:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭

Ok doing some more information gathering......

Can any one recommend a brand of .270 ammo -

Preferably 130 gr Soft Points for a 22 inch barrel with a 1:10 twist. This will be mainly for use on open hill deer - Sika, Hybrids and Reds.

I'm not mad about ballistic tips, but I have no experience with them and am open to argument, as am I to heavier bullet weight.

Thanks

Cookimonster

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭feartuath

RWS works fine with my Heym but was a bit expensive at 45 a box.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I've never owned a .270 so i won't try offer advice on bullet weight. However on this:
    I'm not mad about ballistic tips, but I have no experience with them and am open to argument, .....................
    i would personally recommend ballistic tips over soft point.

I used soft point for years and had my fair share of runners. Not saying all my shots were perfect, but i had a few more than i thought i should have. Everytime is tracked the animal the bullet was never in them. Instead i had a fine hole for an entry point and a fist sized gaping hole on the other side. A couple of times i recovered the bullet in the ground behind the animal and i found a mushroom shaped lump.

I tried these rounds into a sand bank and the results were the same. No fragmentation. Instead i ended up with a lump. Not happy at all.