Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going into education from a non education Undergraduate

Options
  • 14-02-2017 12:57am
    Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭

Hi all,

First, sorry if this is in the wrong place.

I feel like I might have posted something similar to this before, oh well.

Basically I'm in my second year of an Undergraduate degree in Science and I'm starting to see that I don't think I'd like to work in that area after college, I like my course and the modules we do, but I don't think I want to do what it "prepares" us for. We do work placement next year, that might change my mind.

Something that has always been at the back of my mind has been going into education. I love the idea of working in a school environment and teaching young people about Maths and the Sciences (Physics is a preference). I know it's not comparable to a classroom but I've given grinds to LCs (OL Maths) in the past and there was always something so satisfying about seeing the group leave with the confidence to approach exam questions they couldn't do before.

The problem is, education seems to be quite a bleak area of work, especially for young people today.

On top of that, I'm not exactly sure how I even go about getting the correct qualifications after college.

TLDR; Is it possible to go into education with anon education Undergraduate and is it event worth it?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭mtoutlemonde

TMJM96 wrote: »
    Hi all,

First, sorry if this is in the wrong place.

I feel like I might have posted something similar to this before, oh well.