Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards matchmaking:now ye're lovin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'm always coming on to these things to tell people how they work >.>

But anyway. The people who are on your list are people who post on your threads, and who quote and thank your posts, rather than the other way around :)

Not quite true.

The original algorithm Ross came up with was common posts in a thread and excluded boards 'friends'. Quotes and thanks never factored.

It was genius tbh, and is still only a glorified SQL search on the DB. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Cbyrd I see I've made your list and no one else's ;) my true love :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Steve wrote: »
    Not quite true.

The original algorithm Ross came up with was common posts in a thread and excluded boards 'friends'. Quotes and thanks never factored.

I stand to be corrected, but I think older accounts still work that way - for instance, none of my Boards friends are on my list, but I'm on the list of some of my Boards friends with relatively new accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

[quote="Trigger Happy;106150406"Manly handshake?[/quote]

Or a handy milkshake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

New Home wrote: »
    I stand to be corrected, but I think older accounts still work that way - for instance, none of my Boards friends are on my list, but I'm on the list of some of my Boards friends with relatively new accounts.

Agree.

Could have been changed but I doubt it, not like they tell us much anymore about backend work... :D

Agree.

not like they tell us much anymore about backend work...

Well this romantic thread suddenly took a dark turn...

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

im not on a list either ..sad puss

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Agree.

Could have been changed but I doubt it, not like they tell us much anymore about backend work... :D
    Well this romantic thread suddenly took a dark turn...

Read that in Mrs Krabappel's voice. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

So what happens now? Orgies I presume.

This weekend is the best weekend for the boards orgy as it’s not a rugby weekend. PM me the details.

Thanks.

So what happens now? Orgies I presume.

Depends who's on your list.. Could be an orgy, could be a mens five a side match

Here’s my list :D

Depends who's on your list.. Could be an orgy, could be a mens five a side match

It’s mostly men on my list but nobody’s perfect.

Edit: ^ lads? Come on? Some like it hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Hello to you all:)

JP Liz V1
    The Talking Bread
    Fin12
    Candie
    Shoesdayschild
    anna080
    73cat
    Mam of 4
    Eviltwin
    Persepoly
    Ann22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Fletcher Narrow Trash

awww
    RabbleRouser2k
    anna080
    Wibbs
    DavidLyons_
    Omackeral
    Ursus Horribilis
    Outlaw Pete
    VinLieger
    Widdershins
    Ralf and Florian
    GavRedKing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i got

anna080
    Omackeral
    skipper_G
    Del.Monte
    FrancieBrady
    Mam of 4
    tayto lover
    davycc
    hatrickpatrick
    Hilly Bill
    Infini

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

This weekend is the best weekend for the boards orgy as it’s not a rugby weekend. PM me the details.

Thanks.

Careful now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Careful now!

I've got the Munster v Cardiff game...no mickey fest for me !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Boards Matchmaking!beta
    now ye're lovin'
    Username Compatibility

Loughc
    Mam of 4
    New Home
    kitten_k
    LadyMacBeth_
    Glitzgirl
    Padraig Mor
    Posy
    Wibbs
    SarahLil
    CheerLouth

100% from playing Hangman in the Christmas forum, and buying plush after shave..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

So no minty or Jack....wtf?

Feeling chuffed I made it onto a lot of lists this year

Witchie wrote: »
    So no minty or Jack....wtf?

Feeling chuffed I made it onto a lot of lists this year

We’ll have to keep an eye on yourself and Gifted ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,608 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Im not on a list :(

You're on my list caffy!

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

Im not on a list :(

You're top of mine! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,587 ✭✭✭DunnoKidz

I don't recognise half the posters on my list. :eek:

load of nonsense. some of the people on my list I actively loathe.

Perhaps you're taking relatively anonymous internet discussions far too seriously?

Mam of 4. Move away from the thanks button. I repeat..move away from the thanks button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

DavidLyons
    Wibbs
    Michael Nutritious Backhoe
    jmayo
    RDM_83 again
    LadyMacBeth
    Widdershins
    Atoms for Peace
    The_Valeyard
    PopePalpatine
    Roger Hassenforder

You unlucky bastards!!!! :D

If we want to close this thread.... only people who don't! have Lady MacB on their list need post now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Mam of 4. Move away from the thanks button. I repeat..move away from the thanks button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Perhaps you're taking relatively anonymous internet discussions far too seriously?

how ironic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭addicted to caffeine

You're on my list caffy!
    Cutie 3.14 wrote: »
    You're top of mine! :)

yay :D I made a list, made my day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Not quite true.

Also not quite true, as posted by Conor at the time, the thanking of posts is the main decider. And thanking of other peoples posts is the thing most likely to get you on someone else's list.

While quoting doesn't seem to be factored in, interacting on other peoples threads unless they've started will not have any effect.

You were right in saying your buddy list is excluded but that's about all.
    It was a points system.

If you are user A and I'm calculating the matching score for you with user B:
    3 points for each time user A thanked user B
    Excluding buddy list
    Excluding ignore list
    Excluding any user B who hasn't been active in the last 6 months
    6 points for each time user B thanked user A
    Excluding buddy list
    Excluding ignore list
    Excluding any user B who hasn't been active in the last 6 months

Full list here :)

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65220478&postcount=194

Mine. .. again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Wibbs
    dr.fuzzenstein
    dublinman1990
    Tony EH
    davycc
    Welsh Megaman
    Cookie_Monster
    Atlantic Dawn
    jmayo
    tayto lover
    listermint

5-a-side it is so! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭misstearheus

If it was based on some sort of hidden flirtatious posting, I can guess a few peeps that would get on each others Lists.... Hahahahahaha :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

If it was based on some sort of hidden flirtatious posting, I can guess a few peeps that would get on each others Lists.... Hahahahahaha :D:D

How YOU doin? Oh wait... you said hidden right? :p

There's nothing hidden about my flirtatious behaviour ya big ride ya! :D:D

Actually...I don't think I showed up on anyone's list ....oh so apt username :(

Nobody flirts with me. Or if they do, I'm too dim to see it. Yes, that's it. I'm just not clocking it. :)

My list. All of them lovely....except one.

New Home
    bluewolf
    Penny Tration
    aaronjumper
    Boom_Bap
    King of the Eyesores
    Mam of 4
    One eyed Jack
    Wibbs
    PopePalpatine
    sammyjo90

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Wowbagger

My list, and as they are all boardsies are a grand bunch of lads/lassies.

gozunda
    Rosie Rant
    Millicent
    filbert the fox
    Toots
    Colser
    73Cat
    saralou2011
    electro~bitch
    the_syco
    The_Valeyard

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've never posted my list, here it is in all it's glory

Peregrine
    New Home
    Candie
    KERSPLAT!
    electro~bitch
    Colser
    eisenberg1
    Shoesdayschild
    aaronjumper
    Barry Badrinath
    LadyMacBeth_

Would bang all of yiz, and Candie, that is my attempt at flirting with you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Peregrine
    New Home
    Candie
    KERSPLAT!
    electro~bitch
    Colser
    eisenberg1
    Shoesdayschild
    aaronjumper
    Barry Badrinath
    LadyMacBeth_

Would bang all of yiz, and Candie, that is my attempt at flirting with you :pac:

I made it, yay! I can't believe I'm last though!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I made it, yay! I can't believe I'm last though!!
    You're number 1 if you read it backwards. :pac:

I'll let Peregrine have his way with you first. Besides, you didn't like my rendition of "Soft Kitty", so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

Don't even recognize half of these :P still, How you doin :)

Username
    dr.fuzzenstein
    Atlantic Dawn
    Muckie
    davycc
    Rosie Rant
    Toyotafanboi
    McGaggs
    R.O.R
    Srameen
    Hunky Monster
    dublinman1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Peregrine
    New Home
    Candie
    KERSPLAT!
    electro~bitch
    Colser
    eisenberg1
    Shoesdayschild
    aaronjumper
    Barry Badrinath
    LadyMacBeth_

We’re finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Peregrine
    New Home
    Candie
    KERSPLAT!
    electro~bitch
    Colser
    eisenberg1
    Shoesdayschild
    aaronjumper
    Barry Badrinath
    LadyMacBeth_

*kissyface*

anna080 wrote: »

We’re finished.

Noooooo!!! I actually looked into this and there’s reason, it’s because we are on each other’s friends list.
    If we weren’t I’m sure you’d be on mine :) near the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Noooooo!!! I actually looked into this and there’s reason, it’s because we are on each other’s friends list.

I won’t cancel the B&M party just yet so :pac:

B&M&B - don't forget the bagels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ye pair of snakes are well matched :mad:
    Probably almost last on Anna’s too #needy