Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VHI Women's Mini Marathon 5th June

Options
  • 15-02-2017 7:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭

https://www.vhiwomensminimarathon.ie/
    Hi I've never done this before, although often thought about it. I'm thinking of entering it this year though. Is anyone else doing it ? Anyone here have any 'memories' of it ? :)
    S

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Thinking of doing this myself. Oh wait................

Sorry:)

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Ross Runner

Would love to do it but dont think il be in MARATHON shape by then.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,332 ✭✭✭positron

It's a 10k event.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭ToriV

positron wrote: »
    It's a 10k event.

I think that may be sarcasm.....this seems to come up every year. Also the word marathon in a 10k event- its can be seen as a bit patronising (a little marathon for the wimmin kind of thing). But i don't think it will change any time soon!

It can be a fun day out - lots of charity groups and so on, and its wonderful to see so many people taking part -from the elites to the "lady" who did it in stillettos last year.

But as a run, it can be a disaster. Unless you are up in the elite pen, there can be walkers at every point - despite there being separate pens for runners, fast joggers, walkers etc. So if you plan to race it, the first 4k can be very frustrating, as you can have walkers strung across the whole road.