Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VHI Women's Mini Marathon 5th June

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

bikubesong wrote: »
    Hey all, so I stupidly registered a few weeks ago in the walking category, because I filled in the form on my phone and wasn't sure how I'd upload 'proof' of my running times. Intended on changing to the 'Fast Jogger' category when I was on my desktop but kept putting it off and now I've missed the deadline for changing categories! :(

I've never done the MM before so I'm hoping someone can advise me. Is it possible to start off in a different category than the one I'm registered for, or are they really strict? Any leeway at all on the day if I speak nicely to a marshal?
    Would I be mad to even try running it, if I have to start with the walkers?

Its easy to slip into any category you like, i see it every year.
    Just go to the area you're supposed to be in, then go to the porter loo and then go between the barrier to the category you want to be in.

Though I think myself unless you're in the elite group is there really any point in bothering with categories, its impossible to get anywhere for the first half km. Better to monitor your performance in a smaller, less congested race.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Alison D.

As a first-time race runner, I'm looking forward to this year's race. I do intend to be running rather than walking, but am in the Fast Joggers category.