Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tri bars at sportives

• 19-02-2017 8:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭

Was out today at a local sportive and was surrounded by clowns with tri bars one even had a full tri bike.
    They were all wearing local tri club kit which leaves me to wonder WTF do those clubs do on group rides.
    Needless to say said clowns also rode like clowns it weaving overlapping wheels and even riding on their trip bars mid group there was one the caused a minor crash on a climb also. Yes I saw it with my own eyes.
    Tell me I'm not the only one who has a major problem with this.
    I'm all for those lads showing off their kit but there's a time and a place for that

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

I hope they weren't wearing sleeveless tops and knee length socks.
    For a good reason, tri-bars are not allowed in most sportives.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭easygoing39

There's nothing surer to cause a crash on a sportive than a triathlete!! Even without tri bars on their bikes they'll cause danger!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,788 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Came across quite a few of these last year and one was even on his phone while nestling on the tri bars. He then tried to tell me he was in full control of his bike, pure asshole he was and still is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭lizzylad84

Seen one idiot on a tri bike at a local sportive last yr. I said it to him that it's not safe to ride a tri bike in a group event. No one from club running the event seemed to care tbh. Idiot even had a Ballygowan bottle in his biddon holder. Kinda put me off sportives tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

There's nothing surer to cause a crash on a sportive than a triathlete!! Even without tri bars on their bikes they'll cause danger!!

Ah there's always one that loves a sweeping statement. I've never caused a crash but I have been involved in two crashes involving cyclists at sportives. :rolleyes:

lizzylad84 wrote: »
    Idiot even had a Ballygowan bottle in his biddon holder

Careful now there's a whiff of Fred off that one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

The whole triathlon thing is like that crossfit stuff imho, like a fecking cult.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Just sit in his slipstream.

They hate that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭easygoing39

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Ah there's always one that loves a sweeping statement. I've never caused a crash but I have been involved in two crashes involving cyclists at sportives. :rolleyes:

The worst thing CI did was insist that tri-heads are'nt allowed wear their wife-beater tops in open races.Now we have to spend the 1st 5 minutes of the race looking out for the beefy,53 X 11 grinding,top-tube bag using,wobbly dangerous rider!!
    CI should insist they have a orange flag on their bike in races.
    https://www.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Famericansafetyvest.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2015%2F04%2FBikeFlag.jpg&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbicycle.pinpointjobs.us%2Fbicycle-flags-safety%2F&docid=of6Aasg40u46QM&tbnid=jnYL0a1perRTeM%3A&vet=1&w=256&h=320&bih=950&biw=1920&q=long%20orange%20flag%20onbike&ved=0ahUKEwjS4pq0mp3SAhVJOMAKHQuvCQ0QMwggKAEwAQ&iact=mrc&uact=8#h=320&imgrc=jnYL0a1perRTeM:&vet=1&w=256

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

shouldn't have been allowed, either the clip on bars or the full tri bikes. i won't bring my tri bike out if i'm even heading out with one other, let alone with a group, and definitely no place for them on a sportive. i'm surprised they weren't stopped.

fat bloke wrote: »

They hate that.

just don't be surprised when the rain turns warm for a minute or so.

mossym wrote: »
    just don't be surprised when the rain turns warm for a minute or so.

Yep.

Can't even control their own bladders. :rolleyes:

The worst thing CI did was insist that tri-heads are'nt allowed wear their wife-beater tops in open races.Now we have to spend the 1st 5 minutes of the race looking out for the beefy,53 X 11 grinding,top-tube bag using,wobbly dangerous rider!!

You do realise you've just described at least 60℅ of cyclists in most amateur road races there, right? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dvntie

They hate that.

I did and he was all over the road. Couldn't keep it straight so I thought the best place for him was far far behind

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Tri bikes are fantastically ugly, so who would want to seen on one at a sportive

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Weepsie wrote: »
    Tri bikes are fantastically ugly, so who would want to seen on one at a sportive
    Triathletes

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

mossym wrote: »
    .. i'm surprised they weren't stopped.
    It probably difficult to police in the bigger sportives. There was a chap in the WW200 last year on a full TT bike. Looked a bit odd and uncomfortable climbing Slieve Mann.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

It probably difficult to police in the bigger sportives. There was a chap in the WW200 last year on a full TT bike. Looked a bit odd and uncomfortable climbing Slieve Mann.

Yer man bressie was allowed do the great Dublin bike ride on one too. He set off, occupied the lead car and escort and got the advantage of the closed road to himself .

He did it an a super fast time, and mayve done it for charity but it completely went against the spirit of the event. Says to me bell-end with an ego who'd rather do it like that than spend a bit of time chatting and slumming it with everyone else and raising awareness in a more meaningful way.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Passed a guy in full Tri regalia on the 1st Great Dublin Bike Ride. TT bike sleeveless jersey, knee socks aero helmet and all.

He was going embarrassingly slowly (as evidenced by the fact that I passed him) yet looked outwardly in great shape.

In fact I passed him a second time after my double puncture.

OTOH there were a few Tri looking types on the Reservoir Dog who vanished up the first climb and seem to have flown the route*

To totally Ron Burgundy the situation they were soundly beaten to the finish by some sort of XC monster

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭irishrover99

I seen a guy on slieve mann also a few years ago on a full TT bike. I found it more strange that he had a fully loaded backpack on him which i'm sure ate into any aero advantage he was getting.

true. something like the wicklow200 is a nice training spin for an ironman, especiialy a hilly IM, but to get the most benefit out of it doing it on the TT bike works best, don't think anyone would set out to do a load of climbing on one by choice

I seen a guy on slieve mann also a few years ago on a full TT bike. I found it more strange that he had a fully loaded backpack on him which i'm sure ate into any aero advantage he was getting.

weights in the bag for training? if he was on a mountain there is feck all aero advantage anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭InTheAttic

How about aero bars on a hybrid bike?... Ring of Kerry cycle has it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Thats b0ll0cks.

The problem with sportive is indeed the quality and experience of the rider - including all the people on their road bikes.

tunney wrote: »
    Thats b0ll0cks.

The problem with sportive is indeed the quality and experience of the rider - including all the people on their road bikes.

Well I suppose the point is, if you take the relatively chaotic nature of a mixed ability sportive and then introduce a TT rider, on the trí bars, with the limited steering and braking afforded by that position.

It's fuel to the fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭joey100

But instead of people coming on here saying triathletes are clowns and there is nothing more sure to cause a crash than a triathlete at a sportif why not contact the sportif organiser to bring up your concerns? If they are allowed at the sportif the people are doing nothing wrong, if there is a problem with that contact the people who organised the it. I really don't get the anti-triathlete thing, we are all cyclists. But a bit like some car drivers look down on cyclists, some cyclists look down on triathletes.

Edit: that's not directed at you fat bloke, more the 2 posters at the start of the thread.

joey100 wrote: »
    But instead of people coming on here saying triathletes are clowns and there is nothing more sure to cause a crash than a triathlete at a sportif why not contact the sportif organiser to bring up your concerns? If they are allowed at the sportif the people are doing nothing wrong, if there is a problem with that contact the people who organised the it. I really don't get the anti-triathlete thing, we are all cyclists. But a bit like some car drivers look down on cyclists, some cyclists look down on triathletes.

Edit: that's not directed at you fat bloke, more the 2 posters at the start of the thread.

Ah yeah, I think it's only a bit of craic though. Roadies hate mtb'ers, triathletes are silly, Fred's are funny etc.

But I think tri bars are actually specifically prohibited in road sportives - I'm open to correction on that.

aye, wouldn't get too upset about it joey, i've one lad on here on ignore cause his trolling is the same old tripe every time, and it was pretty poor the first time. natural order of things, slow sunday cyclists look down on triathletes, any of the actual cyclists i know that can actually ride a bike have no issue. just ignore it.

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭lissard

But I think tri bars are actually specifically prohibited in road sportives - I'm open to correction on that.

That's been the case at every sportive I have ever participated in. It's an absolute no-brainer from a safety point of view. If you want to TT your way around a course, why take part in a mass participation event?

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭eoghan84

I saw a girl with tri bars at the 160km Tour of Meath last year.

I know they are banned for the big sportives abroad like the Tour of Flanders, but I haven't seen much info banning them here.