Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo constituency GE2020

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Thou

whitey1 wrote: »
    I hate to say it but for many voters elections have become nothing short of popularity contests

Amazing what people will fall for

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭ethical

So the Mayo people are going to go for the same sh!t again.How could people be so stupid as to elect members of a party that are fighting amongst themselves,POSTERGATE!
    But it is looking like more of the same.
    Ring,well he could run for any Party and get elected,and will do so again by a country mile! He does the work,he delivers!
    Calleary ,because Ballina will want to hold onto a TD and perhaps the next Táiniste.
    Chambers,because Micheál loves her and she could be the next Minister for Foreign Affairs,sitting in the correct seat and all that!
    and then.................................
    McHugh,unfortunately her leader Eamon TAX Ryan has scuppered her chances as he dosent see life outside the M50,first thing she should have done is picked up the phone and tell him she is going Independent....and she would get elected.
    Conway-Walsh,may poll well,but that Ard Comhairle thing will scupper her partys chances of being in Government....its nearly as fcukin bad as the Citzens Assembly! (a fairly chosen group ,my arse!)

Dillon,delusional if he thinks he can walk into Dáil Éireann,without doing any homework,he never got to Croke Park without playing all the games to get there.Are people that fcukin stupid that they would elect a candidate whose former boss did nothing for his home town of Castlebar,will Dillon get real!
    Mulherrin,its last chance saloon for her,imagine a lad that played football and did fcuk all else ,got in the Dáil before her! It would be akin to the Lads from Killinaskully winning the raffle in the Ballyboys Pub eventhough they only had 3 tickets of the 1000 sold.
    Its last chance saloon for Ms.Mulherrin and she is fighting her corner well,fightin for territory to put up posters with the aforementioned Dillon.Would this fight get something for the WEST if elected? She must have a chance.

The young Lawless lad and young Daly have great ,costed plans,didnt FF leader "borrow" Lawless' cataract treatment plan in bussing patients to Belfast in the Leaders debate with FG last week without crediting the young lad! Daly makes sense,remember he is trying to put people first,and not a chosen Golden Circle few like some of the others.

Isnt it about time the WEST and in particular Mayo stood up for themselves and elected someone that will do something other than line their own pockets.
    So Kenny is getting a pension of €110.000 per year!!!! No wonder Dillon and Mulherrin are squabbling over Posters!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭irishgeo

ethical wrote: »
    So the Mayo people are going to go for the same sh!t again.How could people be so stupid as to elect members of a party that are fighting amongst themselves,POSTERGATE!
    But it is looking like more of the same.
    Ring,well he could run for any Party and get elected,and will do so again by a country mile! He does the work,he delivers!
    Calleary ,because Ballina will want to hold onto a TD and perhaps the next Táiniste.
    Chambers,because Micheál loves her and she could be the next Minister for Foreign Affairs,sitting in the correct seat and all that!
    and then.................................
    McHugh,unfortunately her leader Eamon TAX Ryan has scuppered her chances as he dosent see life outside the M50,first thing she should have done is picked up the phone and tell him she is going Independent....and she would get elected.
    Conway-Walsh,may poll well,but that Ard Comhairle thing will scupper her partys chances of being in Government....its nearly as fcukin bad as the Citzens Assembly! (a fairly chosen group ,my arse!)

Dillon,delusional if he thinks he can walk into Dáil Éireann,without doing any homework,he never got to Croke Park without playing all the games to get there.Are people that fcukin stupid that they would elect a candidate whose former boss did nothing for his home town of Castlebar,will Dillon get real!
    Mulherrin,its last chance saloon for her,imagine a lad that played football and did fcuk all else ,got in the Dáil before her! It would be akin to the Lads from Killinaskully winning the raffle in the Ballyboys Pub eventhough they only had 3 tickets of the 1000 sold.
    Its last chance saloon for Ms.Mulherrin and she is fighting her corner well,fightin for territory to put up posters with the aforementioned Dillon.Would this fight get something for the WEST if elected? She must have a chance.

The young Lawless lad and young Daly have great ,costed plans,didnt FF leader "borrow" Lawless' cataract treatment plan in bussing patients to Belfast in the Leaders debate with FG last week without crediting the young lad! Daly makes sense,remember he is trying to put people first,and not a chosen Golden Circle few like some of the others.

Isnt it about time the WEST and in particular Mayo stood up for themselves and elected someone that will do something other than line their own pockets.
    So Kenny is getting a pension of €110.000 per year!!!! No wonder Dillon and Mulherrin are squabbling over Posters!

Mayo has just got the n5 upgrade ,loads of jobs an ecomony boost and a mayo company involved. Yet they are people still bitching about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

I think a lot of people are still furious at the fact that John O Mahoney was appointed Mayo Team manger in order to improve his chances of getting elected to Dáil Éireann. He got elected as part of the 2011 Mayo Taoiseach scam when the good people of the county handed the blue shirts 4/5 seats. The Mayo Taoiseach then proceeded to do SFA for the county and Mayo were beaten by Longford in the qualifiers

Exactly what wrong with this country. The taoiseach job is not be looking after his own county but the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭PressRun

Who the fcuk is voting for Alan Dillon?

irishgeo wrote: »
    Exactly what wrong with this country. The taoiseach job is not be looking after his own county but the country.

Wrong- Mayo had been neglected for the entirety of the preceding decade. He promised to right a wrong and he didn’t

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭unit 1

In saving the country he saved mayo be extension, history will remember him as a fine taoiseach, who played a disastrous hand of cards very well indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Gagagogo

PressRun wrote: »

Probably the same people who voted for Maria Walsh in the European elections.

Lisa chambers hasn't done much either. Apart from break the law by voting for other people.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭ethical

Its quite frightening the amount of delusionary on here from people that will never change even if the last Taoiseach shat on them.

You were obviously "well looked after" by the previous incumbent. Got the family to man the election stations on voting day maybe? The old scratch my back and I'll lick your arse thing playing out well!

ethical wrote: »
    Its quite frightening the amount of delusionary on here from people that will never change even if the last Taoiseach shat on them.

You were obviously "well looked after" by the previous incumbent. Got the family to man the election stations on voting day maybe? The old scratch my back and I'll lick your arse thing playing out well!

You talking about me. Lol. You nothing better to do than insult people you don't know on internet.

Who are you supporting?

unit 1 wrote: »
    In saving the country he saved mayo be extension, history will remember him as a fine taoiseach, who played a disastrous hand of cards very well indeed.

I think he was a very good Taoiseach for the country, BUT campaigning in his own constituency he played up the whole “Mayo Taoiseach” shtick, and won 4/5 seats on the back of it. He then proceeded, once in power, to do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for the county thereby earning the nickname “Not a penny Kenny”. He even let it get downgraded to a four seater

• Registered Users Posts: 16,473 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

PressRun wrote: »

inpho-01256451.jpg

Even FF ones will lob him a transfer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Boredstiff666

Mayo has just got the n5 upgrade ,loads of jobs an ecomony boost and a mayo company involved. Yet they are people still bitching about it.

Not for long......wait and see what happens after next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

I can't believe this country is about to elect a fianna fail led government again. Micheal Martin, Willie O'Dea and Eamon O Cuiv back in the top jobs 12 years after wrecking the country.

Then you have people giving out that Fine Gael did nothing for Mayo? A 250m road just getting underway that could have a transformative effect on the region's economy (Kenny was the leading figure in getting this done). The new N5 through Roscommon also at tender which will improve connections to the east of the country. Plus the new bridge at Cloongullane at tender which will improve connections to North Mayo.

What exactly are people hoping for by voting Sinn Fein, Greens, Fianna Fail? We'll miss having Ring as a senior minister when he's gone.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

He even let it get downgraded to a four seater
    Constituency boundaries and numbers of seats are nothing whatsoever to do with the government, let alone the Taoiseach (nor should they be).

If you're going to bitch about what a government did and didn't achieve, you might at least restrict yourself to bitching about things that were within their control.

Not for long......wait and see what happens after next week.

If you think someone is going to cancel it your mistaken. Your cant just rip up a signed contract. It's in the NDP.

Sinn Fein might do well but wont be no where near forming a government. FF might need the greens but despite the bluster the road will go ahead as its dara and lisa own county.

If you think someone is going to cancel it your mistaken. Your cant just rip up a signed contract. It's in the NDP.

Sinn Fein might do well but wont be no where near forming a government. FF might need the greens but despite the bluster the road will go ahead as its dara and lisa own county.

Wont be cancelled.......too many people rely on this to get elected.

But the economy will disappear before the end of the year at best at worst the economy will collapse.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭relax carry on

But the economy will disappear before the end of the year at best at worst the economy will collapse.

What are you on about now?

Wait and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

It's this sort of nonsense that paints the electorate in a bad light. Huge claims made with absolutely no intelligent argument to back them up. That's what's infuriating here.

All starts next week dear. Sit and watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

All starts next week dear. Sit and watch.
    Thank you for corroborating my post.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Wait and see.

Not how it works o predictor of calamity. You make a vague statement of impending doom and someone asks you for more detail and you respond with the above? Unless you've got something to back up your rather grandiose claims then you've won the right any future contributions to be dismissed.

Not how it works o predictor calamity. You make a vague statement of impending doom and someone asks you for more detail and you respond with the above? Unless you've got something to back up your rather grandiose claims then you've won the right any future contributions to be dismissed.

One way of looking at it but I remember telling similar attitude folk that the house price increase will go bust. Not one person agreed or wanted to here such talk in 2006.

I think people in Ireland just go around scared of mentioning or talking of such things in case it happens.

Nice but it doesnt stop the bad things from happening.

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Constituency boundaries and numbers of seats are nothing whatsoever to do with the government, let alone the Taoiseach (nor should they be).

If you're going to bitch about what a government did and didn't achieve, you might at least restrict yourself to bitching about things that were within their control.

Do you think that Bertie Aherns constituency would have lost a seat while was a sitting Taoiseach?

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Do you think that Bertie Aherns constituency would have lost a seat while was a sitting Taoiseach?

It's OK to admit that you don't understand how it works.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

The constituency borders in Dublin have been redrawn multiple times in the last 20 years FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

A constituency commission is established post each census and ultimately makes the decision on the make up of all constituencies.

Same is based on population changes in all constituencies.The representation in terms of teachta dala is set down in Bunreacht Na
    hEireann.

The overall number of Dail seats is dependent on the population of the Republic of Ireland.

As previous posters have mentioned politicians have absolutely no role in same.