Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheelchair user and Ryanair...

She's fighting with people on a Spin 103.8 facebook post atm...

Ah jaysus Niamh, put the phone down, go away for a few days and let this all blow over, you're not doing yourself any favours here. :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

and that's the main problem with a lot of the younger generation, being told they're the best, nothing is ever their fault, everybody gets a medal - god I sound old and im not even 30 yet....

I think you need to subscribe and change your username to "TheOldster" :pac:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Honestly I feel bad for her. If she's only in a wheelchair a few months she's likely still coming to terms with it. A family member of mine had a degenerative condition that required her to begin using a wheelchair in her mid-teens. It was incredibly tough on her mentally and took a long time before she truly came to terms with it.

She's obviously in the wrong here, and her friends/family should be getting her off facebook/the radio as she's making a show of herself, but I have sympathy for someone who appears to have genuine psychological issues. She does need counselling, not because of Ryanair, but to help her cope with living with a disability.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,452 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

That will be hard for her ...I can see her going down the LON/una Mullaley route whinging about being a victim

Which is a shame.

Shes passionate and relatively well educated .

She could be a very effective advocate and make a real difference in the world when she grows up, if she can live down this episode.

If she respects anyone at all, then that person needs to tell her to shut up now and teach her about hiw to influence people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

That facebook page is amusing.

you don't know nothing about fashion or disabilities you ableist

Maybe not, but I know about boarding planes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

She is full of her self importance but it always baffles me why do people feel the need to post on fb of complete stranger. Do they think she will come to her senses if only they tell how wrong she is. Is sorting out others really so much more important than worrying about their own problems.

She is an idiot but it's the moral beacons who feel the need to straighten out others that scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

To be fair I see she had "devastating news" that she lost a big blue faux fur eskimo-esque coat in the last week or two. That incident coupled with this would push anyone over the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Yaretzi Ashy Treble

meeeeh wrote: »
    She is full of her self importance but it always baffles me why do people feel the need to post on fb of complete stranger. Do they think she will come to her senses if only they tell how wrong she is. Is sorting out others really so much more important than worrying about their own problems.

She is an idiot but it's the moral beacons who feel the need to straighten out others that scare me.

She made it public, so shouldn't anyone who does this not go challenged on it - ive had a look on her "charity"/facebook page and she wanted to get attention to this

They are free to do it, that's how mob works. They will be back slapping each other how they told her. It's Jermy Kyle for internet generation. Great if you are into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭smilerf

I myself am a wheelchair user and she should be ashamed of herself. Would we like more accessibility yes
    I'm a frequent traveller and you must declare you use a wheelchair on check-in. It has to be tagged.
    So a I correct in thinking she had not informed them turned up 13 minutes before take off and expected assistance?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

smilerf wrote: »
    I myself am a wheelchair user and she should be ashamed of herself. Would we like more accessibility yes
    I'm a frequent traveller and you must declare you use a wheelchair on check-in. It has to be tagged.
    So a I correct in thinking she had not informed them turned up 13 minutes before take off and expected assistance?

She originally booked a flight with the wheelchair checkin option, some time later she decided she wanted to fly a day later so changed the flight but this time didnt ensure that the assistance option was included. Then she turned up for flight but only 13 minutes before take off did she go to the desk to board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

Candie wrote: »
    Whatever about her failing to notify them in advance - which is a valid request, asking a wheelchair bound person if they can walk up a flight of stairs is cosmically insensitive.

I don't think that it is. My mam has to use a wheelchair as she cannot walk to well and gets tired easily (short story on why she needs one).... we always use the wheelchair service at the airport. They always ask that when you are at the service waiting to collect the wheelchair.
    If somebody can walk the few stairs up with some assistance, then they do not need to book the lift that carries the chair up to the airplane.
    They ask the question and we always say no that she cannot walk up a few stairs. No insult, just a question.

Why does a complete stranger feel the need to lie to the rest of the public and not get questioned on it tho???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

In her original Facebook post (which she made public) she ended it with a "plea" to every one of her friends to share it as much as possible. The first few posts were her friends telling her what are a disgrace Ryanair are and how sorry they felt for Niamh but then when others (presumably not direct friends) started questioning if she actually followed the correct procedure and booked assistance is when the truth started coming out and her story started falling apart. If it weren't for the 'moral beacons' asking the questions that her friends were afraid to ask then we'd still be giving out about Ryanair when the truth is that they did nothing wrong and accommodated her as best they could given the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

So it's okay for her to lie and trash talk a company and employees and not have anyone question her on it? Don't make it a public post so and plead for it to be shared. Everyone loves having a go at Ryan Air, and I'm sure some people have had appalling service from them in the past however in this instance they have done nothing wrong. Every poster on here who has used or knows someone who has used their priority seating/assistance service has done nothing but praise them. This girl is coming across disgracefully, insulting people and calling people names. She shouldn't be allowed get away with it. Fair play to those calling her out.

People are just pointing out the facts to her and she can't handle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Yaretzi Ashy Treble

They are free to do it, that's how mob works. They will be back slapping each other how they told her. It's Jermy Kyle for internet generation. Great if you are into it.

So she or anyone else can say anything on FB/Social Media on a corporation without it being challenged and were meant to be p"ssed at the big bad corporation- and she's the only one going around insulting/bullying people who dare question her....No one is insulting her, its just her shooting these irritating pc buzzwords....There was a good question raised on her page and it was didn't she screen shot her ticket

anna080 wrote: »
    So it's okay for her to lie and trash talk a company and employees and not have anyone question her on it? Don't make it a public post so and plead for it to be shared. Everyone loves having a go at Ryan Air, and I'm sure some people have had appalling service from them in the past however in this instance they have done nothing wrong. Every poster on here who has used or knows someone who has used their priority seating/assistance service has done nothing but praise them. This girl is coming across disgracefully, insulting people and calling people names. She shouldn't be allowed get away with it. Fair play to those calling her out.

People are just pointing out the facts to her and she can't handle it.

I never took her seriously because I am aware there are always two sides to the story. I have no problem or complaints with Ryanair but I don't think they are powerless and need help of strangers on internet.

You are one of those who went straight away to her fb aren't you? Are you interested in disability charities or did you just go there to salivate over a nice public flogging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,000 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I never took her seriously because I am aware there are always two sides to the story. I have no problem or complaints with Ryanair but I don't think they are powerless and need help of strangers on internet.

You are one of those who went straight away to her fb aren't you? Are you interested in disability charities or did you just go there to salivate over a nice public flogging?
    But a lot of people these days just accept what's written online without question - oh that it weren't so, but it is - so should she be able to make whatever unfounded allegations she likes, unchallenged?

In fairness, for once there wasn't a mob mentality to all of this - all of the posters on her FB thread were unfailingly polite to her in the face of her provocations and wild accusations (I may have missed some comments/questions that were deleted, I get the impression she was selective in what she left up).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Nice public flogging to be honest, she has been spinning a yearn and is being, let's be kind and say irrational, and it is interesting to watch. She went as big as she could with the story, you play with fire.

I went there to check out her side of the story and to see what people were saying in response to that, no harm in that is there? I'm sure you did the same yourself. And to be honest she's the one doing the flogging, calling people names when all people are doing is hitting her with the facts.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    But a lot of people these days just accept what's written online without question - oh that it weren't so, but it is - so should she be able to make whatever unfounded allegations she likes, unchallenged?

In fairness, for once there wasn't a mob mentality to all of this - all of the posters on her FB thread were unfailingly polite to her in the face of her provocations and wild accusations (I may have missed some comments/questions that were deleted, I get the impression she was selective in what she left up).

I actually don't think discussion or rebuttal on ger fb page is wrong but once the screen captures start floating around and when people start flock to the website just to gawk and poke it's clear she became a circus. And she will be probably ok, but if there is someone vulnerable then it can become a lot more serious.

First of all Niamh posted this on her own page and the note at the end of her post read "My plea is for you all to circulate this, and make sure Ryanair is held accountable for crimes of Discrimination".

Her wish was granted, it got shared and was in the papers/on the radio and all over facebook for everyone to see.
    It has since come out that there is no "Discrimination" at play here by Ryanair and it was her own self that caused this mess. Is she going to remove the slanderous comments she made about Ryanair and apologise to them for her overlooking the details of her own flight, I dont think so!!!

I actually don't think discussion or rebuttal on ger fb page is wrong but once the screen captures start floating around and when people start flock to the website just to gawk and poke it's clear she became a circus. And she will be probably ok, but if there is someone vulnerable then it can become a lot more serious.

Well if she is vulnerable then she shouldnt be given access to FB/Twitter etc to lie about companies just to suit herself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

And there are privacy settings on fb if she chooses to use them

Which is precisely why I said a while back that it was becoming a bit voyeuistic, and someone should maybe take her aside and call a halt.

Which I suspect someone has done, as it all seems to have gone fairly quiet on both FB pages.

I think you'll find that she was the one flinging most mud in those exchanges - including saying that she had screenshots and wouldn't hesitate to use them against the poster.

Now two wrongs don't make a right, and she sounded a bit hysterical in later exchanges - so I hope that she IS ok - but really I don't think those posing questions were the ones in the wrong on this occasion!

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Well if she is vulnerable then she shouldnt be given access to FB/Twitter etc to lie about companies just to suit herself!

I was going to reply but I think I am just going to bow out of discussion. Not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

She posted the rant on her own personal FB page and asked her friends to share, if you ask somebody to share stuff on FB it gets around very quickly. At the time she was in charge of the Ireland Twitter account and tweeted all about what was happening and then she went to the media about it.

As a result Ryanair were getting a lot of bad press about this so they released a statement which completely discredited her story. People weren't saying nasty things to her they were asking for the facts and she lost the plot. Alot of the posters who commented defended Ryanair based on their experience and she couldn't handle that and told them to get off her page.
    You reap what you sow comes to mind here, she has nobody to blame but herself.

I was going to reply but I think I am just going to bow out of discussion. Not worth it.

Well you just did reply :rolleyes:

And by access to them I meant like when she had access to the @ireland twitter handle etc and her disability page (Which she has now made a mockery of)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

jonnycivic wrote: »
    She originally booked a flight with the wheelchair checkin option, some time later she decided she wanted to fly a day later so changed the flight but this time didnt ensure that the assistance option was included. Then she turned up for flight but only 13 minutes before take off did she go to the desk to board.

The cynic in me would think the whole thing was orchestrated by her from start to finish.

Their fault for not keeping up with the details?! This just gets better and better! So now the system has to be able to detect if any cancelled bookings come under new bookings that have had the name changed. Lol!
    Once you cancel your booking everything is cancelled and you have to start from scratch. Is this her first time flying?!

Their fault for not keeping up with the details?! This just gets better and better! So now the system has to be able to detect if any cancelled bookings come under new bookings that have had the name changed. Lol!
    Once you cancel your booking everything is cancelled and you have to start from scratch. Is this her first time flying?!

Well looking at her FB page she was in amsterdam as recent as August and a few other european places last year so not her first time flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Interesting post directed at Niamh from another wheelchair user who regularly flys through Dublin, with and without Ryanair.

http://insearchofmexican.com/wheelchair-travel/flying-ryanair-wheelchair/

Especially this bit:Whenever I’m asked if Ryanair is a good airline to fly on my answer is yes, so long as you follow the rules. Even though this entire incident doesn’t actually have anything to do with the airline my answer is still the same. I have never had an issue with Ryanair because I understand the rules and I follow them. I make sure that I have done everything I need to do to make sure my needs are taken care of and that I obey all of Ryanair’s rules. I have never had an issue at the airport because I understand and follow the rules to make sure all of my needs are taken care of.

I will continue to fly Ryanair and fly out of Dublin. This woman’s story should be a cautionary tale to all who fly, able-bodied and disabled. Follow the rules, do your research, and plan ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

yeah that new information definitely makes it her fault. Originally i thought she had changed the date of her original ticket. In which case i would expect the assistance required info to follow with it. But if she just cancelled her own ticket and changed the name on somebody elses ticket then she is totally in the wrong on this.

If assistance was of such huge importance to me (and as a wheelchair user it definitely would be), I wouldn't be making any assumptions about this!

I'd be double- and triple-checking everything was still as it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,823 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    If assistance was of such huge importance to me (and as a wheelchair user it definitely would be), I wouldn't be making any assumptions about this!

I'd be double- and triple-checking everything was still as it should be.

You make an excellent point. But i am a software developer so i was looking at it from that point of view. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

doesnt matter if person is well or disabled its natural to check all details are correct prior,ryanair has a lot of stuff when booking that needs looked up and ticked off,and done prior to flight,any thinking person would check and as other user posted double check on details,but in this case none was done,doubt ryanair will have to bother about proving anything,since t&c were breached by passenger and all they did was gave free flight which was quite a good will gesture.

You make an excellent point. But i am a software developer so i was looking at it from that point of view. :)
    Well yes, you'd hope that it would carry over.

But as a (luddite) punter, I wouldn't be taking it for granted!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,094 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ah jaysis, lads seriously?
    She was upset!
    Put yourselves in a wheelchair for god's sake.

I have traveled with Ryanair & used the special needs assistance in the airport, it was brilliant. No complaints whatsoever. Not for me, someone travelling with me.
    But this girl was just upset, give her a break!!

And what about the people who were just doing their jobs trying to help her and all they got was someone acting like the whole place should stop to suit her timeline.

Being in a chair is no excuse for rudeness, and anyway she got going on the next flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

and that's the main problem with a lot of the younger generation, being told they're the best, nothing is ever their fault, everybody gets a medal - god I sound old and im not even 30 yet....

My wife is a teacher and this is the previous curriculum that gives everyone a medal for participation. This entitlement appears to sadly be the result.

Thankfully this has been/is being changed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Im killed laughing at this especially the comment "I did work experience on a dairy farm if you need anymore help milking this?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

I just read through the post on fb because I couldn't believe the behaviour was real. My God, that Niamh girl and her friends are vicious! Not helping the case at all and still haven't provided proof of their side, also, when did 'ableist' become a word??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Jayop wrote: »
    I'd have sympathy for her reading those posts. She's clearly unhinged and not dealing with things in life well. This could be something she looks back on and regrets.

Sympathy? Pah. The point of this thread is to pour all your scorn and vitriol on the 'uppity snowflake of the day'.

Who does she think she is anyway?

She's 19, has a progressively degenerative condition which has her in a wheelchair, slamming home the fact that her life is getting much more difficult as time rolls on, her choices and expectations severely limited, while she sees her peers start into their young adulthood, off exploring the world and tralala.

Meanwhile my uncle's friend's nan's cousin flew with Ryanair and she needs help and she said it was great so fcuk this wan and her really quite understandable anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Sympathy? Pah. The point of this thread is to pour all your scorn and vitriol on the 'uppity snowflake of the day'.

Meanwhile my uncle's friend's nan's cousin flew with Ryanair and she needs help and she said it was great so fcuk this wan and her really quite understandable anger.

Call me a liar....but.... I think there's a hint of sarcasm in this post

Who does she think she is anyway?

She's 19, has a progressively degenerative condition which has her in a wheelchair, slamming home the fact that her life is getting much more difficult as time rolls on, her choices and expectations severely limited, while she sees her peers start into their young adulthood, off exploring the world and tralala.

What has she to be angry about here? RA did their best for her given the circumstances and the time. She wants to be treated equally but complains when the plane "pulls off without her". You were treated equally love, they wouldn't wait for an able bodied person either. Actually she was given a lot of privilege since it was HER fault, she was put on the next flight free of charge, whereas a lot of others would be made pay. She is taking no responsibility whatsoever for anything, and instead is pointing the finger and blaming anyone she can.

She's certainly doing neither herself nor other disabled people any favours going off on one like she did.

I sympathise with the situation she finds herself in, I really do - but you can't go around making wild accusations and abusing people like that even IF she was in the right, which she clearly wasn't!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

If she just put her hand up and said "OK, I did f**k up, I should have checked, but I am upset about this, etc." she would see a lot more sympathy. It's her subsequent vicious reaction to anyone who has dared question her that has really gotten people's backs up. It's clearly a defence mechanism after things didn't go as planned.

I do feel a little sorry for her because we've all had that moment where we didn't do what we we should have and suffered the consequences. But her reaction has been disgraceful. Accusingly people of "ableism" and reporting anyone who doesn't pour sympathy upon her is just childish.

I'd be surprised if she actually follows through with the case in the end. Ryanair clearly won't give in and I'd imagine that a legal team and those around her might be able to convince her that it won't go the way she wants. She can't scream and report people in a Courtroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Her parents are looking for attorneys to take it on. That reads to me they're having difficulty finding anyone to touch it

Ah. The parents encouraging her. That explains her over inflated sense of entitlement.