Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford FC Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Shout out to all traveling to wexford tonight, fair play, hope ye in good voice, ...Mon blues
    Fingers crossed for good performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,271 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Come on lads This is the chance to do it

Hope Cabinteely can take something off Cobh 2morrow night also. If so a win for us will secure the title

We have a bitch of a game vs Longford next weekend which won't be easy esp if were still waiting to win the title. Cobh travel to UCD next weekend

Final game on the 7th Oct is you guessed it Cobh vs Waterford ðŸ˜

anyone doing any live streams of tonights match on facebook or anything ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

PTH2009 wrote: »
    anyone doing any live streams of tonights match on facebook or anything ???

https://www.facebook.com/Fillthersc/

Cheers

Going well atm 1-0 up

2-0 up now
    ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

Is there a premier/first division play-off dis year ???

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Is there a premier/first division play-off dis year ???

No. One team promoted from first division, 3 relegated from premier division. Need to do it this year, going well 2 up at wexford now. Hopefully win the league at home to Longford next Friday in front of big home crowd

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    No. One team promoted from first division, 3 relegated from premier division. Need to do it this year, going well 2 up at wexford now. Hopefully win the league at home to Longford next Friday in front of big home crowd

Jesus it's really do or die (investment wise). The guy who bought the club could pull out if we don't make it this year but in fairness it would an all mighty **** up to lose the title. Another year in the first divsion would be disastrous

Yeah need to get up this year, no doubt about that. With fewer teams in Premier next year it will be hard to stay up for the promoted team, but it will be so much harder in the first division with 3 teams being relegated. We need promotion this year after the investment, 3-0 up now in Wexford so its looking good

Finished 3-0 to us very good result. Longford next week will tough game but a draw will do us. Hopefully a big home support next weekend

Yeah it would be great to win the league in front of a big home crowd next friday night. Cobh away in last game so finish it off next Friday against Longford, assuming Cobh beat Cabinteely tomorrow of course

Great result...draw enough next week isn't it?
    I'll be there....

Max Powers wrote: »
    Great result...draw enough next week isn't it?
    I'll be there....

Blues are 8 points clear now, but Cobh play Cabinteely tomorrow evening and would be expected to win, if so then we will be 5 points up going into Friday's game v Longford. Will probably need to win to guarantee promotion and not be bothered by how Cobh are getting on away to UCD. Looking forward to the RSC next week

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

A point will be enough, Cobh are 18 goals off us

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭madfcuker

Cabinteely have done it. We are champions and going up. Hon the blues.

So we're officially champions and going back up to the premier divsion after Cabinteely beat Cobh 3-0 tonight

Congrats to all involved

I have went down to some blues games this year (very seldom) but I am looking forward to next season when there will be a lot more interest in the games with bigger teams coming down to play in the RSC

Only checked aertel this morning,Bit of a surprise cabinteely winning, Friday will be be a celebration.

Champions! Well done to the Blues. 10 years in the first division, we are finally going up. Its going to be a big party at the RSC next Friday night, cant wait for it. And really looking forward already to Premier division football next season

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

The party started in Wexford the other night. It was rocking from start to finish. Next Friday and the trip to Cobh are going to be special. Ten years of waiting are over. Back where we belong.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭iseegirls

Max Powers wrote: »
    Only checked aertel this morning,Bit of a surprise cabinteely winning, Friday will be be a celebration.

One second - Aertel?!? Is that still going? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I have never been to a Waterford game but none the less glad to see them back up - someone took a chance and for once it's paid off!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

Congratulations Blues! Well deserved and kept focused all the while Cobh were trying to chase us down. Cant wait for Premier football in the RSC.
    Just a small gripe; why do the Block E boys need to chant "Fcuk you Wexford' in Ferrycarraig? It's great to have the atmosphere created by the constant singing and chanting - must be worth a point per match. But you don't have to slag the opposition like that to support your team, do you? What have Wexford done to Waterford??? It's hardly Liverpool v Man. U.
    Show a bit of class lads.

Congratulations Blues! Well deserved and kept focused all the while Cobh were trying to chase us down. Cant wait for Premier football in the RSC.
    Just a small gripe; why do the Block E boys need to chant "Fcuk you Wexford' in Ferrycarraig? It's great to have the atmosphere created by the constant singing and chanting - must be worth a point per match. But you don't have to slag the opposition like that to support your team, do you? What have Wexford done to Waterford??? It's hardly Liverpool v Man. U.
    Show a bit of class lads.

Its football banter :D Relax :p

yeah only a bit of banter, its playschool stuff compared to some rivilaries (celtic vs Rangers, Man U vs Man City/Liverpool, Barcelona vs Real Madrid etc)

It's embarrassing is what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It indicates a serious lack of imagination.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

It indicates a serious lack of imagination.

They sang it once on Friday night for about 20 seconds, hardly a hanging offence, lighten up, and like you said you'd never been to a Waterford match. Those lads have lifted the team through thick and thin all season and deserve credit for that. Chants are part and parcel of the game and for the most part are clean and good humoured.

You should have heard some of the abuse thrown at Waterford fans by other teams fans during the season.

Bottom line is if they offend you don't go

jimbojazz wrote: »
    They sang it once on Friday night for about 20 seconds, hardly a hanging offence, lighten up, and like you said you'd never been to a Waterford match. Those lads have lifted the team through thick and thin all season and deserve credit for that. Chants are part and parcel of the game and for the most part are clean and good humoured.

You should have heard some of the abuse thrown at Waterford fans by other teams fans during the season.

Bottom line is if they offend you don't go

They sang that more than once and for more than 20 seconds; I'm sure there's recordings of the match that will back me up.
    But you are right that they have been loyal and uplifting for the team and most of the chanting is fantastic; when I hear One Step Beyond I laugh and think it will be great to hear these lads in Tallaght and Cork etc next year...and then they go and sour it all by singing "Fcuk you Wexford".
    The abuse thrown by opposing fans is predictable, childish, brainless and a sign of jealousy; our fans don't have to be the same.
    Rise above it, show that we're better than that, show a little class.
    Bottom line is I'm as entitled to follow the Blues as the next man/woman/child but "Fcuk you Wexford" in Ferrycarraig or Fcuk you Cobh" on Facebook doesn't represent me.
    I'm sure the club want more returning fans even if you don't - listening to that sh1t doesn't help.