Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭RainMakerToo

5starpool wrote: »
    Harry Kewell has been named Crawley Town manager.

The Sturridge of his time! ..at Liverpool anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

shamrock55 wrote: »
    What a wkend,what a result,friends made,songs sung and voices lost,couldnt ask for much more,lets bring in some serious signings over the summer and have a big go nxt year

Good to see you enjoyed it man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

redzerdrog wrote: »
    34 year old jermain defoe was certainly not the answer, if he was then we are asking the wrong question!

I agree with you.

To play devils advocate though, i'd prefer a 36 year old Defoe to a 'best we could get' Balotelli.

Remains to be seen whether these people in charge of deals for us can actually make a coup of any description. Ye know what i mean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sell Sell Sell

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2017/05/23/daniel-sturridge-doubtful-england-due-long-term-hip-problem/
    Daniel Sturridge, the Liverpool striker, is a doubt for England’s World Cup qualifier with Scotland as he continues to struggle with a hip problem.

Sturridge played a key role for his club as they secured fourth spot at the end of the season, but his injury issues required careful management by Jurgen Klopp.

Despite his most recent appearances he is still struggling with a long-term problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Great few days, fat sam has retired or so it seems

I'd say he'll conveniently change his mind in a month or two and end up getting a hefty contract in the likes of China.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Seen a headline somewhere stating Liverpool war chest of £100m.

Not much in the greater scheme of things nowadays.

Who would everyone like to see us sign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I want United to win tomorrow, do it for the City.
    It would be epic games to play them over 2 legs in a quarter or semi anyway/ That is what football is about, epic showdowns.

Seen a headline somewhere stating Liverpool war chest of ?100m.

10 bench warmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

noodler wrote: »
    Bonkers comparison tbh.

Defoe has been getting double figures in the Premier league for well over a decade.

There is actual pedigree there.

Look, it was an option of the bench for no transfer fee and at a time when we are paying Lovren 100k so I must admit to being amazed at some of the reluctance.

I wouldn't be happy with another season of the performances Origi provided this season even if the goals per minutes status is decent, I don't feel he offers anything like what a player his size should in terms of link up or ball retention.

EDIT: I suppose some will continue with faux "omg you wanted an old Defoe for the Champions League and premier league challenge??!!" or the hopeful "he'll stunt Origi's growth".

I don't see Defoe offering those things either. And Origi is more like to get better at them, while Defoe is more likely to get worse.

Defoe at 130k a week makes him a 20m pound transfer in total, when I think we'd be bloody lucky to get one decent season out of him. And rather than him being an option on the bench, I see him as taking up a place on the bench that could have gone to a younger, faster player.

Even if you want to ignore my Lambert comparison (though to be honest I think it's a fair comparison of two aging strikers, with pretty much exactly the same scoring rate as each other in the 30+ period of their careers. It doesn't matter that in their prime Defoe was twice the player Lambert was, prime Defoe is not what we're dealing with), I think the rest of my points stand regardless.

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Lets leave Origi out of it for a sec. Surely Dofoe would be a better option than say Woodburn on the bench?

Anyway, it's a moot point as he's gone to Bournmouth for 130k(:eek:) a week

We definitely need to be strengthening - I would just rather the strengthening was stronger than Defoe. I want someone who could be pushing for the first team.

Seen a headline somewhere stating Liverpool war chest of ?100m.

Reckon 100m plus sales, so probably closer to 200m (if we get decent prices for Sturridge and Sakho that is)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It would be epic games to play them over 2 legs in a quarter or semi anyway/ That is what football is about, epic showdowns.

I want them to get hammered 5-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Could never want Utd to win no matter what the circumstances.

Don't think Man City fans would want them to win either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Off to see us play Sydney FC tonight. Surprisingly strong squad travelled. Even getting to see Gerrard, Carra, Agger and McManaman back playing with the first team!

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭john why

punk_one82 wrote: »
    Off to see us play Sydney FC tonight. Surprisingly strong squad travelled. Even getting to see Gerrard, Carra, Agger and McManaman back playing with the first team!

Is that on TV here?

I'd agree, after the atrocity it might bring a brief smile to grief stricken folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

murpho999 wrote: »

If Man United winning last game of season meant yous won the league you'd want them to win so don't be giving it that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

john why wrote: »
    Is that on TV here?

LFCTV exclusive apparently.

If Man United winning last game of season meant yous won the league you'd want them to win so don't be giving it that :pac:

That is different of course, but has never happened.

So I'm talking about in general.

Will definitely be shouting for Ajax tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Vicxas wrote: »
    LFCTV exclusive apparently.

Kick off at 10am

Im at home today so I will be watching it anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I d'ont see anything other than an Ajax win. Utd were lucky in the last 2 rounds and were crap in the league.

It's in the bag boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

punk_one82 wrote: »

Confirmed #LFC team v @SydneyFC:

Karius, Lovren, Carragher, Moreno, Alexander-Arnold, Lucas, Gerrard, Woodburn, Firmino, Sturridge, Wilson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

Karius, Lovren, Carragher, Moreno, Alexander-Arnold, Lucas, Gerrard, Woodburn, Firmino, Sturridge, Wilson

****, wrap sturridge up in cotton wool

Yet another final Liverpool game for Lucas.

Fieldog wrote: »
    Kick off at 10am

Im at home today so I will be watching it anyway...

I'll be watching hurling.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

I know it's a nothing match but bit bizarre we're bringing in Carra and Gerrard feels like they're being used to promote the game and sell tickets because we have no current players that can do that or the Fans relate to

I'll be watching hurling.

Not a real fan so.... :P

I think it's actually 11 it's kicking off...

My BST and GMT isn't the best tbf... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Don't think Man City fans would want them to win either.

According to some the whole footballing world wants Ajax to win Jose really has worked his magic on them, since the United team cost 14 times more than Ajax it really should be a cake walk for them

thought he a doubt over a hip thing for England?

This match will be a bit of craic I'd say, great to see Stevie start and Danny playing again at some point, Jurgen was laughing at the pitch, ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I know it's a nothing match but bit bizarre we're bringing in Carra and Gerrard feels like they're being used to promote the game and sell tickets because we have no current players that can do that or the Fans relate to

Meh, it's nothing but a spectacles and gives other players a break.

All for it.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Is it near sold out or not?

5starpool wrote: »
    Is it near sold out or not?

A few seats up the very top of the stadium but seems to be close enough

What a goal.
    That adds another 4 million to his price

1-0 pool, good goal and build up

What a goal.
    That adds another 4 million to his price

Nice goal alright, now take him off... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Nice goal by danny there,would be fantastic if we could sort out his injury problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Nice goal by danny there,would be fantastic if we could sort out his injury problems

I have a cunning plan...

ctr5.jpg?w=480&h=480&fit=clip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

From Melissa Reddy twitter :
    Wonderful footwork and finish from Daniel Sturridge after clever work from Ben Woodburn. :)

KEEP HIM
    Harry :P

Moreno, ha ha

Moreno doing his transfer fee a good boost too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

great little assist from Firmino

Moreno would be great in a 4-4-2 playing on left of midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Vicxas wrote: »
    Moreno doing his transfer fee a good boost too

Was thinking the same thing, maybe sold as a LM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

So I'm off today and at home and not watching the match am I a lesser fan for that?

No hurling to watch either.

Keep everyone don't sell anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Colemania

I know its only a post season friendly against Sydney FC but you can see why Klopp loves Woodburn. Great tracking back and defensive work, mainly when he has lost the ball himself though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

So I'm off today and at home and not watching the match am I a lesser fan for that?

No hurling to watch either.

Keep everyone don't sell anyone.

Check RTE Player for the Sunday Game?

Moreno would be great in a 4-4-2 playing on left of midfield.

I think left of Anfield would be better!

Quality stuff from Firmino

I think left of Anfield would be better!

Yea, it's what I mean. Lots of teams play a system that would suit him.