Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Criminal Record for... Finding 20 Quid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

it really was. the resources could be used on important things.

a waste of tax payers money and resources.

Like What? Cops are on the street anyway, and if not, a bit of a walk down to the shops would not do them the world of harm. Paper work takes 10 minutes. Court time takes 10 minutes - just one extra case for the judge to look at. What possible defence or evidence is required ?

By your reckoning we should ignore our laws

Considering the amount of money actually wasted, heaven forbid that we worry about €200 quid worth of cost for them to do their actual job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    3 months for €20... would love to see that article...

It was 4 months for €40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Finding 20 quid in the street and you keeping it means it's theft? Thats ridiculous.
    Morally...there has to be a reasonable chance the money will make its way back to its rightful owner. Not saying certain or probably, a chance even. If that reasonable chance isn't there its just that someone else is going to pocket the money anyway. Might as well be me.
    I wouldn't even think twice about it. Theft. lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Finding 20 quid in the street and you keeping it means it's theft? Thats ridiculous.
    Morally...there has to be a reasonable chance the money will make its way back to its rightful owner. Not saying certain or probably, a chance even. If that reasonable chance isn't there its just that someone else is going to pocket the money anyway. Might as well be me.
    I wouldn't even think twice about it. Theft. lol.

Again

It wasn't in the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Again

It wasn't in the street.

I didn't say it was. Others likened it to finding money in the street. I'm responding to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Yous are all being ridiculous over this 20 quid. The whole thing is stupid ....its 20 quid. And no, its not the same as a larger amount because its a small amount.

Theft? She found it. Yeah in a shop who cares, she didn't take it out the till. What a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Take the money to the enquiry desk or a staff member. Either leave the money with them or leave them your name and address.

You could also ask the people immediately around if they have dropped it, if there are any people immediately around.

This is so made up, you'd go to the nearest pub & spend it.

Lt Dan wrote: »
    2K is nothing! That is just lunch money for some :cool:

People going in and out of bookies might have had a good win. Perhaps some dodgy business provider that is not drug related only accept cash? Perhaps one is coming from the bank after taking the money out of their account? Wages? Redundancy ?

Anyway, well done, you are not going to hell. I hope the true owner got his or her money back - would be a horrible feeling to know that the envelope just slipped out of the pocket. Happened to me once with €500 in it, from my auld fella . Felt like a complete idiot to loosing it, it is what you would expect a child to do .Thankfully , someone decent had handed it and the staff were decent to tell me. (I wanted to throw a few quid for a few pints to the finder but did not know who it was so I offered it to the shop staff who refused it, not allowed apparently)

Nobody is, there is no such place.

I didn't say it was. Others likened it to finding money in the street. I'm responding to that.

On Sunday I found a fiver, I found 50€ last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Like What? Cops are on the street anyway, and if not, a bit of a walk down to the shops would not do them the world of harm. Paper work takes 10 minutes. Court time takes 10 minutes - just one extra case for the judge to look at. What possible defence or evidence is required ?

By your reckoning we should ignore our laws

Considering the amount of money actually wasted, heaven forbid that we worry about €200 quid worth of cost for them to do their actual job

Cops time, Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) (Opposite number to the DPP) reviewing the case. Defence engaged probably on legal aid, Case being listed taking half a day of scrum in the DC, although it would probably proceed at that point here IIRC. The guts of a couple of grand easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    3 months for €20... would love to see that article...

Here you go

I am sure when I read it is was E20 and 3 months.... Ah well; old age. Although my family remember at as E20 too

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-20-jailed-for-nasty-theft-of-40-from-elderly-nun-29343754.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The girl in the OP's post she should have told the police to go and fcuk themselves finders keepers and the same to the courts she was in.
    Yeah, that would certainly have meant that she didn't end up with a conditional discharge. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

And take her welfare claims off her.

Why do you assume that someone who picks up money off the ground is a welfare claimant? Are you figuring that she must have been desperate/short of cash? In which case, interesting that you want to put her into poverty for it. But then, it's also interesting that your view is apparently "She is a criminal. Nice people don't commit crimes. Nice people don't have misfortune or need help from social services. Therefore, criminal = welfare claimant."

As dodgy logic goes, it's well up there.

WellThen? wrote: »
    Yous are all being ridiculous over this 20 quid. The whole thing is stupid ....its 20 quid. And no, its not the same as a larger amount because its a small amount.

Theft? She found it. Yeah in a shop who cares, she didn't take it out the till. What a waste of time.

Nah, yous are being stupid, yo.

The law is clear. It is irrelevant how much it is. If you take something from someone or find something that clearly is not yours, AND you make no effort to relocate the true owner or it was simply impossible to do so, then that is theft, you are a scumbag (not you personally) and you will go to hell (not you personally)

As for your observation of her behaviour in the shop - face palm :rolleyes: I hope you were trolling , yo

Cops time, Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) (Opposite number to the DPP) reviewing the case. Defence engaged probably on legal aid, Case being listed taking half a day of scrum in the DC, although it would probably proceed at that point here IIRC. The guts of a couple of grand easily.

What legal aid. ? Most of these culprits, in these cases, will go into court and represent themselves unless they have a history of crime and they are at risk of jail time or it happened while on bail - either way, legal representation by legal aid (as in the case involving yer waun) should not be considered a waste of resources

What defence? CCTV camera will be clear and if not, the garda testimony and the person who saw and found them making off with the money will be clear.

Even if they do get a lawyer via legal aid (if granted) the precis of evidence will probably be strong enough that his / her only option is to plead guilty. Even with submissions about her good behaviour etc that will take no more than 7 minutes in the court

You moaning about the costs of actually enforcing the law . Your argument is utter tosh when you consider the amount of actual resources that are wasting on nothing projects and on salaries and expenses of a small group of people

"Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) (Opposite number to the DPP) reviewing the case."

Ha ha. About 2 hours, max required!

Half a day? What? Get over it ,,yo. The article actually said she pleaded guilty. More than likely on the first opportunity

Instead of dreaming up notions , read the article
    http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/woman-23-ends-up-in-court-after-pocketing-20-note-she-found-in-blurton-shop/story-30165921-detail/story.html#qUixzhi2qiEGKJgp.99

"Magistrates handed Bailey a six-month conditional discharge, meaning she will face no punishment if she remains out of trouble for the next six months. She must also pay a total of £175 in court costs and charges."

It cost the court no more than £175 (possibly a little more, really, Judge's dinner is about €55 alone) She paid for that.

Pity you are so concerned with such waste of costs. We have seen on this thread the level of ignorance as to what is theft and what is not. At least people can be all the more clearer of the law now.

Hip hip, Hooray

Nobody is, there is no such place.

The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist. :D

Samaris wrote: »
    Why do you assume that someone who picks up money off the ground is a welfare claimant? Are you figuring that she must have been desperate/short of cash? In which case, interesting that you want to put her into poverty for it. But then, it's also interesting that your view is apparently "She is a criminal. Nice people don't commit crimes. Nice people don't have misfortune or need help from social services. Therefore, criminal = welfare claimant."

What mealy mouthed drivel

You steal, you are a criminal

Not every person who is in alleged poverty commits crimes!

In this day and age, a lot of the lifetime social welfare claimants , with the exception of the disabled, are / were lazy and failed to take the advantageous that were open to everyone in 1990-2007. It is pure bs to suggest that they were left behind. They just stayed there.

As dodgy logic goes, it's well up there.
    Matches the class of person who would do such a thing!

In the article, the criminal is from Blurton

This is what Blurton looks like https://www.google.ie/search?q=Blurton&espv=2&biw=1600&bih=794&site=webhp&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj37_T-w7fSAhVjBsAKHV8aC3EQ_AUIBygC

2009 Description of the place http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/newsnight/8319515.stm
    "Now, if you live in Blurton, there is a good chance you will be unemployed. The most recent government statistics show almost half of the people who live here are out of work, almost a third are registered sick or disabled."

In short, the place is a kip and a heaven for scum, unemployment , depression http://www.ilivehere.co.uk/statistics-blurton-city-of-stoke-on-trent-4213.html

What legal aid. ? Most of these culprits, in these cases, will go into court and represent themselves unless they have a history of crime and they are at risk of jail time or it happened while on bail - either way, legal representation by legal aid (as in the case involving yer waun) should not be considered a waste of resources

This is from your exhaustive research into the Irish District Court and English Magistrates Court?
    What defence? CCTV camera will be clear and if not, the garda testimony and the person who saw and found them making off with the money will be clear.

Even if they do get a lawyer via legal aid (if granted) the precis of evidence will probably be strong enough that his / her only option is to plead guilty. Even with submissions about her good behaviour etc that will take no more than 7 minutes in the court

A guilty plea with the relevant pleas of mitigation will take a number of hours to produce although will take very little time to actually plead.
    You moaning about the costs of actually enforcing the law . Your argument is utter tosh when you consider the amount of actual resources that are wasting on nothing projects and on salaries and expenses of a small group of people

I've not moaned at all. I'm bemoaning the fact your post is utter tosh.
    "Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) (Opposite number to the DPP) reviewing the case."

Ha ha. About 2 hours, max required!

Ha. Ha. Do you know what a lawyer working for the CPS is paid, do you realise this would most likely go to a panel to decide if it was doing to be prosecuted. Again not taking a huge amount of time but it's all adding up.
    Half a day? What? Get over it ,,yo. The article actually said she pleaded guilty. More than likely on the first opportunity

:rolleyes: So you've never actually been involved in a minor criminal case then. You can easily be there all day waiting for your case to be called, your barrister will remain present.

Instead of dreaming up notions , read the article
    http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/woman-23-ends-up-in-court-after-pocketing-20-note-she-found-in-blurton-shop/story-30165921-detail/story.html#qUixzhi2qiEGKJgp.99

"Magistrates handed Bailey a six-month conditional discharge, meaning she will face no punishment if she remains out of trouble for the next six months. She must also pay a total of £175 in court costs and charges."

It cost the court no more than £175 (possibly a little more, really, Judge's dinner is about €55 alone) She paid for that.

They don't pass on full costs to defendants. I would have thought that was obvious when some scum bag is done for assaulting a granny and charged £55 costs.
    Pity you are so concerned with such waste of costs. We have seen on this thread the level of ignorance as to what is theft and what is not. At least people can be all the more clearer of the law now.

Hip hip, Hooray

Clearer on the law in England perhaps.

See the problem with directing people to read the article is that they tend to see things you've over looked Dan.
    Simon Dykes, mitigating, said the matter ought to have been dealt with by a police caution.

So it seems the person was represented - from what I can gather by a solicitor - who actually seems to be the only one with his head screwed on. A caution would have been completely appropriate and not wasted anywhere near as much money and time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Top comments from that aritice (imo)
    next time I find a penny in the street I will take it to my local police station
    just off to the police station, found 1p in the street. this story and the outcome is ott the sums and the sentance is stupid. Caution would have been far better and cheaper

€55 for the judges dinner? I don't see how the judges personal expenses could be included in general court costs. But if it is you could can see why such trivial cases would be taken to court when it appears the judge is profiting off the the proceeds.

This is from your exhaustive research into the Irish District Court and English Magistrates Court?

Yes, the former.

A guilty plea with the relevant pleas of mitigation will take a number of hours to produce although will take very little time to actually plead.

You joking? I do not know who to feel sorry for, you or the person who liked your comment. That is not the case in THIS CASE. It has been claimed that THIS CASE was a waste of resources! You talking GENERALLY, which, I am not arguing against!

This is the District Court we are talking about, or the British equivalent. Hours to produce? You serious? She admitted to the police her wrong doing! Now one checks for whether proper procedures were complied with by the police.

The subject case involved the woman admitting to the police that she was guilty at the police station! That interview transcript and video of same would not take 30 minutes to look over. The police station log book would take 5 minutes.

Talking to person about why they did it, their background, their work /education history, medical history and request for documents to support that 25 minutes in her case.

Chat to copper / prosecuting solicitor about previous criminal convictions if any - depends on whether there is any in this case.

I've not moaned at all. I'm bemoaning the fact your post is utter tosh.

If you had the remotest of ideas as to what was said and the context. But, you don't. :rolleyes: Back in your box!

Ha. Ha. Do you know what a lawyer working for the CPS is paid, do you realise this would most likely go to a panel to decide if it was doing to be prosecuted. Again not taking a huge amount of time but it's all adding up.

Mother of god!

The CPS would be in court presenting 20-30 cases in a sitting. The will be paid a flat fee for each case as oppose to time, or they are on a salary.

The quote that you used by me said nothing about his wage. He is already in the court presenting other cases. This case, involving the girl (and that is the only case that I am talking about) would take no more than 5 minutes to present to the judge because....................she already admitted in the police station that she committed the crime. So long as the cops did everything correctly during arrest and detention, it is plain sailing. His job is done.

:rolleyes: So you've never actually been involved in a minor criminal case then. You can easily be there all day waiting for your case to be called, your barrister will remain present.

You are some ticket!

You never actually read what was said or understood that the comments are directly about THIS case and not the generality ;)

Yes, you are waiting for hours, sometimes you are not.

But Legal aid IS most certainly NOT going to pay you for waiting for hours. You are paid for doing the case , a flat fee, with additional for each time there is an arrangement etc. It matters not one jot whether you waiting for 5 minutes or 2 hours just to tell the court that the matter has to be put to another date for whatever reason. You are going to get the same fee

The quote that you highlighted referred to the PRESENTATION of the case!!!!!!!! Again, THIS case involved a person who went into court with the sole purpose of admitting guilt. 2 minutes. Mitigation would not be long either as it was a minor offence , what 10-20 minutes?

They don't pass on full costs to defendants. I would have thought that was obvious when some scum bag is done for assaulting a granny and charged £55 costs.

Judge's dinner was sarcasm.

You also ignored this

"It cost the court no more than £175 (possibly a little more, really,"

Bar the sarcastic comment about the judge, I clearly acknowledged that it costed more than £175 ;)
    Clearer on the law in England perhaps.

Why? No need. Most people, bar some here, know that what THIS person did was theft .

Anyway, the English definition of Theft is similar. ‘A person is guilty of theft if he dishonestly appropriates property belonging to another with intention to permanently deprive the other of it’

Section 4 of Thefts and Frauds Offences

a person is guilty of theft if he or she dishonestly appropriates property without the consent of its owner and with the intention of depriving its owner of it.

(2) For the purposes of this section a person does not appropriate property without the consent of its owner if—

(a) the person believes that he or she has the owner's consent, or would have the owner's consent if the owner knew of the appropriation of the property and the circumstances in which it was appropriated, or

(b) (except where the property came to the person as trustee or personal representative) he or she appropriates the property in the belief that the owner cannot be discovered by taking reasonable steps,

but consent obtained by deception or intimidation is not consent for those purposes.

(3) (a) This subsection applies to a person who in the course of business holds property in trust for, or on behalf of, more than one owner.

(b) Where a person to whom this subsection applies appropriates some of the property so held to his or her own use or benefit, the person shall, for the purposes of subsection (1) but subject to subsection (2), be deemed to have appropriated the property or, as the case may be, a sum representing it without the consent of its owner or owners.

(c) If in any proceedings against a person to whom this subsection applies for theft of some or all of the property so held by him or her it is proved that—

(i) there is a deficiency in the property or a sum representing it, and

(ii) the person has failed to provide a satisfactory explanation for the whole or any part of the deficiency,

it shall be presumed, until the contrary is proved, for the purposes of subsection (1) but subject to subsection (2), that the person appropriated, without the consent of its owner or owners, the whole or that part of the deficiency.

(4) If at the trial of a person for theft the court or jury, as the case may be has to consider whether the person believed—

(a) that he or she had not acted dishonestly, or

(b) that the owner of the property concerned had consented or would have consented to its appropriation, or

(c) that the owner could not be discovered by taking reasonable steps,

the presence or absence of reasonable grounds for such a belief is a matter to which the court or jury shall have regard, in conjunction with any other relevant matters, in considering whether the person so believed.

(5) In this section—

“appropriates”, in relation to property, means usurps or adversely interferes with the proprietary rights of the owner of the property;

“depriving” means temporarily or permanently depriving.

(6) A person guilty of theft is liable on conviction on indictment to a fine or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 10 years or both.

learn_more wrote: »
    Top comments from that aritice (imo)

No different to here. Does not mean either of ye are right.

learn_more wrote: »
    €55 for the judges dinner? I don't see how the judges personal expenses could be included in general court costs. But if it is you could can see why such trivial cases would be taken to court when it appears the judge is profiting off the the proceeds.

No, I was being sarcastic

See the problem with directing people to read the article is that they tend to see things you've over looked Dan.

So it seems the person was represented - from what I can gather by a solicitor - who actually seems to be the only one with his head screwed on. A caution would have been completely appropriate and not wasted anywhere near as much money and time.

Nothing was overlooked Sam!

Of course he would say that, that was his job! Try and get the most fair and proportionate "punishment" for his client. The judge might have different attitude though. Bet it only took two minutes to say it as well! He will still be paid the same rate of legal aid, whether he took 1 hour to present the case or 20 minutes. The time waiting around the court is not relevant.

You over look the fact that I said that this
    "What legal aid. ? Most of these culprits, in these cases, will go into court and represent themselves unless they have a history of crime and they are at risk of jail time or it happened while on bail - either way, legal representation by legal aid (as in the case involving yer waun) should not be considered a waste of resources"

See that word "either way, legal representation...."

That, Sammy boy, deals with the eventuality that someone IS being legally presented. Over looked nothing!

One thing, is hopefully for certain, she won't do something as heinous as this again. Hopefully, with the court and the media publicity, she will have atoned and learned her lesson. If that is the case, then, "waste" well spent.

Hip hip hooray

Yes, the former.

It doesn't seemed to have been all that effective. I suggest doing and sitting in the DC for a couple of days and seeing how many people would be present. Each being paid for their client.
    You joking? I do not know who to feel sorry for, you or the person who liked your comment. That is not the case in THIS CASE. It has been claimed that THIS CASE was a waste of resources! You talking GENERALLY, which, I am not arguing against!

Eh?

This is the District Court we are talking about, or the British equivalent. Hours to produce? You serious? She admitted to the police her wrong doing! Now one checks for whether proper procedures were complied with by the police.

English court... Britain has different legal systems. But you want to limit this to the DC as that's the one we're both familiar with that's fine.

Then you'll be well ware of roughly what percentage of people plead guilty and that happens next... Hint it rhymes with See bin litigation.
    The subject case involved the woman admitting to the police that she was guilty at the police station! That interview transcript and video of same would not take 30 minutes to look over. The police station log book would take 5 minutes.

Talking to person about why they did it, their background, their work /education history, medical history and request for documents to support that 25 minutes in her case.

Chat to copper / prosecuting solicitor about previous criminal convictions if any - depends on whether there is any in this case.

An underestimate and one from only one side but as you point out it's generally a fixed fee here which again won't be anywhere near the figures you've pulled out of - well...
    If you had the remotest of ideas as to what was said and the context. But, you don't. :rolleyes: Back in your box!

..your box perhaps.
    Mother of god!

Let's leave my mother out of it.

The CPS would be in court presenting 20-30 cases in a sitting. The will be paid a flat fee for each case as oppose to time, or they are on a salary.

Generally they're on salary they will have spent at least 2-3 hours reviewing the case and dealing with the back and forth. There's €100 or so including employers cost just on this side.

The quote that you used by me said nothing about his wage. He is already in the court presenting other cases. This case, involving the girl (and that is the only case that I am talking about) would take no more than 5 minutes to present to the judge because....................she already admitted in the police station that she committed the crime. So long as the cops did everything correctly during arrest and detention, it is plain sailing. His job is done.

As demonstrated several times, this is not how it works and keep insisting on what you've seen on the Bill makes it more painfully obvious that you're raving than your posting style.

You are some ticket!

You never actually read what was said or understood that the comments are directly about THIS case and not the generality ;)

Yes, you are waiting for hours, sometimes you are not.

No sometimes you're first, sometimes you're last. But if it's a fixed legal aid fee as you assert...

But Legal aid IS most certainly NOT going to pay you for waiting for hours. You are paid for doing the case , a flat fee, with additional for each time there is an arrangement etc. It matters not one jot whether you waiting for 5 minutes or 2 hours just to tell the court that the matter has to be put to another date for whatever reason. You are going to get the same fee

The quote that you highlighted referred to the PRESENTATION of the case!!!!!!!! Again, THIS case involved a person who went into court with the sole purpose of admitting guilt. 2 minutes. Mitigation would not be long either as it was a minor offence , what 10-20 minutes?

More ravings... Case prep is where the cost is coming in and has been explained to you more than once at this stage.
    Judge's dinner was sarcasm.

You also ignored this

Bar the sarcastic comment about the judge, I clearly acknowledged that it costed more than £175 ;)

Eh? That wasn't even in the article. The Article makes reference to the costs she's been asked to pay. That would be the court cost and possibly a contribution to the cost of the lawyers involved. It will be a fraction of what the actual case cost.

One thing, is hopefully for certain, she won't do something as heinous as this again. Hopefully, with the court and the media publicity, she will have atoned and learned her lesson. If that is the case, then, "waste" well spent.

Hip hip hooray

Hmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Take the money to the enquiry desk or a staff member. Either leave the money with them or leave them your name and address.

You could also ask the people immediately around if they have dropped it, if there are any people immediately around.

No way would anyone actually do this.

It doesn't seemed to have been all that effective. I suggest doing and sitting in the DC for a couple of days and seeing how many people would be present. Each being paid for their client.

For someone who has problems in reading - That sentence alone, you failed miserably , I had actually addressed the situation where legal representation was present and legal aid. FFS. I also addressed that in the last post! Nice try!

It is best that you do not comment.

I would also suggest that you read what is actually said, and not what you imagine to have been said. Also, stick with the topic of discussion. Not once did you deal with this case. You stuck with generalities. I have already stated that I do not disagree with you on the general matters that evolve in other cases.

All statements made by me refers solely to a case that involves a girl who admitted to theft, while in detention. (of course, admission of guilt can always change by the time she is in court)

"Ms Bailey had initially told police that she had not pocketed the money but later admitted it when shown the footage and pleaded guilty to theft." http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/woman-nicole-bailey-kept-20-note-one-stop-burton-stoke-on-trent-criminal-record-staff-poketed-a7603576.html

Reasonably open and shut case from the Prosecution Point of View, don't you think, once the checks and balances during arrest (if any) and interview in detention is done.

"Each being paid for their client"

Client does not personally pay a lot to their legal representatives if they are on legal aid - What €20-50 to legal aid office? . Legal Aid won't pay you any more for waiting around 2 hours to get to present the case to the judge than they would if the whole matter took 45 minutes

If they are being paid privately, and they are being charged unfairly, they should report that to the Law Society or Bar Council, damn all that would do.
    Eh?

The whole discussion here was whether a case like this was a general waste of resources, financially and labour.

My argument was/is
    (1) Considering the amount of waste that is rampant elsewhere is public life, this is hardly going to put things over the edge.

(2) Considering how quickly the matter would have been and likely was disposed of in court (as far as the judge is concerned), it was hardly worth moaning about. What is a couple of quid more? CPS will already be in court doing other cases, judge and clerk will already be in court doing other cases, cop might already be in court that day anyway and legal aid, if granted (we do not know from the articles whether there was legal aid - if not then the moaning about resources is irrelevant, Johnny Public won't worry)

(3) Enforcing the law and not allowing people to get away with crime should never be considered a waste of resources.

I then proceeded to suggest that IN THIS CASE , Prosecution and even the Defence would not have to have spent an awful lot of time looking over the interview transcripts, log books, videos, checking if police mucked up .. The Client admitted guilt, freely, in the Station.

Since we know that she has no previous convictions, it would not take 5 minutes to point that out in court. Telling the court of the girl's background would not take long either. You are going to struggle to talk for more than 10 minutes on why probation or cautions should be the ideal punishment.

So, in THIS case, what? 20 minutes on your feet? Cross examining the cop and making submissions to the judge?

In response, you completely ignored what was said and the issue. This case.

You waffled on about the general way district court cases go on for and how long they can take, including waiting around. I pointed out that the tax payer does not pay her solicitor any more in legal aid for waiting around for 2 hours before presenting the case than in comparison to what they would pay for waiting around for 30 minutes. All is correct, but nothing to do with what was said and the high probability of what goes on in a pretty straight forward case like this. - First time offence, client admits guilt, no wrong doing by police, evidence is clear, genuine remorse, maybe representation of the person's general good character, outline of background.........

English court... Britain has different legal systems. But you want to limit this to the DC as that's the one we're both familiar with that's fine."

Here is a mad idea, this is going to twist your melon (man). Let us stick with the facts of THIS case, shall we. Would save a lot of time, since, I never disagreed with you on the general situation

Let us recap shall we:

I have commented on this case and continue to comment on what happened in this case. This a case of the woman who took £20 from a shop floor that belonged to "by a wheelchair-bound customer" https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/2973157/woman-who-pocketed-20-she-found-on-the-floor-charged-with-theft/

You are referring what the general cases , where many circumstances arise. At no time have I disagreed with you on what you said about most cases (eg previous convictions, pleaing not guilty, questions over evidence, waiting for the cops to produce evidence etc) .

However, in this case, the woman was caught red handed, admitted guilt in the Station, has no previous convictions . The matter would not be before the judge for very long. If she is on legal aid, it is a flat fee , which in Ireland is what? €350-450? English legal aid would hardly be more? DPP are already there in court, what is 2 hours (preparation and court) extra. We do not even know if court granted legal aid to her, so if it is private, that is not for the public concern. Cop might be in court. Yes there is more expense but hardly going to break the bank, justice should be done! (rah rah rah)

The case went before North Staffordshire Justice Centre http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/woman-23-ends-up-in-court-after-pocketing-20-note-she-found-in-blurton-shop/story-30165921-detail/story.html

Part of the Magistrates Courts, is a lower tier court. It deals with Summary offences. There is no jury.

The District Criminal Court in Ireland also deal with summary offences, without a jury ............

So why on earth would I want to talk about the Circuit Court, or in England, the Crown Courts?

Why would I want to discuss cases other than those where one has been caught red handed, admission has already being offered in detention and shall be expressed in court (THIS CASE) vs cases where none of that has occurred (your point)?

Then you'll be well ware of roughly what percentage of people plead guilty and that happens next... Hint it rhymes with See bin litigation.

I have been discussing this case. She was caught red handed! She has admitted guilt.

Agree, not everyone is so forthcoming with the truth, even when evidence suggests otherwise.

Preparation for mitigation and presenting migration varies. Like this case, if you have a person who has not committed a crime before, works, it genuinely of good character, shows remorse, admits guilt ASAP, (you have obviously spoken with cop/solicitor for the other side in hope of seeing what their attitude was) and make proposal as to the appropriate punishment - in this girl's case , caution. you won't be that long on your feet with the judge.

Gets messy when the person in the dock is a scum bag.

An underestimate and one from only one side but as you point out it's generally a fixed fee here which again won't be anywhere near the figures you've pulled out of - well...

I pulled no financial figures out. Until now. District Court would be about €350-450 for legal aid for solicitor. I did not for one minute suggest that the £175 is the true cost of the case.

..your box perhaps.

Mother of god!

You have no business being in my box. :P:D. Perv:p

Generally they're on salary they will have spent at least 2-3 hours reviewing the case and dealing with the back and forth

No dispute about generally. However, I doubt they will be that bothered going over it 3-4 times in a case like this one. 1-2 would suffice.

As demonstrated several times, this is not how it works and keep insisting on what you've seen on the Bill makes it more painfully obvious that you're raving than your posting style.

Back to reading complications I see

You suggesting the the court was opened up especially for her case? Hardly? The room would have been packed with other people .

"keep insisting on what you've seen on the Bill " Eh, What on earth are you talking about? You are beyond help. If reading is not your strong point, find a better hobby

For a start, I am referring to the prosecution there. The cop will be also giving evidence. What mitigation would he be giving. He most certainly will be presenting more than 1 case on the day.

This is the lower courts. They are not there to waste time in a straight forward case. Stick to specifics

No sometimes you're first, sometimes you're last. But if it's a fixed legal aid fee as you assert...

No, sometimes you are 10th on the list of 45 . Sometimes you are second. Sometimes you are second last. :rolleyes:

More ravings... Case prep is where the cost is coming in and has been explained to you more than once at this stage.

Wow, actually, you were waffling on about time in court waiting for the case to be called. Memory loss now too?

FLAT FEE!!!! Rather irrelevant if you spent 2 days preparing or 15 hours, same fee in District Court.

Eh? That wasn't even in the article. The Article makes reference to the costs she's been asked to pay. That would be the court cost and possibly a contribution to the cost of the lawyers involved. It will be a fraction of what the actual case cost.

Which article? I posted 3 different articles covering the same story

You are commenting on my statement

"Judge's dinner was sarcasm.

You also ignored this

Bar the sarcastic comment about the judge, I clearly acknowledged that it costed more than £175 "

That statement was in response to yours

"Originally Posted by Samuel T. Cogley View Post

The whole comment was sarcasm

Hmm...

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/2973157/woman-who-pocketed-20-she-found-on-the-floor-charged-with-theft/

Heinous I tell thee. The poor victim was in a wheel chair. :eek:

Heinous I tell thee :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Matches the class of person who would do such a thing!

In the article, the criminal is from Blurton

This is what Blurton looks like https://www.google.ie/search?q=Blurton&espv=2&biw=1600&bih=794&site=webhp&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj37_T-w7fSAhVjBsAKHV8aC3EQ_AUIBygC

2009 Description of the place http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/newsnight/8319515.stm
    "Now, if you live in Blurton, there is a good chance you will be unemployed. The most recent government statistics show almost half of the people who live here are out of work, almost a third are registered sick or disabled."

In short, the place is a kip and a heaven for scum, unemployment , depression http://www.ilivehere.co.uk/statistics-blurton-city-of-stoke-on-trent-4213.html

I honestly have no idea why you quoted my post and added in a bunch of nonsense to it. I am pretty sure I was not having a row with myself in my comment and scrolling up a few posts confirms it, so I really don't know what you were trying to get at, but having a memory slightly longer than that of a stunned goldfish, I know very well I didn't write what you ascribed to me.

And..so? Yes, it's worse in some parts of the country than others. But the level of sheer hatred against anyone down on their luck that needs social support is a bit sickening. She stole, therefore she's a welfare claimant. This does not even logic, unless people who are earning are perfect people who never do anything wrong. Your comment was total sweeping rubbish based on nothing more than prejudice. Even if it turns out she IS on social welfare, your comment is still bigoted nonsense against people poorer than you.

I honestly have no idea why you quoted my post and added in a bunch of nonsense to it.

You don't ? Normally, mods should have the ability to ...you know...follow what was said, especially when you actually respond to another person's post

I made a comment about taking welfare off them. Was not intended to be taken seriously

Then, you got all pious and mealy mouthed (this is After Hours, after all , DMC type threads are rare in this area of the site) I simply responded , with the above statement that you quoted. Again, not really being serious. You get jumped up , the response was treated with the respect it deserved. ;)

This is what you said

"Why do you assume that someone who picks up money off the ground is a welfare claimant? Are you figuring that she must have been desperate/short of cash? In which case, interesting that you want to put her into poverty for it. But then, it's also interesting that your view is apparently "She is a criminal. Nice people don't commit crimes. Nice people don't have misfortune or need help from social services. Therefore, criminal = welfare claimant."

As dodgy logic goes, it's well up there."

And..so? Yes, it's worse in some parts of the country than others. But the level of sheer hatred against anyone down on their luck that needs social support is a bit sickening.

Save your class warrior - man of the people guff for politics section. This is After Hours. The comment was not intended to be taken seriously. You took the bait, sadly. The articles reporting this incident, of them attached by me, made it clear that the culprit was not a welfare claimant.

However, on a serious level,

"But the level of sheer hatred against anyone down on their luck that needs social support is a bit sickening":D Lol

Leave it out! Most people in Ireland who have been a lifetime on welfare, with the exception of people on disability, should get a kick in backside. There were plenty of jobs going before the crash and even during the crash, more than enough avenues to find new skills. Career mothers and the work shy junkies should not be offered sympathy .

This does not even logic, unless people who are earning are perfect people who never do anything wrong. Your comment was total sweeping rubbish based on nothing more than prejudice. Even if it turns out she IS on social welfare, your comment is still bigoted nonsense against people poorer than you.

Take your class warrior rubbish somewhere else! Social Welfare claimants are now a distinguishable class group are they? :D .Identity politics gone bonkers.