Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone know what the ethnic Traveller Status statement actually means?

Is it a good time to invest in a caravan and a hitch folks since id would be recognised as been part of an ethnic culture for some bizarre reason as opposed to simply being a person who chooses to live in a box with wheels ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Cant wait for traveller history month

"My uncle antnee bet your faader below in ennis"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Bambi wrote: »

Will it not be into the west on a loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Traveler history is there most bogus thing ever. It was never written down for obvious reasons so it just gets the word of mouth treatment. There are A LOT of travelers that think they were the indeginous population before all of us arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,454 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

JamboMac wrote: »
    Nope last week probably everyday of the week asked to cut the hedges and once twice in the same day, the second time just after my dad left in the jeep, I wonder why they would do that?

Have travellers actually bother trying to sociable with us country folk as they would call, we won't trust them because they want to keep their secrets and they won't trust us because we expect them to go to school and get a job.

no they don't trust you because of discrimination. it's none of your business whether they go to school or get a job, that's the business of the authorities and revenue who we elect on our behalf to monitor such activities in relation to the population.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Nope last week probably everyday of the week asked to cut the hedges and once twice in the same day, the second time just after my dad left in the jeep, I wonder why they would do that?

Have travellers actually bother trying to sociable with us country folk as they would call, we won't trust them because they want to keep their secrets and they won't trust us because we expect them to go to school and get a job.

From the low level intellegence conversations going on in this thread I wouldn't expect anybody in Ireland to get a job anymore if there all this thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Esel wrote: »
    There are actually sixteen in the above list. There are twenty now:

Thanks: arayess, BattleCorp, booterboy, Bscan86, Commotion Ocean, DanMurphy, DavidLyons_, doncarlos, Dr Turk Turkelton, Filmer Paradise, Gavinz, Icsics, Johnny Jukebox, lazybones32, Oblivoid, Parachutes, Richard Hillman, ronnie3585, Super_Sonic, Vowel Movement

Your high horse is getting bigger.

Bet you €1,000, you wouldn't let your kids walk into a halting site.

"Yeeeesss it started in Ballymahon when i bate you, and we met a year after and i bate ya agin"

no they don't trust you because of discrimination. it's none of your business whether they go to school or get a job, that's the business of the authorities and revenue who we elect on our behalf to monitor such activities in relation to the population.

Well in fact when they are dossing around with little education and no employment prospects it will be his business then because as a taxpayer his taxes will be funding this 'ethnic culture'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

What are the elderly people of rural Ireland, who are intimidated by this "special culture" going to think. Seeing Enda Kenny giving them more rights. than the people they are intimidating?

Surly this is the end for Enda.

What a cnut.

But is that not them discriminating/prejudging settled people, see it's well that back in the day they had useful functions to do things farmers and so on, times changed they didn't.

All children in this country must go to school/get an education, their are truancy laws no, as for a job, how do they support themselves?
    From the low level intellegence conversations going on in this thread I wouldn't expect anybody in Ireland to get a job anymore if there all this thick.

Sorry I couldn't write thesis on the plight of travellers maybe you can discuss the topic and not people in the thread, I'm not gonna resort to calling you names because your chip on your shoulder speaks for itself.

What are the elderly people of rural Ireland, who are intimidated by this "special culture" going to think. Seeing Enda Kenny giving them more rights. than the people they are intimidating?

What a cnut

A weak miserable bully. The sooner that hapless clown retires from politics the better. That said, FG are full of his sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

The amount of virtue signalling on Boards makes me sick. I bet all these people would cross the road if they even thought a traveller might be approaching them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

Slightly off topic but why do travellers receive so many dispensations in everyday life?

And don't say 'Pavee Point'. Honestly, what benefit do politicians stand to gain from pandering to these people who, regardless of how you feel about it, as a whole contribute little to the country? Is it extra votes? Fear of being called racist? Fear of getting a broken jaw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The big question is, how many of those TDs that voted Yes would totally lose their **** if little Donncha or Sorcha came home with Jimmy Connors Jr or his sister :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I'll have some of that action. Who holds the dosh?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Its the new thing these days don't upset anyone or say no for fear of being called racist or getting sued.

I can't get what this has to do with politics as they should be working on more important issues and getting a government that can actually run the country.

85% unemployment rate amongst the group.

There may well be nice people in the group but by god the ones I come across are far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,625 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

It's a bet. You can name the halting site (as long as it's within a 30 mile radius of where I currently reside).

Maybe we can get one of the original **** thankers who have 'ironically' thanked (i.e. stalked) my posts to hold the money? There will be no seconds, just you, me, the kids and the escrow agent. I'm here all through Lent.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

It's a bet. You can name the halting site (as long as it's within a 30 mile radius of where I currently reside).

Maybe we can get one of the original wthankers who have 'ironically' thanked (i.e. stalked) my posts to hold the money? There will be no seconds, just you, me, the kids and the escrow agent. I'm here all through Lent.

Jaysus don't let any of that lot hold your money, not to be trusted that lot....

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Just wondered if anyone had a great interraction with a Traveller calling to their house.

A traveller lady calls into the house next door to me. She's doing every Saturday for the 20 odd years I'm living here. My next door neighbour brings her in for a cup of tea and a chat or sometimes lunch. They even exchange Christmas gifts. This is a very positive thing for my neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Beard Boss

Before you just hated Knackers. Now you're a racist.

I dont agree with ethnic cleansing in any way shape or form but i simply dont agree with the patsying that is being done here. It is sickening. For a government to recognise what is essentially a tribe of vagabonds is simply beyond mental. At a time when we have a homelessness crisis, a housing crisis, and a hospital crisis...this is not a priority in the nations interest but a cheap PR stunt to impress more European suits who wouldnt live a mile from travellers.

Just the other day, the county council evicted them from a site a mere mile away from me and armed guards were there on duty. I would doubt armed guards would be there for any normal upstanding human beings. Culture my hole. About time these pr1cks in suits copped the fúck on and started to use some proper leverage in their positions instead of hammering down on decent hardworking people trying to get by. No more blind eyes, if you want special recognition for a few tokenised things like language and music etc then start behaving like a normal human being.

I say that and i do acknowledge that there is many many decent members of the travelling community that have done their best to integrate somewhat without forgetting where they came from. They have done alot for sport, music, arts and irish culture. My comments are not aimed at them but i would appeal to the powers that be to come to some form of resolution rather than this pathetic sh1te. I admire John Connors for all that he has achieved in acting and i acknowledge that as a child he did suffer some uncalled for prejudice but he needs to take his head out of the sand and see both sides of the argument. He said only a handful of families are engaged in bare knuckle boxing for example and yet he is there on youtube himself doing it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

Maybe we can get one of the original wthankers who have 'ironically' thanked (i.e. stalked) my posts to hold the money? There will be no seconds, just you, me, the kids and the escrow agent. I'm here all through Lent.

You'd actually send your kids to a halting site?

No sorry, you're not stupid, you just want to show how "tolerant" you are. I get ya.

b_mac2 wrote: »
    You'd actually send your kids to a halting site?

No sorry, you're not stupid, you just want to show how "tolerant" you are. I get ya.

Your assuming he's not a traveller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The big question for those who love Travellers is...

Do you live next to them right now?

OR, Would you live next to them and their caravans and all the rest of it?

I doubt you would like it, so you are trolls IMO if you say yes,

Would genuinely like an answer.

I lived around the corner from some Travellers for a few years. They were there before me, so I suppose you could say I chose to live next to them (and their caravans and all the rest of it). Never had any problems with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dinnybyrne

Esel wrote:
    Name and shame:

Esel wrote:
    Now down to fifteen! Who slyly unthanked?

Esel wrote:
    Thanked by sixteen users when I looked back.

Esel wrote:
    Thanks: arayess, booterboy, Bscan86, Commotion Ocean, DanMurphy, DavidLyons_, Dr Turk Turkelton, Filmer Paradise, Icsics, Johnny Jukebox, lazybones32, Oblivoid, Parachutes, Richard Hillman, ronnie3585, Super_Sonic

This is the muzzle that was mentioned earlier.
    Trying to shame people l
    for their opinions like this, classic pc brigade bullying. Disgusting.
    Im going to come straight out with it- i despise travellers and i have good reasons for it. So do you, we all do so stop pretending to hold the moral high ground, grow a pair of balls, and voice your opinions.

I dont agree with ethnic cleansing in any way shape or form but i simply dont agree with the patsying that is being done here. It is sickening. For a government to recognise what is essentially a tribe of vagabonds is simply beyond mental. At a time when we have a homelessness crisis, a housing crisis, and a hospital crisis...this is not a priority in the nations interest but a cheap PR stunt to impress more European suits who wouldnt live a mile from travellers.

Don't you get it though? Every post here is proving that they are an ethnic group. Every time a poster groups them together its proving it. The fact that there are stereo types even proves it. Now I've said before that you do not have to like them but there's no denying that they are an ethnic group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

But is that not them discriminating/prejudging settled people, see it's well that back in the day they had useful functions to do things farmers and so on, times changed they didn't.

All children in this country must go to school/get an education, their are truancy laws no, as for a job, how do they support themselves?

Sorry I couldn't write thesis on the plight of travellers maybe you can discuss the topic and not people in the thread, I'm not gonna resort to calling you names because your chip on your shoulder speaks for itself.

Yes, I do have a chip on my shoulder towards people who talk fictitiously out of their hole.

The amount of virtue signalling on Boards makes me sick. I bet all these people would cross the road if they even thought a traveller might be approaching them.

What's the opposite of 'virtue signalling'? There's a lot of that on Boards - for example, the 26 people who've thanked a post calling for ethnic cleansing.

What you really mean is: the fact that a relatively small number of people don't have the same opinions as you makes you sick.

Yes, I do have a chip on my shoulder towards people who talk out of their hole.

Must be really self abusive then.

What a cnut.

they aren't getting "more rights" then the people some travelers intimidate.
    The amount of virtue signalling

this is the latest buzz term now i see. when was it added to the special book?
    DredFX wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but why do travellers receive so many dispensations in everyday life?

And don't say 'Pavee Point'. Honestly, what benefit do politicians stand to gain from pandering to these people who, regardless of how you feel about it, as a whole contribute little to the country? Is it extra votes? Fear of being called racist? Fear of getting a broken jaw?

what dispensations do travelers receive? can you name them all?
    Its the new thing these days don't upset anyone or say no for fear of being called racist or getting sued.

where is this happening. i have been called racist myself, however as i know i'm not i have nothing to fear from it as there will be no proof that i am, because i'm not one.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

dinnybyrne wrote:
    This is the muzzle that was mentioned earlier. Trying to shame people l for their opinions like this, classic pc brigade bullying. Disgusting. Im going to come straight out with it- i despise travellers and i have good reasons for it. So do you, we all do so stop pretending to hold the moral high ground, grow a pair of balls, and voice your opinions.

Shaming people for thinking ethnic cleansing is the way forward is not quite the same as shaming people they hate travellers. One is just good old hatred and the other is murder. Please tell me you know the difference between hatred and murder??? :(

I admire John Connors for all that he has achieved in acting and i acknowledge that as a child he did suffer some uncalled for prejudice but he needs to take his head out of the sand and see both sides of the argument. He said only a handful of families are engaged in bare knuckle boxing for example and yet he is there on youtube himself doing it :rolleyes:

And that epitomises why I can't take the whole 'there are decent ones' fallback seriously whenever I hear it.

A similar story would be a few travellers that my sister knows. They're cousins of the Moate Joyces and, from my few encounters, decent fellas. Never been in trouble with the law, have taxable jobs, stuck around till the Junior Cert (baby steps, people). Mighty characters, and, as you'd suspect, they hate the generalisations they hear under muttered breaths whenever they head out in public.

But despite that they still associate themselves with the bad apples. Still drink with them, marry their daughters, attend family events, dress like them, watch their bareknuckle fights. I bring up their facebook profiles, scroll down a bit, and see Davey Joyce. Scroll a little more: Joe Joyce. Sound as they are, these men don't have the introspection needed to realise that hanging around these fellas and further compounding the stereotypes don't help their grievances at all.

It's up to the clean apples to distinguish themselves from the rotten, but as any glance at their social-media profiles will teach you, it'll be a long bloody road before people stop crossing the road the second they see a group of travellers approaching.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Shaming people for thinking ethnic cleansing is the way forward is not quite the same as shaming people they hate travellers. One is just good old hatred and the other is murder. Please tell me you know the difference between hatred and murder??? :(

When it comes to Travellers, some people's sense of proportion seems to go out the window.

Don't you get it though? Every post here is proving that they are an ethnic group. Every time a poster groups them together its proving it. The fact that there are stereo types even proves it. Now I've said before that you do not have to like them but there's no denying that they are an ethnic group

Im not arguing against the fact that they are an ethnic group, but the fact that they are being given such rope when people are jailed for not having a fúckin tv licence. It simply is not right and this búll**** needs to be called for what it is.

What exactly does it take to be an ethnic group this day and age? Im going to live in a caravan and act like a pr1ck to everyone. My levels of basic education and personal hygiene will be poor and i will act as civilised as Tarzan while i shamelessly beg off people.....but hey we developed 'the Cant' lingo..... go us! :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

the vast majority of those crimes you mentioned aren't traveler speciffic.

travellers feuds burgerlys committed by travellers and sulky racing arent traveller specific ?

Come on noe eod i know you have a uber liberal agenda to defend but thats just ridiculousness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

dinnybyrne wrote: »
    Trying to shame people l
    Im going to come straight out with it- i despise travellers and i have good reasons for it. So do you, we all do so stop pretending to hold the moral high ground, grow a pair of balls, and voice your opinions.

I have had about ten interactions with travellers in my life. On three occasions, my brother and I had to confront criminal gangs of travellers. We got rid of one gang and a year later another gang appeared. None of my other interactions with travellers were ever anything other than negative. I am now very wary of travellers based on personal experience and the experiences of friends of mine.

However, I can't allow myself to be prejudiced towards any traveller I meet in the future. Yes I will be wary but I will force myself to treat them as I would any other human being. Even if there is only one decent traveller on the planet (no doubt there are many) they deserve to be treated as an equal without prejudice.

By your definition dyslexic people are an ethnic minority, so are bus drivers and Lucas drivers. Their are and always will be stereotype's for everybody.

Just the other day, the county council evicted them from a site a mere mile away from me and armed guards were there on duty. I would doubt armed guards would be there for any normal upstanding human beings. Culture my hole. About time these pr1cks in suits copped the fúck on and started to use some proper leverage in their positions instead of hammering down on decent hardworking people trying to get by. No more blind eyes, if you want special recognition for a few tokenised things like language and music etc then start behaving like a normal human being.

I say that and i do acknowledge that there is many many decent members of the travelling community that have done their best to integrate somewhat without forgetting where they came from. They have done alot for sport, music, arts and irish culture. My comments are not aimed at them but i would appeal to the powers that be to come to some form of resolution rather than this pathetic sh1te. I admire John Connors for all that he has achieved in acting and i acknowledge that as a child he did suffer some uncalled for prejudice but he needs to take his head out of the sand and see both sides of the argument. He said only a handful of families are engaged in bare knuckle boxing for example and yet he is there on youtube himself doing it

if you want special recognition for a few tokenised things like language and music etc and you can prove that these distinctions are worthy of recognition, then you will be recognised. the travelers have been recognised for those. travelers are an ethnic minority and it isn't going to change. no amount of whing about some mythical hammering down on hardworking people trying to get by will change the reality of what happened, and that it needed to happen the homeless and hospital issues are separate issues and need solving but it isn't an either or in terms of issues. all issues need sorting
    dinnybyrne wrote: »
    Trying to shame people l

there is no such thing as the pc brigade apart from in the minds of bigots and racists. you don't speak for us all and you don't get to tell us what we do or don't think. the people who were named thanked a post by an extremist calling for murder.

Im not arguing against the fact that they are an ethnic group, but the fact that they are being given such rope when people are jailed for not having a fúckin tv licence. It simply is not right and this búll**** needs to be called for what it is.

It's a little like the Trump thing. The lefties created Trump. You can't say this or you can't say that so they voted in a guy that says it all.
    Likewise with travellers. The more threads like this, the more talk like this down the pub or in the street the more protection they will get. It's the people that are so vocal with their stereo types that makes the government have to protect them more.
    If they were treated equal by settled people they wouldn't have as many rights. I'm not sure if I'm explaining it right but basically it's the public traveller haters that are giving them the rights & protection that they do not want them to have.
    It's actually pretty funny when you think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

judeboy101 wrote: »
    They can now access bucketloads of European money and now euro law can be used against government if they don't respect all aspects of their culture.
    Kind of like the way the Irish language must be catered to at present.

What's another few million. Let the travellers have their pay day.

JamboMac wrote:
    By your definition dyslexic people are an ethnic minority, so are bus drivers and Lucas drivers. Their are and always will be stereotype's for everybody.

Not my definition. Google ethnic groups & you will see.
    Being dyslexic myself I'd be happy for an ethnic group but we don't have our own language, culture or history so we don't qualify

what dispensations do travelers receive? can you name them all?

Naming them all would require a projector and a four-hour seminar, but the usual ones comprise:

Lenient jail sentences, social-welfare squatting, noise disturbances, littering, allocation of free housing, 'overlooking' of illicit activity including the ol' bareknuckling and tax evasion.

Plus the fact that many of them live suspiciously sumptuous lifestyles despite the startling unemployment rate.

It's a little like the Trump thing. The lefties created Trump. You can't say this or you can't say that so they voted in a guy that says it all.
    Likewise with travellers. The more threads like this, the more talk like this down the pub or in the street the more protection they will get. It's the people that are so vocal with their stereo types that makes the government have to protect them more.
    If they were treated equal by settled people they wouldn't have as many rights. I'm not sure if I'm explaining it right but basically it's the public traveller haters that are giving them the rights & protection that they do not want them to have.

I can't tell the difference between traveller and a normal person just standing there, I don't automatically go that person must be a traveller let's stay away from them. I have an issue when they invade my space and don't get the hint that we don't want work done.

Could you pick a traveller out of a group white Irish men standing beside each other, I'm guessing the answer is no, so how can somebody discriminate automatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,506 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I can't tell the difference between traveller and a normal person just standing there, I don't automatically go that person must be a traveller let's stay away from them. I have an issue when they invade my space and don't get the hint that we don't want work done.

Could you pick a traveller out of a group white Irish men standing beside each other, I'm guessing the answer is no, so how can somebody discriminate automatically.

Really? I could!!! The hair and clothes would be a large giveaway in compariosn to a student, office worker, retail worker, doctor etc etc.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    travellers feuds burgerlys committed by travellers and sulky racing arent traveller specific ?

Come on noe eod i know you have a uber liberal agenda to defend but thats just ridiculousness

i don't have any "liberal agenda" to defend. what you get from me is my view and you can take it or leave it, i couldn't care a less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

Do any of ye like daaaags??

Ah now i cant agree with this. No one dislikes travellers for nothing. If travellers are disliked its because they do not respect peoples personal space or possessions. If one traveller commits a crime or anti social act, no one would discriminate but unfortunately there is more than one.

When i was 19, a group of young travellers decided they would let fire a rock at me in Clonmel as i walked back on the bypass toward the Tippinst campus and when my back was turned. i was at the opposite side of a roundabout. The rock hit me square on the back of my head and i was too dizzy by the blow to do anything about it, i was outnumbered and they were yards from their site. I also knew i would be absolutely wasting my time reporting them because at worst i would be ignored and if it was taken seriously i may have potentially been intimidated by them and become a prisoner in my own home. if they had all attacked me and beat me up and gave me a fighting chance i would have respected them more which is a cowardly act in itself. I done absolutely nothing to them, i kept my head down and kept walking while they were shouting some bull at me.

A cowardly unprovoked act committed by rancid scum. Im smart enough to know that not every traveller behaves like this but that there is probably more than one instance of this every day throughout ireland and the world.

DredFX wrote: »
    Naming them all would require a projector and a four-hour seminar, but the usual ones comprise:

Lenient jail sentences, social-welfare squatting, noise disturbances, littering, allocation of free housing, 'overlooking' of illicit activity including the ol' bareknuckling and tax evasion.

Plus the fact that many of them live suspiciously sumptuous lifestyles despite the startling unemployment rate.

those are simple failures by the authorities to enforce the law because they haven't the resources. give them the resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I for one welcome our new traveller overlords.

Glazers Out!