Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've SWITCHed! - General discussion - WARNING IN POST 1

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Cianos wrote: »
    Glad to read your post there TheDoc as I picked it up at Gamestop before reading the quoted post from sugarman!

Haha. What was the GameStop offers ? Voucher I have isn’t accepted there but they had slim pickings. Granted I’ve a thing shopping with them anyway.

I see most of the smiths offers say until Jan 31st. Don’t know if that means new offers coming or things just revert back or something

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

TheDoc wrote: »
    Haha. What was the GameStop offers ? Voucher I have isn’t accepted there but they had slim pickings. Granted I’ve a thing shopping with them anyway.

I see most of the smiths offers say until Jan 31st. Don’t know if that means new offers coming or things just revert back or something

My local one didn't actually have any of the bundles in stock except for Diablo, so was happy to just get the Switch itself.

So any recommendations for a game a 7yr old girl would enjoy - she likes games on Android that are drag and click interactive type games for dressing up the characters, simple mini games etc. The Toca Boca series for example is one that she usually enjoys.

Thanks!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,590 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Happy New Year everyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Max Mafioso

My local one didn't actually have any of the bundles in stock except for Diablo, so was happy to just get the Switch itself.

So any recommendations for a game a 7yr old girl would enjoy - she likes games on Android that are drag and click interactive type games for dressing up the characters, simple mini games etc. The Toca Boca series for example is one that she usually enjoys.

Thanks!

Snipperclips, can be played either by herself or with a friend, its a lot of fun, I've played it many times with my nephew, we get a good laugh out of it

Thanks I came across that alright, I'd say she'd love that, I'd say she'd like playing Captain Toad together as well

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Moon lighter worth it?

• Registered Users Posts: 55,512 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

It's on my watchlist, but I'm waiting for a good discount.
    I love the look of it, but I have enough in my backlog for now. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Any idea where I'd be able to get a second dock from?

Constantly regretting not picking one up when Smyth's had them reduced last year and now can't find them in stock in any of the usual places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭conormario

Constantly regretting not picking one up when Smyth's had them reduced last year and now can't find them in stock in any of the usual places.

The Nintendo dock debacle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭conormario

Just heard of a family that got a Switch + Crash + FIFA for Christmas. No Nintendo AAA. That's just wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Inviere

Are these any good? - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Adapter-Nintendo-Converter-Macbook-Samsung/dp/B078RZQJ8D/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1546460108&sr=8-3&keywords=switch+dock

Is Cities Skylines any good?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Is Cities Skylines any good?

Great game, Is that on switch?

Yep, €30

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

Inviere wrote: »

Bit afraid to try a 3rd party one after hearing about them bricking consoles when the Switch initially released.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Bit afraid to try a 3rd party one after hearing about them bricking consoles when the Switch initially released.
    Agreed I have been tempted to buy an official dock, gutting it and putting the bits in one of these. Not cheaper but less likely to brick the Switch.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Yep, €30

Do a bit of research on that. I heard the performance wasn't great on release. May have been patched since.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭skerry

Thinking of picking up Splatoon 2 in the sale. Internet connection at home isn't great, about 12mbps, anyone know if that would be enough for online matches or can anyone with similar speeds let me know how it runs? Have never played first one and looks a bit of craic.

Edit: Ran a speed these there and getting 8 mbps on my Switch which is beside the router and 16 mbps on laptop which is at other side of room.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

skerry wrote: »
    Thinking of picking up Splatoon 2 in the sale. Internet connection at home isn't great, about 12mbps, anyone know if that would be enough for online matches or can anyone with similar speeds let me know how it runs? Have never played first one and looks a bit of craic.

Edit: Ran a speed these there and getting 8 mbps on my Switch which is beside the router and 16 mbps on laptop which is at other side of room.

Should be fine. I never played that game or any other switch game online but I did play PC games with a 1.5-2Mb connection and never had any issues.

Your speeds are actually quite good.

Should be fine. I never played that game or any other switch game online but I did play PC games with a 1.5-2Mb connection and never had any issues.

Your speeds are actually quite good.

Bought it anyway and will give multiplayer a go during the week. Never had issues with other games but from what I understand the way the game handles online isn't supposed to be great and drop outs are apparently an issue with poor connections.

I'm used to 100mbps until I moved out of town last year but the connection I have has been fine for online gaming and streaming so hopefully no issues here either.

Yeah my Switch seems to have a slower connection as well esp compared to the macbook pro.

Bought Rocket League in the sale there for €10, I've never played it before but I've heard good things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Seen that katamari damacy is out for the switch now.

Love me a bit of katamari. I played the demo last night and the controls are arkword as ever ha.

Is it worth the 20 euros on the é shop?. I have about 6.50 in gold coins so will only be 13.50 and I am trying to think is it worth it?.

As I paid i think 40 for touch my katamari on the vita 7 years ago.

Hmm weekend to think about it now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Yeah my Switch seems to have a slower connection as well esp compared to the macbook pro.

Bought Rocket League in the sale there for €10, I've never played it before but I've heard good things.

It's great fun, can get frustrating with bad team mates but the system switches it up.

Have it on the Xbox for ages but only played it over Christmas when the nephew's were around. Got hammered but it's good craic for sure. Easy pick up and have a laugh with but very hard to master I'd say.

Was tempted to pick it up at that price but I'm hoping Splatoon 2 will keep me going for a while as far as online Switch gaming goes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,590 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Seen that katamari damacy is out for the switch now.

Love me a bit of katamari. I played the demo last night and the controls are arkword as ever ha.

Is it worth the 20 euros on the é shop?. I have about 6.50 in gold coins so will only be 13.50 and I am trying to think is it worth it?.

As I paid i think 40 for touch my katamari on the vita 7 years ago.

Hmm weekend to think about it now

We were only playing the original NTSC only game on PS2 at a games night in my place when the release of Reroll was mentioned, bought it as soon as I could.
    Certainly not disappointed.
    The first couple of Katamari Damacy titles are the best do, if you are a fan of one of the later ones, Reroll should be a must have.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

That's what I have. You'll have the odd disconnection but it's mostly fine. The Switch's network interfaces are dort, mine is cabled when docked and still sucks.

For what it's worth I played a lot more Rocket League than Splatoon when I had the two of them and the Nintendo "network" wasn't a chargeable "service" - I found there was a lot of waiting around for groups in Splatoon even when it launched, so you couldn't just pick it up and play. That might have been a reflection of how poor my connection was rather than the number of players though.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Bought it anyway and will give multiplayer a go during the week. Never had issues with other games but from what I understand the way the game handles online isn't supposed to be great and drop outs are apparently an issue with poor connections.

I'm used to 100mbps until I moved out of town last year but the connection I have has been fine for online gaming and streaming so hopefully no issues here either.

It will be perfectly fine. Playing it requires very little data exchange and response time is much more important that throughput.

At some point I had an issue with Virgin Media whereby my download speed seemed capped to 5Mpbs (but still with a good ping), and I didn’t notice any issue with Splatoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Stepping away from Bomber Crew for a little bit. Emotionally distraught as lost my favourite plane and all the crew this morning.

Got back from a mission to defend a ship on a suicide to ram an enemy base. Plane was in pieces, bits shot off, tail missing, two engines on fire, one completely gone. Crew bashed up, but had made it back to base against all odds. Then the plane smashed into the ground because I forgot to deploy the landing gear.

I'm so sorry guys ;_;

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

That is exactly what happened to me! Same mission and everything. Luckily only one of them died, but you still lose the whole plane and all it's upgrades.
    If you ever get back to it, I'd recommend targeting the boat you're escorting periodically as your waypoint so you don't stray too far, and then get out ahead of it as you approach the target so you can bomb the supporting structures.

Oh, and it's worth bearing in mind, the first aid kit is a one-shot, so if a second guy gets shot to pieces you best say your goodbyes quickly or hope you brought a spare. Sorry, Patricia the Tailgunner - in hind-sight the two-slot shelf wasn't too expensive after all!

The Switch has surprised me yet again. For some reason when I picked it before Christmas the last thing I thought I'd be using it for was good PVP. Bought Splatoon 2 yesterday and haven't stopped playing the feicin thing all day :D

Thanks for all the input on internet speeds lads. Had a few disconnects in the lobby while trying to get a game but nothing major and haven't had any in a match. Played the first area of campaign and jumped straight into multiplayer. Still finding my feet and losing more than I'm winning but not doing bad overall.

There's obviously a bit of the new toy factor with The Switch for me but my Xbox and PS4 have literally only been turned on to download free monthly games since I got the Switch and there's no sign of that changing. Fantastic little console.

The game purchasing is getting out of hand though, too many good games to catch up on.