Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"Cycle Support" vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Patww79 wrote: »

Bloody immigrants coming over here, directing our traffic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

I think it just happened to be where the van was sourced from. When I was onboard with them a couple of weeks ago (mechanical failure while cycling with the group) it was an Irish guy driving. They're there to pick up anyone who has to stop, and keep the cyclists in front safe. They're not there to (intentionally) enrage motorists, as that gets bad for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

On a charity cycle I was on, not only were some of the cyclists Gardai taking part, but the entire paramedic crew on the ambulance were actually off-duty Gardai too. I wouldn't make assumptions about any organised cycle not having official Gardai support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I've done many a race/charity events with lead vehicles with strobe lights and Garda outriders,never have I seen the vehicles pulled over by the Garda outriders.So if the Guards dont have a problem why do you????

I should make it clear: I have no issue with being slowed down by an organised event. As I mentioned in the OP cyclists are perfectly entitled to share the road as much as motorists, and I cycle occasionally myself. My question was about how safely it was handled. There were no Garda vehicles in sight, which would have put my mind at ease. I asked if their actions were legal, I didn't say it bothers me. What bothers me is the fact that they took over the entire road without Gardaí present. That's not a figure of speech, it's what they did.. they were signalling other vehicles to stop and at one point a cyclist marshal blocked oncoming traffic to allow them all to turn. That's what I meant by "furthering the idea of militant cyclists".
    Its a pity the OP does'nt know the rules of the road.You can pass a slow moving vehicle/horse/cyclist on a solid white line.I'd be worried about what other rules of the road the OP does'nt know???

Eric too does'nt seem to know the rules of the road either.Cyclist are allowed to cycle 2 abreast.And I've cycled with a Lucan based club, I'd wager any amount of money that they were'nt 3 abreast as Eric states.I think Eric needs to go the Specsavers or stop driving,as he clearly has trouble observing events on the road.

I was there, and I can tell you that they were in fact 3 abreast. Yes, you can overtake an obstruction on a solid line and I would do so happily with a single cyclist or if there was verge cutting or something like that.

What I wouldn't do is overtake a pack of several tens of cyclists and a van on a blind bend all at the same time, because although the van driver likes to think it's clear ahead, I'd like to use my own judgement before I potentially put myself into a 160km/h closing speed head on. I mean, if it's all the same to you - because you seem to know me better than I know myself.

My query was whether this is the done thing. Not whether or not I knew the rules of the road.
    Trojan wrote: »
    On a charity cycle I was on, not only were some of the cyclists Gardai taking part, but the entire paramedic crew on the ambulance were actually off-duty Gardai too. I wouldn't make assumptions about any organised cycle not having official Gardai support.

Off duty Gardaí taking part doesn't make it a Garda escort.
    biko wrote: »
    The people in Cycling forum can probably help best with specifics as they do a lot of road cycling with support vehicles but it's way too late now to move this thread there :D

I didn't have a death wish! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,256 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

sdanseo wrote: »
    I should make it clear: I have no issue with being slowed down by an organised event. As I mentioned in the OP cyclists are perfectly entitled to share the road as much as motorists, and I cycle occasionally myself. My question was about how safely it was handled. There were no Garda vehicles in sight, which would have put my mind at ease. I asked if their actions were legal, I didn't say it bothers me. What bothers me is the fact that they took over the entire road without Gardaí present. That's not a figure of speech, it's what they did.. they were signalling other vehicles to stop and at one point a cyclist marshal blocked oncoming traffic to allow them all to turn. That's what I meant by "furthering the idea of militant cyclists".

I was there, and I can tell you that they were in fact 3 abreast. Yes, you can overtake an obstruction on a solid line and I would do so happily with a single cyclist or if there was verge cutting or something like that.

What I wouldn't do is overtake a pack of several tens of cyclists and a van on a blind bend all at the same time, because although the van driver likes to think it's clear ahead, I'd like to use my own judgement before I potentially put myself into a 160km/h closing speed head on. I mean, if it's all the same to you - because you seem to know me better than I know myself.

My query was whether this is the done thing. Not whether or not I knew the rules of the road.

Off duty Gardaí taking part doesn't make it a Garda escort.

I didn't have a death wish! :D

Ah C'mon... we're not that bad on the cycling forum! Some of us even read the motors forum! ;) I have a car and everything! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

I have no problems them cycling two a breast but only on suitable roads as it can be very dangerous as people inevitably get impatient which of course is no excuse but its more a safety observation.

just a little point on this.
    Is safer for both the cyclists and driver to stay two abreast
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJiixtKuVq8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

The biggest mistake is to expect reasonable behaviour from cyclists in organised groups like this. The only thing to do is get as much video evidence of their reckless, selfish behaviour as possible, especially the support vehicles/marshals. Make an official complaint to gardai regarding their behaviour and be sure to follow it up with all footage.
    It has been very effective in banning lots of events Meath and North Dublin. It is very satisfying when caught up in this kind of crap, to film it - dash cam and phone - and realise that you are about to get another one banned for being dangerous, reckless and selfish w@nkers

Mod note - banned from thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

It has been very effective in banning lots of events Meath and North Dublin.
    What specific events have been banned in Meath in North Dublin as a result of complaints like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭coolbeans

The biggest mistake is to expect reasonable behaviour from cyclists in organised groups like this. The only thing to do is get as much video evidence of their reckless, selfish behaviour as possible, especially the support vehicles/marshals. Make an official complaint to gardai regarding their behaviour and be sure to follow it up with all footage.
    It has been very effective in banning lots of events Meath and North Dublin. It is very satisfying when caught up in this kind of crap, to film it - dash cam and phone - and realise that you are about to get another one banned for being dangerous, reckless and selfish w@nkers

None of the above happened Walter Mitty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

That group you came upon escorted by Northern registered vehicles would have been the Maynooth Galway cycle charity group, the vehicles and cycle Marchals are all in communication with each other by way of two way radios, so if the driver/cyclist at the back was waving you through it's because the lead vehicle/cyclist was relaying back to him that the road ahead was clear of traffic and was safe for vehicles to pass.

as a driver and daily commuting cyclist, who lives in wicklow, so is used to groups in the hills, i'd still be very wary of some geezer waving me on - i'll make that decision myself thanks.
    just my 2c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭cython

By all means do the bolded. I mean if you're on your own in the car I'm sure the Gardaí would love to have someone submit evidence/an admission of themselves using their phone while driving, and to do their job for them! Given that (as people have said) footage has not actually had the effect elsewhere that you describe, that's about all that can reasonably be expected from such a course of action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You're still here with your extremely unhealthy obsession with cyclists?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

cycling in groups of more than 10 bikes should require the same permit as a slow moving parade would require. Its an obstruction to the road, and these cycling groups are a menace.

Generally speaking such a group will be moving at around 30km hour or more, you've stood at parades that move that fast?

If you think anything moving at 30km hour needs a permit then it seems tractors will need them too.

Just in case you claim tractors don't go that slow, plenty of times I've been out running and have managed to overtake a tractor driving along while running! It was a push but I still managed it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭tossy

Cabaal wrote: »
    Generally speaking such a group will be moving at around 30km hour or more, you've stood at parades that move that fast?

If you think anything moving at 30km hour needs a permit then it seems tractors will need them too.

Just in case you claim tractors don't go that slow, plenty of times I've been out running and have managed to overtake a tractor driving along while running! It was a push but I still managed it :)

A tractor is moving in unison as it's one solid vehicle, it doesn't change shape,width or length as it moves. It also doesn't have a self entitled smug confrontational attitude as it's a machine :D (dear cyclists this is a joke <)

There are a few posters posting here with an obvious bias towards cyclists there is no doubt about that but there are equally a few cyclists posting with a preempted anger and confrontational attitude towards motorists - which is i imagine exactly how they are when they are out cycling. We are not on the road now lads can't we all just get along and find away to share the tarmac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hope you got an answer OP. If not, try the cycling forum but read their charter before posting there.