Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags keep kicking my car in

• 05-03-2017 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭

So there are a bunch of young scumbag kids who have kicked the side mirrors off of my friends car 3/4 times in the past 2 months, and have now put serious damage into the actual door of the car trying to smash that window. Garda have done absolutely nothing to help the cause, anybody have any recommendations as to what could possibly help.

It's in a side street just off south circular road in dolphins barn

• Registered Users Posts: 30,554 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Put a dash cam on your car that activates when theirs movement around. To be fair the Gardai can't really do much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

dougee19 wrote: »
    So there are a bunch of young scumbag kids who have kicked the side mirrors off of my friends car 3/4 times in the past 2 months, and have now put serious damage into the actual door of the car trying to smash that window. Garda have done absolutely nothing to help the cause, anybody have any recommendations as to what could possibly help.

It's in a side street just off south circular road in dolphins barn

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Put a dash cam on your car that activates when theirs movement around. To be fair the Gardai can't really do much.

They won't care even if you do submit the footage. gardai are only interested in collecting tv licesne evaders and jailing young lads for smoking a bit of weed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Commotion Ocean don't post in this thread again. This is a mod warning.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,554 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They won't care even if you do submit the footage. gardai are only interested in collecting tv licesne evaders and jailing young lads for smoking a bit of weed.

I'm just trying to give the OP a little bit of constructive advice. If the OP could have some type of footage it might help them.
    Out of interest OP is their anybody else having this issue and what type of car is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

I'm just trying to give the OP a little bit of constructive advice. If the OP could have some type of footage it might help them.
    Out of interest OP is their anybody else having this issue and what type of car is it?

There was one other car bashed in yesterday, as far as I know it was only her car that was damaged before yesterday though. It's a ****ty old volkswagen that she pretty much only uses to go to work but is afraid of getting caught by guards with no mirrors and stuff.

I figured there was no good solution, but just in case someone had a random good idea, plus needed to vent on her behalf. Bunch of dicks!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Does he know who they are and are they particularly picking on his car?

I know it seems mad but having a word might help (and i mean a word not anything dodgy).

Maybe they've picked his car for a reason. I know their scum but if the Garda won't help you have to try alternatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Friend is female according to op. You don't approach anyone like that you're just more likely to bring more trouble to your door.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Tough situation.
    If you caught them in the act and go out after them that can just spur them on to keep doing it or worse get into an altercation where suddenly the house windows start getting smashed or more.

All I can think of is put up cctv and a sensor light. No guarantee it would stop them tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Park somewhere else if possible? not much else you can do really if local guards aren't interested.

It's not just you OP, I'm in the same area.

Most cars on our road have had the mirrors done. Houses routinely having windows damaged by stones too. There's one or two gangs of local kids causing trouble the whole time.

Report to the cops each time. You can't change it but enough recorded complaints might have some effect.

Hopefully you'll feel better that it's not just you!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I've just off Donore Ave, had my mirror done between 6pm - 8pm last Saturday! Not 100% if it was scrotes but I'm confident.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

Justice system is a joke in this country.the scrotes that damaged the car should be rounded up and drowned in a barrel.nice cheap way of disposing of the scum without jailing them and having to feed them.hire a gang of goons to gather them.
    Or to avoid the public outcry for poor little scumbag Johnny being drowned in a barrel,gather a full ship load of the scum who habitually reoffend and bring them about 40 miles off coast and throw them in.if they are any good they will swim back,no good and they will be some way beneficial in feeding the wildlife.oh to be Taoiseach for a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

Bloody hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Where is the car parked, and does it still get vandalized if it's parked elsewhere?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Justice system is a joke in this country.the scrotes that damaged the car should be rounded up and drowned in a barrel.nice cheap way of disposing of the scum without jailing them and having to feed them.hire a gang of goons to gather them.
    Or to avoid the public outcry for poor little scumbag Johnny being drowned in a barrel,gather a full ship load of the scum who habitually reoffend and bring them about 40 miles off coast and throw them in.if they are any good they will swim back,no good and they will be some way beneficial in feeding the wildlife.oh to be Taoiseach for a day
    Meanwhile, back in the real world...

If you can try to find someone who has standing in the community to talk with the families of the turds. It may be a local doctor or (loath though I am to say it) the local priest. Occasionally a word from the right mouth can dramatically change a situation though truth be told it's probably going to go on as long as the turds are amused by doing it.

Best solution, park elsewhere. :(

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Are they young\ small? Or able to get rough, my mam had the same problem with young (harmless) teenagers hanging around every night drinking making noise. The likes but they never actually damaged anything, all it took was for a more large, rowdier neighbour to go out and tell them he had babies sleeping and if they came back again he'd "kill" them. I'm sure these guys might be up for a fight though considering they're already breaking windows...

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭KrakityJones

Small suggestion - mightn't solve it but might help and won't cost much/put you at risk.

If you can see your car (and if not, park it somewhere you can) - buy a cheap remote controlled alarm/siren (amazon have them for about 30 quid).

It'll mean a few nights of watching out the window but the second you hear or see them come near the car blast on the alarm, they'll probably just laugh and leg it, but the main thing is they'll leg it. If one or two more neighbours can do the same might get rid of them.

And of course it might not make you the most popular neighbour for a night or so but I'm sure they'd understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Had a similar problem in Smithfield about 10 years ago
    Make an official complaint every time , and start e-mailing your TD and Councilors on anti social behavior in the area.
    They will see the stats in the system and increase patrols in the area , this usually just moves the problem on somewhere else not solve it but best you can probably hope for.

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

My parents live quite close to UCD and my mams car was repeatedly damaged by UCD students (usually after an event there)....all separate incidents but wing mirrors repeatedly kicked off, front windscreen smashed in, a bike through the back window, roof and bonnet jumped on and dented, physically bent back door and broke into the car and the final bit of damage was flipping my mams car completely upside down, which resulted in the engine being flooded and the car had to get written off.

Granted it was an old car which the students probably thought it was ok to destroy. But it absolutely broke my mams heart. The car belonged to her dad who had passed away. And the little f*ckers think its hilarious to destroy someones car without a care in the world. Its absolutely disgusting behaviour!

Each time we were advised by the guards that there was nothing they can do about it as its parked on a public road (we have no driveway). This was before dash cams came about so they may be different now, but we got no help whatsoever. If I were you, report every incident and hope that one day it will pay off. Try get a video of the guys doing it and hopefully with the numerous reports you would have built up at this stage, hopefully the guards will be willing to do something about it then.

All I can hope for is that one day Karma will get idiots and they will get their own car smashed in one day by some people just "having a laugh".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

In the past, in some areas prone to scumbaggery, you could go to your local Sinn Féin guy and they had ways of making problems go away. Does that still work? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭Bykobap

Put a hurley and sliotar where it can be easily seen.
    Dublin scarf or Dublin air freshener too.
    These can give an impression of someone who you shouldn't mess with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Bykobap wrote: »
    Put a hurley and sliotar where it can be easily seen.
    Dublin scarf or Dublin air freshener too.
    These can give an impression of someone who you shouldn't mess with.

What? Or a Shamrock Rovers window sticker?:rolleyes:

OldGoat wrote: »
    Meanwhile, back in the real world...

If you can try to find someone who has standing in the community to talk with the families of the turds. It may be a local doctor or (loath though I am to say it) the local priest. Occasionally a word from the right mouth can dramatically change a situation though truth be told it's probably going to go on as long as the turds are amused by doing it.

Best solution, park elsewhere. :(

With the health services the way they are and decent hard working people suffering due to cut backs,do you not think doctors would have better things to do than having a chat with the local pond scum population about damaging people's property?
    No sane doctor would even entertain the thought.they are probably being hounded every working day by these same scum with their entitled medical cards,looking for a few Valium or Xanax to help with the "anxiety" they get from not bothering to work and going around annoying working class people.
    Wouldn't happen.doctors are there to diagnose illnesses,prescribe treatment or refer to a specialist.they aren't dr Phil,there to Lord up to scum bag Johnny.also governing bodies and ethics committee would prevent it from happening even if they were stupid enough to agree to it.
    A priest wouldn't bother with the pond scum either I'd imagine. The pond scum often target priests with sob stories in order to hit them for a loan.also the risk of false allegations by pond scum made against a priest is also possible.
    Your best advice is therefore to park somewhere else?no wonder Ireland is fuxxed.a hardworking normal person should be able to park wherever they want providing its legal and not fear having property damage.
    I'd hide in the car with a pick axe handle personally and wait.first bit of agro then from Johnny pond scum,hop out chase him down and bury handle in his head.
    Pity pond scum can't be neutered by the local vets and breed them out of existence.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,300 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

It's not st Anthonys road is it? That place is like a zoo...on my way back from the gym ive seen kids kicking in car doors in full view of residents/adults sitting out the front of their homes drinking cans.

Couldnt give a toss

retalivity wrote: »
    It's not st Anthonys road is it? That place is like a zoo...on my way back from the gym ive seen kids kicking in car doors in full view of residents/adults sitting out the front of their homes drinking cans.

Couldnt give a toss

Did ya ring the guards?

retalivity wrote: »

Couldnt give a toss

Problem is there is generation upon generation of breeding amongst this pond scum to reach these levels.and the gangsters in the dail then throwing money at the pigs.i shouldn't say pigs as a pig is a useful animal.
    Only hope for us as a species now is a Third World War and with any luck all pond scum and long term unemployed will be drafted as front line bullet stoppers and that would stop them for a while.i wouldn't even provide them with arms.shove them up front line and sit back and laugh.id send pink shirt the scarecrow Wallace with them aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭trellheim

Possibly the sanest way is to complain to local councillors on the local policing committee.

Also each and every time ring

1) local Garda station ask can they send a car round I'm in D7, used to be in D8 and it's usually only a few mins if its quiet.

2) Ring the comminity copper for your area

3) Rinse and repeat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Problem is there is generation upon generation of breeding amongst this pond scum to reach these levels.and the gangsters in the dail then throwing money at the pigs.i shouldn't say pigs as a pig is a useful animal.
    Only hope for us as a species now is a Third World War and with any luck all pond scum and long term unemployed will be drafted as front line bullet stoppers and that would stop them for a while.i wouldn't even provide them with arms.shove them up front line and sit back and laugh.id send pink shirt the scarecrow Wallace with them aswell
    Don't post in this thread again and don't post in the Dublin City forum again until you have read the charter, specifically the last item and can have a discussion in a civil manner.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,300 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

bubblypop wrote: »
    Did ya ring the guards?

No, as i was driving. And not when i got home either.
    I've seen the guards up and down that raod a few times as well but nothing seems to change. Wouldnt blame them though, their hands are tied and they cant patrol the place 24/7