Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda cars outrun

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,013 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

It would be using similar HD i-Red cameras to a chopper, surely there are some drones that are able to fly in the rain. It also has immediate dispatch and another model could take over after 20mins. Budget wise guesstimate it's <0.01% the cost of aircrew and support team per device.

There's no way a drone like that could keep up with a car and flying higher will only get them an extra few km of a view, the car will still out run it. Then having to deploy a 2nd one 20 minutes later.

An old fashioned model aeroplane would be the job, some have jet engines and can stay up for a lot longer than 20 minutes. The problem is that they'd have to have them up 24/7, so that they can respond instantly, and then people would be complaining about them being up 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,198 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Shannon757 wrote: »
    They would be special units like Interceptors. Often have cars like the S3, Skoda VRS etc...
    We should have something like that here I think around the major cities that could respond fast.
    Don't think we have anything like that but could be wrong.

The Gards have certainly had Foresters in the past; I know as I was pulled up by one once :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The Gards have certainly had Foresters in the past; I know as I was pulled up by one once :)

Still a couple knocking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 JN94

Be nicer if they actually buried the car in a hedge before they end up killing someone.

All the talk of high powered cars makes me laugh.

These cars are Audi Q7 3.0 TDI and also the 5 series 3.0 TDI.

These cars and 4x4 aren't suitable for chasing small hot hatches.

They need the likes of say focus st, Octavia or fabia vrs, mini cooper, some actual hot hatches that should definitely handle better then a family saloon or estate.

Years ago garda cars were modified and in some cases chipped and other add ons but it seems the powers that be are more then happy to purchase IMO very poor choice vehicles.

Day to day run of the mill cruising around fine maybe but to user to get to a crime or any other emergency the vehicles should be to a very high standard.
    They have a couple of focus and mondeo st's which are very quick. I think the focus st puts out around 250bhp which could easily catch the S3.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/4xk31s/is_this_an_unmarked_garda_car/

http://www.isdc.ie/forum/showthread.php?41790-Ford-focus-st-Garda-car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Oh yes but having a couple isn't going to dent the issue.

More quality cars and proper training for all drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Gatling wrote: »
    The Garda should have military spec surveillance drones to cover situations like this when the Garda helicopter isn't available ,
    Along with proper built out pursuit cars mad to think in this day and age the garda have no real pursuit capabilities

Fcuk pursuit. Predator drones. Remote road in Wicklow? End of Audi end of multiple breaks ins. Bit of grief for Lithuania or Moldova and that's that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭boobycharlton

BMW tendered a very good offer for Garda fleet a while back, but Garda management felt it would give the wrong impression to have Gardai driving around in BMW's when the country was supposed to broke. They went for the Hyundai's instead.

A lot of guards wouldn't be advanced driving trained either, and technically not supposed to be driving on blues at all. It still happens out of necessity obviously, but that Garda and his superiors would be in deep trouble if a serious accident was to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,198 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

BMW tendered a very good offer for Garda fleet a while back, but Garda management felt it would give the wrong impression to have Gardai driving around in BMW's when the country was supposed to broke. They went for the Hyundai's instead.

BMW failed because working indicators in all cars was a pre requisite in the tender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭buzzing147

I was going to start a new topic but couldn't find an option, just wondering....I was driving a few days ago, a garda car was in front of me, I was shocked to see this car pull in and pick up 2 blonde female hitch hikers, or maybe I was saddened as I was going to give them a lift possibly myself. Are gardai allowed to pick up hitch hikers or am I over reacting???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

buzzing147 wrote: »
    I was going to start a new topic but couldn't find an option, just wondering....I was driving a few days ago, a garda car was in front of me, I was shocked to see this car pull in and pick up 2 blonde female hitch hikers, or maybe I was saddened as I was going to give them a lift possibly myself. Are gardai allowed to pick up hitch hikers or am I over reacting???

was it on a motorway or not a safe road to walk on ? cant hitch hike on a motorway so they would be droped to the next exit

did they wave the garda car down ? might be they need some thing lost tourists victims of a car theft or something else

missing person located ?

were they hot ? or might be you saw the start of the next garda porn scandel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

Could we not get helicopters that could blow up cars that fail to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

ted1 wrote: »
    The Gardai have strict rules on pursuits as they generally endanger other road users

I thought they weren't allowed to do it anymore - it might have been just pursuing people on motorbikes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Parchment wrote: »
    I thought they weren't allowed to do it anymore - it might have been just pursuing people on motorbikes though.

Driving tips for criminals in a car while trying to outrun a cop on a motorbike.

1. Drive really fast.
    2. Let the cop on the bike get really close directly behind the rear of your car.
    3. Slam on brakes.
    4. Watch cop get mangled against your car.
    5. Reverse over cop if necessary (optional extra).
    6. Carry on with your illegal activities at a leisurely pace.

For those being chased by multiple cops on motorbikes, the principle is the same. Think of it like 10 pin bowling, but in reverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

ted1 wrote: »
    The Gardai have strict rules on pursuits as they generally endanger other road users
    Rule number one, once you go over the speed limit, relatively speaking parked cars are breaking the speed limit, at least, it will look that way to the gun. Drive down an estate and get a whole night's work done in 2 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Just to get back to the op , the silver Audi was actually recovered about 2 weeks after this incident

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Driving tips for criminals in a car while trying to outrun a cop on a motorbike.

1. Drive really fast.
    2. Let the cop on the bike get really close directly behind the rear of your car.
    3. Slam on brakes.

For those being chased by multiple cops on motorbikes, the principle is the same. Think of it like 10 pin bowling, but in reverse.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/garda-shot-in-dublins-north-strand-329325.html

after this happened they were talking about arming motorbike cops because they are usually the first to incidents in the city

that would be funny wouldnt it .

O look reverse lights !!
    attempted murder
    bang bang
    one more off the dole queue
    happy days :):):)

mynamejeff wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/garda-shot-in-dublins-north-strand-329325.html

after this happened they were talking about arming motorbike cops because they are usually the first to incidents in the city

that would be funny wouldnt it .

O look reverse lights !!
    attempted murder
    bang bang
    one more off the dole queue
    happy days :):):)

Kinda hard to safely aim a handgun whilst in pursuit of a moving car whilst trying to control a motorbike.

0Sd.jpg

The whole point of braking suddenly is to surprise said cop thus depriving him of the necessary time to safely apply his brakes.

Cops on bikes who rear end cars at high speed tend to come out of said vehicular incident rather poorly. Certainly more poorly than occupants of said car.

Kinda hard to safely aim a handgun whilst in pursuit of a moving car whilst trying to control a motorbike.

0Sd.jpg

The whole point of braking suddenly is to surprise said cop thus depriving him of the necessary time to safely apply his brakes.

Cops on bikes who rear end cars at high speed tend to come out of said vehicular incident rather poorly. Certainly more poorly than occupants of said car.

i just like the idea that some scum bag who tries to kill a unarmed cop doing his duty would be then killed lawfully of course by said cop.

karma eh

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

All the coolest things in life are hard to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

1. Drive really fast.
    3. Slam on brakes.

Hilarious. I'm sure the families of Gardaí, who have been killed and injured by cars that refused to stop, will be impressed. :rolleyes:

I'm not encouraging people to kill Gardaí. In fact I'm quite against the idea.

What I was trying to do was point out the impracticalities of motorbike cops engaging in a high pursuit chase of a car. It's too fcuking dangerous for the cops.

Unless..............

0SG.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭buzzing147

mynamejeff wrote: »
    was it on a motorway or not a safe road to walk on ? cant hitch hike on a motorway so they would be droped to the next exit

did they wave the garda car down ? might be they need some thing lost tourists victims of a car theft or something else

missing person located ?

were they hot ? or might be you saw the start of the next garda porn scandel

Was on main road lot of people thumb there seen gardai go past people there before, and yes, they were hot...hence my disappointment seeing the gardai lift them before me:(