Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - March 10th 2017

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Redneck oh redneck got a lot of redneck in ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

Mochra=Coppers for culchies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Fook the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Even Damien D'Omen from Liveline is getting bored of this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Ha, from working with shoite, to talking shoite, Ryan has something to compare with them now:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

mad m wrote: »
    Mochra=Coppers for culchies?

Macra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Ha, from working with shoite, to talking shoite, Ryan has something to compare with them now:P

That word sounds so D4, loike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Imagine someone telling you that all of your natural reactions to social situations are inappropriate and giving you a range of alternative strategies that you can use instead. Every time you're in a social situation (no matter how tired or anxious or stressed you are) you need to fight your natural response, remember your tendency to be inappropriate, analyse the situation to select an appropriate alternative strategy and execute said strategy...all within an appropriate amount of time so you're not standing there blankly and as a result also being 'inappropriate'.

I'm not saying you don't teach children with autism what appropriate is and try to help them to achieve it, but it's not as easy as some people here seem to think it is.

I don't need to imagine all that stuff because I already have an understanding of how sensitive or conflicted people sometimes are, including myself, and they deserve understanding and support. You're not making some new revelation for me.

I just think that a lot of the touchy-feely stuff and safe-space around it makes things worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

"You farmers, you don't like outsiders, do you? You like to stick to your own."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Did they do away with having some sort of comedian on last? Or was it just by chance that happened a few times?

Cos that's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,885 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

This show has been memorable for all the wrong reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Not Cork :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I thought it would be Cork, boo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Your one on the left is an interesting character. Not Cark. Night all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,885 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

1st thing mayo has won in a while

RayM wrote: »
    "You farmers, you don't like outsiders, do you? You like to stick to your own."

Ooh, I'd love a Spinal Column in a Bap now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭mad m

Macra.

Depends on what part of Dublin your from....

MACRA=NS
    MOCHRA=SS

This show has been memorable for all the wrong reasons

Has it? Memorable?

Memorable as the night the thread finally got bored, maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I hope foster and alien are on next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

I'm going to enter the quiz next week... and then ye'll be delighted to see a Cork winner (nor quark )!

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    God, if there's anything left after tonight...

It's a sad state of affairs that I'm enjoying this, because none of them are sick/abused/dead.

Looks like Ryan's safe to rub the green, instead of rubbing his knees if the girls got hold of him :P
    Berserker wrote: »
    That word sounds so D4, loike.

Oh rather! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭sudzs

And we're nearly back full circle to the mother and baby homes, the women just shouldn't be given any respect or freedom or power :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Weird mix of guests on the show tonight. Didn't really feel like The Late Late for some reason

Lads, that Paddy's Day ad just reminded me if something that's extraordinarily silly.

Seachtain na gaelige.

A good idea, I think.

But it goes on for over two weeks.

If the whole point is to promote the Irish language, why do you call it Irish week, when one thing it absolutely categorically is not, is one week?

It's roughly a fortnight. And you actually have a word for fortnight.

But you call it a week?

I swear to Jesus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Lads, that Paddy's Day ad just reminded me if something that's extraordinarily silly.

Seachtain na gaelige.

A good idea, I think.

If the whole point is to promote the Irish language, why do you call it Irish week, when one thing it absolutely categorically is not, is one week?

But you call it a week?

I swear to Jesus...

Its more for the schools
    Get the kids to speak more Irish for two weeks.

Let the hatred of Irish go.
    You'll be better for it

Words I fcuking hate and it's only starting,"Triggger" "Article 50" "Hard Border" "Teresa May"

Skid X wrote: »
    Is this segment being dragged out after the unusual answers given by one of the earlier interviewees about his future career plans caused their part to be cut short?

Just reading back on the posts following that incident,

I quite like that it would have confused the hell out of the people reading the thread who weren't watching the show.

Always like to keep them on their toes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭jluv

tinpib wrote: »
    I'm giggling away here. The shock of what the young fella said has worn off. It's pretty funny when you think of it.

I deal with a family member with a brain injury on a daily basis. Before going to certain occasions/events you spend the night before trying to think of things that might come into their head to say which might offend. You try to preempt these things but will not always be successful! As a result you will walk out of somewhere mortified and apologetic...however when you get them home,settled in and have a very large glass of wine, 9 times out of ten you can see the funny side of it and even sometimes see where they were coming from:)

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Its more for the schools

You'll be better for it

Ease up on the defensiveness, dear.

I said it's a good idea. I love Irish, I'm 100% in favour of promoting it.

The point is, it makes no sense to promote it using the wrong bleedin word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭tinpib

I imagine RTE will edit that bit out when they put it online. There's probably a few lads over in Langley, Virginia examining the footage now though. :pac: :pac:

:(

Its more for the schools

You'll be better for it

Had the Modh Coinniollach :eek:rammed down my neck by a fanatical Irish teacher(a Priest) who had me and fellow students out on our knees on a hard floor if we screwed it up back in the 1970's.Hated him for it and have hated the language since,but I have managed to get through 37 years of working life without it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Except when he tells the jockey to pull the horse, and then blames it on two horse shoes that he pulled off himself. The whole sport is a rig.

Owner: Would he have beaten the two in front of him?

Jockey: Yeah, no bother. But I don't know about the two behind him.

Had the Modh Coinniollach :eek:rammed down my neck by a fanatical Irish teacher(a Priest) who had me and fellow students out on our knees on a hard floor if we screwed it up back in the 1970's.Hated him for it and have hated the language since,but I have managed to get through 37 years of working life without it:)

fair enough
    the modern written Irish language and attachment of grammar was forced upon the language by Victorian era zealots yearning for structure

as a language, which I'm fluent in, I'd love more chances to use it everyday

Coicise na Gaeilge should be used in fairness

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

All this talk about Autism on the media is irritating for men with conditions with similar symptoms like Social Anxiety disorder, ADHD, Selective mutism, Avoidant personality disorder, etc as the average clown just assumes if you act a certain way you have Autism. Then there are the men who have no condition but just have an irregular personality, personalities are meant to be variable.

Seachtain na gaelige.

A good idea, I think.

But you call it a week?

I swear to Jesus...
    fair enough
    the modern written Irish language and attachment of grammar was forced upon the language by Victorian era zealots yearning for structure

as a language, which I'm fluent in, I'd love more chances to use it everyday

Coicise na Gaeilge should be used in fairness

Same here, i live near the gaeltacht, would use it more, i've a neighbour who's got Book Irish that was taught the old way, so he told me.

Coicise or Cock-up, they've certainly got us talking the cupla focal!

Words I fcuking hate and it's only starting,"Triggger" "Article 50" "Hard Border" "Teresa May"

Here's another 2 "Shrinkflation" & "Marmite"
    No prizes for guessing, Brexit's gonna be launched on May Day :confused:;)
    All this talk about Autism on the media is irritating for men with conditions with similar symptoms like Social Anxiety disorder, ADHD, Selective mutism, Avoidant personality disorder, etc as the average clown just assumes if you act a certain way you have Autism. Then there are the men who have no condition but just have an irregular personality, personalities are meant to be variable.

Tourette's is one i was thinking of when the young fella mentioned the unmentionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Take her out of the parish??

F*ck you and your f*ckin parish.

Jesus Christ.

My mother once told me about a girl in the parish who got pregnant.
    Two priests went over to her house to tell her father that she would
    have to leave the area as she would be giving 'bad example' to other
    unmarried girls. To the man's credit, he sent them running, telling them,
    in no uncertain terms, that as long as there was breath in his body his
    daughter and her baby would have a roof over their heads in his house.

I have also recently become aware of a distant cousin who was raised
    by her grandparents when her unmarried mother was unable to care for
    her. As she was born in the 1940s, she always felt very grateful to her
    grandparents for the love and care they gave her, as she was well aware
    of what the alternative could have been.

Some people did have the courage to stand up to the bullying clergy, but,
    unfortunately, they were very much in the minority.

My father once told a horrifying story about a girl from his parish. The
    parish priest, having heard that she was expecting a baby, castigated her
    from the pulpit, shouting that she had brought disgrace on her family and
    the parish. Later that evening, the distressed girl went down to a nearby
    lake and drowned herself.

brooke 2 wrote: »

that, I'm afraid was very common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭MintyMagnum

brooke 2 wrote: »

And they were always Immaculate Conceptions, no man ever involved it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I missed the show last night but I got to watch a recording of the Autism item this morning. I've huge admiration for Adam Harris, through his organisation AsIam he has travelled the length and the breadth of the country with his 'In Their Shoes' exhibition educating parents, therapists, teachers even Gardaí about Autism/Aspergers and what it feels like for someone who lives with it.

I felt so sorry for that 11-year-old boy last night and his parents, he thought he was cracking a (dark) joke and didn't realise how disturbing his remarks would have sounded to others.

I remember a couple of months ago Tommy Tiernan interviewed Christy Dignam and Christy mentioned that he was ill with cancer and Tommy responds with something along the lines of 'Jaysus, that's bad, do you think we'll get through the show?' Christy and the audience howled with laughter because we all understood Tommy's tone. If you had read a transcript of the interview, the tone may have been lost and the reaction might have been different.

I feel torn over last night's item, part of me wishes that it has been pre-recorded so the 'unfortunate remarks' could have been edited out but then that wouldn't have given an accurate picture of the condition. Sometimes Autism can create embarrassment and awkwardness for those that live with it. Many children/adults with Autism will verbalise random thoughts and don't always edit stuff for their audience (similar in some ways to Tourettes).

I remember being in the company of a child with Aspergers and there was an item on the news about a woman who reached her 100th birthday. The child in question said 'I hope she has a really lovely birthday because she'll probably be dead soon'. While there were some funny looks from the adults in the room, most of us admitted that we were thinking along the same lines (i.e that the lady mightn't have too many more birthdays) but we wouldn't dream of saying it. Those on the spectrum tend to be painfully honest and understandably can lose friends because of it, while most of us benefit from knowing when to remain silence or tell a white lie.

A number of posters remarked on the accents - a lot of people with autism are non-verbal, those that do speak will often have American or English accents (picked up from various therapy aids which often have American narrators) Apps, TV and computer games). Others will have Stephen Hawking accents because their auditory processing (hearing) is slightly distorted so it affects their speech. Some will sing like deaf people for the same reasons.

James Reilly was a very poor Minister for Health but he said one thing that has stayed with me over the years......

His son Jamie has Autism and when he was a child his parents were told that there was no hope for him and to send him to an institution. Jamie went on to graduate from Trinity with a Master and a PhD from Queen's University, Belfast.

James Reilly was once interviewed about Jamie's Autism and said -

"We thought his future was gone but thankfully we were wrong. The one message I would give to parents, I always give to them is, ‘Let nobody set a limit on your child’s horizon".

I think that is a great piece of advice for any parent, not just the parents of children with special needs. Anything is possible, with the right supports, every child should be able to reach their full potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭tinpib

I felt so sorry for that 11-year-old boy last night and his parents, he thought he was cracking a (dark) joke and didn't realise how disturbing his remarks would have sounded to others.

I found two videos of his joke on Twitter last night, people video recording their TV on their phones type thing. This morning one of the accounts that had it is gone, I couldn't find the second one.

I alluded to it joking above that there might be consequences to it, everyone watching it knows it was a joke, but I hope nothing too serious is happening at the moment because of what he said.

Keith Barry said he was going to come back later in the show, but they dropped him because it was running over.

Strange, because that farmerette feature seemed to last for hours

https://twitter.com/KeithpBarry/status/840346167712047105

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

tinpib wrote: »
    I found two videos of his joke on Twitter last night, people video recording their TV on their phones type thing. This morning one of the accounts that had it is gone, I couldn't find the second one.

I alluded to it joking above that there might be consequences to it, everyone watching it knows it was a joke, but I hope nothing too serious is happening at the moment because of what he said.

What was the joke? I ended up watching the rugby, then Wheeler Dealers and Bullseye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,047 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Red Kev wrote: »
    What was the joke? I ended up watching the rugby, then Wheeler Dealers and Bullseye.

Tubridy asked him what he wanted to do when he grew up and he said drive planes in to towers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,435 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Genuine question...

Is the LLS on next Friday?

Or is it a night off to celebrate your Welsh saint? :pac:

Genuine question...

Is the LLS on next Friday!

Or is it a night off to celebrate your Welsh saint? :pac:

It's on like Donkey Kong

But I might bail out at 11.30pm to watch Amy Huberman's Leprechaun movie on TV3

Edit: Not making that up. Dick Moran is in it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Read about this show, did not watch. Saw two words and that was enough to convince me not to tune in. The words being Ted Walsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Paul Kimmage summed up Tubridy well yesterday. "He has NOOOO interest in sport". Kimmage's point being how can he possibly be able to interview somebody like a proper journalist/presenter when he has very little knowledge of and very little interest in what they are discussing.

RTE should have grabbed a hold of him a while back and told him to take an interest or get another job. I mean, he loves to profess how he's a nerd about American politics (cos it makes him seem aloof and intellectual), and RTE give him time to cash in his celebrity chips on absolute b*ll*x like this.

Ryan_Tubridy_Web.jpg