Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wintry spell with Snow and Ice warnings week of 20-3-17

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭Lumi

Snow falling in Galway city
    Temp 2.3C
    DP 0.4C

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Soccarboy11

Very strong gusts of wind in cork. Possibly a sign of more to come? ��

• Registered Users Posts: 18,181 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

All mention of snow removed from Shannon TAF, really losing faith in Met Eireann's TAF's.

Night all

Dewpoint is -2.5c now though very low!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

JCX BXC wrote: »
    All mention of snow removed from Shannon TAF, really losing faith in Met Eireann's TAF's.

Night all

Dewpoint is -2.5c now though very low!

night to thee too;)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,425 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Well even if there's no snow, if the temp is below zero the roads will be lethal tomorrow so be careful out there

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

Very windy here in Donegal too, nasty night out there

• Registered Users Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭pauldry

temperatures actually gone up here.

2.6c now from 1.9c earlier.

Snow forecasts rarely verify as we know but some of ye may get snow

put up pics if ye do

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

Met Éireann snow warnings for Knock and Shannon.

Knock EIKN AD WRNG 02 VALID 210100/211400 SNOW FBL 1 TO 3CM FCST =

Shannon EINN AD WRNG 02 VALID 210000/211000 SNOW FBL 1 TO 3CM FCST =

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Lumi wrote: »
    Snow falling in Galway city
    Temp 2.3C
    DP 0.4C

Some heavier stuff enroute by the looks of it.
    Roads will be dodge in the morning, thankfully I'm off work. OH has her driving test though, that should be fun!

Some heavier stuff enroute by the looks of it.
    Roads will be dodge in the morning, thankfully I'm off work. OH has her driving test though, that should be fun!

Yep - heavy snow now & sticking :)
    Best of luck to your OH tomorrow - if it's the city test routes the gritters are out in force so it'll be grand.

Lumi, you're a mod, you know the rules, pics please :)

Snow showers overnight in the Sligo TAF

TAF EISG 202300Z 2100/2109 25018G28KT 9999 FEW010 SCT030
    TEMPO 2100/2109 4000 SHRASN BKN010 SCT018CB
    PROB40 TEMPO 2100/2109 3000 SHSN BKN008=

Also, pretty windy now at Donegal Airport

METAR EIDL 210000Z AUTO 28036G47KT 9999 -RA FEW021/// BKN028/// BKN071/// 04/M00 Q0997=

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Rougies

Met Éireann snow warnings for Knock and Shannon.

Knock EIKN AD WRNG 02 VALID 210100/211400 SNOW FBL 1 TO 3CM FCST =

Shannon EINN AD WRNG 02 VALID 210000/211000 SNOW FBL 1 TO 3CM FCST =

My TAF decoding abilities are limited so I had to look up "FBL".

It stands for "faible" which is the French word for "feeble".

I found that amusing.

Temperature now 2.9c here in West Clare, dew -0.5 and no precip.

If the Net Weather radar is to be believed then there should be large amounts of snow around the country at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Travelled west out of Galway tonight through many heavy snow and hail showers hope its not as forecast, on the road early in the morning.

Rougies wrote: »
    My TAF decoding abilities are limited so I had to look up "FBL".

It stands for "faible" which is the French word for "feeble".

I found that amusing.

In that case here are some more for you...

-EICK AD WRNG 01 VALID 202300/210800 FROST FBL GND DEPOSITIONS LIKELY BECMG 210400 FBL GND and Air FCST =

-EIKN AD WRNG 01 VALID 202300/210900 FROST FBL GND DEPOSITIONS LIKELY BECMG 210200 FBL GND and Air CHECK TEXT NEW ENDING ADDED EIDBYBYX=

-EINN AD WRNG 01 VALID 210200/210500 FROST FBL GND AND FBL AIR DEPOSITIONS LIKELY FCST =

-EIDW AD WRNG 01 VALID 210100/210700 FROST FBL GND DEPOSITIONS LIKELY FCST =

-EIME AD WRNG 01 VALID 210100/210700 FROST FBL GND AND FBL AIR DEPOSITIONS LIKELY FCST =

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Lumi wrote: »
    Yep - heavy snow now & sticking :)
    Best of luck to your OH tomorrow - if it's the city test routes the gritters are out in force so it'll be grand.

Thanks, heavy and sticking here but the wind is playing havoc again, blowing it every which way but down.
    Actually the first time I have heard a snow shower approach with the sudden increase in wind.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,749 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

car, roofs and grass are now white here from snow, north east of Kilkenny City.
    Only a dusting, but it looks like it will accumulate over night.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

First light dusting of snow in Castlebar, sticking but the shower did not last long, dp - 0.7C.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,160 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Wow! What a shower of hail!! Castlebar

Battered and bruised by gales and squally gusts but not a snowscene in sight at the front, and still too dark and dreadful to venture round the side of the cottage. I think there was a flake or two in the air as I forced the door closed against the rush of air ..

"On such a night as this..." Getting too old for this, I really am. :eek:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Light snow shower here in Dublin 16. 1.9c DP -0.5c

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Lucreto

A light dusting in Naas overnight.

A dusting of snow on roofs and cars in Galway city
    Temp 2.0C
    DP 0.4C

A faint, slight dusting atop the mountains here, mostly to the north. Bitter icy wind and those odd navy blue clouds scudding in from the south .

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Proper snow fall on Sligo Town.

It's fecking March!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,196 ✭✭✭pad199207

Half an inch to an inch on the cars and grass here in Naas

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Soccarboy11

0 down here in Cork, just wet+ice :(. Well that's depressing

Light snow shower at Aldergrove but recent freezing rain. Conditions right on the limit.

METAR EGAA 210650Z 23016G26KT 9999 -SHSN SCT008 01/01 Q1000 REFZRA=