Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

Was at a wedding at the weekend and talking to a truck driver (shudder...I know). Of course, when I mentioned being a cyclist...he said 'break red lights'
    So, I went through a big list of what motorists do...break red lights, illegal left turns/right turns/u-turns, park anywhere lights, park on footpaths, drive in bus lanes, drive up right turn lanes when they want to turn left to skip the big line of traffic turning left then squeeze back in up the top thus blocking both the right and left lanes, motorway driving..., park in disabled spots, park on double yellows, block junctions, stop on yellow boxes, roundabouts, squeeze through an already blocked junction when their light goes amber even though it is clear they won't get through and block the traffic whose light has just gone green, go through ped crossings, stop on ped crossings, drive up one way streets, reverse up one way streets, straddle two lanes because they're incapable of driving in a straight line, brake hard on bends, drive on wrong side of road, speed, on the phone while driving, texting while driving, facebook while driving, watching movies while driving, putting on makeup while driving, eating bowls of cereal while driving...

I mentioned most of these (got a bit carried away typing them out there and added more though), think he was gobsmacked :D but you could almost see realisation wash across his face.

...but some cyclists break red lights sometimes. The devils.

Realisation that there are better things to listen to at a wedding probably.

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

I mentioned most of these (got a bit carried away typing them out there and added more though), think he was gobsmacked but you could almost see realisation wash across his face.

And when the music stopped did you continue on for a second dance together? 😠Or did you pedal off into the night together????ðŸ˜

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Realisation that there are better things to listen to at a wedding probably.

Nah some people are grown ups and like to talk about a few different topics at events rather than just knock back the alcohol and jump around like dickheads...y'know they can have a bit of a laugh together and converse and stuff.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was at a wedding at the weekend and talking to a truck driver (shudder...I know). Of course, when I mentioned being a cyclist...he said 'break red lights'
    So, I went through a big list of what motorists do...break red lights, illegal left turns/right turns/u-turns, park anywhere lights, park on footpaths, drive in bus lanes, drive up right turn lanes when they want to turn left to skip the big line of traffic turning left then squeeze back in up the top thus blocking both the right and left lanes, motorway driving..., park in disabled spots, park on double yellows, block junctions, stop on yellow boxes, roundabouts, squeeze through an already blocked junction when their light goes amber even though it is clear they won't get through and block the traffic whose light has just gone green, go through ped crossings, stop on ped crossings, drive up one way streets, reverse up one way streets, straddle two lanes because they're incapable of driving in a straight line, brake hard on bends, drive on wrong side of road, speed, on the phone while driving, texting while driving, facebook while driving, watching movies while driving, putting on makeup while driving, eating bowls of cereal while driving...

I mentioned most of these (got a bit carried away typing them out there and added more though), think he was gobsmacked :D but you could almost see realisation wash across his face.

...but some cyclists break red lights sometimes. The devils.
    Sure what else would you be doing on the dancefloor during the slowset?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Nah some people are grown ups and like to talk about a few different topics at events rather than just knock back the alcohol and jump around like dickheads...y'know they can have a bit of a laugh together and converse and stuff.

Was at a wedding last week and the shock and indignation that I was not drinking from some, some people claimed to be "impressed" with me. A brother in law told me he couldn't stick it sober at one of these things. I like a drink myself but jaysus, if you can't stick it sober, don't go, drinking won't make it better. I gave it socks on the dancefloor as well. If you have good people and good music, you don't need booze to jump around like a d*ckhead.

They also had a sh1t selection of beer so I was happy with my choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭VW 1

I've met similar incredulity this month as I'm off the beer following a couple of weeks drinking most days on holiday. Just letting the body recover and get back into the swing of my usual training and try and enforce healthy habits on myself.

At a recent funeral afters where I stayed for most of the day, as well as on a separate night out with mates, the amount of people commenting on "being able to be out without having a drink" was mental. Makes you wonder about the psychology of Irish people in general that it's an achievement to socialise sans alcohol.

Colleague once told me that me and my friends must be really boring if we go out and don't drink/don't drink much. No response when I told him that he and his friends must be really boring if they need to drink to spend time with each other.

Always seems to be very much an Irish thing, hard for a lot of people to process the concept of socialising without drinking...or that say going for a spin with a few friends can also be a social event.

Startled a woman walking on the Bayside section of the Dublin Bay cycle path today. We were both heading towards Howth, I was in the middle of the cycle lane avoiding the stuff growing at the wall and she was to the right of the white line. It was quiet so I had a good long view of her as I approached from behind, she wasn't drifting left and there were no gaps in the wall for her to go through.

At the exact moment I reached her it seemed like she turned 90° left and stepped into the cycle lane. I didn't have time to react either consciously or subconsciously and held my line, but she felt really close. I think she made a startled noise, and as I looked back she was looking after me holding her chest (in a startled way, not a heart attack way :p). Still can't fathom her sudden change in direction, she didn't look like the wall hopping type.

Bloody cyclists, buzzing pedestrians!

That's what your bell is for. To alert people who can't see you

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Colleague once told me that me and my friends must be really boring if we go out and don't drink/don't drink much. No response when I told him that he and his friends must be really boring if they need to drink to spend time with each other.

Always seems to be very much an Irish thing, hard for a lot of people to process the concept of socialising without drinking...or that say going for a spin with a few friends can also be a social event.

Work trip earlier this year in the US, my boss does not drink (afaik his father was a bad alcoholic).. another Irish guy said to him one day "what do you do for fun if you do not drink". Sad situation if you see the only source of fun in life as drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭'68 Fastback

italodisco wrote: »
    Never figured how to post that video from your made up story? Lol

Nope. LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

Two this evening. Nearly got doored...passing traffic on the NCR, there's a car parked in the bike lane here, went to overtake, there's traffic to my right, when suddenly the driver side door swings open. Jam on the brakes and stop about half a meter from the driver who had the deer in headlights look, not surprised considering I magically materialised out of nowhere. Got a muttered apology to which I politely replied, "Please don't park in the bike lane and remember to check your mirrors". Apparently this was somehow offensive and got a snappy "I said I was sorry" back. I told them sorry wouldn't matter if I'd have hit them.

Second was going past peamount hospital. Group of lads in a C reg Mondeo must of thought they were gas craic or else they were inquiring about my sexual preferences, really not quit sure. But one shouted f@get out the window whilst they sped past which sounded an awful lot like a question at the same time as being an attempted insult. Either way I blew them a kiss and carried on home..

• Registered Users Posts: 28,967 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Except sometimes when you ring the bell, that makes them jump out into your path. It's a bit of a dilemma, as to whether you are better alerting them or not when approaching from behind. On a bike of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Rechuchote

The bell is a bit of a Schrodinger thing. I've been screamed at by thugs for ringing the bell to warn them - "DON'T YOU FFFFFKIN RING THAT FFFFKIN THING A ME" - and screamed at for not ringing the bell - "HAVEN'T YOU GOT A FFFFKIN BELL YA STUPI WAGON?"

It is also - like an aural version of hi-viz - inaudible to those who aren't listening for it. I've had people step straight into my path - sometimes with their backs to me - while I've been ringing my bell. And sometimes it's a choice between ringing and jamming on the brakes hard.

The only really good solution I ever found was to set your block brakes at an angle, so they screeched when you pulled the levers. That made pedestrians jump out of the way sharpish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

Second was going past peamount hospital. Group of lads in a C reg Mondeo must of thought they were gas craic or else they were inquiring about my sexual preferences, really not quit sure. But one shouted f@get out the window whilst they sped past which sounded an awful lot like a question at the same time as being an attempted insult. Either way I blew them a kiss and carried on home..

I'd a taxi driver shout at me again yesterday as i was going over the bridge at the Custom House towards the South Quay. He also did a bleedin' rapid punishment pass to place emphasis on his well informed point (he was directing me to cycle against other people in the contra-flow cycle lane).

I've had multiple occurrences of this now. I'm thinking of doing a leaflet drop to educate these extremely bright individuals on how 'contra-flow' lanes work.

I may also include some rudimentary elocution lessons and basic personal hygiene tips. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Is that a contract flow bike lane? There's sinage as you approach from over the bridge and the new lane is sufficiently wide for each way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Idleater wrote: »
    Is that a contract flow bike lane? There's sinage as you approach from over the bridge and the new lane is sufficiently wide for each way.

Whether it is or it isnt', it isnt a taxi drivers place or business to be roaring at another road user where they should or shouldnt be. That's what these uneducated ballsacks need to get into thick heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Apologies, no issues from me regarding that, I was simply querying something that I perhaps mistakingly cycled on this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Internet Friend

The bus lane on the north quays at custom house is conta-flow so maybe that was the one the taxi driver was referring to. But totally agree with Duckjob, taxi driver had no place telling another road user where they should or shouldn't be in that case.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Idleater wrote: »
    Apologies, no issues from me regarding that, I was simply querying something that I perhaps mistakingly cycled on this morning.

yeh the one going across bridge northbound then after bridge going towards bus aras direction is contraflow

That's the scene of the crime here (i'm in the lane on the right because i'm going to go down by Tara Station).

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.348214,-6.2516133,3a,75y,180.46h,76.39t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sMPxcZPQE0-xd6DOKOd3T3w!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

I don't get the mentality of people who go around shouting abuse at random strangers.

Edit: I come up around this way on the road. That cycle lane is very tight for two (and there's also a massive bike painted in the bus lane). :confused::confused:

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3485353,-6.2515252,3a,75y,295.04h,75.4t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1saHoBLqrz-z33SxqjlkAd8g!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

That's the scene of the crime here (i'm in the lane on the right because i'm going to go down by Tara Station).

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.348214,-6.2516133,3a,75y,180.46h,76.39t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sMPxcZPQE0-xd6DOKOd3T3w!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

I don't get the mentality of people who go around shouting abuse at random strangers.

One way to deal with this pr*ck:
    1521990438414.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

I was skimmed by a Collins Coaches bus this morning outside the Shelbourne hotel as I waited to turn right onto the contra-flow bus lane on St Stephens Green. so, given that we were both waiting for a red light, his skim placed the driver about 6 feet ahead of me while we both waited at the lights. I hit the side of the bus as he passed to get his attention to give me more space, to no avail.

I then proceeded ahead of him on the green light and gestured to him while making eye contact to give me more space - next red light on Stephens green he did exactly the same thing again, this time with me on his left hand side.

noting the below from their website I'm going to give them a shout this evening.
    We have installed GPS tracking and CCTV cameras on board all of our coaches.
    We use the latest technology to monitor the driving style of each of our drivers to ensure you have the smoothest and safest journey possible.

As an established operator, we aim at all times to provide:

Professional & courteous staff
    Safety

• Registered Users Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

CramCycle wrote: »
    One way to deal with this pr*ck:

Ha ha, Ray Bloody Purchase, not sure if that is a wonderful coincidence or comedic genius by you. Did you hear that Clem Fandango!

Hurrache wrote: »
    Ha ha, Ray Bloody Purchase, not sure if that is a wonderful coincidence or comedic genius by you. Did you hear that Clem Fandango!

That taxi driver was a top arsehole.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Saw a taxi driver take out a cyclist outside the four courts on the quays by pulling into a cycle lane on top of them after trying to overtaking them. First reaction the taxi driver had wasn't to see if they were alive but to shout aggressively," I indicated and I'm entitled to pick up a fare" followed by "I saw you in my mirror". Another passing taxi decided to start shouting that I couldn't be trusted as I was "just another cyclist". The cyclist was fine and didn't want to make a scene so just picked himself up. I do despair at the level of humanity some sections of society display.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭Type 17

...Another passing taxi decided to start shouting that I couldn't be trusted as I was "just another cyclist"....

The irony of "just another taxi driver" saying that :pac:

(Some) taxi drivers' attitudes make you wonder whether everyone aged over 18 should be allowed vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Edit: I come up around this way on the road. That cycle lane is very tight for two (and there's also a massive bike painted in the bus lane). :confused::confused:

https://www.google.com/maps/@53.3485353,-6.2515252,3a,75y,295.04h,75.4t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1saHoBLqrz-z33SxqjlkAd8g!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

I cycle over that bridge daily in rush hour and go around via Tara St also so same route. I take the centre left lane (just to the left of the red car in the first link that's straddling both lanes) and generally don't have a problem apart from the appalling road surface right on the corner as you join the south quays. No vehicle will keep with a cyclist anywhere in the city centre in moderate traffic so anyone trying to pass has bigger issues.

Saw a taxi driver take out a cyclist outside the four courts on the quays by pulling into a cycle lane on top of them after trying to overtaking them. First reaction the taxi driver had wasn't to see if they were alive but to shout aggressively," I indicated and I'm entitled to pick up a fare" followed by "I saw you in my mirror". Another passing taxi decided to start shouting that I couldn't be trusted as I was "just another cyclist". The cyclist was fine and didn't want to make a scene so just picked himself up. I do despair at the level of humanity some sections of society display.

Hope you got the reg and taxi plate anyway and reported him. Next cyclist mightn't be as lucky or as willing to let him off so the more reports logged against his plate the more likelihood of action on future incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Christ. I had a close call recently behind the four courts, going straight through a crossroads with a green light, a van came from the left straight through a very red light. I just managed to stop and my shouting gave the driver a fright. He was shook, very apologetic, said he was lost, didn’t know the area and wasn’t concentrating “I can’t beleive it I’m so so sorry” etc. Ok fair enough but it was very close. Next thing some lad on a forklift pulls alongside spouting the usual “he had a green light, you lads are a scourge”. This was after the van driver apologised for not seeing the red light. Cycling away, one of the other fruit market lads says “well you shouldn’t be cycling with headphones in, you won’t hear cars beeping at you”. I despair for humanity :(

Cycling away, one of the other fruit market lads says “well you shouldn’t be cycling with headphones in, you won’t hear cars beeping at you”. I despair for humanity :(

Jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,992 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I had a nice little feel good moment this evening!

I was cycling up towards St James Hospital along the section with the Luas lines so was keeping quite close to the kerb to stay away from the rail. A girl standing on the edge of the footpath, with her back to me, suddenly stuck out her hand to flag down a taxi. I had to make a quick duck to avoid hitting her hand. I heard her shouting an apology after I passed so I raised my hand - no big deal.

A few minutes later a taxi pulled up along side me and the window dropped. It was the girl who was flagging the taxi and she apologised again because she wasn't sure if I heard her first time. The taxi subsequently did a U turn up ahead so it looks like she even went out of her way to make sure I got an apology (for a totally insignificant incident).