Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users Posts: 20,983 ✭✭✭✭Stark

CramCycle wrote: »
    Not a near miss for me and oddly one the Gardai won't listen too as it didn't involve me directly. Coming to a red light and I stop behind the car there. Pedestrian steps out on amber but it turns red as they do. It's a single lane, only a few seconds to clear it. Car rolls forward and brake tests the pedestrian, who jumps and says sorry. Just as they are at the other side of the bumper, Sir Dickface revs his engine and jumps forward before slamming on again. I mean a cm at best was what the pedestrian was away from irreparable knee damage and other injuries.

For what, the 3 second, if even delay, guy got caught at the next lights, in the bus lane. It was a new level of d1ckishness.

What is wrong with people.

My house mate was injured a couple of months ago. Walking across the road at a pedestrian crossing and the light changed before she got to the other side. Dickhead just drove through her. Unfortunately I don't think she got enough of the reg for them to catch the guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,991 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Are you sure? I've reported many incidents of drivers using phones that didn't directly involve me, other than as a witness......
    I presume that because using a mobile phone while driving doesn't involve a specific victim as such whereas the incident above does. Just as if you reported that you witnessed a particular person being assaulted or something similar. The Gardai expect the victim to make the complaint and won't take it from a third party.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,485 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

more interestingly, i saw what could have been an expensive day for a chap driving a BMW who passed me on leopardstown road
    two days in a row (i didn't commute yesterday) - only a few hundred metres from the one above, another near collision. someone in a land rover discovery, with no lights on (it was properly dark) decided to change lanes without indicating and fair put the heart crossways in the motorist behind and to the right - the disco was overtaking me as we passed through the junction with torquay road.
    i should point out that there was no sign of an indicator as he or she passed me - perhaps they had flicked it on briefly before passing.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭p15574

Duckjob wrote: »
    Here's the thing (or things):
    It's very tiresome and tedious that the default response of so many now is to try to derail every single discussion laws on cyclist safety laws as well as every single discussion around cycle infrastructure etc with the same tired old anecdote based crap about the behavior of a certain subset of people seen on bikes.

Every. Single. Time. That there's an online news story about anything helping cyclists - such as this law, or a call for better infrastructure, 90% of the comments are whataboutery about RLJs/hi-viz/2 abreast/road tax etc etc etc ad nauseam. It doesn't help when the Irish Times helps things along by actually printing letter mentioning road tax, like they did today. It just propagates the myth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭tnegun

Spent an hour looking at different routes last night to remove one of the most dangerous sections from my commute. I realized I was just be stubborn by staying with it and could just end up dead and right. Added 5 mins and about a km to my commute but was much less stressful so think I'll be sticking with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭p15574

I find the head cam footage nauseating but not as nauseating as the pig ignorant agression by that prick.
    Straight to the gardai with that video!

Will be interesting to see how many excuses the guards make how they can't prosecute. Re the head cam, I stopped using it because I felt like a d*ck, but I find the handlebar mounted one is much shakier from the vibration - must investigate rubber washers or something. The head cam also has the advantage of seeing what you see, eg drivers on their phones.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

p15574 wrote: »
    Will be interesting to see how many excuses the guards make how they can't prosecute. Re the head cam, I stopped using it because I felt like a d*ck, but I find the handlebar mounted one is much shakier from the vibration - must investigate rubber washers or something. The head cam also has the advantage of seeing what you see, eg drivers on their phones.

Even if they won't go after the driver due to the close pass which breaks the new law, the driver very clearly crossed over the solid white line into oncoming traffic.

Thats just out and out dangerous driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭xckjoo

p15574 wrote: »
    I switched to a mount that clips to the strap of your bag or similar after someone recommended it. Works well. Not much shake. I'll try and dig up the link if you're interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

This morning. I'd a few close passes like this. This one felt rather close though. Maybe i was just being over sensitive because i was fooking drenched.

https://streamable.com/9gidc

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

This morning. I'd a few close passes like this. This one felt rather close though. Maybe i was just being over sensitive because i was fooking drenched.

What gap was between you both? A foot?
    You had no chance were you to avoid an obstacle suddenly.
    Report IMO!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

It's def a close pass and based on their course they planned to do the same to the cyclist in front of you as they are driving in the cycle lane.

Does your video show them close passing the next cyclist as well?

If so def report the driver, not only do you have your close pass but you have evidence of them doing it to the cyclist in front.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Jesus christ no that was bad. I'd be sending that to the gards

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

That's a close pass okay, but the guards will probably come up with some BS that the driver doesn't cross the broken white line - does up ahead though.

Cabaal wrote: »
    It's def a close pass and based on their course they planned to do the same to the cyclist in front of you as they are driving in the cycle lane.

Does your video show them close passing the next cyclist as well?

If so def report the driver, not only do you have your close pass but you have evidence of them doing it to the cyclist in front.

No, it was a lad on an electric scooter actually. There's a set of traffic lights there so the car stopped and the lad on the scooter went through on red.

What's the best way to report it? Via email?

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    That's a close pass okay, but the guards will probably come up with some BS that the driver doesn't cross the broken white line - does up ahead though.
    Surely there are no lazy gardai who try and avoid proceeding with their duties? ;)
    https://twitter.com/righttobikeit/status/1194294778759913475

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

Wainsfort Rd? A saw a cyclist lying on the footpath the other morning along there. Lolly pop lady was saying she thought he broke his arm. It’s a horribly busy stretch in the mornings. The painted lane is a disaster. Cars think because there’s “2” lanes they can squeeze along and it’s grand.

RobbieMD wrote: »
    Wainsfort Rd? A saw a cyclist lying on the footpath the other morning along there. Lolly pop lady was saying she thought he broke his arm. It’s a horribly busy stretch in the mornings. The painted lane is a disaster. Cars think because there’s “2” lanes they can squeeze along and it’s grand.

Yeah, it's not great. There's an awful lot of distracted drivers along there that are impatient and stuck in traffic in their SUVs. They always seem to be in two minds whether to look at their phones or actually drive their cars.

It's the same all the way into town actually. :D

RobbieMD wrote: »
    The painted lane is a disaster. Cars think because there’s “2” lanes they can squeeze along and it’s grand.

Absolutely this the painted lanes should be removed better off having none as that reinforces the idea of sharing the lane

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

tnegun wrote: »
    Absolutely this the painted lanes should be removed better off having none as that reinforces the idea of sharing the lane

There is a very similar issue on the quays by collins barracks. There is simply not enough room to have a cycle lane and bus lane. The buses use the dotted cycle lane to judge how close to pass cyclists. It is a narrow cycle lane that floods very easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Many roads like these in the Netherlands have cycling lanes in both directions and one traffic lane to accommodate both directions of vehicular traffic.

Looks like Roadstone haven't yet found time to to speak with their drivers about driving more carefully around vulnerable road users...

https://twitter.com/eoinos/status/1194688128147238912

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Looks like Roadstone haven't yet found time to to speak with their drivers about driving more carefully around vulnerable road users...

Saw one mill through a stale red light this morning between junction of the Canal and Mount Street Lwr. Then when it reached the junction of Grand Canal Street, it was in the right lane, no indicator on. I waited behind it, and it turned left :mad: Unbelievable behaviour.

Camera was off when I got to work :(

• Registered Users Posts: 880 ✭✭✭mamax

Tell them that the evidence is available online: https://streamable.com/ize1m

That's a very close pass from a car with an "L" plate on it with oncoming traffic :eek:
    Is it you ?
    And did you report it ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,846 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Interestingly, the government (presuming it is the new build around there) could be seen to be potentially liable if they have not taken measures since the last accident. Whiel Roadstone have a duty of care in the workplace, the government (roadstone being contractors) have a legal responsibility under the 2005 SHWW act to risk assess and improve the situation and do all that is reasonably practicable. Interesting to know if they have even made attempts to do so yet.

mamax wrote: »
    That's a very close pass from a car with an "L" plate on it with oncoming traffic :eek:
    Is it you ?
    And did you report it ?
    Not my video - it was posted by Kander.
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=111757106#post111757106

I was responding to someone who mentioned bringing a copy of it on USB to the gardai.

Apologies for the language maybe turn it down :o after a stress free commute this am

a contender for reporting under the new law
    https://streamable.com/uqh4w

queue skipper nearly takes me out
    https://streamable.com/jfp9s

Am really getting disillusioned with cycling to work now :(

Apologies for the language maybe turn it down :o after a stress free commute this am

a contender for reporting under the new law
    https://streamable.com/uqh4w

https://streamable.com/jfp9s

Am really getting disillusioned with cycling to work now :(

I'd be reporting both, especially the q skipper

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Was that car "indicating" right?

The swan neck? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,991 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Aidan Doherty Transport Ltd. - I'm watching you. 2 close passes in as many days in the same area of the R127.

Seemingly the RSA can still be taken by surprise. Do they never wander outside? At all?

https://twitter.com/RSAIreland/status/1195076435196731394