Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

scaryfairy wrote: »
    Hi I'm curious what other tips would you have? I haven't had that bad near misses and i have been commuting into town for last 3 years but I'm thinking it might be just my route (not as bad as others')

I'm lucky with my choice of routes too to be honest, some routes just throw trouble your way. I'd say the biggest thing for me is being predictable to other traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭shootermacg

You always have to allow for numpties. I had some spanner trying to just get his nose ahead of me without indicating left so that he could turn across me at the last instance. I knew he was thinking that, I also knew he wasn't indicating.

With about 5 or 10 meters to go, he just gets his nose in front and flicks on the indicator. I roar at him, just to let him know I would be very displeased with the maneuver. Problem solved, you really have to preempt this type of behavior.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

You always have to allow for numpties. I had some spanner trying to just get his nose ahead of me without indicating left so that he could turn across me at the last instance. I knew he was thinking that, I also knew he wasn't indicating.

With about 5 or 10 meters to go, he just gets his nose in front and flicks on the indicator. I roar at him, just to let him know I would be very displeased with the maneuver. Problem solved, you really have to preempt this type of behavior.