Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭plodder

coward wrote: »
    Gardai called to my house later and were of no use at all. Didn't even want to look at the footage. As soon as I said they were kids under 16 they said there was nothing they could do at all.
    though that's not really true.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/children_and_young_offenders/anti_social_behaviour_by_children.html

http://www.thejournal.ie/asbos-ireland-asbo-criminal-justice-alan-shatter-485523-Jun2012/

I'd be inclined to ask them why not, if that's what they say in this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 MissTiny

I went to bed last night resigned to the thought that this encounter could be the end of cycling in Dublin for me.
    However, I am so glad I posted here. Could cry (with happiness) reading all your encouraging responses. Feeling increasingly better as the day goes on.

It baffles me that cyclists have such a negative reputation when there are incredible people like yourselves leading the way.

I will report back if I get any worthwhile response from the Gardai.
    Thank you all so much, what a sound bunch ye are

• Registered Users Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Chin up...Don't let them get to you! If you can, cycle a different route for a while and avoid that section. You'll soon be back to enjoying your cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

tikkamark wrote: »
    Chin up and avoid that Route in future.....pure scumbags will never change and I bet if you're on that same path again they will do the same again.

They shouldn't be able to own a route. Bring groups through, polite and distant, but cycling through.
    why? you can't do anything with the footage if they are minors, if anything the little scrotes will probably try to knock you off your bike to steal the camera.

Knowing you're on film, and it's there forever, is a disincentive to all kinds of things. I find that drivers behave much more politely when I'm wearing a helmetcam. And if you've a bunch of people going through, not regularly (so it doesn't become a pitched battle site) but irregularly, it's liable to have the effect of breaking that sense of criminal ownership.

It would also be worth asking cycle gardaí to ride along with groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

A close one in Rathcoole village the other day. A driver trying to get out of a parking space on the right hand side decided to just do a turn about in the road once the car coming towards her waved her on, without even looking for any traffic coming the other way (me!).

Luckily I had spotted her wheel being pointed outwards as I approached so was waiting for something to happen.

Sound muted for language reasons, she didn't even say sorry...

https://youtu.be/EFF5gC8yID8

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Chuchote wrote: »
    Knowing you're on film, and it's there forever, is a disincentive to all kinds of things. I find that drivers behave much more politely when I'm wearing a helmetcam.

You'd think that were true (and is for adults) but it proved not to be the case on Thursday evening when I stopped my bike and crossed the road on the Ongar Distribution road where 'little brats' were turfing lumps of broken brick over a wall into the traffic. I told them I had film footage of what the were doing on my bike camera (I didn't). They could not have cared less, in fact, they continued with their bombardment while I stood there trying to reason with them :rolleyes:. It would never have happened in my day... I'm guessing as they were minors they knew full well that nothing would come of it even if I did have evidence. I wouldn't mind but none of the motorists that were being targeted stopped, a few tyre screeches as they avoided the arsnel - don't know what I was thinking coming to the rescue of motorists!!!

@MissTiny what an awful encounter you had! I'm v. glad to hear you're not giving up though, I hope you never experience anything like that again.

Thing is, you don't stop and discuss. You pass it to community leaders and ask them to call the parents in to watch it. This isn't a sign of a hopeful future for their kids.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,524 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

couple of problems there though - one is identifying the community leaders (which in a fairly new community is a nebulous concept anyway), and the second is them identifying the relevant parents, which given the lack of footage is going to be "difficult".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,524 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

It would never have happened in my day...
    still though - rose tinted glasses. **** like this is absolutely nothing new.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

And even if it was the case, it's quite a strange argument to make. Yes, it would never have happened in your day, but it's happening now, and as an adult you have a bigger stake in how today's society is shaped!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

The dot dot dot denotes sarcasm, jeez, I was kidding!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Sundrive garda station, for a start.

Useless donut munchers and stat forgers, or whatever they do there, not really policing (same with all other non cycle related reports). Apparently one needs to ring some emergency number, 999 or something. What I wanted to report was that some little pricks aggressively, threateningly wanted a go on my bike (months ago but relevant to Sundrive Garda station), and one had threatened me with a block when that was a negative, so I told the little pricks to, and then got them to f off. Juvenile delinquents are effectively immune from the law, so involving the Gardai when dealing with little pricks is pointless. They know that so reporting, threatening to report them is a complete waste of time.

Coming down the hill from Howth towards Sutton today and was able to put the palm of my hand firmly on the back panel of a car that passed me, appearing to get closer and closer, only for my roaring. Car stopped, driver all defensive, accusing me of being a nut job etc. Couldn't believe it. Decided to chase it up and caught up to the driver at the Sutton junction, proceeded to take registration, as driver simultaneously took a picture of me and claimed they had already reported me to the Guards...All in an otherwise pleasant day's cycle.

Helmet cam…

Helmet cam…
    Never! But it's certainly a more convincing argument after today. The car had several dents on the front and side too, which doesn't necessarily mean anything, but combined with the reaction from the driver, and their demeanour, could also explain quite a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Had a BMW whizz by me with about 6 inches to spare in Barna of all places yesterday. Of course said BMW had Dublin plates, seems there's no escaping arsehole Dublin drivers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

P_1 wrote: »
    Had a BMW whizz by me with about 6 inches to spare in Barna of all places yesterday. Of course said BMW had Dublin plates, seems there's no escaping arsehole Dublin drivers.

How do you know it was a Dublin person, Dublin is full of boggers who go home to the bog on the weekend.

Chiparus wrote: »
    How do you know it was a Dublin person, Dublin is full of boggers who go home to the bog on the weekend.
    Dublin driver does not automatically imply Dublin person.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Dublin driver does not automatically imply Dublin person.

Yep it could have been an arsehole Galway driver.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

as driver simultaneously took a picture of me and claimed they had already reported me to the Guards...All in an otherwise pleasant day's cycle.

Hopefully such an incident will never happen to you again. If it ever happens to me again though, I really hope I have the where with all (I won't), when they inform me of their report, to turn and say. Hang on a second. I will ring the gardai right now. I will tell them my version of events, you tell them yours and then i will, without edit or change, hand over my footage and you can explain my handprint on your window in the context of the video.We can just sit here and wait for them to turn up. Even better we can both escort each other to the nearest garda station, so we don't waste their time with one of being a complete and utter B*llsh*tter.

Never! But it's certainly a more convincing argument after today. The car had several dents on the front and side too, which doesn't necessarily mean anything, but combined with the reaction from the driver, and their demeanour, could also explain quite a lot.

You can use helmet cams for other things than evidence of society's brutal crimes against you :) I sometimes use it to film nice riverside cycles, or to note a new route for myself.

I use an old version of the Mobius mini-camera https://www.mobius-actioncam.com/ - cheaper and smaller than most. The latest versions of these can be worn on the side of the helmet but still turn the film the right way up. They just stick on with a bit of Velcro. If you are suffering constant close passes you can set it to film behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

CramCycle wrote: »
    Hopefully such an incident will never happen to you again. If it ever happens to me again though, I really hope I have the where with all (I won't), when they inform me of their report, to turn and say. Hang on a second. I will ring the gardai right now. I will tell them my version of events, you tell them yours and then i will, without edit or change, hand over my footage and you can explain my handprint on your window in the context of the video.We can just sit here and wait for them to turn up. Even better we can both escort each other to the nearest garda station, so we don't waste their time with one of being a complete and utter B*llsh*tter.

And then you'll wait an hour and the gardai will refuse to look at the footage, citing "it's a civil matter" :pac:

Danbo! wrote: »
    And then you'll wait an hour and the gardai will refuse to look at the footage, citing "it's a civil matter" :pac:

Someone trying to kill you is a civil matter? Should be start totin' if the Gardaí aren't going to defend us from murder?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Someone trying to kill you is a civil matter? Should be start totin' if the Gardaren't going to defend us from murder?

Someone trying to kill you is a criminal matter but someone in a car trying to kill you is your fault (according to most media in Ireland)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Someone trying to kill you is a civil matter? Should be start totin' if the Gardaí aren't going to defend us from murder?

There was a hint of sarcasm with the :pac: but unfortunately from recent experience, a hint of truth too.

There's a nice mini-study for some linguistic student in the language used for different kinds of 'accidents' and confrontations.

Drivers who scream abuse at lollipop ladies, for example, are 'irate' (= ah sure why wouldn't he be cross) whereas cyclists who near-miss pedestrians are "avid cyclists" "ploughing through" crowds.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

CramCycle wrote: »
    Even better we can both escort each other to the nearest garda station, so we don't waste their time with one of being a complete and utter B*llsh*tter.

This failed for me. I said in similar vein to a taxi driver along the quays to head to the nearest garda station to view his dashcam with audio of him verbally elaborating how "I was looking to get myself killed" as he pulled out from picking up a fare.

"Store Street? Pearse Street?"
    no dice, "the fare was to Brooks hotel".
    "Kevin street so - I can go with you all the way".
    "nah, sure with the traffic I'll be held up for hours" - cue the fare looking :eek:

There's a nice mini-study for some linguistic student in the language used for different kinds of 'accidents' and confrontations.

Drivers who scream abuse at lollipop ladies, for example, are 'irate' (= ah sure why wouldn't he be cross) whereas cyclists who near-miss pedestrians are "avid cyclists" "ploughing through" crowds.

People who shout at lollipop people are scum, pretty sure it is in the dictionary. The people who continue through as lollipop people step out are scummier scum. I see this behaviour on the N11 and on the backroads around Stillorgan, and it is disgusting.

i may have mentioned it before, but i was talking to a chap from dublin fire brigade who has been spat on multiple times by passing motorists, when attending RTCs on the M50, as he is clearly the reason he has been held up.

Reminds me of the time an ambulance asked me to stand further up the road to explain to waiting cars that there was a woman on the road with a potential spinal injury. Well if a member of Irish rail didn't go ballistic, apparently his waiting train was more important than this persons potentially broken spine.