Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork to Dublin on a Moped??...Hell Yeah

• 24-03-2017 7:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭

What a morning for it.
    Aircoach to the rescue,thanks to Bus Eireann going on strike yet again.:pac:

3 hour non stop journey to Cork and some nice views from the bus.

Bought the Burgman off a chap off another bike forum,he was selling it the for sale section.
    A sound fella to chat to,and the moped was exactly as described.

Took me all of 5 seconds to get used to it.Serious poke out of this machine,and heaps of luggage space underneath the seat and the handlebars too.

Over taking cars on the motorway is no problem for this machine.:D

Stopped off at Mitchelstown on the way back and took some nice pic of the snow capped mountains.

Hit M50 N7/M50 traffic at 5pm and heaps of breakdowns and crashes all ovcer the place.

And as you guessed it,the obligatory stop off at the back of Dublin Airport,on the way back to my house.

All in all,a nice trip home from Cork on a nippy moped.:)

20170324_100735_zpsfjnnagd7.jpg

20170324_113051-1_zps3oiwyohu.jpg

20170324_120452_zpsxml7jgcd.jpg

20170324_123717_zps7bgxycib.jpg

20170324_131503_zpsxiaynn5e.jpg

20170324_135147_zps28yth2mi.jpg

20170324_141917-1_zpsogmvqsdj.jpg

20170324_142402-1_zpsmpnlrxln.jpg

20170324_165007-1_zpsw1y0wjgf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Perfect day for it....mountain shots are amazing..you could have said ye were in Canada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Perfect day for it....mountain shots are amazing..you could have said ye were in Canada

Friend of mine said the same thing.:)

Nice day trip to Cork and back,but kinda happy to be home with my feet up and a hot cuppa tea.

Oh and there were 2 toll booths on the way back.M8 and M7 toll booths.1 euro each time.

No toll booths were damaged and no one beeped at me either while I took off my glove to deposit the money into the cashiers hand.:pac::D

Friend of mine said the same thing.:)

Nice day trip to Cork and back,but kinda happy to be home with my feet up and a hot cuppa tea.

Yeah...thats Cork for ye.........:D

I didnt mean it like that.......

Or did I???

:pac::p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

What has you buying a moped? It was a cracking day for the bike alright. Roll on the summer

Ah just to have something different and for zipping around the city and commuter belt.

Seriously comfy yoke,pokey enough and surprised by how much storage space and cubby holes there are.:):)

Gonna stick a bigger Givi Touring screen on her and also modify the back wheel and rotor,makes the acceleration a bit nippier.
    The famous JCosta mod,that makes 0-60 a bit quicker.

Just ordered the screen off Ebay.:)

Ah just to have something different and for zipping around the city and commuter belt.

Seriously comfy yoke,pokey enough and surprised by how much storage space and cubby holes there are.:):)

...for yer make up and purse?....:D:D

have to look fabulous you know...:P:P:D

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭rat_race

Fair play. Want one of these, myself. There's a new 2017 model, reduced storage space. I would buy the model you have.

rat_race wrote: »
    Fair play. Want one of these, myself. There's a new 2017 model, reduced storage space. I would buy the model you have.

I can fit plenty of Lidl and Aldi crap under the seat now....:P:pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've actually been thinking of buying a maxi scooter so I wouldn't mind a rip on it someday.

And agreed with Max, the snow capped mountains make it look like you're away foreign.

Next ~ akro exhaust & carbon fiber the sh*t out of it lol

I've actually been thinking of buying a maxi scooter so I wouldn't mind a rip on it someday.

And agreed with Max, the snow capped mountains make it look like you're away foreign.

Next ~ akro exhaust & carbon fiber the sh*t out of it lol

Yeah...something tasteful like this......you dont to look stoopid tho...:pac:

custumburgman.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,782 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I have one (Aprilia 500) and when it was working, it was fantastic. I really, really need to get my sh4t to together and fix it - was out yesterday marshalling an event at 20-30kph, and good and all as my H-D is, a scooter would have been so much......easier: even met a guy on out on a vintage Lambretta and thought: ooh, good idea.

If the Aprilia doesn't get working soon enough I'm def getting another: but a Jap one, or even Kymco Downtown one, next time (also available with a Kawasaki badge btw.......)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭fdevine

Recommend one of these to boost your storage. Bigger than it looks and should fit your the scooters tunnel nicely.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00IJFNX1G

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Imallrightjack

I've never driven anything like this before but id love one..do you need a licence?top speed?easy to drive for a person thats never driven a bike?roughly what is a decent price for a second hand one?
    If you wouldn't mind answering them thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,128 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I did London to Brighton on a 125cc scooter once. It did an indicated 80mph in a full tuck but after an hour of full throttle it smelled a bit funny.

Then it got nicked, recovered, nicked, recovered and finally nicked again.

What does one wear on a superscooter? ATGATT? That's not cool, but then neither is a face full of road rash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

1 piece race leathers with hump

I have ridden a 125 scooter for my work commute, day in day out, in all weathers for the last seven years or so and I'm generally ATGATT. Only exception is the summer when the motorcycle trousers go to the shed.

Boots, bike jacket, gloves & flip face lid are the minimum as far a I'm concerned. Not bothered how uncool I look.

Lumen wrote: »
    I did London to Brighton on a 125cc scooter once. It did an indicated 80mph in a full tuck but after an hour of full throttle it smelled a bit funny.

Then it got nicked, recovered, nicked, recovered and finally nicked again.

What does one wear on a superscooter? ATGATT? That's not cool, but then neither is a face full of road rash.

Tryin to squeeze every last mile out of it eh??:pac::D

I wore my gear down on the Air Coach and rode back in it.
    A few odd looks on the bus down,but sure feck it anyways.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

You should have done Cork/Dublin in the 60's on a Honda 50, in the dark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

aujopimur wrote: »
    You should have done Cork/Dublin in the 60's on a Honda 50, in the dark.

I done Dublin to Newry & back via Forkhill with various little cc bikes weighted down with crates of beer and porn mags to avoid the customs post at the Newry border back in the 80's lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭mamax

I did over 40,000 Miles in the first year I owned a Suzuki TS80 back in the day so I know what it's like to ride a slow bike with No power at all
    I used to tuck in behind slow traffic to get pulled along ffs dunno how I was not killed :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,782 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I've never driven anything like this before but id love one..do you need a licence?top speed?easy to drive for a person thats never driven a bike?roughly what is a decent price for a second hand one?
    If you wouldn't mind answering them thanks.

Yes, you need a full bike licence.
    Top speed om big ones can be 160 kph.
    Easy, yes, but you'll still need lessons: is not a bicycle, and you can get hurt - you're in the same roadspace as cars, buses, trucks.
    Anything from €1,200 - €12,000.

Smaller than OP's naturally slower/cheaper etc.

A friend bought a Vespa GTS300 a while back and it's bloody quick. Not cheap though: about €4k iirc.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Galwayytt has more or less nailed it on the head right there.

You need a licence and you will have to do IBT for it too.

The chap who sold me that moped had cared for it very well.
    Lots of service work and reciepts from Lee Honda Centre.

I was lucky in that I found a good clean example.
    There some absolute crap heaps out there,so just be carefull what you look for and look at.
    Lots of crash damaged ones for sale too,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Imallrightjack

Thanks to both of you for the reply.
    I would buy new id say if and when i do it but what is IBT?

Thanks to both of you for the reply.
    I would buy new id say if and when i do it but what is IBT?

IBT is Initial Basic Training and it is mandatory

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Learner-Drivers/Motorcyclists/Initial-basic-training-IBT-for-motorcyclists/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,364 ✭✭✭bladespin

That'd be mad craic, looks like you got a good day for it too :cool:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

bladespin wrote: »
    That'd be mad craic, looks like you got a good day for it too :cool:

Twas a bit of craic allright,especially passing the garda car on the M7 motorway.:pac:
    He looked over at me as I went past "slowly"and gave me the "nod".:D