Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Handmaid's Tale - Hulu Original (**Spoilers**)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

She would show a hint of decency here and there, but then always always cancel it out through odious behaviour later.

I wouldn't be going that easy on her. If she's a victim of Fred well then she's doing a weird thing by taking her anger out on other women.

Remember the time she slapped Rita just because she was there.

A weapon of a woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭md23040

Is there any chance that Hulu could spend a bit of money on electricity and provide some light to the set. I have no idea what’s going on with modern dramas like this and Game of Thrones, were chunks are filmed at night in near darkness and you can hardly see anything. Like really what’s the point of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

md23040 wrote: »
    Is there any chance that Hulu could spend a bit of money on electricity and provide some light to the set. I have no idea what’s going on with modern dramas like this and Game of Thrones, were chunks are filmed at night in near darkness and you can hardly see anything. Like really what’s the point of that.
    Atmosphere dahling! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

md23040 wrote: »

I found the scene in the basement almost impossible to see

The horrible bits have now become "whatevs". June getting a lashing to the feet until they bled, an electric cattle prod from Lydia, carrying out the body of a woman who was shot like bringing out a heavy load of washing, and digging the grave alone/burying her... It's just "that's the way it goes here". She's hardening. Not losing compassion but just toughening to her reality. And I guess that does eventually happen. Horrible thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The horrible bits have now become "whatevs". June getting a lashing to the feet until they bled, an electric cattle prod from Lydia, carrying out the body of a woman who was shot like bringing out a heavy load of washing, and digging the grave alone/burying her... It's just "that's the way it goes here". She's hardening. Not losing compassion but just toughening to her reality. And I guess that does eventually happen. Horrible thought.

To be fair - there is some decent black humor included. The episodes last night where June meets her newly appointed handmaid walking companion. June makes a couple of comments which are in context both biting and funny especially the one about the exasperated handmaid shoving her companion under a bus ... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,085 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The shortage of goods in the local store probably means they're all going to starve to death, or resort to Soylent Green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

The lads on the wall will be recycled.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,253 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Anyone else find the series to be getting very heavy handed? Have only watched the season opener so far but the direction seemed very clunky: more focused on giving June these "big moments" than progressing the story?

Is the whole show not heavyhanded?
    Lots of lads on social media now - including After Hours, man they would love that world.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,476 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Is the whole show not heavyhanded?
    Lots of lads on social media now - including After Hours, man they would love that world.

Yeah they really wouldnt.

All Eyes On Rafah

Sleepy wrote: »
    Anyone else find the series to be getting very heavy handed? Have only watched the season opener so far but the direction seemed very clunky: more focused on giving June these "big moments" than progressing the story?

You could be right. But the opening episode seem more optimistic than most of season one & two.

All Eyes On Rafah

Yeah they really wouldnt.
    The mgtow/Return of Kings types? It's their fantasy.

Lack of internet porn, no pubs, forced church.

They'd be starting the revolution.

All Eyes On Rafah

• Registered Users Posts: 60,702 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Man that was some powerful stuff in the kids bedroom.

That's 10 times better than June's story now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Why do I, as a lowly RTE-dependant, always forget to avoid looking at the Wed night posts :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I enjoyed episode 4 very emotional
    I thought Aunt Lydia was gonna have a heart attack after her outburst. I think this might change her for the better, now that her superiors saw her in action like that with the cattle prod yoke

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Walter E GO

Don't know if it's been said before but does the male guards radio chatter grate on the nerves as much as it does me?
    Their jobs seem to just stand there with a gun look menacing and just listen to constant radio garbled messages.
    It's enough to drive you up on the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Don't know if it's been said before but does the male guards radio chatter grate on the nerves as much as it does me?
    Their jobs seem to just stand there with a gun look menacing and just listen to constant radio garbled messages.

Really didn't notice that tbh. I reckon their role is supposed to be threatening and somewhat ambiguous no?

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Walter E GO

gozunda wrote: »
    Really didn't notice that tbh. I reckon their role is supposed to be threatening and somewhat ambiguous no?
    Bet, you'l notice it more now. :D
    Honestly tho, if it were my job, after about two months of it, i'd be making a run for Canada too. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Much better episode this week. I wonder was Aunt Lydia crying for herself or crying out of remorse...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Emily's girlfriend in Canada is that the actress who plays Sofie in Carnivale, the tarot reader.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,711 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Emily's girlfriend in Canada is that the actress who plays Sofie in Carnivale, the tarot reader.

She is also a Selina Meyer lookalike.

Good woman Serena's mam! Sometimes only a mammy's tough love can make you face up to yourself! :pac:

After yet more licking up to Serena by someone she wronged (Rita), I'm glad to see sense.

Still watching, but if I had to say something vague about it now, it might be something like: puffed up with preciousness and portentiousness without much to back it up

ETA: Don't remember seeing the scene with Aunt Lydia tonght - must have come back late after an ad break(?)

Yeah 3 wasn't the greatest episode imo. Although some good bits as always.

Waterford and Lawrence - what absolute pieces of sh1t.

Still watching, but if I had to say something vague about it now, it might be something like: puffed up with preciousness and portentiousness without much to back it up

ETA: Don't remember seeing the scene with Aunt Lydia tonght - must have come back late after an ad break(?)
    It's in episode 4. I haven't seen it either. Not til next week on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I thought it was hilarious when Emily came out of the river and the authorities approached her. She was terrified but we'd already been tipped off that she was in Canada because the garbled voice on the radio chatter was female.

It's in episode 4. I haven't seen it either. Not til next week on RTE.
    Ah, I didn't realise that Episode 4 was released on Wed (12th) and the first 3 on the 5th. It's difficult for non-Hulu viewers to read /participate in this thread without being confused or getting spoilers. Here's a suggestion that probably won't fly, but I'll make it anyway: we could include a title on each post, e.g. "Episode 4" or "Episodes up to 4". (Might help later Channel 4 /re-run /other online source /DVD viewers also)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Are RTE showing a repeat of this season's Handmaid's? Last year, they showed them on Thursday like now and then Friday as a repeat.