Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Gary Gurny

Is the match on tv anywhere or any streams available?

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Take no prisoners

Any news yet regarding the actual team, assuming the one named is a dummy team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,935 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

An ok Waterford crowd here

Nice stadium really puts our places too shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

It's a joke after last days display practically no changes, i honestly think one of our biggest issues is too many lads are comfortable not facing real competition for places, if KK, Tipp, Galway or anyone else played like we did the last day at least 3-4 changes would be made. We had some good under 21 lads last year who haven't been given a chance. They deserve a go i mean they can't play worse then the other lads did against Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,583 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Any news yet regarding the actual team, assuming the one named is a dummy team?

No changes to named team

Edit - stiff enough breeze here today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭redlead

PTH2009 wrote: »
    An ok Waterford crowd here

Nice stadium really puts our places too shame

It's a grand ground by GAA standards alright. To be fair a slurry pit with rugby posts either end of it would be better than our two kips. Walsh park must be the first ground in history to look worse after a revamp than before it. I thought they'd atleast throw a bit of concrete on the grass terrace.

Hopefully they gets things going again today. Playing a one or two man full forward line against a team like Offaly could be embarrassing. We should be beating them out the gate.

Waterford won the toss and will play with the wind in first half

We're playing terrible

• Registered Users Posts: 12 tomm123

If Offaly beat us which looks possible at the moment I will streak from the train station up to DLS's pitch to laugh at McGrath and all the Pro Derek supports haha

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Stev88

tomm123 wrote: »
    If Offaly beat us which looks possible at the moment I will streak from the train station up to DLS's pitch to laugh at McGrath and all the Pro Derek supports haha

You must be tough on the eyes, they have well and truly woken up since that post

Shaky start but have really clicked into gear since about 20th minute some lovely points being taken. 1-18 to 0-8 HT

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭IanVW

Were back..

This is a terrible game of hurling, Offaly players going down every few mins.

If we're too win we need to change our approach completely but we know it's not going to happen and the same team is going to be named.

If we draw Tipp were going to be destroyed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

tomm123 wrote: »

This sums it up to me though. That you would actually take pleasure in what would be our worst defeat since Kerry in 93 just because you have issues with the manager is really sickening.

Of course, that is not what is unfolding as we knew this would not be much of a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Deisedozzer

First 20 mins here was absolutely brainless stuff, as bad as I've ever seen, blasting high balls to a two man full forward line against 5 defenders. Thankfully players eventually realised where spaces were with Offaly effectively playing with two extra backs and have started working the ball far better from midfield resulting in some great scores. Gleeson going very well at centre forward and Barron has clipped over a couple of nice points. Hopefully we can empty bench a bit second half and put up a big score.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭SW1985

Playing some nice stuff. Offaly v poor.

Getting in top now

Dillion, Dunford and Daniels on for Maurice, brick and Moran

Tommy Ryan for Bennett just now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,184 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Getting in top now

Dillion, Dunford and Daniels on for Maurice, brick and Moran

Tommy Ryan for Bennett just now

We were 18 points up when you posted this :D

I'd say you wear wet gear on a hot day!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Good score line posted. Job done. We'll see how good we really are next week.

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    Good score line posted. Job done. We'll see how good we really are next week.

Good win and next sat will be a true reflection of were we are

Was very worried for the first 20 mins, we made a lot of mistakes and playing terrible

Sadly I think the brick is nearing the end but he has been an unreal servant.

Surly 1-35 is the highest we ever scored in the championship

• Registered Users Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Does the home/away system work the same for Monday's draw?

Yeapppp

Deiseen wrote: »
    Does the home/away system work the same for Monday's draw?

No it's in a neutral ground so prob Thurles or Nowlan Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ForestFire

If it is, it may not last too long with tipp up next.

Hopefully westmeath can make a better go of it.

Despite the heavy loss I think these games are needed for the weaker counties, as it gives them realistic targets to aim for. No point winning against each other if it is not progressing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭SW1985

Good win and next sat will be a true reflection of were we are

Was very worried for the first 20 mins, we made a lot of mistakes and playing terrible

Sadly I think the brick is nearing the end but he has been an unreal servant.

It's a championship record. Highest number of points (over the bar) scored by a team

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

Waterford 1-35 Offaly 0-14

This game ended up being dreadfully one-sided but this outcome did not look likely after 15 minutes, with Waterford playing listless and clueless hurling which was generating a lot of anger among the Déise supporters who made up the majority of the official attendance of 4,159. Offaly, by contrast, were working very hard, supporting each other and producing some good passing movements. Despite playing against the stiff wind, they were 0-5 to 0-4 ahead and we were all wondering why, with Waterford playing with the wind, against opposition of this quality who had two forwards playing deep in defence, Tadhg de Búrca was playing as a sweeper just in front of his own full back.

The cluelessness of the Waterford approach was reflected in Offaly’s puckout strategy, in which their goalkeeper repeatedly sent a short puckout to his left corner back who then played a ball infield to the Offaly No. 12, standing all alone 40 metres from his own goal, who had all the time in the world to play the ball out of defence. No one on the field had the wit to close down this simple ploy and no one on the sideline was doing anything about it either.

However, a series of Offaly defensive errors gave Waterford the openings to knock over a series of points and they moved on from there to completely take over the game. They upped their work rate while their far superior strength and conditioning gave them a major advantage in the physical exchanges. Austin Gleeson hit a goal chance straight at the goalkeeper but when a long ball in broke nicely for Shane Bennett in the 31st minute he finished expertly from close range. Despite eight wides, Waterford went in at half time ahead by 1-18 to 0-8 and the game was effectively over.

The second half was a cake walk for Waterford, as they dominated all over the field and, with plenty of space and time, played a lot of nice hurling, although it all had the feel of a training session. Offaly kept plugging away, but seven mostly bad second half wides did not help their cause.

Waterford brought on Stephen Daniels for Kevin Moran, with Darragh Fives moving to midfield (where he was mostly operating anyway), while up front Jake Dillon, Colin Dunford, Tommy Ryan and Patrick Curran replaced Maurice Shanahan, Brick Walsh, Pauric Mahony and Shane Bennett, with all the replacements getting on the score board. The injection of pace which these changes brought about was very noticeable and raises issues about the lack of pace in the starting line-up. At the death, Austin Gleeson was denied what would have been a brilliant goal by a magnificent save by Offaly goalie James Dempsey. Earlier, Dempsey had produced a good stop from Shane Bennett’s first-time pull following a good passing movement.

Ultimately, this game had little value in terms of preparation for the next qualifying game. Thirteen different players scored for Waterford, and we nearly had the experience of seeing what I am sure would have been Noel Connors’s first championship score when he found himself deep in the Offaly half late in the game but was fouled as he was about to pull the trigger.

Austin Gleeson saw a lot of ball and helped himself to six points from play, although he also produced some of the usual Hail Mary efforts. Pauric Mahony got his free-taking mojo back, putting over eight placed balls as well as three from play. However, I reckon Tadhg de Búrca was Waterford’s star player, repeatedly winning possession in defence and driving forward frequently in the second half to good effect. Darragh Fives also did very well, and it was great to see this lovely hurler completing a full 70 minutes. Patrick Curran looked sharp when he came on as a late substitute.

Waterford: Stephen O’Keeffe; Shane Fives; Barry Coughlan; Noel Connors; Darragh Fives (0-2); Tadhg de Búrca (0-1); Philip Mahony; Jamie Barron (0-2); Conor Gleeson; Kevin Moran (0-2); Paurice Mahony (0-11, 8 frees); Austin Gleeson (0-6); Michael Walsh (0-1); Shane Bennett (1-0); Maurice Shanahan (0-2).

Subs: Stephen Daniels; Jake Dillon (0-1); Colin Dunford (0-2); Tommy Ryan (0-1); Patrick Curran (0-4, 0-3 frees).

Watching the KK game and seeing the Tipp result...our position doesn't look too bad after the last couple of weeks?

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Why did we play a sweeper with the wind? Why didn't we push up on puckouts hit into the wind that couldn't go long? Why are we incapable of changing a plan based on what's happening in real time?

Fair play to Skully and Westmeath, gave a great showing for 50 odd minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭Mulbert

Ropaire wrote:
    Why are we incapable of changing a plan based on what's happening in real time?[/quote

But we did change the plan "in real time", what is real time anyway? Is this a metaphysical question Roparie? You surprise me sometimes!

Mulbert wrote: »
    Ropaire wrote:
    Why are we incapable of changing a plan based on what's happening in real time?[/quote

But we did change the plan "in real time", what is real time anyway? Is this a metaphysical question Roparie? You surprise me sometimes!

How so? We started with a sweeper against Offaly for **** sake. And we left a 2 man full forward line in there with the wind, not for the first time. The whole approach smacked of fear and management only made changes when they were sure of the win. As usual we learned nothing and played to a system that shows we fear practically everyone, including Offaly.

The end sometimes justifies the means. Maybe the players figured things out for themselves?

Roparie?

Apart from a slow start overall a good day today. Granted the opposition was poor but you can only beat what's in front of you. It was particularly encouraging we didn't let up and continued to drive the scores home. Some really cracking scores too. A lot of positives performance wise but tdb, Connors, the 2 fives, paudie Mahony, Bennett and Barron stood out from the starters. Thought that dunford, Dillon and curran did especially well from the subs we carried a lot more pace threat in the last 20 mins.

Worrying signs are a slow start again, will cost us big time later if not addressed. Lack of pace in the starting 15...Kevin Moran, brick and Maurice especially. Only the one goal, hard to crib too much here given the number of scores and the 2 outstanding saves which stopped certain goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

KevIRL wrote: »
    Apart from a slow start overall a good day today. Granted the opposition was poor but you can only beat what's in front of you. It was particularly encouraging we didn't let up and continued to drive the scores home. Some really cracking scores too. A lot of positives performance wise but tdb, Connors, the 2 fives, paudie Mahony, Bennett and Barron stood out from the starters. Thought that dunford, Dillon and curran did especially well from the subs we carried a lot more pace threat in the last 20 mins.

Worrying signs are a slow start again, will cost us big time later if not addressed. Lack of pace in the starting 15...Kevin Moran, brick and Maurice especially. Only the one goal, hard to crib too much here given the number of scores and the 2 outstanding saves which stopped certain goals.

Can't you see us turning over kk or tipp on that performance or tactics??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Can't you see us turning over kk or tipp on that performance or tactics??

Did you see either of those teams performances, neither are exactly setting the world on fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

While some will complain about the system, the slow start and what subs were brough on for who etc, this was a decent response from the lads today. Our highest ever championship points tally, and 13 different lads on the scoresheet. Yes the opposition was poor but plenty of positives. Tipp only barely got over the line vWestmeath, kk found a way to win as usual, but make no bones about it, that are no great shakes bar maybe Tj, hogan and the fennellys. We are nicely prized for a go at either next weekend. No injury concerns an Bennett back. Today was the perfect tonic after the Cork game really

The end sometimes justifies the means. Maybe the players figured things out for themselves?

Roparie?

It would be a lot easier for the players to figure it out if they were given a decent game plan that makes sense for the conditions, the opposition and made use of their strengths.

At least this was a decent rehearsal for the inevitable setup and starting team we'll send out next Saturday. If we get another slow start and have to chase the game we also know that we have pacy subs who could make a difference. Shane they haven't a snowball's chance in hell of getting on though

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    While some will complain about the system, the slow start and what subs were brough on for who etc, this was a decent response from the lads today. Our highest ever championship points tally, and 13 different lads on the scoresheet. Yes the opposition was poor but plenty of positives. Tipp only barely got over the line vWestmeath, kk found a way to win as usual, but make no bones about it, that are no great shakes bar maybe Tj, hogan and the fennellys. We are nicely prized for a go at either next weekend. No injury concerns an Bennett back. Today was the perfect tonic after the Cork game really

Two of the four KK players named were beyond useless tonight.

danganabu wrote: »
    Two of the four KK players named were beyond useless tonight.

All 4 have consistently produced it for the big games so I wouldn't go there. We can't say that about too many of our superstars....

Ropaire wrote: »
    It would be a lot easier for the players to figure it out if they were given a decent game plan that makes sense for the conditions, the opposition and made use of their strengths.

At least this was a decent rehearsal for the inevitable setup and starting team we'll send out next Saturday. If we get another slow start and have to chase the game we also know that we have pacy subs who could make a difference. Shane they haven't a snowball's chance in hell of getting on though

So if you were an inter county manager you would change your entire game plan and approach for a game that you are 100% going to win, knowing that you will have to revert back the following week? That would make zero sense.

Gavlor wrote: »
    All 4 have consistently produced it for the big games so I wouldn't go there. We can't say that about too many of our superstars....

When did Colin Fennelly ever produce anything consistently???

Richie can barely walk and was substituted after been held scoreless for the second game in a row.

Past glories are clouding peoples views.

Richie can barely walk and was substituted after been held scoreless for the second game in a row.

They're beatable but I wouldn't dismiss them like that. If Waterford had 1/5 of their winning mentality we'd probably have won a Liam McCarthy over the past 20 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Agreed, Colin Fennelly main man the last day and didn't hurl a ball in anger today. Still dangerous though, Richie Hogan has been completely off form all year.

Gavlor wrote: »
    They're beatable but I wouldn't dismiss them like that. If Waterford had 1/5 of their winning mentality we'd probably have won a Liam McCarthy over the past 20 years

Ah I'm not dismissing them to be honest just was surprised at the 4 players that were named, Buckley, Eoin Murphy and Padraig Walsh are far more valuable players than Colin and Richie on current form.

There would also have to be a huge concern over Mick Fennelly playing two hard championship games in 7 days with his history.

Ropaire wrote:

Is that not what happened tonight Ropaire

I'm not an apologist for anyone but when u and ur buddy culbaire(rip) and his cousins contrive to turn everything toward disasters, even a record win, I just question ur agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭fuinneamh

Allowing for the fact that this was Offaly and the interpretation of a tackle by the referee meant a game lacking in physicality, there were some very positive aspects to this game.
    • Shooting was much improved from the last day
    • After 15 minutes we adapted to the refs interpretation of a foul and stopped conceding silly frees
    • A great willingness to work the ball up the field from defence and use the overlapping runner.
    • Some great cameos from substitutions
    • Aussie being right in the thick of the game

The second half is far more insightful into the tactical approach WF will take into the future and against the wind we played with a two man full forward line. For the 3rd quarter we started with Maurice and Brick and while I love the lads, they have no business chasing fast balls into the corner. They simply don't have the mobility, pace and in Bricks case touch for it. While admittedly it was against a tired team, it was a joy to see Dunford, Dillon and Curran bring an injection of pace into the full forward line in the final quarter. Unless there are 3 full forwards,there is not going to be a place for Maurice or Brick in this team.

Unfortunately there are still some negatives
    • 1-9 places are under no threat what so ever. Daniels came on for Moran as Moran was injured
    • Our touch looked very bad and some of the handpassing/short brick flicks would get a lad killed against a serious team.
    • For all the talk of the professionalism of the set up, SOK's warm up was casual at best. He was pucking the ball out to Iggy, who'd then do a bit of show boating, who'd then puck a ball back that would barely reach SOK. Having watched Anthony Nash's warm up the last day, you'd say SOK was a junior B keeper in comparison. All Ireland winners have standards regardless of who they play and it didn't look the standard of an All Ireland champion. This is by far the most worrying thing I took out of Tullamore today.

Still the trend is up and if we keep improving at this rate, it will take a serious team to beat us!

Is that not what happened tonight Ropaire

I'm not an apologist for anyone but when u and ur buddy culbaire(rip) and his cousins contrive to turn everything toward disasters, even a record win, I just question ur agenda.

For me it wasn't, no. Let's be honest, Offaly were very poor and they've been shipping big scores for a while now. Next weekend will tell us where we're at.

Ropaire wrote:
    For me it wasn't, no. Let's be honest, Offaly were very poor and they've been shipping big scores for a while now. Next weekend will tell us where we're at.

Roparie, I'd never question a persons honesty, Offaly are at poor ebb nowadays but they are a more successful hurling/football county than Waterford.

How much should Waterford beat Offaly by on a given year?

so its either Dublin, Kilkenny or Tipperary next saturday in a neutral venue (if Dublin or Tipp Nowlan Park, If Kilkenny prob Thurles, prob no chance of a double header anywhere with both Tipp and Kilkenny in the draw)

Kilkenny or Tipp won today but performances were below par with Dublin beating Laois Well. Its going to be hard whoever we get in the draw on Monday morning, we have to work on the negative aspects of today but it might be hard to get over them in the space of a week. A bad start next week and we could be done as all those 3 teams are miles ahead of Offaly. Expect the same 15 to be named for the game but id drop Brick and Maurice and put in Curren and Stephen Bennett, Move Aussie with Darragh Fives and Let Curren take the frees

Knocking out Tipp or Kilkenny would be sweet as anything but its not going to be easy, Dublin will not be easy either

Yes.

Roparie, I'd never question a persons honesty, Offaly are at poor ebb nowadays but they are a more successful hurling/football county than Waterford.

How much should Waterford beat Offaly by on a given year?

Who cares, the only goal here is the All Ireland. We haven't really changed anything since 2015 and while we can beat anyone on our day if all goes well I always think we aren't making full use of the players we have with this "system".

We have no plan B even though we have the players to develop one, we have no competition for places despite having one of the deepest squads we've ever had and we have no tactical nous to switch things up during a game when a team gets on top of us because we're slaves to that system. Its been drilled into the players to the point that they can't play any other way now.

Cork played us off the field with arguably an inferior team, instead of trying to take control of the game McGrath sat in the dugout twiddling his thumbs with no clue what to do while Corks management team of 5 outsmarted him.

If we get a run at Tipp or Kilkenny next Saturday we have a great chance of beating them, but you can be sure they'll have a plan up their sleeves for how to play us while you could also probably name our starting 15 and how we'll set up now, regardless of the problems they have.