Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

That's not true though. We've mostly got tickets behind the Waterford dugout in Thurles through tickets.ie or close to it over the last few years including this year against Cork.
    And where will you get your tickets if ye get to the final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭lukin

I tried to buy tickets for the Wexford v Waterford game now on http://www.gaa.ie/tickets/ but it only has Blackrock and City end terrace tickets available. What's up with that? Are all the stand tickets sold already?
    Edit: sorry I looked back through the thread now; explained for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,120 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Good enough crowd here

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭SW1985

Couple points down after playing into what looks like a fairly strong breeze. Should have every chance of progressing here. Had a couple of very needless wides/dropped short from close range.

Anyone have any info on Pauric's injury from the weekend? Derek said he couldn't walk and was on crutches. Anyone know if it's serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

No penalty there lads, he caught it 3 times before he was fouled.

Stunned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Sickening ain't the word terrible to go out like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Deisedozzer

A great game for neutrals, I thought we deserved to win overall and it's a terrible blow. Never a penalty, foul was clearly outside the square and Cork player caught the ball three times. Ref had a good game throughout but spoiled it by failing to spot this. Gutted for the lads but some really good displays from Prunty, Roche, Patrick Curran and Shane Bennett. Fitzgibbon outstanding for Cork before his red which I thought looked a bit harsh, their free taker was phenomenal.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Limerick will that final In a canter , they would also have beaten us . Some good Waterford performances but some players were anonymous. One in particular hardly touched the ball . Thought our defence was way too loose with marking especially in the first half

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Moggy13

A great game for neutrals, I thought we deserved to win overall and it's a terrible blow. Never a penalty, foul was clearly outside the square and Cork player caught the ball three times. Ref had a good game throughout but spoiled it by failing to spot this. Gutted for the lads but some really good displays from Prunty, Roche, Patrick Curran and Shane Bennett. Fitzgibbon outstanding for Cork before his red which I thought looked a bit harsh, their free taker was phenomenal.

Totally got penalty decision wrong and thought ref was inconsistent at best

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Disaster, Cork were probably the better team overall but Jesus what a way to lose it

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Moggy13

Limerick will that final In a canter , they would also have beaten us . Some good Waterford performances but some players were anonymous. One in particular hardly touched the ball . Thought our defence was way too loose with marking especially in the first half

It was obvious from the start that Dalton was running amok but little was done to counteract his influence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭webels

Commiserations to Waterford a awful sickening way to lose it. But he didn't catch it three times. Watched it back picked the ball quick touch to the hurl and fowled outside and in the square. Only thing questionable was steps. Cork were lucky but it seems to be that kinda year so far. Nothing won wet though. Dalton was immense all game for sure and an un stoppable nearly to the side netting

Waiting for the barrage of attacks on Sean Power. That's how it works on here isn't it??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,025 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Poor decision for the penalty but ye should should never have let Cork run so freely at the goal when it was the last possession and they needed a goal.

Great finish for a neutral but terrible way to lose a game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

The ball was dead for 80 seconds for the red card and nearly same again for the penalty...
    should have definitely been at least one more passage of play allowed.

How did Nolan manage to hit the free to a totally unmarked Cork player though... :confused:

As gutting as it is now it could of been worse if we had lost last Saturday night

Feel sorry for the players sick way too lose the game and titles, thought we had it after we got the goal but not too be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Mulbert

The ref was dreadful throughout. Bennett was consistently targeted and got little protection from the officials.

There should have been 2 mins time after the dubiously awarded peno was scored. About 10 secs played.

Sick by that defeat but by jaysus when a ref ****s it up monumentally it would drive ye mental.

Best of luck to Cork in the final.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

Been watching defeats like that for years.......could see it from a mile out. Waterford teams just dont know how to close out games.Could have been a carbon copy in Thurles last week. Nothing to do with refs.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

It really is baffling how we continually snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. Harsh on the lads as there were some very solid performances.
    Don't have much complaints about the pen really, shouldn't have been left run in that far. Ref wasn't great for most of the game either side... Lucky we get him for the match against wexford to atone!!

webels wrote: »
    Commiserations to Waterford a awful sickening way to lose it. But he didn't catch it three times. Watched it back picked the ball quick touch to the hurl and fowled outside and in the square. Only thing questionable was steps. Cork were lucky but it seems to be that kinda year so far. Nothing won wet though. Dalton was immense all game for sure and an un stoppable nearly to the side netting

Dalton's free taking into the wind was as good as I've ever seen, had no problem with distance.

Would expect Cork to improve in final, Kingston and Coleman were quiet and bound to improve and Meade will add a bit more pace and energy if fit. That said, this Limerick team were exceptional at minor and should have won the All Ireland that year and they will be favourites without doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Sickened at the way we lost that. Thought the ref was very poor tonight, as if the dodgy penalty wasnt bad enough he then didnt allow any time for the minute or so Nolan was injured. Really poor stuff.

But we were in a winning position and managed to throw it away again. Very naive in injury time time to hit the free straight to an unmarked Cork defender and then to allow Cork to run all the way to our goal. And we paid a heavy price for that.

Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran were class but some passengers on this team unfortunately who contributed little, we were probably spoilt last year with such a quality team.

I have to say I was hugely impressed with the Cork centre forward, Dalton I think. Fantastic striking, sideline cuts over the bar, frees from distance into the wind. Class act.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

We have same ref for quarter-final :-(

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Take no prisoners

That was a sickening loss. Fair play to Cork for sticking the pen but like many here, I thought the ref should have at least played another 15/20 seconds from the puck out. Very naieve of us to be so open when protecting a 2 point lead and only a minute or so to go. Did anyone else spot that the cork number 21 (possibly 20) threw the ball in the final pass for Cork's other goal. Roche and Bennett were excellent and Curran and Prunty played well. All our eggs are now in the one punnet against the strawberries on Sunday week.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭spideyman92

Watched back the end of the game when I got home and have to say that that Darragh Fitzgibbon lad for Cork that got sent off really shouldn't have been. Billy Nolan went down fairly easily.

Penalty shouldn't have been a been though. Darragh Lyons fouled the man yea but outside the box first.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

What a way to lose it. Agree with all the above comments in relation to the ref and all players on both sides mentioned. Colm Roche hit some fantastic scores throughout the game but Conor Prunty's retaliation in the first half proved very costly in the end. He had worked hard for a free about 20 yards out and gave it away by causing the insuing melee. Little mistakes cost us but it was refreshing to see both sides having a go even with playing with an extra defender against the strong wind. Commiserations to the players and the management they have served us well over the past few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭ovalu

Nothing to with tonight's display but a good time to mention it, I don't understand why Colm Roche isn't pushing for a starting place on the senior team, I believe he's not even on the panel, It does make me question Derek's judgement. Ability to score easily off either side from any distance is invaluable in hurling, with the height of respect to Brick, Jake Dillon, Brian O Halloran etc all great lads in fairness, I doubt they'd have scored 5 points from play between them in tonights match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Was embarrassing to hear the abuse Hurled at the ref after the match. Shameful that he should require a garda escort to the dressing room.

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Was Cormac Curran injured? Taking him off was a crazy decision if not. As another poster said we had a few players who haven't pushed on since minor that should have been taken off but Cormac Curran was winning ball and had two points scored. We struggled to retain ball without him. In my view that decision rather than the penalty cost us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭skaface

Mulbert wrote: »
    The ref was dreadful throughout. Bennett was consistently targeted and got little protection from the officials.

There should have been 2 mins time after the dubiously awarded peno was scored. About 10 secs played.

Sick by that defeat but by jaysus when a ref ****s it up monumentally it would drive ye mental.

Best of luck to Cork in the final.

He's Reffing our game against Wexford 😬😬

Was Cormac Curran injured? Taking him off was a crazy decision if not. As another poster said we had a few players who haven't pushed on since minor that should have been taken off but Cormac Curran was winning ball and had two points scored. We struggled to retain ball without him. In my view that decision rather than the penalty cost us.

100% on Cormac Curran, the ref gave us a few soft frees, sent off their best player harshly, penalty seemed legit to me, no complaints there

• Registered Users Posts: 12 tomm123

ovalu wrote: »
    100% on Cormac Curran, the ref gave us a few soft frees, sent off their best player harshly, penalty seemed legit to me, no complaints there

Madness taking Cormac off, he should have been full forward for the whole second half with that wind. Nolan would have put every puck out in on top of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Was embarrassing to hear the abuse Hurled at the ref after the match. Shameful that he should require a garda escort to the dressing room.
    skaface wrote: »
    He's Reffing our game against Wexford ����

Well that's not a great combination....:eek:

skaface wrote: »
    He's Reffing our game against Wexford ����

hopefully the abuse he recieved tonight wont have a barring on the that game sunday week (que Davy ringing him too say how sorry he was too hear the abuse he recieved by our fans).

Dont knw if this is true or not
    https://twitter.com/JohnFogartyIrl/status/885581810406760450?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sportsjoe.ie%2Fgaa%2Fwaterford-v-cork-u-21-referee-causing-serious-problems-outside-ground-130164

I want too thank the under 21s for giving us some great nights and memories in 2016, The joy in Walsh Park and Thurles after winning the Munster/All Ireland titles was brillent and the great scenes at the homecomings the day after.

The Under 21 teams of 2014-2017 featured players from quality minor teams (once of which won the All Ireland in 2013, beaten in All Ireland semi finals 2011/2014). Its hard too see us doing anything in the under 21 grade for the next few years as the minor teams from 2015-2017 were not that strong and didnt get go very far. With the minor grade going too under 17 next year and our Under 17s this year getting too the Munster Under 17 final (beaten by Cork) we hopefully might see a some good performances from this crop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

tomm123 wrote: »
    Colm Roche & Michael Harney were cut from the senior panel earlier in the year. Says a lot about McGraths judgement giving Roches performance tonight and Harney's performances for us last year making the under 21 team of the year.

In my opinion Conor Gleason was summed up tonight, his man scored 1-12 I know not all from play but surely to Christ Roche should be given a chance midfield with Jamie Barron!

He scored 0-2 points from play and Gleeson switched between center and full back, that is a seriously disingenuous post. Were Shane Kingston and Mark Coleman "summed up" for you tonight as well?

Roche is a good hurler, but one good game in an under 21 game is not a basis for anyone being lumped in as a starter for the Senior team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

I taught the ref started badly for us but by the end of match had balanced things out. The only complaint I'd have is where did the 5 minutes additional time come from in the 2nd half.

tomm123 wrote: »
    In my opinion Conor Gleason was summed up tonight, his man scored 1-12 I know not all from play but surely to Christ Roche should be given a chance midfield with Jamie Barron!

Conor Gleeson has been used as a makeshift defender by the u21s last two years as we don't seem to have any other full back options. He's also being played out of position in the senior setup, anyone who has seen Conor play from a young age knows he should be in the forwards. It's a bit ridiculous to be writing off a 21 year old when he is constantly played out of position and then suggesting that Colm Roche, who hasn't played a minute at senior level, should be starting. Colm's time will come with more displays like tonight's.

Roche is a good hurler, but one good game in an under 21 game is not a basis for anyone being lumped in as a starter for the Senior team.

"One good game"!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Gut-wrenching result but cant have any excuses this year. We have a history of underachieving at this grade and last year was definitely an outlier people were saying we had so much talent we simply couldn't beat ourselves. But credit to the lads and management team for having a proper go again. The best players were there on the field imo and everyone had a cut and that's worth a lot. Unfortunately we came up just a bit short, some games are decided on fine margins and this was one. Fair play to Cork they are on a high at the moment after last weekend and best of luck in the final. They will cause Limerick problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Gut-wrenching result but cant have any excuses this year. We have a history of underachieving at this grade and last year was definitely an outlier people were saying we had so much talent we simply couldn't beat ourselves. But credit to the lads and management team for having a proper go again. The best players were there on the field imo and everyone had a cut and that's worth a lot. Unfortunately we came up just a bit short, some games are decided on fine margins and this was one. Fair play to Cork they are on a high at the moment after last weekend and best of luck in the final. They will cause Limerick problems.

https://www.facebook.com/events/457706421268694/?ti=cl

Very good idea too expose the new development but a little excessive imo for with is only a QF

We saw the videos last weekend of people dressed in flags/colours outside the reg why can't people travel too the game if they have so much interest ???. We're going too be outnumbered by a loud passionate Wexford crowd next weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Fred C Dobbs

Sure it's only the Vauxhall Conference after all.
    Cork are a good side and they had some bad wides too but Jesus, we let that one slip away. 
    Agree with earlier comment re 5 minutes of extra time and where that came from ; most refs would have allowed another passage of play after the penalty was scored but only ourselves to blame for being in that position.  Some really good performances (Roche, Bennett, Prunty, Ptk. Curran at times ; the other Curran should have been left on the field) and passages of play but also a lot of clueless passing and very loose play to go with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭deiseman17

On the call for the penalty the Cork player caught the ball 3 times before the ref blew his whistle how did anyone not notice this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭914

PTH2009 wrote: »

Very good idea too expose the new development but a little excessive imo for with is only a QF

We saw the videos last weekend of people dressed in flags/colours outside the reg why can't people travel too the game if they have so much interest ???. We're going too be outnumbered by a loud passionate Wexford crowd next weekend

Can be a number of reasons people don't travel. Some could have been working up to 6pm, cost of attended, petrol/tickets/food and some just like drinking while watching it on telly.

I think the applemarket idea is fantastic, I attend pretty much every game myself but wouldn't knock supporters staying local and supporting the team.

Wouldn't be too worried about being out numbered, we'll bring a big crowd.

As for the u21's bitterly disappointing, the fact the caught the sliotar three times, was fouled outside the box is annoying.

That said we had two wasteful wides before the goal which could have put the game beyond reach.

Just off topic a little it's hard to see how Walsh Park is getting any nearer to hosting home fixtures for the new championship format.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭Deiseen

914 wrote: »
    PTH2009 wrote: »

Very good idea too expose the new development  but a little excessive imo for with is only a QF

Can be a number of reasons people don't travel. Some could have been working up to 6pm, cost of attended, petrol/tickets/food and some just like drinking while watching it on telly.

I think the applemarket idea is fantastic, I attend pretty much every game myself but wouldn't knock supporters staying local and supporting the team.

Wouldn't be too worried about being out numbered, we'll bring a big crowd.

As for the u21's bitterly disappointing, the fact the caught the sliotar three times, was fouled outside the box is annoying.

That said we had two wasteful wides before the goal which could have put the game beyond reach.

Just off topic a little it's hard to see how Walsh Park is getting any nearer to hosting home fixtures for the new championship format.
    He got fouled outside the box, but he also got fouled inside the box....
    Definitely caught the sliotar three times though and it was 100% a throw in the build up to the goal. Lads how can there have been 5 minutes of added time? Was anyone on the ground for a period of time with an injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭914

Deiseen wrote: »
    Definitely caught the sliotar three times though and it was 100% a throw in the build up to the goal. Lads how can there have been 5 minutes of added time? Was anyone on the ground for a period of time with an injury?

No long injuries that I remember, plenty of substitutions but I would have said 3minutes 4max injury time.

Also the fact the foul/penalty took 40 - 60 seconds and he blew once the puckout was taken is also a head scratcher. A referee in the GAA world who doesn't play for a draw, that is bloody rare!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭Deiseen

914 wrote: »
    Deiseen wrote: »

No long injuries that I remember, plenty of substitutions but I would have said 3minutes 4max injury time.

Also the fact the foul/penalty took 40 - 60 seconds and he blew once the puckout was taken is also a head scratcher. A referee in the GAA world who doesn't play for a draw, that is bloody rare!
    Not when the almighty Cork are on a roll and they have a shiny new Stadium to pay for.