Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Championship 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭martin.mcevoy

According to Irish Road Champs the 3 out front are Brammier, Feeley and Lacey

• Registered Users Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Pulled over the women's race so the men could pass.

That's a disgrace

Why's that a disgrace? I guess they didn't have much choice in this.

The men are doing a 48km/h average .. mad. Seems silly in hindsight to run both races on the same day.

ronoc wrote: »
    The men are doing a 48km/h average .. mad. Seems silly in hindsight to run both races on the same day.

In fairness they couldn't have expected the women's race to be so slow.

https://twitter.com/irishroadchamps/status/878943833236570112

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Lydia Boylan has won the Women's race

• Registered Users Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Inquitus wrote: »

I agree. The two options are
    1. Pull the ladies in, let the mens race go through and restart ladies.
    2. Let the men pass the women while both are racing meaning races get mixed with some ladies being pulled along in the mens bunch and others dropped.

It's a no brainer once it looked imminent.

The M40's is the only race that could feasibly be run concurrently with the elites. They are closest in average speed.

Diarmuid wrote: »
    I agree. The two options are
    1. Pull the ladies in, let the mens race go through and restart ladies.
    2. Let the men pass the women while both are racing meaning races get mixed with some ladies being pulled along in the mens bunch and others dropped.

It's a no brainer once it looked imminent.

The M40's is the only race that could feasibly be run concurrently with the elites. They are closest in average speed.

I agree, while it's clearly not ideal, they had no real option given both races were running concurrently, assume the reason for that is the Gardai imposed limits on how long the town center could be shut down for to support the races.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Seems like a cracking race....riders all over the place attacking

Thanks Darkglasses for the updates

Seems the 2 front groups are about to come together which would leave Roche, McGlinchy, Potts , Bennett, Roche, O'Loughlin, Mullen , Brammier, Feeley and Lacey all together ahead of the peleton, I think its both Roches, but could be a typo!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Very very tight now, not 10 seconds between the groups. I hope Bennett wins

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Seems like a cracking race....riders all over the place attacking

Thanks Darkglasses for the updates

Really tricky to follow, but by my understanding Sam has rapidly brought the lead group back. Cut a 40 second lead to 8 seconds over the hill at Ferrycarrig.

Seems the 2 front groups are about to come together which would leave Roche, McGlinchy, Potts , Bennett, Roche, O'Loughlin, Mullen , Brammier, Feeley and Lacey all together ahead of the peleton, I think its both Roches, but could be a typo!

Alexis is a very long way back, must be a typo unless there's a third Roche!

Only Bennett made it across to the 4 up front apparently.

https://twitter.com/irishroadchamps/status/878959042898653184

With Irish cycling on the up, our own Pro-Conti Team, as well as the likes of Bennett, Roche, Martin, Mullen etc. all delivering on the world stage, you'd think some consideration might be given to televising the nationals no?

I'd love to see it , out side of the Grand Tours the lads rarely if ever get a mention on the RTE news in the evenings , no mention of Sam's 2 wins in Slovenia last week :(

Speaking of coverage , French one is on Eurosport player now 70km to go and they have highlights of both French and British races on ES1 tonight I think.

Yes ...the production cost could be kept pretty low .... someone needs to put it ot the TV companies

Just over the hill again, Roche and a few others have closed the gap.

Everyone looks a bit shagged.

Just over the hill again, Roche and a few others have closed the gap.

What's the gap down to?

10 leading riders, gap at 25

• Registered Users Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

All together now

Also if anyone has spare grub on Ferrycarrig, I'm starving.

After all that !!! looks like the guys who sat back may be in the best position

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭BowSideChamp

Not a disgrace but certainly a mess.

Broken up at the front again, Roche leading

I hear Connor Dunne has attacked ?

Seems a mega attacking race

Possibly Conor Dunne with him. Apologies, trying to hear the radio.

Ryan Mullen chasing at 25 secs

Its on the radio ??

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Its on the radio ??

I'd imagine Darkglasses is on site? and able to pick up race radio?